Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER

Founded 2007 • With Angi since July 2009

5.0

(15) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

Cook County

Chicago, IL 60614

Description

The Chicago Organizer helps you get your overwhelming organizing and decluttering or relocation projects done with a roll-up-your sleeves and enthusiastic and efficient approach to making it happen! When you call The Chicago Organizer, you usually will get the owner (and sometimes a highly qualified team) to help you with your project. We will bring packing supplies and/or shop for organizing products if you don't have enough time....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/08/2016


Samantha M.

I was going on medical from my job and I knew that if I was at home all day I would think of all the things I could be doing instead of resting. So before the procedure I decided to find a personal organizer. I just so happen to come across this company. I read some good reviews and decided to give it a try. I contacted the company and Terri (owner) got back to me right away. I sent her a few pictures of what I wanted organized and she set me up with an appointment. I had so much work that needed to be done I had them come out two times. The first time Terri and Renee help to organize the living room and kitchen! They were so efficient and I was with them every step of the way. They would ask me questions about what to keep, throw away or donate. When we were done I felt so good! The second time they came back Terri and Alice organized the office/second room/closet/linen closet and pantry. They left me with tips on how to stay organized. We it come time for my procedure I was not bothered by the state of my disorganization. Terri and her time did an amazing job. I recommend using this company. They are professional, helpful and friendly and I would use them again!!

Description of Work
Terri and her team organized my entire apartment except for the bathroom.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

08/31/2016


Suzane R.

Terri delivered a life changing service in every way! I feel like the weight of the world (unorganized chaos and clutter) is now gone and I have been carrying it for years. I now have the emotional mental and emotional energy to take on life in a way I haven't before. The return on my time and investment was extraordinary. What impressed me most with how hard she hustles, she wouldn't let a single minute go to waste. Also, she invested in enabling me through education, tips and tricks to continue a life of de-clutter. She doesn't keep her secrets to herself and truly cares about your long term success. Also, she is very eco friendly and encouraged me to donate/recycle wherever possible.

Description of Work
Terri came into my apartment to help me organize my life (all of my things) pre-move. We worked together for four hours.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

07/18/2016


Suzanne C.

Awesome! Two organizers, Trisha and Charlene, arrived right on time, and we worked methodically through all the random stuff for 4 hours. They consolidated things that needed to be stored and labelled and shelved everything. In the end, they hauled away two full SUVs worth of stuff to the charity shop. I feel so much less stressed, like a weight has been lifted.

Description of Work
I needed help clearing out and organizing my basement. Several repair jobs and a few years of accumulated stuff had left my basement in a mess of stuff, and it was hard to find things when we needed them. I needed help figuring out where to start and motivation to just get it done all at once.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

07/28/2015


HOWARD G.

After living in the same 2 bedroom Chicago condo for 32 years and being, shall we say, reluctant to part with possessions, I was intimidated by the thought of packing up to move to Portland OR. Terri, often with a team member, were outstanding! They did the overwhelming majority of all the packing, including heavy items, but, remarkably, with a strong focus on organization. Each box was filled with like items even when they had been rather scattered about and then each box was clearly labeled with its contents. Terri appropriately convinced me that some possessions really were not to be kept. She has a commitment to recycling and items went to a second hand non-profit store, a food pantry, electronic goods recyclers, etc. She even arranged for a computer expert to erase the hard drives on several old computers before sending them out. Her punctuality was always meticulous and her work ethic superb. Even though the arrangement was that she be paid by the hour, she always worked as fast and efficiently as possible. Interestingly, the long distance movers deformed, crushed or gouged virtually all the boxes that they had packed, but not those packed by Terri.

Description of Work
Packed up a 2 bedroom condo, organized 39,000 pounds of possessions, helped eliminate truly unnecessary possessions and provided excellent contacts for recycling, condo management, etc

Category home & garage organization

5.0

02/15/2015


Martha M.

Our daughter decided to return to school in Chicago and moved to a small downtown apartment. She had a lot of possessions, having not thrown anything away for years. Terri helped her move in and unpack. The number of boxes and packing material was unbelievable. She then came back a few days later to finalize her downsizing and got her things to several consignment shops and donated much more. It saved me a trip to Chicago and I didn't have to do any work! I had dreaded having to go through the entire process. She was efficient and very helpful.

Description of Work
Terri and a helper met my daughter in her new Chicago apartment on the day the movers were moving her in. She had been living out of state and her (many) belongings were in storage. Terri helped unpack, direct movers, sort through, downsize, discard, donate and consign. One day was spent in the apartment and one day was spent going through personal belongings and helping her get them to consignment stores - both for clothing and household goods.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

05/20/2014


MIC M.

had a very complicated move earlier this year, and contacted Terri and her team to assist me. I was living out of town and had to move out of my Chicago condo. 35 years of household goods is a lot to disperse of in four days. Some of my stuff was going to storage, some was donations, and some needed to be packed for shipping out of state. Terri and her team took care of everything. The vendors she used all arrived on time, were professional and courteous, and seemed to genuinely care about their work. Her own team of packers was terrific. While I was running errands, they packed up my 1800 square feet in two days. When she saw that they were ahead of schedule, she released one of the packers to another assignment thus reducing my total cost. I did not have one complaint about her vendors or her own staff – all A+. On time, quality work, and reasonable prices – what more could you ask for. I highly recommend and would use her again if I had a need in the Chicago area.

Description of Work
Provided organizing and packing services to prepare for relocation

Category home & garage organization

5.0

11/13/2013


LEIGH D.

I had a storage room with 25 years of stuff that needed to be cleared out. It included a number of large items, such as furniture and old televisions, which required extra muscle to move. How did I get everything out of the room, sorted, and then removed? How did I figure out which stuff to throw away and which stuff could be donated? Terri was the perfect choice for this project! She had great strategies to efficiently remove items from the room and sort them as and quot;trashand quot;, and quot;donateand quot; or and quot;keepand quot;. She arranged for extra help when the time came to move the bigger items. And best of all, she coordinated a pickup of all the donation items that same day. She even went the extra mile to arrange for the special recycling items - old paint, broken TVs and other electronics - to be taken to the City recycling center at Goose Island that afternoon, one of the few times they are open during the week. With Terri's help and know-how, a project that I kept putting off because it seemed too overwhelming was finished in less than 1 day. I can highly recommend Terri's services.

Description of Work
Organized storage room and arranged for removal of all unwanted items

Category home & garage organization

5.0

09/24/2013


marianne K.

Today, Terri and I spent three hours sorting to creating a filing system for important personal and business documents. We work both together together and indepently in the house. The time passes by quicky/. If you need somebody to give a kick start to a project, Terri wil get this accomplished. She started working with me over a year ago. on a number of projects. both professional and personal. She helped me organize and declutter. Terri brings enthusiasm and energy to her work. She sets up systems for organization of your papers and clutter in your home and office. She is very detailed oriented and precise, Terri has helped create a meaning to a filing system that you'll use again and again on your own. On a typical day, Terri comes in with her water bottle, markers and file folders and we both start working. The synergy is good between us showing that she is the motivIng force causing the client to focus and give attention to detail. I strongly recommend her for any project.

Description of Work
Terri is a professional organizer for homes and business.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

08/26/2013


LaReine-Marie M.

I came upon Terri's website one evening after doing a search for and quot;reasonably priced organizers in Chicago.and quot; Her company popped up, and every review I read was enthusiastically favorable. Even though I wasn't planning on acting quickly, I contacted her. Terri had an opening just a few days later, and the rest is history. When Terri arrived she made a space for the different types of items in my home office. I happen to have a long hallway, so, items were placed along the wall. It worked well. Then it was sort, categorize, and send items to their temporary homes. It really made a lot of sense and was amazingly easy for me. When I got tired of putting items in their place, she was my runner. Don't know where she gets her energy, but she's got it. Terri is very pleasant and accepting. We will definitely work together again in the near future. I recommend her with unequivocally.

Description of Work
She came. She saw. She conquered. And showed me how to do the same. Terri helped me understand that every item in your home needs its own home. We categorized everything, sorted my papers, etc., and took them to their temporary home. Terri and I worked for four hours, but we are not yet finished. She left me poised to do further sorting when I have time, and my house is orderly while it is in progress.

Category home & garage organization

5.0

01/14/2013


SUSAN W.

We were able to reorganize my entire very large kitchen in just a few hours. Terri made the job such a pleasant experience. She is returning tomorrow to help with my home office and master bath and closet.

Description of Work
Terri arrived right on time, after having come over previously to look over the job. She is just amazing at organizing, always with a smile. She even brought many of the containers I used to organize my cupboards, adding the cost to my total. Such a time saver for me!

Category home & garage organization

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential Professional Organizing in EVERY room in your home; Relocation--moving in and moving out; Decluttering; Organizing; Paper Management; Ongoing Consulation to keep you on track

    Services Not Offered

    Computer Organizing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER

    How is THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER overall rated?

    THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER open?

    THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    What payment options does THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER provide

    THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER offer free estimates?

    Ask THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER for details on free project estimates.

    Does THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER offer a senior discount?

    No, THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER does not offer a senior discount.

    Does THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER offer emergency services?

    Yes, THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER?

    No, THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER does not offer warranties.

    What services does THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER offer?

    THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER offers the following services: Residential Professional Organizing in EVERY room in your home; Relocation--moving in and moving out; Decluttering; Organizing; Paper Management; Ongoing Consulation to keep you on track

    Are there any services THE CHICAGO ORGANIZER does not offer?

    Computer Organizing.