Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Budget Right Handyman

4.6

(4008) Verified Reviews

Founded 2004 • With Angi since October 2010

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

520 W Erie St Ste 240

Chicago, IL 60654

https://www.getbrh.com/

Description

Budget Right Handyman is Chicagoland's largest handyman service. We've won the Angie's List Super Service Award for 10 consecutive years. Since 2016, we've completed over 20,000 projects. All of our work comes with a 100% satisfaction guarantee & 1-year warranty on labor....

Deals

Verified Reviews

4.6

(4008) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

3044

4

370

3

187

2

140

1

264

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

handyman (3705)electrician (633)plumbers (481)door installation (430)drywall (352)lighting (333)woodworking (225)interior painting (167)ceiling fan installation (147)general contractors (135)window treatment (104)home remodeling (101)
Showing 1-25 of 4008 reviews
5.0

05/16/2022


Mark M.

Jessie did a terrific job. As usual, Budget Right Handyman came through!

Description of Work
replace rotted wood on front porch

Category contractors,decks,handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2022

5.0

05/01/2022


Cindy B.

Anthony Campanile and Matthew Newmann worked exceptionally well as a team.

Description of Work
Completed installation of exhaust fan in master bathroom that a previous technician did not complete.

Category electrician,handyman service

Cost $267

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2022

5.0

04/22/2022


joe P.

Jesse did a great job. Very fast and cleaned up everything.

Description of Work
repair ceiling drywall

Category appliance repair,drywall

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2022

5.0

04/22/2022


Jim B.

Matthew was very professional, pleasant, and a great communicator. From the day before the project, he reached out to get background details on the project as well as to request more detailed photos so he can plan day one. He arrived right on time from day one, assessed what he needed to buy, made a trip to get the materials, then worked into the night. He was tasked to build a custom drywall soffit around a motorized movie screen bracket that was hanging below a drop ceiling. I was concerned as to how obtrusive this low overhanging soffit would look, but Matthew’s soffit looked clean and blended in with surround walls by structure and color in the end. He also kept his work area very tidy each day and paid great attention to details esp when it came to the painting and even the crisp look of the drywall edges where the soffit met different surface textures of walls (fireplace brick, wood panel, drywall). He was very efficient and finished the overall project a little under the originally projected cost! Would definitely hire this company and esp ask for Matthew on my next project! Thank you!

Description of Work
Build custom drywall soffit in basement to house a motorized movie screen bracket. This was done over 1 full day and 2 partial days.

Category drywall,handyman service,interior painters

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2022

5.0

04/21/2022


Dan G.

Great- arrived on time and finished the project on time. It was a last-minute job that they were able to send a person out the next morning. Keriake was the technician who performed the job and did a great job and kept the project on time for us

Description of Work
New mold resistant drywall installed

Category appliance repair,drywall

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/21/2022

5.0

04/20/2022


Kim C.

Budget Right Handyman is the way to go! Upon my initial contact via their website, they called me right away to ask additional questions about my project. They were able to schedule a time for our handyman Justin L. to come out that accommodated our schedule. Justin arrived on time, and got the job done perfectly. He checked in with us along the way. The job was completed in less time then anticipated, and we couldn't be happier with the work. We will defiantly use Budget Right Handyman again. Thank you Budget Right and Justin for a job well done!

Description of Work
Inhalation of 3 ceiling fans, and 6 other light fixtures.

Category electrician,lighting,ceiling fans

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2022

5.0

04/18/2022


Glen P.

It went very well. The process involved taping, mudding and sanding over two days to allow for drying time. Elvis showed up promptly, completed the work efficiently, and cleaned up before leaving the site. I am very satisfied the the quality of the work. I would hire this contractor again.

Description of Work
Dry taping and adding joint compound

Category drywall,handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/16/2022

5.0

04/13/2022


Ronald O.

Mr Jesse Morris was the assigned technician who did the job, he was very professional in his enter action, punctual with his arrival, cleaned up behind himself. This was the second time I had him to work on a project and wouldn't hesitate to request his again in the future.

Description of Work
Had an bathroom ceiling exhaust fan removed and replaced with a new one

Category appliance repair,ceiling fans

Cost $133

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/07/2022

4.0

04/03/2022


Marcus P.

Elvis showed up on time and was quite pleasant. I did miss his initial call, but he was still prompt and on time. he performed well and answered any question I had without hesitation.

Description of Work
Door jamb repair to front entry door

Category doors

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/02/2022

5.0

03/30/2022


Marsha G.

Great! On-time, very professional, explained the process, no mess!! Would definitely hire again!!

Description of Work
Closet organizer installation

Category appliance repair,handyman service

Cost $135

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2022

5.0

03/28/2022


Aaron P.

Budget Right is a great, reliable company. Edgar was very professional and a great communicator, explaining every step of the job conducted. He efficiently completed the kitchen appliance and disposal installation and did great work. Would definitely recommend and use again!

Description of Work
Kitchen appliance and disposal installation

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/28/2022

1.0

03/23/2022


Ivy W.

Do NOT recommend. They claim that they have professionals who do this all of the time and service will take under an hour. The individual was late to the appointment but I was still charged for the time that the appointment was scheduled. I had to help the individual the ENITRE time, so basically I paid to do 3/4 of the work myself. They did not use the correct studs. I had to request that they install all of the studs (originally only installed 4 out of the 6 needed for the project). Then had to show them how to actually assemble the TV mount, and help set up the TV onto the mount that I assembled. This project took twice as long as they indicated (took 2 hours when they promised that the "professional" could complete in 1 hour as they do this all of the time). AND I WAS OVER BILLED (billed for 2.5 hours as the individual was late to the appointment. I have reached out MULTIPLE times to receive help with this error and provide my feedback and have not heard back (it has been over a week when they claim 24 hour response times). DO NOT RECOMMEND. Save yourself the $200 plus and use an actual professional or do it yourself (you'll be doing most of it yourself anyway).

Description of Work
TV Mounting

Category handyman service,home theater design

Cost $220

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2022

5.0

03/17/2022


Cathy R.

Excellent. The gate opens with ease and better than it ever did since it was installed @10 years ago. Just gotta add a little paint to it.

Description of Work
Fence Gate—hinges and lock

Category appliance repair,fencing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/14/2022

Images

Review for Budget Right Handyman - 520 W Erie St, Chicago, IL - 39663884
5.0

03/16/2022


Nancy W.

Edgar did a great job. I have used Budget Right about 8 - 10 times over the last five years and they have always done a good job. Light switches, fan installation, hanging doors, removing an old medicine cabinet and installing a lighted mirror, installing locks on doors, installing toilets and faucets, drywall on a section of wall where it had been broken, and more.

Description of Work
Installing a toilet.

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2022

5.0

03/09/2022


Kaitlyn O.

Elvis did a fantastic job. He was super friendly and professional, and exceeded our expectations in completing the job.

Description of Work
Patch and re-seal of a glass block window in a bathroom, and paint touchup

Category handyman service,replacement windows,glass block,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2022

5.0

03/02/2022


Bernardo S.

Great job! Easy to schedule and to communicate with the office in preparation for the appointment (I had to reschedule since the parts I had ordered did not arrive on time). The technician (Justin) arrived on time, was very courteous, completed the work as requested, and left the work space spotless. Great experience overall. I'd hire BRH again, for sure.

Description of Work
Install under cabinet kitchen lights

Category electrician,handyman service,lighting

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/02/2022

5.0

02/04/2022


Matt P.

It went awesome! Justin was professional and efficient! I will definitely be hiring them again. It’s hard to find reliable, professional, timely, and budget friendly work - they definitely excelled at all.

Description of Work
3 small projects - swapping out a light fixture, outlet, and kitchen faucet

Category handyman service,lighting,plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2022

5.0

01/20/2022


Mark M.

Manny, as usual, did an excellent job!

Description of Work
Mount sliding door trim, hang cabinet door.

Category handyman service,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/20/2022

5.0

01/17/2022


Matt H.

Everything went well - looking to have Manny back to complete some other work, too.

Description of Work
Electrical Box Replaced.

Category appliance repair,handyman service

Cost $180

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/17/2022

5.0

01/17/2022


Jason D.

My building's common stair's bannister had separated from the handrail and wouldn't budge back together. I contacted about a half dozen local handymen and tradespeople, and Budget Right made me feel the most confident they could and would do the job right. After a consultation with questions and pictures of the project Victor was assigned to my job. Victor was one time, professional, friendly, knowledgeable and patient. He carefully assessed the job and explained the best course of repair and what we could expect to be the outcome. When he was finished he explained what he had done and took time for questions. The repair was done faster and better than I could have imagined, at a price roughly equal to or less than other quotes I had received. The stair post is now even more secure and sturdy than it was before the break, and I'm pleased to have safe stairs again. Others in the building have even asked for the info of Budget Right after seeing the repair.

Description of Work
Stair repair, bannister post and railing

Category handyman service,woodworking

Cost $89

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/17/2022

5.0

01/14/2022


Kathy K.

Jesse was professional knew what he was doing explained all process. I would highly recommend him. Great job.

Description of Work
Removal of patio door shutters

Category appliance repair