Blankenship Movers Inc

About

Founded 1961 • With Angi since September 2010

**PLEASE CLICK OUR SHOP BUTTON!!** ALL OF OUR DEALS ARE ALL INCLUSIVE WITH SHRINK WRAP, TAPE AND WARDROBE SERVICE!! When we started out, we wanted to streamline the moving process for clients in the Chicagoland area. We felt that the current local industry was inundated with way too many fees and charges and that customers came away feeling like they were being "nickel and dimed" for everything. What we found was that by building everything into a full service, simple quote system, with no additional fees, customers overwhelmingly responded with an unanimous thumbs up. Simple and stress free, easy to understand and easily meeting expectations. This has become our thumbprint. You will LOVE the way we move!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

CHECK OUT OUR TRUCKS

+2 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(477) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

397

4

41

3

12

2

6

1

21

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

movers (473)storage unit (14)piano movers (12)
Showing 1-25 of 477 reviews
5.0

06/08/2022


William or Annie P.

Very professional & job completed in timely manner. They showed up on time. Will use them again.

Description of Work
Moved heavy items from one home to another home.

Category moving companies

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/08/2022

5.0

01/20/2022


Robert Z.

Did a fantastic job! Very efficient and mindful of protecting furniture. Very fair price as well.

Description of Work
Moved 1 bedroom apartment 25 miles

Category moving companies

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2022

5.0

10/31/2021


Susan G.

PERFECTLY! Use this company and their guys! Normally I try to write a proper review like an essay but I’m going to make it real simple here : From the first time I talked with Kevin at Blankenship I was very impressed by his warm, professionalism, and courtesy! They gave me the best bif out of all the movers that I had called until, so I felt very confident to schedule the date for them to move me. Over the couple weeks I had turned to them with many questions and Kevin, Sean, and Lou were very very helpful and provided answers to any questions I had and provided me with any additional information I needed to know. And they were very pleasant, friendly and polite as well as professional! I’m moving day we had the moving team of Pablo, Drew , and Drew. I could probably spend days, at least many many pages, complementing them and their work!! THEY ALL compassionate , friendly, spiteful care, concern and respect for and all of our belongings. Pablo, Drew, and Drew , worked quickly, cautiously, efficiently, and carefully!! They even kindly provided extra help above and beyond whenever needed. The move was seamless with no disappointments whatsoever from the time they arrived at the single-family home I left to the storage unit where they unloaded everything carefully and meticulously! Besides her expert skills, you couldn’t ask for kinder people!! I am most definitely going to use them when I get my new apartment! Susan G.

Description of Work
Move from single family home to storage facility

Category moving companies

Cost $475

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2021

5.0

09/30/2021


Bret B.

It went great. The movers were very easy to work with. And they were very nice and accommodating. I will use them again. And recommend to everyone moving

Description of Work
Moving

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2021

5.0

09/04/2021


Gwendolyn M W.

Everything went seamlessly! Sean Conneely is truly a hands-on owner along with Louis. Sean was friendly, caring and concerned from start to finish. The movers, Pablo, Hosea, and Andrew did a truly great job in extremely adverse circumstances. The temperature was in the 90's! These men worked quickly, efficiently, and courteously. The furniture items were shrink-wrapped and padded. Some our furniture was very heavy, but they were able to maneuver around various obstacles including a hanging chandelier over and over again! It was a pleasure to do business with this company.

Description of Work
Moved from a townhome

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/04/2021

5.0

05/03/2021


John H.

they took time to wrap big furniture items, where on time and very experience at their job would use them again

Description of Work
moving from one house to another house

Category moving companies

Cost $780

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/21/2021

4.0

03/05/2021


Richard J.

They moved us from a condo into a house.

Description of Work
Setting up the move was easy and all my questions were promptly answered. I like how packing tape and wardrobe boxes (if needed) are provided. The workers were pleasant and efficient. The only reason I gave them a B is because a clear, plastic desk chair mat was left outside and found two days later. The drivers must have set it down, forgotten it, and a passerby threw it over my fence. It was dusk when they finished the move and probably missed seeing it on the ground. Other than that, the move went well.

Category moving companies

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/08/1970

5.0

01/26/2021


Jordan T.

I am so happy that I went with this moving company. They were fast, professional, and made my moving process stress free.

Description of Work
Moving items from apartment to storage unit

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/26/2021

5.0

01/06/2021


Jeff M.

Showed up on time, got it done in a reasonable time and the cost was decent as well. Polite, responsive crew who made sure everything was handled with kid gloves.

Description of Work
Residential Move about 15 miles apart

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2020

1.0

01/05/2021


Noor A.

The manager gave us wrong estimate!the moving workers did fantastic job and there were nice and professional, but the problem that we paid double the estimated price! We called and gave the manager the exact details about the furniture,how many rooms and what is the kind of furniture we are moving in details and he said it will be a 3 hours job, and we were Ok if it took 4 hours, but they took 7 and a half hours!!! And when we called the manager who gave us the estimate he refused to make any changes to the price and he was not cooporative, and we ended up paying exactly double the price he gave for us when we called. This is what I call CHEATING! Since he gave us a price and double it, I will accept a couple of hundred dollars above the estimated price, but not double the price! In addition to that most of the furniture was damaged and scratched after all this long time packing and moving!he refused to pay for the damage and said he is not responsible for it, eventhough he should pay for the damage as he said on the phone!but what he told us on the phone is way different than what happenned. He was so rude and stuborn, and so aggressive. I wish that I didnt do this mistake and dealed with such unprofessional person like thst owner! I Will never ever recommend these people to anybody.

Description of Work
Be careful, the owner is a CHEATER!!

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/04/2021

5.0

01/02/2021


Karen C.

Excellent. Had to reschedule and they were able to accommodate without any problems. They were always responsive to questions.

Description of Work
Small move

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/24/2020

5.0

12/01/2020


Emilie S.

Absolutely excellent. Pablo and Angel were hardworking, efficient and personable. They took all the stress out of moving day!

Description of Work
Moving from downtown

Category moving companies, apartments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2020

5.0

11/10/2020


Anita C.

great! Completed about half an hour and unpack less than half an hour. Made moving less stressful than it usual is .

Description of Work
Professional Moving Service

Category moving companies

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2020

5.0

11/02/2020


Alfredo C.

It was fantastic, we've moved 3 times in the last year and these guys were all top notch. Friendly, respectful and hustled the entire time they were there, absolutely no down time. We were moving into a newly constructed home and there was not a single touch of the wall going up to second floor or down to basement with several heavy, large pieces of furniture. They also performed the job in the time quoted, exactly 6 hours. I tipped them well because these guys were the best movers we've had and the only one we would rehire. Thank you Blankenship!

Description of Work
Moving a 3 bedroom home

Category moving companies

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2020

5.0

10/26/2020


Jessica C.

Everything went great! From start to finish Blankenship was very professional and efficient. They clearly know what they are doing. No damage at all to our belongings. The move was the exact amount of time they predicted. Movers were courteous and wrapped everything up well so well nothing was damaged. The free wardrobe boxes were a huge plus and so convenient day of! I would definitely recommend and use again!

Description of Work
Moving from a condo to a house

Category moving companies, apartments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2020

4.0

10/23/2020


Yanaih T.

All around it went well there were some damage to my sofa although I didn’t opt for the extra insurance I thought a would receive a call about my sofa that was broken in the move. I arrived at the second location about 30 mins before the movers did. They may have stopped for a bit to eat. but they were quick friendly and professional

Description of Work
Moving from the city to the suburbs

Category moving companies, apartments

Cost $780

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/18/2020

2.0

10/20/2020


Joshua C.

The move itself was okay. Sean, the owner, was attentive in making sure that my needed dates were available. Ron, the crew leader, was great at leading his guys to get the job done well. The problem arose after the move. While putting bedsheets on my kids' bunkbed, I noticed that none of the slats were screwed in. Then I found that the ladder was held on by one screw out of 8. Then I took a look at all of my other furniture, and they were all missing important hardware to keep the furniture together. Blankenship customer service was able to find some of the hardware necessary to rebuild my boys' bunkbed, which was missing about 12 sets structural nuts and bolts other than the tens of screws to screw down the slats. It was not, however, able to find the missing hardware for my bed, my dining room table, nor my office set. Since some of the hardware pieces are custom made for the furniture pieces, I am now reaching out to the furniture store to see if I can purchase the hardware. As much as Ron's crews were good, the safety of my children were compromised when they did a shoddy job with the furniture. The least they could have done was to tell me that it was not finished or the parts were missing so I don't risk my children climbing up on the beds.

Description of Work
Local Moving

Category moving companies, apartments

Cost $5,700

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2020

5.0

09/02/2020


Mark D.

Hired Blankenship Movers to pickup furniture at House A, deliver it to House B, then take other furniture out of House B and deliver it to House C. I was extremely pleased with everything. First, Sean was very flexible in meeting my scheduling needs on pretty short notice. On the service day, Ronny (crew chief) called 45 minutes before arrival and arrived on time. The moves from A to B to C were handled pretty quickly and efficiently. The delivery at House B was challenging because of a twisting staircase to the second floor, but the guys worked hard to make it happen. They worked carefully, wrapped furniture well to protect it. All three guys were very pleasant and courteous. Ronny was terrific - explained everything and made it all happen smoothly. I would highly recommend Blankenship - and crew chief Ronny. Move date was Sep 2, 2020.

Description of Work
Moving Furniture Between Three Locations

Category moving companies, apartments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2020

5.0

08/24/2020


Jill S.

Things went well. The two gentlemen showed up on time, on a Sunday. They even assisted my uncle move an item, that he was taking. The total actually being over $700 but I knew what the price would be before hand, so they were no surprises. The cost was more because they were going from Illinois to Indiana.

Description of Work
We moved a small load of items from Chicago to Indiana.

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2020

5.0

06/29/2020


Justin R.

Hands down, Blakenship is the best movers we've ever used. Rudy, Angel, and Jake were prompt, professional, and extremely courteous while working quickly and efficiently. 5/5 would recommend to anyone. After calling around and getting estimates from several movers, these guys were priced slightly higher than the middle, but they take care of a lot of materials/moving needs that others want to nickel and dime you over. Sean/Kevin in the office got us everything that we needed and their communication was above and beyond. This company knows what they're doing - Don't look any further!!

Description of Work
Local Move from Chicago to Tinley Park

Category moving companies, apartments

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2020

Service Provider Response

Wow... everybody got the good marks! We hope to maintain our service and professionalism to be deserving of such high praises.

5.0

06/13/2020


Joseph S.

They did the job well and the people were pleasant.

Description of Work
Moving from one house to another

Category moving companies

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/13/2020

Service Provider Response

We definitely appreciate the "A" rating. Happy to be of help.

5.0

05/29/2020


Emilie S.

This was the smoothest move of my life! Efficient, friendly and professional movers. They all had great attitudes and were smooth and calm facing some minor loading dock issues with my building. Worked deftly and completed the job well under schedule. Also, very clean, wore masks and washed their hands several times. Marc V, Jay and Floyd made moving day a breeze!

Description of Work
Moving apartments

Category moving companies, apartments

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/29/2020