Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-ABF HAULING/GREEN JUNK REMOVAL SERVICE

Founded 1999 • With Angi since June 2007

LOCALLY OWNED AND OPERATED. House, Estate and Commercial Clean out Specialists. Junk removal. We offer multiple truckload discounts. We also discount for recycled items. Special pricing for Angie' List members. Call anytime. We always answer our phones. We do work outside of our service areas only for big commercial jobs or full house clean-outs.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(42) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 42 reviews
Eloine P.
5.0
01/07/2013
excellent, timely, pleasant
Description of Work
They picked up construction debris.
Category
hauling services
LYNN B.
5.0
05/01/2012
The removal went great. Sam worked in complete sync with the building office, and completed the task while I was in a meeting at work. Very fast response time. Very reasonable rates! ( plus, My conscience is clear, knowing everything was disposed of in a green, proper way.) Excellent service!!!
Description of Work
The storage locker at my condo I rent out had been left empty and unlocked by my previous tenants. Someone stuffed the locker with their junk and remnants (essentially "stole" my space). The building told me that I was responsible for properly disposing of the contents, even though they weren't mine. Sam from A-ABF Hauling came to my rescue! I've relied on his excellent help for decades, and, once again, he did not disappoint! Sam came to the building, removed all the heavy contents of the locker, and recycled and disposed of them in an environmentally responsible way. I could not have asked for better, more efficient, hassle-free service than I got from Sam. Just the best!
Category
garbage collection, hauling services
Scott W.
5.0
04/05/2012
Thursday morning Sam called about 9 AM and said he could be at the condo by 10 AM. I live about 10 minutes from the place,and arrived at about 9:55. Sam and his crew beat me by about five minutes. I opened the garage door, and pointed out the stuff that needed to be taken away. The task was completed in about 15-20 minutes. When I called earlier in the week Sam responded to my question about cost by saying that it would be determined by the cubic yardage of the load. That would be calculated on site. Once he measured a few of the items that were to be taken, he gave me his price list and the quote. When compared to another collection company that I had used (prior to becoming an Angie's List member) in another situation, I found Sam's price to be very competitive. I said so and Sam told me that his prices were lower because they reflected the cash flow the company generated from recycling the stuff that is collected. To my chagrin, the price of the other firm that I had used apparently did not not account for this aspect of the business. For that reason alone, I would have no hesitation in using Sam's services again, but in addition, I appreciated Sam's punctuality, his crew's efficiency, and the time taken to explain an aspect of the business that was unknown to me.
Description of Work
Subsequent to my mother's passing, I had to dispose of the relatively few items that were left after family members and various charities had chosen the things they could use or want. It was not even close to a full truckload. There was an old large Coleman gas grill that accounted for the bulk of the stuff. It was all in the garage so it could be removed with ease. I called A-ABF on Monday of this week, explained what I needed to have hauled away, and Sam Hoffman said he could be there at 10:30 AM on Thursday the 5th. He said he would call about 20 minutes prior to arrival.
Category
hauling services
Jenny W.
5.0
02/13/2012
I called A-ABF to remove some junk from my basement. They arrived on time, charged me the price quoted, hauled the junk away, and left the place spotless. The crew members were friendly and professional to boot. I was very pleased.
Description of Work
Hauled a sofa, two armchairs, two lamps, a coffee table, two mattresses and other assorted items from my home.
Category
hauling services
MARY H.
5.0
12/26/2011
They were prompt, courteous, efficient and professional. All debri was removed and loaded into their truck.
Description of Work
Removed debri left by a previous tenant.
Category
hauling services
John I.
5.0
11/18/2011
They were responsive getting the work scheduled, showed up on time, and finished quickly. We're very happy.
Description of Work
We needed two couches and other misc junk removed from the basement.
Category
hauling services
JOAN F W.
5.0
10/07/2011
Everything went well. The owner and his crew responded quickly, acted professionally, and they did an excellent job.
Description of Work
They removed and disposed of several large, heavy items of furniture.
Category
hauling services
KATE C.
5.0
09/24/2011
Scheduled service. Several days in advance, truck and workers arrived promptly. Gave me an immediate estimate and performed work to my satisfaction.
Description of Work
A ABF picked up (& discarded) items that we needed removed prior to a move. Included construction debris & other heavy & miscellaneous items.
Category
dumpster service
Melanie F.
5.0
07/20/2011
There was a glitch with the book online system, but no big deal--a phone call straightened it out. The original time window was fairly long, but Sam called in the morning to give me a more specific time. I was working at the house all day anyway, so it didn't matter much to me. I think I could have insisted on a narrower window if I'd needed it. After they left, I discovered they'd accidentally removed a plastic tub I'd planned to use as a cooler for my volunteer pain crew that afternoon. I should have paid more attention, I suppose. I wish Sam had said how many guys there would be so I could have had an appropriate cash tip available for each of them. I added extra in the check for the tip, and Sam said he'd make sure the guys received it. I'd recommend asking how many guys would be coming so you can plan accordingly for a tip. I was pleased with the service. They did a good job--thorough and efficient. ABF Hauling was less expensive than the larger outfits, and they recycle as much as they can.
Description of Work
Sam came with three employees on one of the hottest days of the summer. In about an hour, they removed 11 cubic yards of junk from all three floors of the house--carpets, pads, sinks, toilets, cabinets, other junk left behind by the previous owners. Sam walked through with me beforehand and gave me an estimate on the spot. It was pretty much right on. Then they got to work.
Category
garbage collection, hauling services
LISA P.
5.0
07/08/2011
Everything went smoothly from start to finish. I called and gave them a list of what was to be removed and asked for a ballpark figure. That figure turned out to be very close to the actual amount. Scheduling was quick, the crew showed up on time with a clean truck, inside and out. They hauled everything out at all the stops and we were done in a few hours. I will definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Cleaned out furniture and debris from 3 tenant occupied properties.
Category
hauling services

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your business and remember the importance of writing reviews on the list so others can make an informed decision.
JOSHUA K.
5.0
07/06/2011
They were very courteous and quick. Sam, the owner, came out to give me an estimate ahead of time, and when I was ready to schedule they were easy to work with.
Description of Work
A-ABF hauled away a huge amount of stuff from our basement and garage.
Category
hauling services
ANITA W.
5.0
06/18/2011
Excellent, professional. See above
Description of Work
Having taken several bids for hauling old appliances, electronics and accumulated "stuff", we decided to go with Sam at A-ABF Hauling. We were more that pleased with the experience and his business matches our values...using local contractors, recycling, excellent customer service, promptness and care of/courtesy in the premises. Extra bonus, his price beat the others that bid the work! We'll use him again.
Category
hauling services
Judith F.
5.0
06/14/2011
Sam, the owner of A-ABF Hauling, is a very decent, honest and hard working man. He returned my phone call promptly, and we made an apt for him to come and give me an estimate for hauling my junk. He quoted me a very fair price. When he was due to arrive the next day, with his men, he was running a very small amount of time late. He called to let me know that. His men were professional, courteous, and loaded their trucks with myk junk in a short amount of time. I then expressed, conversationally, with Sam that I had two beds that I had tried unsuccessfully to have a charity come and take. He offered to take the beds at no extra change, and proceeded to do just that. I highly recommend this service. Unfortunatley, I cannot use them again, since I have sucessfully moved to Connecticut, but for anyone in Chicago or the North Shore area, I found this to be an excellent service.
Description of Work
I recently moved from Illinois to Connecticut. When I cleaned out my house, I donated what I though others might want, but I still had a large pile of what I considered junk. I called A-ABF Hauling/Green Junk Removal, which I found on Angies List. They not only came, and took all my "junk" promptly and when they said they would, Sam, the owner, also took some excess furniture, which I was having a hard tine finding a donor for. He did not charge me for the excess furniture! I found him to be professional, helpful, courteous and to give me a very price. I hightly recommend him.
Category
hauling services

Service Provider Response

When we came out to give this member an estimate, she explained to me problem of not having a donation service willing to come and remove a bedroom set and 2 sets of stained mattresses. We told her that we have a place that reconditions old mattresses, and that we would find a good home for her bedroom set. As we were doing the work at her home, the neighbor across the street saw our trucks and call us to remove left over debris from the previous owner. Because we were using 2 trucks for the members job. we were able to accommodate the customer across the street after we completed our job. Many times we use 2 trucks and 4 to 6 man crews allowing us to put junk on 1 truck and recyclables and donatables on the 2nd truck. Thanks for your business and remember the importance of writing reviews on the list so others can make an informed decision.
Maureen C.
5.0
06/02/2011
Excellent service and very business like. Responded to my phone call promptly and came to my house for estimate at my convenience. The amount I paid was slightly more than estimate but that was because I added more junk. I am planning on having them return when I start cleaning my basement. I highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Removal of junk from garage including old refrigerator. Excellent service and very business like.
Category
hauling services

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your business and remember the importance of writing reviews on the list so others can make an informed decision.
Arica H.
5.0
01/17/2011
ABF Hauling provided excellent service start to finish. I needed this work done quickly and, although there were no available appointments, the company reviewed schedules such that they were able to accommodate my request within 24 hours. On site, the workers were polite, efficient, patient and helpful in suggesting which items should be discarded/recycled vs. kept for later use. They helped to organized the space, and cleaned up afterwards. I would highly recommend this company, which clearly places customer service as a strong priority.
Description of Work
Removed old construction materials from a development project.
Category
garbage collection, hauling services

Service Provider Response

This member needed to have the work done a.s.a.p. First she booked online, but the date she requested was not available. So she called and explained that she was a doctor and had a very busy schedule. We told her that we would call her back if we can rearrange our schedule. Knowing the importance of her duties. We managed to fit her request in within 24 hours. We pride ourselves on customer service. Sometimes it's better to pick up a phone and talk to a real live person when you have to get things done a.s.a.p. We answer are phones 7 days a week up until 9 p.m. Customer service is always #1 on our list!
Amy O.
5.0
08/31/2010
They were on time, ready to work, and very professional. It was a little more expensive than I would like, but they did a good job.
Description of Work
They cut a couch in half to easily remove it from our condo without damaging any walls, etc. and removed the couch, a desk, tv, tv stand and small bookcase.
Category
hauling services

Service Provider Response

We called this member the day before to confirm appointment. The customers requested that we cut up the couch to insure that her walls won't get damaged. That is never a problem with us. Better safe then sorry! When we were first called for a phone estimate, we always ask where they had heard about us. This customer told me that she found us on a google search. She did not inform me that she was an Angie's list member. If she had then we would have given her a members discount! Remember, when your using Angie's list you need to inform us of your membership so we can discount your cost accordingly. Thanks for the business!
Marilyn W.
5.0
08/03/2010
Everything went exactly as planned. There were no problems with any items I wanted to dispose of, they took everything. It took about an hour for them to box up and remove everything. The end result was just under the original estimate, so I was happy about that too.
Description of Work
After 17 years, I'm moving from a 2 bedroom apt. to a 1 bedroom. My focus was to get rid of household items, clothing, books, cleaning products, etc. Sam and his crew arrived on time. I had set up staging areas throughout my apt with the items I wanted to dump. They brought their own boxes and containers and packed up what needed to go. I live on the 2nd floor of a walk-up and they carrried everything out to the trucks. They were very careful not to harm carpets and furniture as they walked through the apt. They were very professional and worked quickly. I feel Sam, the owner, has a true understanding of customer service. He came to my home om 7/28 to give me an estimate. At that time he explained everything about his service. I love the fact that he recycles 85% of what he collects. I also found that the information posted on his web-site is true and accurate. He charges by the cubic yard and gave me a price list with his estimate of 10 to 12 cubic yards. The actual amount turned out to be 9 cubic yards for $290.00. I think this is a very fair price. I can't say enough nice things about this company and their service!! I had no idea how to deal with 17 years of accumulated junk and Sam solved my problem in 1 day!! I have already recommended him to all my friends and family. As a senior citizen, I'm really tired of being treated like I'm stupid; Sam is friendly, respectful and especially helpful on how to get full value for his service. Do yourself a favor and CALL THIS GUY for an estimate, you won't regret it!
Category
hauling services, home & garage organization

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working for this member. She had all the items that needed to be removed either set aside or tagged for removal. We packed up all the books in boxes for donation. Bagged up the clothes for donation. Sorted threw the remaining items, such as dishes, glassware, and home cleaning products. 90% of the items removed from this job where recycled or donated. A-ABF Hauling prides itself on being an EARTH friendly, GREEN junk removal service. By reusing, recycling, and donating, we are able to price our jobs 25 to 35% lower then our competitors. Every day is EARTH DAY at A-ABF Hauling.
Thomas H.
5.0
07/24/2010
It is always a pleasure to write a letter about something or someone that has done a service. The owner Sam and his crew did a job of hauling away 35 years worth of accumulation in my basement. A-ABF Hauling is a 5 star rating, the professional work and the fact they recycle as much of the material as possible and I would recommend there service to anyone from the smallest job to the largest which was ours. Thank you A-ABF Hauling. Tom
Description of Work
Removed huge quantity of heavy junk/misc/basement items.
Category
hauling services

Service Provider Response

Most people wait until they sell there home before calling us to clean it out. All to many times we are called in only days before the closing, when the home owner realizes that they will never get the entire contents of the property cleaned out without help from a professional. The member in this case used good judgment by deciding to start the clean out process even before he considers the sale of the property in the future. A_ABF Hauling understands the importance of accommodating and serving prospective buyers and sellers of real estate. Most property owners have the overwhelming burden of removing decades of accumulated household items. If you need a Plumber, you don't call a landscaper. If you need a roofer, you don't call a doctor. And if you need a Mover, you don't call a junk removal company! If you hire a non professional company just to save a few dollars, it could cost you more in the long run in mistakes and other problems. A-ABF Hauling provides professionally trained junk removal with award winning service.
Ted P.
5.0
06/16/2010
They did an excellent job! They were punctual and efficient. Very easy to work with. Did just what we wanted done and did it very well. We would certainly call on them again.
Description of Work
Removed and disposed of furniture and household goods from a high rise apartment.
Category
hauling services
Patrick F.
5.0
06/04/2010
This company provided great service. They scheduled appointment the day after I called to make one. Sam Hoffman called to advise that they were running ahead of schedule and asked if they could come earlier than the appointment time. He arrived with two trucks and 3 - 4 employees and completed the job in about an hour and thirty minutes. Sam personally sorted material to identify any items that could be recycled. They even provided a 10% senior discount. Excellent job. Would highly recommend.
Description of Work
Hauled away approximately 15 cubic yards of accumulated material from attic and basement, including old TVs and a computer system.
Category
hauling services
Thomas H.
5.0
05/22/2010
I called and scheduled an appointment with Sam. They were able to come that weekend. He took away junk from my garage. They worked quickly and well and left the area clean.
Description of Work
Cleaned and took away junk from my garage.
Category
hauling services

Service Provider Response

We were called out to clean-out the garage and a few items in the house. We removed some patio furniture, e-waste, an old lawn mower, old gutters, and other misc items. We donated the lawn furniture. We Repaired the old lawn mower and currently using it for a commercial property that we maintain. we donated a working t.v. and recycled the e-waste and all the metals. 85% of the materials removed from this job have been recycled.
Gene C.
5.0
04/21/2010
The experience was smooth, efficient, friendly, and professional from start to finish. Sam runs a great operation. He was very attentive to details and remembered precisely what I had asked him to take and what to leave. They even swept out the garage. I highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Clear out and haul away things we left behind in a move: lots of old furniture, big pieces of left-over lumber, awkward items of trash too bulky for regular pick-up, large debris from yard, and junky stuff from an overcrowded garage.
Category
hauling services

Service Provider Response

We were called in to clean out all the remains out the house and garage with the exception of a wet dry vacuum and a Dyson vacuum cleaner. The customer had to return to work, so he left us on our own to finish the job. One of our crew members was cleaning out a storage locker in the basement, when he discovered all of the accessories to the Dyson vacuum cleaner. We put the accessories right next to the vacuum. and informed the customer that we had found them hidden in the storage locker. Thanks to our professionally trained and experienced crew member for his detail to his job.
Kenneth K.
5.0
04/09/2010
I could not have had a better experience unless someone volunteered to do it for free. I found A-ABF on Angies List and called Sam for an estimate. He came by within 1 1/2 hours, quoted me a price and scheduled to haul it all away in two days (the earliest I would be at home during business hours). Sam called me late afternoon the day before ABF arrived to confirm the time he and his crew would arrive. He gave me a window between Noon and 1:30 the following day. Sam called about 11:45 on D-day to say they were on their way, and he and crew arrived around 12:20. I heard the sound of work and stepped out the back door to find 2 trucks. Sam explained that they were consolidating recyclables and donatables into one truck before taking away my debris. The crew got started on my junk and finished loading up the truck in about 20 minutes to a half our. They then swept away the remaining mess. I chatted a bit with Sam about smart phones and computers while doing the paperwork and we were all done. It was a very painless transaction from start to finish. They were very professional and personable. One the the workers literally whistled while he worked. That made a great impression on me.
Description of Work
After flooding last fall, I tore down several walls in my basement over the winter and piled up all the wood and panel on the back patio. A-ABF hauled away about 7 cubic yards of debris and cleaned up the remaining mess.
Category
hauling services
Richard W.
5.0
02/23/2010
The crew was on time and was very efficient. The entire house (7 rooms and basement) and carpet removal was finished in 6 hours. The cost was reasonable. There was a follow-up call to gauge customer satisfaction. I highly recommend this company.
Description of Work
Clean out a house of everything in it; pick up all carpeting.
Category
hauling services
DONNA K.
5.0
02/11/2010
Sam, the owner answered our call over the weekend and was very flexible about scheduling a convenient date to provide an estimate and to do our job. He cleared out both the garage and house of lots of stuff - metal cabinets, work benches, furniture, sewing machines etc. When the job took more time than expected, Sam worked with us to finish the job over the weekend. His employees were very polite and as careful as they could be completing such a job. The price was fair given the amount of work his employees did. We were pleased and would recommend the company to others.
Description of Work
A-ABF Hauling cleared all remaining furniture, miscellaneous items and metal recyclables from my mother in law's home and moved a bookcase that we kept to our house.
Category
hauling services

Other local Pros in your area

JUNK Relief

Need to get rid of some junk? At Junk Relief, we have the answer to all of your junk removal needs, no matter how big or small. Whether you need one couch removed or an entire building cleared out, we can help. Take advantage of the junk removal leader in the Chicago land area. Award winning.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Danny Deconstruction

We offer Junk Removal Service of Wood, Concrete, Gravel, Dirt, Landscaping or any Construction debris. Dump Truck and Delivery service. Hand Demolition Deconstruction. Fair price and professional services. Free estimates.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Amy's Housecleaning

We offer house cleaning in Chicago. We are registered with the state and insured. All our work is guaranteed.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Phone

Address

4245 N. Lamon ave. #2 S.

Chicago, IL 60641

Other Information

Services Offered

Hauling, Garbage Collection, Dumpster Service, Home and Garage Organization,
Property Management,
Real Estate Auctions,
Lawn and Yard Work

Services Not Offered

We Do Not Haul Concrete or Dirt.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

A-ABF HAULING/GREEN JUNK REMOVAL SERVICE is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

A-ABF HAULING/GREEN JUNK REMOVAL SERVICE is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

A-ABF HAULING/GREEN JUNK REMOVAL SERVICE accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, A-ABF HAULING/GREEN JUNK REMOVAL SERVICE offers free project estimates.

Yes, A-ABF HAULING/GREEN JUNK REMOVAL SERVICE offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, A-ABF HAULING/GREEN JUNK REMOVAL SERVICE does not offer a senior discount.

No, A-ABF HAULING/GREEN JUNK REMOVAL SERVICE does not offer warranties.

A-ABF HAULING/GREEN JUNK REMOVAL SERVICE offers the following services: Removal of Junk, Debris, Appliances, Old Furniture, Carpet Removal, Yard Waste, Flood Damage. Office, Warehouse, and Storage Unit Clean out. Vacant Lot Clean Out. Small Demolition Projects. Removal of Unwanted Items, Clutter and Pack Rat Clean-outs. Property Clearing and Maintenance. Estate and House Clean out Specialists. Hoarder and Pack Rat Clean Out Specialists. Commercial Clean Outs. 85% Green Junk Removal Company! property clean ups. Multiple Truckload Discounts. 33 Cubic Yard Trucks.