Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ben Hill Renovations Inc.

Founded 1964 • With Angi since September 2007

Family owned business since 1964. Free estimates! Over 65,000 satisfied customers! Additional email address:fpelfrey@bhroof.com. We offer financing!!

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(78) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 78 reviews
Eric G.
5.0
03/06/2022
As with life, we hope to get what we pay for. In this case, we opted to pay a little more (but not the highest quoted price) and got both an excellent result as a very well-executed project: literally from start to finish. We could not be more pleased with our new deck and with Ben Hill Renovations. For this project, I was what I believe a well informed buyer. I was contemplating building the deck myself with some assistance from hired labor for specific aspects of the project. I had already prepared detailed plans, secured my building permit from the city, and poured significant concrete footers designed to support also a dry patio (beneath the new deck) and a planned free-standing fireplace adjacent to the new deck. I'd read all the engineering requirements of a deck 14' off the ground and had purchased all the do-it-yourself books and watched many You Tube videos until coming to the right conclusion: this was a job for professionals. We wanted a very high-quality, maintenance-free deck so I investigated six different contractors and visited active building sites of three. After doing so, I felt confident I'd selected the right contractor, deciding to pay more than most other quotes but not more than one. I was confident of Ben Hill's model: provide a relatively substantial deposit, get into their building schedule having a 14-18 week lead time, and then have the reasonable expectation the project would be delivered quickly and professionally. This was exactly our experience. For those who may new to hiring a contractor, you should know a reputable contractor is likely not going agree to start "right-away." A reputable contractor is going to have a significant backlog of business, in part, because they have repeat customers. And there's a reason for having repeat customers. My wife and I've heard recently from friends about the more typical experience: other contractors will agree to start right away and then drag the project out because they've accepted more jobs than they can reasonably deliver professionally. I want to thank Ben Hill Renovations, specifically, Shawn, Ishmael, Alfredo, Tonya, and Chris for their commitment to quality and great customer outcomes. This is what I strive for in my own business and I'm able to recognize it when I experience it myself. We have a fantastic new deck at a fair price. We intend to work with Ben Hill again to replace an existing deck off another level of our home. It was the best of experiences.
Description of Work
New Deck: approximately 360 square feet made of pressure treated pine and using Timbertech decking and rail products.
Category
decks
Kristin J.
1.0
12/23/2021
I had new siding put on my house about 2 years ago. I thought they had done a good job but the siding job was written up as deficient on an inspection report while trying to sell the house. I reached out to them on several occasions with no response to correct the deficiencies. I had also contacted them about 4 months prior to do some roofing repairs and was told the job was too small for them to consider. So much for repeat customers. I will NEVER use them again and will let as many people I know how bad this company as to work quality and customer service.
Description of Work
New Vinyl siding
Category
decks, siding
Janet W.
5.0
10/14/2021
I am very please with the work done and the responsiveness of the team. Dewayne Ivey was my Project Manager. Work was started and completed as promised. There were a few issues, and when I spoke with Dewayne about them, he sent someone immediately out to fix or repair. Soon after my siding was installed, I started to grill out and melted my siding. I asked to have someone come out. Tim Smith came and repair the problem I created at no charge. I just can't say enough about this team. Keep up the excellent work!!!
Description of Work
I had siding, windows, gutters and a french door installed
Category
gutter repair, siding, replacement windows, doors
Jarman B.
5.0
12/23/2020
Excellent, on time, professional, cleaned up daily. Money well spent. Supervisor Daniel Cash was a blessing, always accessible and on top of every move, questions or concerns and alleviated them all. I learned if Dan Cash has an idea, go with Dan Cash.
Description of Work
Replace rear deck with an enclosed deck
Category
decks, gutter repair, roofing
Rick L.
5.0
01/09/2020
They were great in every aspect of the job, and the attention paid to communicating with the client (us) was great. I would recommend to anyone to ask for a timetable and get a good idea about how long any project would take, but I'd say that about any contractor/vendor. We didn't do that, and we should have. But any delay on our project was due to (a) a certain large municipality's DEEPLY dysfunctional permitting system, and (b) a delay in getting windows made from a GA-based manufacturer (but the windows appear to be very nice quality).
Description of Work
5 replacement windows in a tricky installation that required reframing and smaller windows.
Category
replacement windows
Henry M.
5.0
09/04/2019
It's pretty good. They were on time and professional.
Description of Work
They built a new patio/deck.
Category
decks, home appliances
patrick C.
5.0
01/10/2019
Great from start to finish. The Project Manager Dewayne was very clear and upfront about what we could expect and other problems that we could find as we got more into the window replacement. He was also very respectful and polite to my wife and family when I was not there. After meeting with him the first time I did not seek any other estimate from other company's. I couldn't be happier with the service, quality, and personal treatment I received from Dewayne and Ben Hill. A+++ Highly recommended.
Description of Work
Replaced six windows two were bay windows
Category
replacement windows
Kenneth G.
5.0
01/09/2019
Perfect. Couldn't ask for a better job and a better group of people to work with. No complaints whatsoever.
Description of Work
They put in new vinyl windows and gutters.
Category
gutter repair, replacement windows
Mary W.
5.0
01/09/2019
They did a wonderful job and cleaned up after themselves.
Description of Work
Gutter and window
Category
gutter repair, replacement windows
Stacey P.
5.0
01/09/2019
I can't say enough about them. They are very professional and met their timeline. Their workers were respectful and nice, and they were awesome to work with. We will be using them again for the back side of the house as well.
Description of Work
Replaced siding, gutters, soffitt and fascia.
Category
gutter repair, roofing, siding
Mary H.
3.0
09/15/2018
too high priced, unnecessary aspects that added to price
Description of Work
deck replacement p0roject estimate which was done but we decided against Ben Hill due to the high price and some luxuries that were not necessary for us.
Category
decks
Thelsea R.
5.0
05/16/2018
We did not go with this company in the end because we simply couldn't afford to at the time but I was very impressed with Joe's professionalism and helpfulness! He came out and took a look then gave us advice on the design we were thinking about and what might or might not work in our space. He seemed very honest and really tried to help us figure out the best options for our home rather than trying to sell us on the most expensive thing. If we had a larger budget, then we would have definitely gone with this company and we will keep them in mind for future projects. I honestly think their prices are really fair. Our budget was just so small, it was hard for them to work within. Also, they offer financing which is a real bonus! If you're looking for a high quality, professional result, you need to consider these guys!
Description of Work
Deck Replacement
Category
decks, roofing
Terry B.
3.0
09/19/2017
Insufficient quality. They've been rejected by inspections numerous times and they're about two months trying to get a deck extension complete. It's the longest time I've ever seen to get a deck extension.
Description of Work
Deck extension, and stairs, and a landing.
Category
decks
susan B.
5.0
07/18/2017
Appointment was scheduled promptly; salesman was knowledgeable & work was done in a professional manner with excellent clean up afterward. Couldn't be happier - my home looks new.
Description of Work
My 25+ yr. old double wide needed new siding. Space for workmen was limited.
Category
roofing, siding
Clyde P.
5.0
06/02/2017
Repair tech was courteous and professional.
Description of Work
Siding replaced.
Category
roofing, siding
Anne A.
5.0
06/02/2017
It is beautiful. They had suggestions which, although I was extremely skeptical about, turned out to be great.
Description of Work
Replaced siding, awnings, gutters
Category
gutter repair, siding
carmela P.
5.0
05/29/2017
The work done was precise and with perfection. Tracy Roberts was very well mannered and took the time and pride to meet our needs and satisfaction. I would definitely hire this company again for future work.
Description of Work
My deck needed repair and Tracy Roberts came out gave us an estimate and did great work.
Category
decks
Nicole B.
5.0
11/15/2016
I had John Hartsfield out to do a roof inspection for a home I was buying. I'm a first time homebuyer, and I'd never done any of this before and was (very obviously) completely new to all of it, a prime target for the dishonest. Another company came out early to give their estimate on a chimney and we were all in the house at the same time. I knew immediately that I could completely and totally trust John and his advice and that he was truly an honest man, which was such a relief. He was completely honest with me about the work I needed to do (and not do at that time) and also gave me sound advice about the other company's recommendation and he saved me thousands. I absolutely recommend him and Ben Hill Renovations and will 100% use them in the future.
Description of Work
A roof inspection and estimate before purchasing a home.
Category
roofing
William T.
5.0
11/07/2016
They were prompt to complete the estimate and reported promptly for work at the agreed upon time and completed the job earlier than expected. Jeff McIntyre, the Project Manager, was extremely professional and easy to work with. Tracy Roberts was instrumental in getting all of the moving parts to come together. The crew was diligent and hard working.
Description of Work
Replaced my roof which was damaged by hail
Category
roofing
ADAM G.
5.0
10/31/2016
Of the three quotes I received for this job, the Ben Hill estimator was the only one who actually got up on the roof to take a look around. They weren't the lowest quote I received, but they put a lot of effort into the estimate (drawings, line item detail, etc). As I had been researching roofs and materials, the estimator was able to answer all my questions, and was also receptive to suggestions I made between the estimate and acceptance...making a 2nd trip to explain and justify the quote changes. The roofers arrived on the appointed day, they must have had 10 people here. Everyone seemed well coordinated, and the roof was finished the same day. I am very happy with the result, and would recommend this vendor to anyone looking for a quality job from an established vendor experienced with a good mix of commercial and residential properties.
Description of Work
I had a 28 year old roof Replaced. 28 squares were required.
Category
roofing
Tom P.
5.0
10/27/2016
John from Ben Hill came out and gave us a proposal for the things we had asked him. It seemed reasonable compared with our other quotes and Ben Hill had done some work for some friends of ours that were pleased so we decided to move forward with them. I have had bad experiences with contractors before and was very cautious of who I wanted to do our work. I couldn't be any happier with all of the work that was completed on our home! Everything that was done was completed in a timely manner and all of the workers were very friendly. I couldn't believe how clean they kept everything as they were working! We are very happy with Ben Hill and the work that they did. I'll be giving them a call in the future when I'm ready for my windows to be replaced. These guys are the real deal!
Description of Work
Roof, Gutters & Gutter Guards, & Siding
Category
siding
Chris C.
5.0
10/25/2016
After explaining the situaution with someone within the company, it was determined that a less costly option was available. They did not pressure me into anything but gave me different options even if it meant they would lose a job
Description of Work
Had a broken window.
Category
replacement windows
Debbie P.
1.0
10/14/2016
Apparently you can't divide your comments in to paragraphs - sorry..... *I can't begin to tell you how disappointed I am with Ben Hill. The only good thing I have to say is that they were all very nice. However, the quality of the work is pretty bad. I told them I did not want a job that 'was good enough' - I wanted a good job! When I mentioned all the stress this job caused me, all the trouble it caused me, the extended length of time, and unprofessional quality they gave me $500 off - I think it should have been more. *The Hardie Plank seams were bad from the beginning - I told the Project Manager about it and he assured me it would be taken care of by the caulking. The caulking the painters did was horrible! They put thick beads of caulk on the seams which welled up and looked awful. We had them remove all the caulk off the Hardie Plank and just leave it between the seams - so now we have seams that are uneven and look bad. They tried to tell me that it was because of the framing but I'm telling you the seams are just bad. They told me they were up to 'standard' but they look awful. *I had to pretty much 'babysit' the crews the entire time - which was suppose to be 2.5 weeks but turned in to 4 months! I can't imagine what might not have been caught had I not been here the whole time watching things. Because of the lengthy time I have ruts in my yard where there were no gutters and dead grass from supplies being on my yard for so long. *The house had to be repainted 4-5 times. I paid extra to upgrade the paint to Emerald by Sherwin Williams. Apparently, it is a premium paint that needs to be put on a little differently. The painters finally downgraded the paint to Super Paint and it seems to be ok but ,surely, they should have been able to figure out how to correctly apply the Emerald line of paints. The painters used white caulking around my brown basement door and on my brown-toned bricks! The building crew had to go over it in brown caulk and I can still see the white caulk in some places. *I had all my window frames wrapped to protect them but when the building crew was putting in the bottom piece one the window they marred up all the wrapped window sills. They put new pieces on top of the marred up ones but didn't attached them with anything but a small amount of caulk - so the bottoms and sides are just loose. *I had to have one of the building crew stop caulking because it was so bad. Rather than come through the house to work on the window replacement, one member climbed through a window and in the process broke a bookshelf. They also were careless and put a hole in the screen on my storm door and cut 2 window screens. Both the building crew and painting crew were careless with my gutters and in the process 2 pieces ended up missing - I have gutter guards and pieces wound up everywhere. The painters painted the gutters and downspouts and left them in the grass to get dirty and now I have dirty gutters. *I have pieces not attached to my doors. I had to make them reset one door because it was so hard to open - it's a little better but still hard. *They left off a piece of wood allowing light, bugs, and whatever to be able to get into the basement - it was supposed to be caulked but wasn't.. *When the job was done there were still things that weren't completed - I was told all the windows would be cleaned when the job was done - they weren't. Other similar things weren't done either. *WHY DID I HAVE TO OVERSEE SO MUCH OF THIS PROJECT? WHY WERE THINGS DONE SO CARELESSLY? WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY GOOD MONEY FOR SUCH POOR WORK?????
Description of Work
Hardie Plank Siding, 25 Energy Star Windows, Painting, Installation of 3 Entry Doors, Steps and Railing on front porch
Category
siding, replacement windows, house painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We do apologize for the delayed production on your project as we try very hard to complete all of our jobs in a timely and efficient manner. Unfortunately, sometimes we are presented with unforeseen obstacles that can prolong the process including weather, scheduling, material issues etc. which is why we were happy to provide you with a courtesy discount for the inconvenience. Since every project is unique, it is hard to foresee what problems may arise during production, however, it is our policy to do everything we can to leave every customer feeling that they received the best service possible. As part of our process, we meet with each customer to do a final walk through upon completion of the job. The walk through gives the customer the opportunity to point out and discuss any remaining issues that have not already been addressed during production so that we can correct the problems before final payment is made. Unfortunately, we were not made aware of any issues during your final walk through and were given the Certificate of Completion and final payment leaving us to believe that the job was completed to your satisfaction. I assure you that this is not the normal feedback that we receive and do take it very serious. Per your conversation with our Salesman today we are eager to meet with you, along with our owner, to discuss a resolution you and hope to get that scheduled very soon.
Randy H.
1.0
08/29/2016
IT DIDN'T for less than 40 feet of downspout and three leaders heads Ben Hill Renovations gave me an estimate of $2200.00 of which 1350.00 was for the leader heads that the local bog box will sell me for less than $100 Needless to say Ben Hill Renovations will not gt my business!
Description of Work
Adding a new downspout and three leader heads
Category
gutter repair
Veronica F.
1.0
05/26/2015
We contracted with them for the initial $770 to have the repair fixed, flashing around the chimney. A few weeks later they came out to do the work. The guy that showed up didn't know what he was there to fix. He went on the roof and came down a short time later and said there was much more damage than what he was prepared to fix. He indicated he took some pictures and would give them Ben Hill Roofing for another estimate. We received another estimate via email for approximately $1100.00. We called and asked for someone to come out and get on the roof for a complete estimate so we would know what is wrong . They were very apologetic and said they would call to set up.....never did. Called them two more times and got the same apologies, but again no follow-up from them to set an appointment. After several weeks of their non-interest in our business we moved on to another roofing company.
Description of Work
We requested an estimate for a roof leak. Initially they came out an gave an estimate without getting on the roof for $770. Unprofessional, would not return calls when asked for someone to actually get on the roof and give a complete estimate.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Please accept our sincere apology for your recent experience with us. We recognize that there is never any excuse for not getting back to each and every customer within a reasonable amount of time and hope that you will forgive this error on our part. Having been in business for 51 years, we can assure you that, while we are not perfect, we do make every effort to treat each customer with care and appreciation for their time and their business. We hope that you will accept our apology for our oversight in this situation and allow us the opportunity to make it up to you in the future. If there is anything we can do for you at this time please feel free to contact our Manager, Robby Boyd, at 770-900-5400. Again, thank you so much for your understanding.

Phone

Address

8990 GA-5

Douglasville, GA 30134

Other Information

Services offered

Commercial roofing & maintenance/repair services, emergency leak calls & repairs, aerial infrared scanning service, new construction, re-roof & re-cover. Residential total exterior renovation: roofing, siding, windows, gutters & bhr gutter guard system, doors, attic insulation, and infrared energy scans.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Financing Available

FAQ

Ben Hill Renovations Inc. is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Ben Hill Renovations Inc. is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Ben Hill Renovations Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

Yes, Ben Hill Renovations Inc. offers free project estimates.

Yes, Ben Hill Renovations Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Ben Hill Renovations Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Ben Hill Renovations Inc. offers emergency services.

No, Ben Hill Renovations Inc. does not offer warranties.

Ben Hill Renovations Inc. offers the following services: Commercial roofing & maintenance/repair services, emergency leak calls & repairs, aerial infrared scanning service, new construction, re-roof & re-cover. Residential total exterior renovation: roofing, siding, windows, gutters & bhr gutter guard system, doors, attic insulation, and infrared energy scans.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

We are a family owned and operated gutter company with 30 years experience. We specialize in seamless gutter installations and leaf free gutter covers. We can also custom fabricate gutters, metal porches and baytops.  

Gutter Shutter of Greater Atlanta

5.0

(8)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Gutter Shutter of Greater Atlanta

With 10 plus years of experience, Gutter Shutter of Greater Atlanta employees are committed to excellence in every aspect of our business. We uphold a standard of integrity bound by fairness, honesty, and personal responsibility. Our distinction is in the quality of service and products we bring to our customers. Accurate knowledge of our trade combined with ability is what makes us true professionals. Above all, we are watchful of our customers' interests and make their concerns the basis of our business. Call us today and visit our website: http://www.guttershutterofatlanta.com 770-800-1566  

MASTER TECH GA INC

5.0

(10)

Angi Certified

MASTER TECH GA INC

We at Master Tech have over 20 years of experience that we have accumulated within our personnel. That far outweighs the experience of many other gutter and metal establishments. The owner, Mr. Orvel Bailey, began as a gutter and metal installer at the age of 18 years old. Over the years, he installed, repaired, and replaced every kind of gutter, gutter cover and metal roof imaginable to the mind. He was awarded installer of the year for the last 5 years while he was working for two separate companies. After carrying the title of chief installer for the past six years, Orvel decided it was time to go out on his own. Throughout the years, Orvel has learned that integrity and perfection are two key elements in any installation. We at Master Tech feel that the customers' happiness ranks first on a long list of necessities in order to be successful. Customer satisfaction is followed by experience; which is why all sales technicians, installers, and office personnel have a minimum of five years experience each.