Active Environmental, Inc.

About

Founded 1993 • With Angi since January 2011

Active environmental offers experienced lawn care, irrigation, and landscaping services in Orlando, Apopka, Ocoee, Clermont, Winter Garden and Windermere. Let our specialists care for your lawn and create the landscape you always wanted. We offer specials in all areas of services including: lawn treatments, irrigation inspection, landscape design, and more. Award winning. Locally owned & operated. Orlando Building Service used for work requiring a Florida General Contractor License....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Women Owned & OperatedWomen Owned & Operated
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

Hardscape Before and After

+2 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(1356) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

1097

4

135

3

50

2

22

1

52

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

irrigation system (1282)lawn care (149)lawn & landscaping (84)lawn treatment (38)mulch delivering (14)pest control (5)insulation (4)hardscaping (3)tree service (3)leaf removal (3)landscape lighting (1)
Showing 1-25 of 1356 reviews
5.0

09/20/2022


Dawn C.

Fantastic. Active Environmental was great to work from the first call for a quote through job completion. The recommendations, advice, guidance, education, flexibility and team were professional, easy to work with, nice, fun and great people. I highly recommend them for small or large projects. I received received 4 other quotes before I picked Active Environmental. The projects were broken into phases to meet my schedule and budget. Complete of all projects was ~$14K.

Description of Work
Landscaping and poured curbing

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, hardscaping

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/13/2022

1.0

08/12/2022


Joseph L.

We used Active Environmental twice (within 2-3 weeks) to lay new sods after pool construction. Reason being the first estimate was off and didn't cover some area. Seeing the first set of sod is good, we agree to pay for the missing section. However second time around the sod was grey-ish looking even on the palette. I am not expert on that so I trusted them to put them in and I specifically asked their help to check if the irrigation is good after the installation and they assured me that its good and was set to run every night. Next day it all turned brown, call them up and was told it will grow back after 3-4 weeks but it never did. We can still see the clear straight lines and square corners where the 2nd patch of sod meets the slightly older sod but wasn't growing. Call them up trying to work something out, instead Mike insisted its irrigation problem (he is the same guy that checked and assured me the irrigation is good TWICE). I asked is there anything we can do, but he simply assuming I was asking for free replacement (which I never meant to) and refused to talk after couple back and forth. I would be happy to work something out with them if they take the time to look at the problem and suggests solution even if costs $$$, instead they simply shutdown and refused to talk. I contacted Beau (seems to be the manager/boss) first to let them know I am about to post negative reviews if I don't hear anything from him. So I guess I gave them enough rooms. So lesson learned, this is a company that don't stand behind their work. You might get lucky, but not always.

Description of Work
New Sod After Pool Construction

Category lawn service

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2022

Service Provider Response

We proposed sod and irrigation. The owner approved the sod, but didn’t want us to go through the irrigation as he said he had that handled and had a different contractor for that. We installed the sod and provided the watering schedule. The owner sent a picture multiple days later saying the sod wasn’t doing well. A tech was immediately sent to the property and found the sod dry and the irrigation off. The sod will not thrive if the watering schedule is not followed, especially immediately following the install. Once we install and leave the property how the irrigation is handled is out of our control, but we do provide guidelines to the owner to manage their irrigation system. Also, the other sod jobs done the same day from the same batch of sod look great as they are being watered properly.
5.0

07/28/2021


Greg R.

I’ve used Active Environmental for the past several years. Active Environmental has been punctual and professional. Their prices are competitive and reasonable. I highly recommend.

Description of Work
Lawn irrigation

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

Cost $125

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/27/2021

3.0

04/28/2021


barry H.

I had used this company for small jobs for many years so chose them to replace my controller, valve and extend a repair a number of heads. The work took a few visits and twice they showed up an hour or more outside of the scheduled window. That alone wouldn't have been a problem but I ended up with an intermittent problem with one of my zones which after about 3 visits the technician was able to see happening and provided me an option to repair. My problem with this company is that now they have ceased responding to any of my messages from email, Voicemail or text. Since they provide the warranty for my controller I am concerned that if I have a problem with it they will respond. This is speculation but based on my experience over the past month. 4/30/21 The vendor's response is incorrect. I never heard back from them. I never got the proposal. I was never contacted by them again.

Description of Work
Replace clock, heads and extend irrigation

Category irrigation systems

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2021

Service Provider Response

We have responded every time and our office currently has no missed messages or emails from the client. We have visited the property multiple times at no charge and had multiple long phone calls with the client. We understand it can be frustrating, but if we are unable to recreate an intermittent issue then we cannot troubleshoot it. This was expressed to him. Finally, we did briefly see an issue immediately upon arrival one day. We tried again and again to recreate it, but it did not surface again. Due to this, we provided a proposal to replace the wire for this zone. This was never approved.
5.0

10/21/2020


Monique W.

Everything went well. Shari, Victor, as well as the guys who installed the shrubs were awesome. Shari and Victor quickly responded to inquiries and requests. The guys who installed the shrubs were extremely friendly and efficient. I have an irrigation project that I am planning on using them for.

Description of Work
Shrub installation along fence line

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2020

Images

Review for Active Environmental, Inc. - PO Box 1669, Minneola, FL - 38966040

+2 More

5.0

10/14/2020


Patricia D.

Shawn was great!!! Very pleasant, professional and thorough, I had several problems that he pointed out and gave me a price for each repair. I followed his recommendations and am very pleased with the work he did. Shari who works in the office, is wonderful to work with. She is very professional and helpful. This was the third time I have used Active and they will be my choice going forward for annual maintenance& repair of my system.

Description of Work
Sprinkler system tune up

Category irrigation systems

Cost $156

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2020

5.0

09/18/2020


Nicholas N.

Very well. They arrived on time and completed the work in a profesional manner. I'm totally satisfied with this company and would recommend them to anyone in need of irrigation system work.

Description of Work
Repair broken sprinkler head and check system coverage.

Category insulation, irrigation systems

Cost $51

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2020

5.0

08/23/2020


Melissia C.

Amazing! My yard is always so beautiful and green. I receive compliments all through the year, every season. Highly recommend both services.

Description of Work
Lawn Maintenance and Chemical Spray

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, tree service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2020

2.0

08/22/2020


Natalia Z.

Victor, the owner, wears polite, knew everything from the beginning, all the plants I was talking about and showed him, the kind of stone edging I wanted etc. But came with different things, including garlics. The project was different than what we expected because They didn’t follow things I asked since the beginning. They put Less plants than what is necessary to cover the soil even when grown and also plants that just can’t go right in shallow ground. Little little mulch too, charged absurdly. The most dangerous thing was that after our complaint, his landscaper came to our house and worked in our garden, in our property WITHOUT our knowledge and permission. And took photos. We have it filmed by cameras. He changed our irrigation system and it’s all a mess and not working well. We had a quote of $2100 with ALL Included and 5 hours of work. We ended Paying ONE THOUSAND more because of things Victor FORGOT - like the edging!!! And 4 hours more of service. He came with six plants to a determined area that had to receive 7 more! Keep eyes open. The right price that is fake.

Description of Work
Landscape remodeling

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch

Cost $3,200

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/07/2020

Images

Review for Active Environmental, Inc. - PO Box 1669, Minneola, FL - 38819637

+4 More

Service Provider Response

This project was designed, proposed, and approved. The client changed her mind during the install and most material needed returned. She then created her own design, we proposed according to her design, and she approved. We did not forget to include any pricing. The edging cost very clearly specified it was an average cost and the final cost would be dependent upon the edging she selects. We went back to the property following the install per an email from her husband requesting another revision. We also needed to accommodate that area with appropriate irrigation. These items were done as a courtesy and at no additional charge. We always take pictures of all installs following completion. We are very surprised at the pictures the client attached as these are mid installation and not the final. Unfortunately, Angie's List doesn't allow contractors to post pictures. Otherwise, we would be able to show the attached are untruthful and misleading. We are disheartened by this review as we strove to accommodate the owner’s many changes bringing her vision to life. Despite her review, we do hope she loves her install as it is her own design.
5.0

08/18/2020


Walt R.

The repairman was on time, knowledgeable and very courteous He went right to work, replaced some sprinkler heads, made sure after the repairs that I had good coverage over the yard. Active Environmental has done work for me in the past and would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Sprinkler repair

Category irrigation systems

Cost $275

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2021

5.0

05/28/2020


Linda C.

Active Lawn Care was extremely helpful and their employee Rick was a font of knowledge and helped me with all the leaks on my property. I would recommend them highly.

Description of Work
I had a series of leaks in my irritation system.

Category irrigation systems

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2020

5.0

05/20/2020


Ruel M.

Overall it went very well. The appointment window was 7:30-8:00. Rick arrived at 8:10 and once I explained the issue got to work right away. Unfortunately I could not find the valve box containing the valve for that zone. But he used a locator to identify where it was and also located the other irrigation boxes for me for future reference. He quickly determined the solenoid was the issue and replaced it. He was done by around 9:00. Great guy and gave me a lot of terrific insights and information into my irrigation system and helped me determine what I needed to do to reconfigure the heads on one zone. I will definitely hire this company again since I have used them in the past with equally great results every time.

Description of Work
One of the irrigation zones was not working. I also wanted advice on how to reconfigure the heads in one zone.

Category irrigation systems

Cost $160

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2020

5.0

05/18/2020


Nancy R.

I called the office and they sent out a repairman within a day to verify what was broken. After an hour, the repairman said I needed a new water pump. He had to order it and said he'd be back the next day to install. The repairman arrived the next day and took 3 hours to install, test, and run the irrigation system. I am most pleased with his professionalism and courtesy.

Description of Work
Water pump on the irrigation system needed replacing

Category irrigation systems

Cost $756

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2020

5.0

05/15/2020


Walt R.

The company rep was on time knew what he was doing, and the job was finished within an hour. I would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Sprinkler repair

Category irrigation systems

Cost $70

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2020

5.0

05/14/2020


michael B.

went very well. I called, they showed up the next day on time as promised and did a thorough job with a pleasant and professional attitude.

Description of Work
sprinkler tune-up

Category insulation, irrigation systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2020

5.0

04/20/2020


Sharon Z.

Excellent. Technician on time, very pleasant and professional and kept social distance. Explained the service needed after he had checked the system. Completed the work after I agreed. Explained that he would take the necessary steps to have the company send me a prospectus for the rest of the more complicated repairs. I will certainly hire them again.

Description of Work
Sprinklers needed to be adjusted and/or replaced

Category irrigation systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2020

5.0

12/17/2019


Cheri L.

Great, as usual. I've used this company for many years and would not consider using anyone else. They are always very professional.

Description of Work
Just needed a routine maintenance check on my sprinklers.

Category irrigation systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/06/2019

5.0

11/07/2019


Douglas H.

I have been using Active Lawn Care & Landscaping Inc for about 4 months now. Management team is always very responsive and helpful working with my schedule. I have all my lawn and fertilizer service done by Active and have been pleased with the service, any issues I have encountered were corrected in a timely manner. Recently used the irrigation repair service, the price was fair and the service as always was outstanding.

Description of Work
Monthly lawn service and sprinkler service.

Category lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/07/2019

5.0

08/09/2019


Rita H.

He did an excellent job. Made some changes, but not too many.

Description of Work
Review sprinkler system and make changes as needed

Category irrigation systems

Cost $75

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2019

5.0

07/05/2019


Latoya C.

Scheduling was super easy and Active was able to work with my availability. Irrigation tech was on time, knowledgeable, and took the time to explain everything to me. They were able to give me a fair quote, fast, and help me fix my irrigation issues. I would recommend to a friend.

Description of Work
Irrigation

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/17/2019

1.0

07/03/2019


Sarah A.

They were not skilled enough to handle our difficult job. We paid over $2200 and in the end had no working irrigation to show for it. They never should have accepted the job if they did not have the skilled labor to complete it—OR they should not have charged for it. In the end, I had a friend come from a couple hours away who owns an irrigation business. He completed our job in half a day with no problem.

Description of Work
Complex irrigation add-on and repair.

Category irrigation systems

Cost $2,300

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2018

Service Provider Response

We were hired to convert the irrigation water source from city to lake pump on an extremely old irrigation system to start the process of getting it running.We proposed what was asked, which was to replace pump, backflow, and inline filter located across the road from the home. Once completed, further repairs were found, as expected, on this very old system.These repairs could not be known or addressed until the proposed pump installation was complete and water was flowing through the system.Client understood this, but was still upset about installing the new pump setup to find that there were numerous additional repairs needed due to the system's age.The job was also prolonged due to the husband wanting to help to save money. We performed unforeseen repairs at a lower rate compared to the hours required, used our expertise to get this very old system running via the lake, and obliged the owner to help some to save money.In the end, the job was complete except for 3 hrs of work the owner said he would complete and the majority of what he paid for was for the pump/backflow/inline filter replacement. We are very surprised by this review after what we completed for this owner 9 months ago.
5.0

05/28/2019


Paul B.

At 1st they have not completed the job, but they promised to comeback to complete it.

Description of Work
Replaced 3 valves.

Category irrigation systems

Cost $235

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/21/2019

5.0

05/04/2019


Richard O.

Initial appt. got slightly delayed because the technician was held up on a previous job. They called with plenty of time to reschedule. Second technician showed up early and got the job done fine. Have used them before and would rehire.

Description of Work
Irrigation System Tune-Up and Sprinkler Head Replacement