Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

WEGMAN BROTHERS

Founded 1959 • With Angi since May 2010

4.5

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 7625

Newark, DE 19714

Description

Family owned and Operated Since 1959 Seasonal Promotions Free Estimates on Installations Offer Financing

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Charles P.
2.0
10/30/2017
It went fine - professional, no problem. But the bill was outrageous. Specifically - $159 for snaking the drain, $98 for clearing the tub (unnecessary after snaking the drain), $200 for installation, and $79 for just showing up, for a total of $532 for about an hour and a half of work. He did forewarn me about price, and I consented because I wanted the problem done with. But never ever again.
Description of Work
I needed a new kitchen sink trash compactor, which I had purchased.
Category
plumbing
RALPH G.
5.0
07/10/2016
Our AC compressor stopped working. The temperature went to 79 degrees. Turning off and on the AC and the circuit breaker did not work. The circuit breaker board showed a red light on the breaker. A call to Wegman resulted in a technician (Jesse) visiting our condo within the hour. He diagnosed the prob.em as "wire nuts had melted off inside outdoor unit causing it to short out breaker." He made repair and we had AC within the hour. We have had nothing but great experience from Wegman. They are there when you, as a customer need them. Believe me they are more than worth the price especially if Bernie or Jesse respond to your calls. They always want to "fix the problem" versus "replace the unit". Trust me, before Wegman. we had several "replace unit" contractors versus"repair"
Description of Work
Repaired wiring in our AC compressor
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
andrea E.
5.0
02/26/2016
.
Description of Work
Fixed toilet
Category
plumbing
M M.
5.0
02/15/2016
.
Description of Work
.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Layne D.
4.0
09/04/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Replaced well pump hose - $2 hose, 45 minutes, $275 bill - my house is less than 5 miles from their office.
Category
plumbing, air duct cleaning
Erin M.
5.0
06/21/2015
They responded quickly, determined the issue and i was relieved to know I wasn't going to have to replace the entire radiator.
Description of Work
Replaced steam radiator part as the old one was leaking.
Category
plumbing
Mary Ann S.
5.0
06/17/2015
Wegman Brothers was extremely responsive and professional. I called them early in the day and within 2 hours a technician was at the house to fix the problem. We have been enrolled in their annual service agreement to perform routine maintain on our a/c and heating systems for about 10 years and never had a problem. The agreement is well worth the money, especially when provided by Wegman Brothers. We did not pay for the service call since we might still be covered under the Lennox Complete Care Warranty. We plan to continue to use Wegman Brothers for all of our heating and air conditioning needs.
Description of Work
Replaced capacitor for compressor after air conditioning was not cooling.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
RALPH G.
5.0
05/26/2015
On the day of the failure, we left for a vacation. While on vacation called Wegman to arrange a visit on the day after we got back. Jessie arrived as scheduled, diagnosed the problem, ordered parts and fixed the unit(s). We have three so the compressor was for all. We called Wegman a few years ago after our usual Heating/AC diagnosed a problem with the ductless units (they are supplemental to our whole house unit to provide better cooling in upstairs bedrooms and wine room cooling) as we had a "leak" and needed a whole new system because parts were no longer available. Bernie of Wegman came in and found we only needed a capacitor, parts were available, and we have used Wegman ever since. They fix what is fixable rather than sell you a new system. This is a family business, they come in emergencies, are very competent and very pleasant to deal with.
Description of Work
Our ductless air conditioner in the wine room failed. Jessie of Wegman diagnosed the problem as failed composer motor, ordered parts and fixed it.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, air duct cleaning
sharon M.
1.0
05/18/2015
It didn't they never returned my call.
Description of Work
I called twice, no one answered, left messages each time about the work I needed done. No response received.
Category
plumbing
Mary Jane W.
4.0
01/21/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Moved outdoor faucet. Very good work. Very expensive.
Category
plumbing
Donna S.
5.0
08/18/2014
unknown
Category
plumbing
Elaine H.
5.0
06/23/2014
t
Description of Work
I needed to replace a 25 year old heater/ac unit. I choose Wegman Brothers b/c of the representative's patience, knowledge, and ability to explain in layman's terms various units - then selecting the best unit for my home/lifestyle/ budget. A new 2 stage Lennox furnace/ air conditioner was installed in Nov. I had always had problems with a running heater, but a cold house. Wegman's immediately saw the old narrow original duct had to be enlarged to allow heated air to flow, increasing the warmth of my home instantly. Honeywell thermostat installed. Wegman's arrived on time for consults/install. Calls were returned promptly. Bernie & Jessie were friendly but professional. Workers left my house as they found it - clean. Family Owned.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing
Darryl K.
5.0
03/17/2014
They were very professional, on time, and explained everything very clearly to me. I have used them for several years and have always had great service. I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
They recently put a new gas furnace in my house.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Richard H.
5.0
03/12/2014
This is a First Class Company. I talked to Debbie to get an estimate and she was very helpful and knowledgeable and explained what was included in the price. When i called her back to schedule the appointment on Friday afternoon she was extremely helpful and got me set up for Wed could have had it before but i couldn't support being there for an earlier date. There responsiveness really impressed me, i expected to have to wait at least a week before they could get to it. Jesse and John arrived right on time and were very professional and clean and friendly. They immediately went to work draining and removing the old heater and installing the new. Jesse is seems very knowledgable and explained what he was going to do and made some recommendations to make the installation better and safer than the old one. Very impressed with my whole experience with WEGMAN Brothers will definitely use them again and would recommend them to anyone without hesitation.
Description of Work
Replaced a 40 gal Gas Hot Water Heater
Category
plumbing
Priti M.
3.0
10/18/2013
They came out and to does some plumbing work for a toilet. It was a 2 step process where first you did the plumbing and then they were to come back and set the toilet that we had purchased. The plumbing part went fine however when they came back to set the toilet the toilet was sticking out three inches from the wall, When I asked the plumber about it he completely did not have a clue. He He insisted on a payment and not knowing I paid him. When my husband got home we consulted a friend/retired plumber at Lowes who informed us that it was because we had a 12 inch rough in toilet and needed a 14 inch rough in toilet. Shouldn't the plumber who had installed the toilet known that? The company didn't even refund our money and my husband ended up putting in the 14 inch roughed in toilet.
Description of Work
They came out and replaced some plumbing for a toilet. They also installed a new toilet.
Category
plumbing
Donna S.
5.0
10/07/2013
Steve arrived a few minutes early. He was friendly and professional. Removed old faucet set and installed new one in a little more than a half hour. I liked his attention to detail and they way he cleaned up when he was done. He took all the old parts away for recycling. The cost of the service was exactly as had been quoted to me on the phone by Debby, who also is very professional and nice to work with. I definitely will use Wegman Brothers for future projects.
Description of Work
Removed old kitchen faucet set and installed new one I had purchased.
Category
plumbing
GUATLIAN C K.
5.0
07/30/2013
It went very well. I was at work when Steve, the repairman, came by. According to my partner, Darlene, he was very polite, personable and professional, and he arrived early. Steve was able to pinpoint the problems and had the parts to fix them right away. He took a total of about 45 mins to complete the job. Now, not only has our toilet stopped leaking but it flushes better than ever before! Although I thought we had only a leak, I have no complaints that he got the toilet to flush properly as well. Another thing I was pleased about was that we were not pressured to fix any more than what was needed. Yes, I would use Wegman's again.
Description of Work
I made the appointment to fix a leak around the base of my toilet.
Category
plumbing
Marianne G.
5.0
07/10/2013
They determined where the leak was coming from, and suggested the simplest course of action. They did not try to oversell re-doing the entire plumbing, which has happened to us quite often with other companies. He worked for an hour or so, and made sure the leak was fixed. It has been fine ever since. He also suggested other simple and inexpensive things that could be done to upgrade our aging bathroom. I really appreciated the fact that he didn't try to convince me to make a drastic and costly renovation with scare tactics. Also, he didn't talk down to me because I am a woman.
Description of Work
Fixed a leak coming from the bathtub
Category
plumbing
Larry P.
1.0
04/03/2013
See the previous information.
Description of Work
The lower heating element needed to be replaced. The heater is under warranty. The technician spent less than 30 minutes, part of that on the telephone on a personal call. Charged us $100. His receipt indicated what specific element was installed so I checked the national website for the Bradford White Heater to learn the wrong part was installed. I had 2 emails from the Bradford White Technical staff indicating the part installed by Wegman would work but it would not heat as well or as quickly as the part removed and specified for our model of heater. When I contacted Wegman, I was told 1) that the part listed on the receipt didn't exist (wrong), and 2) their technician had put the wrong # on the receipt. Now, I do not trust Wegman. Will not use them again. my recommendation is Beware!
Category
water heater repair
John S M.
5.0
03/24/2013
ll jobs were completed promptly and the work was well done
Description of Work
We have used Wegman Bros. for at least 12 years for jobs from leaky faucets to a full furnace replacement. They have always done excellent work, have shown up when they promised and have always been very professional. Our calls have included weekend emergencies, and we've always been able to count on them.
Category
plumbing
Paulette C.
5.0
11/01/2012
We have tried other services and we found they weren't as reliable as Wegman's. From the youngest apprentice to the veterans who come to service our home has always provded quality work, professional care and excellent overall service. They have done routine a/c service, installed a sump pump in the past and other services for as long as we have had our house. I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
We have an annual contract for maintenance.
Category
plumbing
Donna S.
5.0
08/12/2011
They were really good. The guy who came out was able to diagnose it very quickly. He easily could have inflated it because with the heater, we really don't know that much of them. He was reasonably priced. He didn't try to sell me a heater or something like that, even I would have been receptive to it because it is my experience, and if an appliance breaks, I get a new one. He was friendly and pleasant. He was willing to talk to me about it. The fact that, he didn't give a hard spell for the things his company could have provided. He was right on with the diagnosing, and he was able to deal with it quickly. He didn't leave any dirt after the work was done. The other big companies that I had dealt with always wanted to sell different things to me.
Description of Work
Wegman Brothers repaired a part of the gas heater in April. It used to turn on and turn off immediately.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Ed C.
5.0
07/07/2011
I heard my sump pump for the first time in 14 years and tracked it back to a noise in the wall near the water service shut off valve. I knew I had a big problem when it sounded like a waterfall the next morning. I had a friend come over the next morning with a plumber who thought the water line was ruptured inside the wall, but could not fix it until a week later. The price was right, but I had to go on a business trip the next day and did not want to leave my family without water. I called Wegman Brothers and Steve came over that afternoon, confirmed the problem, and said they could be back in the morning to fix it. The price was a little higher, but for next day service I expected a premium. Steve and Jesse dug up the pipe, replaced the split portion, and even upgraded the shutoff valve for me. They were quick and efficient and I was able to leave on my trip that afternoon confident that the problem was resolved. If I have any other plumbing problems, I will definitely call them again. When I look to upgrade my HVAC system, you can bet I will be calling them first.
Description of Work
Dig up and repair main water service going through foundation, replace shut off valve, water seal foundation hole, fill and grade excavation.
Category
plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Lawson Home Services, LLC

    Full service Radon testing and mitigation, air duct and dryer vent cleaning, and blown-in attic insulation company. We service the entire state of Delaware and eastern Maryland.  

    Angi Certified

    AAA Brothers Heating & Air Conditioning

    We specialize in heating, A/C, water heaters, refrigeration, and planned maintenance memberships. We have experienced customer-service oriented technicians, we do not use any subcontractors. There are always specials going on so please ask us and we will be happy to extend them to you!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    SK Heating & Air Conditioning

    S.K. heating and air conditioning is a local and small heating and air conditioning company that thinks to fix first, replace last! Keeping in mind the wants and needs of you and your family.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Service and Install Plumbing, Drain Cleaning, Pump Services, Heating & Air Conditioning, Duct Cleaning, Water Heaters Indoor Air Quallity

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about WEGMAN BROTHERS

    How is WEGMAN BROTHERS overall rated?

    WEGMAN BROTHERS is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are WEGMAN BROTHERS open?

    WEGMAN BROTHERS is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does WEGMAN BROTHERS provide

    WEGMAN BROTHERS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does WEGMAN BROTHERS offer free estimates?

    Yes, WEGMAN BROTHERS offers free project estimates.

    Does WEGMAN BROTHERS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, WEGMAN BROTHERS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does WEGMAN BROTHERS offer a senior discount?

    No, WEGMAN BROTHERS does not offer a senior discount.

    Does WEGMAN BROTHERS offer emergency services?

    Yes, WEGMAN BROTHERS offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by WEGMAN BROTHERS?

    No, WEGMAN BROTHERS does not offer warranties.

    What services does WEGMAN BROTHERS offer?

    WEGMAN BROTHERS offers the following services: Service and Install Plumbing, Drain Cleaning, Pump Services, Heating & Air Conditioning, Duct Cleaning, Water Heaters Indoor Air Quallity