Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A To Z Remodeling & Construction Inc

With Angi since October 2008

License #: 884075.

Verified Reviews

2.4

(8) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews
Tim M.
1.0
09/05/2013
Work took longer than promised. Unprofessional -- project managers and foreman arguing a lot. Damaged property that was not part of the remodel. Was turned on in bathroom - pipes to sink not attached - water flowed to new wooden floor. Then white paint was spilled on wooden floor by plummer. Tile floor in kitchen was not placed properly -- replaced 3 times with additional cost to us to purchase the additional tile. Received a 5 year warranty on the completed work. Tried to contact - (A to Z Remodeling Construction INC 12115 Magnolia Blvd, N. Hollywood, CA 91607 Phone 866-973-6633 Fax 818-285-0465 License #: 884075.) 6 months after completion -- phone disconnected/email addressed closed/website also removed. At the point of trying to locate -- Wood floors are warped. Kitchen tile - most tiles lifting/grout missing. Some kitchen drawers no longer staying closed. Windows purchased by them - several with sliding or locking mechanism broken. Also found some stuccoed areas that were not completely finished. Central air/heating stopped working - condenser completely stopped working - had to purchase a new one.
Description of Work
Remodeling Kitchen, wash room, and living room. Additional space added to living room. Full bath was added.
Category
house painters
William M.
4.0
02/13/2013
Painter were very good. The bath room had some issues; wrong tile delivered, work was as high quality as expected.
Description of Work
Tiled Bathroom, painted patio and garage floor.
Category
ceramic tile, house painters, interior painters
Brandi C.
4.0
07/21/2011
The finished product was really good, however it took longer than they had quoted. The after care has not been that great. The price was firm regardless of any issues they ran into, and I like that.
Description of Work
They did a complete remodel of my bathroom.
Category
home remodeling
Crystal J.
1.0
03/14/2011
This job started in September and was supposed to finish in November. It is now March and it is still going on. DO NOT let A to Z talk you into buying more and more products. DO watch A to Z who will do the most sloppy work and use the cheapest materials they can. A to Z will promise to do and correct everything and it will never happen. 1. We were told by A to Z that ALL the workers that would come to our home would speak English fluently so that we could communicate with them. We have had Hispanic, Russian and Israeli workers who either spoke no English, spoke Spanglish or tried to fake it by shaking their heads up and down. We spent most of our time pointing. Complaints went unanswered and the same thing happened again. 2. They started out with the sanding and refinishing of the floors. Though A to Z was told the entire house was painted recently, they're work was messy and we were left with sanding and stain droplets all over the house. A to Z promised us that after the work was finished, they would have an excellent touchup guy who would take care of this. The 'excellent touchup guy hardly spoke English and ended up almost painting the entire house because of the sloppy work done by the floor people. But we were already contractually commited - and can do nothing but complain. 3. We added a replacement of our old wooden fence with a redwood fence. Two days after the fence was built it rained. The rain washed away the thin layer of sod they had placed (another sloppy job) and left the pillars exposed. Complaints brought a gardener who said the 'yard sunk.' (Is this a reasonable cause?) He sloppily put another thin layer of sod. Strenous complaints brought a fence guy 3 weeks later who resunk the pillars and put new sod. Becuz of this and other complaints, A to Z has left the work unfinished and workers have disappeared. 4. Upon inspection, by the City Building Inspector's visit, he ordered ONE smoke alarm in the hallway and a smoke alarm in the bedrooms, and dishwasher overflow air gap for the diswasher, etc. A to Z has punched holes through the stucco for the installation. They have again sloppily put patches in the holes and without sanding this down, they have slapped paint, that does not match, over these holes despite me telling them over and over again you can't paint stucco but need to sandblast both sides of the house. Again Kobi has promised to do this, but it hasn't happened. Smoke alarms: A to Z has installed an 2 extra smoke alarm and the other ones are cheap and are not properly installed. A gentle breeze sets them off and then they feed off each other and they all go off in the middle of the night. We have woken Kobi up and asked him to fix them and his answer "turn them off." They have spent more than 14 hours at our house trying to fix them with no success. We now want my money back (smoke alarms removed and time spent on electrical work) for this fiasco. A to Z is fighting us. Also, both men who came here were Russian and did not speak English. They used our equipment without asking. Also, they go off so often that my African Grey bird has the correct frequency and high pitch of the smoke alarms and uses it day and night. Added with him we have eight alarms. TERRIBLE! We have since found out that the City told A to Z to install 5 alarms which they installed 7 cheap alarms to charge us extra money. 5. Enclose the patio to create a rumpus room. (DO NOT LET Kobi smooth talk you out of your better judgment. ("His recommendation.") Against my original plans and better judgment we allowed A to Z to install a portable air conditioner in a cut out panel in the rumpus room. When they attempted to plug in the air conditioner A to Z 'found out' that we need two bedrooms and a hallway rewired because if we don't, the turning on of the air conditioner would cause a fire. Shouldn't they have found this out previsouly? This nice item would cost another $11,000. (DO watch out for their salesmen adding on and on to the original products that you order that will cost you more money.) When we refused to give them another penny, after 3 weeks, A to Z said that they would fix ALL the wiring that was incorrect so we could use the air conditioner. The City says that the panel and the plug need to be inspected. A to Z knows and has not been out here to correct. We are unable to use this item becuz of this. A to Z also asked us NOT to install the air conditioner until AFTER the Building Inspector had approved the room because he would find more things wrong with the INSIDE of the house. DO NOT listen to this. Do get everything they do inspected. We called the Building Inspector anyway after A to Z installed the air conditioner. The City Building Inspector told us that the panel was not on the plans and needed to be added. When I mentioned the overhang, he said that wasn't on the plans either and the 220 volt needed a permit - something A to Z did not want to do making our home a fire hazard. Among other things,we have since found out that A to Z has a case against them by the Attorney General because they lied under penalty of perjury where there office is. They are not in West Hollywood (a mail drop). They may not be in Santa Ana - another address they are using. A to Z have stopped all work on our home because we want our money back on the smoke alarms. Is this professionalism?
Description of Work
A to Z Remodeling was hired to 1) to enclose a patio, 2) sand and refinish wooden floors both in the existing home and the enclosed patio, 3) replace 6 ft fence with a redwood fence, 4) put in sidewalk in backyard, 5, install a hollow pipe and shower curtain in the master bathroom, 6) Building Inspector requirements - two new outlets in the kitchen, drainage on dishwasher, and smoke alarms in every bedroom and ONE in the hallway. Side Items: a) two screen doors latches, piece to cover the back door screen to keep out small animals, do touch-up work after everything is finished.
Category
concrete repair, fencing, flooring contractor, remodeling, stucco, house painters, sunrooms
PAUL C.
3.0
08/14/2010
They were very slow to respond to request for estimate, altho they did eventually provide a written bid. Details of work to be done were a little vague and did not seem to be complete. (did not actually list the shed itself, only site preparation). They did provide a list of references. Did not choose them to do the work.
Description of Work
Requested and obtained estimate to build approx. 8x8 custom garden shed on concrete slab.
Category
contractors, concrete repair, roofing
Robert S.
2.0
08/07/2009
It started out pretty well. The workmen always showed up between 10:00 and 11:00 AM. They worked well for the first 2 months. Until they received next to the last payment. They had now received 95% of the money. Then work slowed down with either very late show or no show at all for days. I called the company and got continued promises. Without performance. When the workers did show up they would stay for 2 to 3 hours and leave.I continued to call the company, got excuse after excuse. I finally wrote the owner a letter. To which I received no formal response. They sent a group of officials from the company to assure me things would be better. They were not. I made 2 complaints to the BBB. Their response to BBB was that they had worked it out with me and I was satisfied. Not true! The bathroom tile work was so bad they had to send another man out to tear out and replace much. Their contracted completion date was July 30. The job is still incomlete. Oh, they did ask for the final payment before the job was complete. Not happening. They committed to keep the rest of the house clean, it is a mess.
Description of Work
Expanded an existing bedroom, added a bathroom, added a large closet. Installed heating/AC.
Category
remodeling
James M.
3.0
10/30/2008
It was a week's work, which was completed more or less on time. My only complaint, and it's a big one, is that in the end, we calculated they charged us about $100 per hr per worker, a huge overcharge that I agreed to before the job started, when I was convinced it would take twice as long. I firmly believe the right contractor would've charged 30 - 50% less for the work they performed, and that really stings.
Description of Work
We bought a house with a nice stamped concrete pool deck that was aging and in need of serious repair or replacement. After speaking with a few contractors, we decided to repair instead of demolish. The company brought experts in to repair, smooth, finish and repaint the entire area, as well as add some extra and nicely done concrete work.
Category
concrete repair, interior painters, hardscaping
christopher B.
2.0
10/26/2008
Check the dates of their referrals, licenses, insurance. The ones they showed us initially had expired. Did they know? Once they started they decided it was too hard due to a texture coating from a previous owner. I explained to them that I used a heat gun to remove about 10 sq ft of it myself. They didn't take my advice and used a disk sander and very poorly. The "foreman" (loosely termed) named Eli gouged and scarred the wood and left disk sander marks all over the wood. Then he slapped on the stain so thick to try to cover up the fact that he didn't remove the paint from any of the corners where the beams met the roof (over 40 of them) and didn't remove paint from the cracks where the boards meet. Being professional painters don't you think one of them would own a 3-in-1 scraping tool? So, I made them do it all over. Eli gave us such horrible attitude that his own company instructed him not to speak to us anymore. I believe Eli must be the owner s son-in-law or something similar because he absolutely didn't have the skills to be doing what he was trying to do. He replaced boards rather than sand them which was fine with me but he didn't even use a tape measure (a BASIC tool) when spacing them. Some were spaced at 2.5 inches and some at 3 inches, completely visible to the naked eye. And they were the poorest quality bent and warped wood they have at the local home improvement store. He didn't find the proper sized molding to replace the removed ones so he just got the next size thickness. I had to explain to this professional that you can't just shop at the home improvement store, especially if they don't have what you need. Go to a lumber yard! He never did. But still my fianc e and I would bring them water and juice everyday. They also broke off one of my sprinkler heads and never said anything about it. They helped themselves to my own tools such as saw horses and ladders without asking. After experiencing Eli's poor attitude with my neighbor whom he continually blocked her driveway (a union painter herself, by the way), I took my tools and locked them up. After all the sanding was finally finished to my liking I released them, paying for the job in full without letting them stain for 2 reasons. 1. I didn't trust their workmanship with the staining portion of the job. 2. I was tired of dealing with them and so was my neighbor, who happens to be a long time union painter in the film industry. They repeatedly blocked her driveway, even after she asked them not to as there is always plenty of parking on our street. In short, this company's workers didn't have any regard for the fact that these are people s homes that they're working on. Homes that they live in day in and day out. It was just a job for the crew that worked on my home. I wouldn't hire them again and unless you're looking for someone to slap some Bondo and paint on your house, I don't recommend you do either. I don't intend on referring this company on to anyone.
Description of Work
Hired to remove paint, sand and stain front porch. Approx. 400 sq ft. Kobi, the project manager was pleasant. SEE PHOTOS! Once they started they decided it was too hard due to a texture coating from a previous owner. I explained to them that I used a heat gun to remove about 10 sq ft of it myself. They didn't take my advice and used a disk sander and very poorly. The "foreman" (loosely termed) named Eli gouged and scarred the wood and left disk sander marks all over the wood. Then he slapped on the stain so thick to try to cover up the fact that he didn't remove the paint from any of the corners where the beams met the roof (over 40 of them) and didn't remove paint from the cracks where the boards meet. Being professional painters don't you think one of them would own a 3-in-1 scraping tool? So, I made them do it all over. Eli gave us such horrible attitude that his own company instructed him not to speak to us anymore. I believe Eli must be the owner s son-in-law or something similar because he absolutely didn't have the skills to be doing what he was trying to do. He replaced boards rather than sand them which was fine with me but he didn't even use a tape measure (a BASIC tool) when spacing them. Some were spaced at 2.5 inches and some at 3 inches, completely visible to the naked eye. And they were the poorest quality bent and warped wood they have at the local home improvement store. He didn't find the proper sized molding to replace the removed ones so he just got the next size thickness. I had to explain to this professional that you can't just shop at the home improvement store, especially if they don't have what you need. Go to a lumber yard! He never did. But still my fianc e and I would bring them water and juice everyday. They also broke off one of my sprinkler heads and never said anything about it. They helped themselves to my own tools such as saw horses and ladders without asking. After experiencing Eli's poor attitude with my neighbor whom he continually blocked her driveway (a union painter herself, by the way), I took my tools and locked them up. After all the sanding was finally finished to my liking I released them, paying for the job in full without letting them stain for 2 reasons. 1. I didn't trust their workmanship with the staining portion of the job. 2. I was tired of dealing with them and so was my neighbor, who happens to be a long time union painter in the film industry. They repeatedly blocked her driveway, even after she asked them not to as there is always plenty of parking on our street. In short, this company's workers didn't have any regard for the fact that these are people s homes that they're working on. Homes that they live in day in and day out. It was just a job for the crew that worked on my home. I wouldn't hire them again and unless you're looking for someone to slap some Bondo and paint on your house, I don't recommend you do either. I don't intend on referring this company on to anyone.
Category
house painters

Other local Pros in your area

DiBara Masonry

Named "Top Masonry & Concrete Company" by Industry Oversight, we are a fourth generation masonry company, specializing in repairs, restorations and new installations of stone, block, brick, concrete and pavers, as well as waterproofing and sealing of any sort. No matter how odd, large or small the project may be, DiBara Masonry can provide exactly what you need, because with DiBara, expert advice is always free and expert service is always delivered. Our Story: Son of a third generation mason, DiBara Masonry's owner, Matthew DiBara, started working with a trowel and mortar beside his father at a young age on the outskirts of Boston, Massachusetts. After deciding to move west and build up his company there, Matt left the cold weather behind but carried with him the knowledge and history of his Italian ancestors and ever since has delivered expert quality sure to make Pasquale proud.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

RD & AH Builders Inc.

We strive to provide each client with custom made services specifically designed for their needs and requirements.  

Angi Certified

Value Up Renovation and Construction

Value up renovation and Construction is a family owned and operated with an experience of 15 years in construction specializing in pavers room additions and garage conversations we guarantee the best service for your money. We get the job done  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

12115 Magnolia Blvd Ste 233

Valley Village, CA 91607

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

A To Z Remodeling & Construction Inc is currently rated 2.4 overall out of 5.

Yes, A To Z Remodeling & Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

No, A To Z Remodeling & Construction Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, A To Z Remodeling & Construction Inc does not offer warranties.

A To Z Remodeling & Construction Inc offers the following services: Room additions, blue prints, framing, flooring, plumbing, electrical, insulation, roofing, painting, kitchen & bathroom remodeling, bath fixtures, lighting, surfaces, cabinetry, ceramic tiles, vinyl, hardwood floors, vanities, windows, countertops & appliances, exterior painting & stucco, power washing, scraping, sanding, priming, putty & caulking, texture-coating, cement, flag stone, pave stone, stamp cement, walkways, asphalt, patio encosures & covers, sunrooms & decks.