Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

De Anza Appliance

About

Founded 1972 • With Angi since October 2005

De Anza Appliance is a family owned and operated, based in Santa Clara, and specializes in appliance repair and maintenance for the San Jose metropolitan area and greater Santa Clara County since 1972....

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021
Angi Certified

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Verified Reviews

4.7

(155) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

130

4

12

3

6

2

3

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

appliance repair (155)small appliance repair (2)water heaters (1)
Showing 1-25 of 155 reviews
5.0

06/22/2021


Robi B.

Our service person was timely, courteous, Very knowledgeable. He went over all his steps to check the integrity of the new disposal with me. I will use them again for any appliance issues.

Description of Work
Replace garbage disposal

Category appliance repair, small appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking a few moments to review Tony's service for your garbage disposal repair. We look forward to helping you with your next appliance repair or dryer and refrigerator general maintenance needs. Hopefully you don't need us too soon! Chris Boucher VP of Marketing & Operations
5.0

03/13/2021


Ellen G.

Arrived at the time scheduled. Diagnosed and repaired quickly. Sensor shutting heat off too soon, so replaced and dryer now works. Checked out noise that sounded like drum rotor needed replacing, but it just needed cleaning. Kevin was helpful and efficient.

Description of Work
Electric Dryer repair, heating but not drying clothes.

Category appliance repair

Cost $243

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/09/2021

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking a few moments to review Kevin's service for your Maytag Dryer repair. If you see any performance dips in drying give us a call for general maintenance. If you have a long run of venting it's recommended to get a dryer or vent cleaning every other year. Stay safe, stay healthy! Chris Boucher VP of Marketing & Operations
5.0

01/01/2021


Ronit B.

A COVID-safe visit. Clear communication about when service would be delivered - and very much on time. Quick diagnosis, replacement part on hand, and clean, quick, and efficient work. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Samsung oven was not heating.

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/30/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for the kind words and De Anza Appliance takes the COVID pandemic very seriously. It starts with initial intake advising customers about safe practices, temperature check and symptom reporting from the staff to the manager on shift in the morning, to the use of mask, gloves, and enhanced cleaning measure in the home. If you need any repairs or general maintenance on your refrigerator or dryer we look forward to helping you in the new year. Stay safe, stay health, Chris Boucher, VP of Marketing & Operations
1.0

09/14/2020


Mark R.

The service tech (Ray) arrived and after looking at the unit for 10 minutes pronounced the "sealed system" was bad and they would not work on it since they have had bad experiences in the past. Then they had the nerve to charge me a service call after refusing to repair the unit!

Description of Work
LG Refrigerator Repair

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/09/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], My apologies for the review and chatted with you earlier today. A sealed system is a rare repair that is diagnosed 5% of the time for freezer failures. More frequently we expect computer boards, condenser fan motors, loose or frayed wire connections, fuses, or relay switches to be at fault that are very repairable and worth doing. LG compressors and sealed systems require specialized tools and training. They're fairly proprietary and information isn't easy to come by. Their compressors also have seen cascading failures that we've seen historically work needed every 2-3 years. Most sealed system and compressor jobs run $2,000 to $5,000 if done right and recommend replacement unless a larger built-in model that's $10,000 or more and less than 15 years old. We recommended LG to come out if you'd like a second opinion. If their factory authorized team comes out they might be able to service at a lower charge ordering parts direct rather with distributor markup. You were presented a full refund today. You didn't feel like there was value in the time to come to the home, expertise to present the diagnostic, or referral for follow-up. Rather than having that discussion of value with the technician in the home we had it a week later today after you were charged for service. I will take your feedback in consideration about advising customers about the small chance of sealed systems. Most of our call takers (myself included) are not trained appliance technicians. Though the team is very knowledgeable it's hard to give every customer every possible repair outcome since there are dozens of parts at varying prices that contribute to the health and cooling of your refrigerator. Best wishes, Chris Boucher VP of Marketing & Operations
5.0

08/18/2020


SUNIL M.

This turned out to be a complex issue since all the internal components were checked out to be fine. De Anza sent first person who checked out and tried replacing some internal fuses but to no avail. Then they offered to send another person Tony who had good electrical circuits knowledge as well. Tony went about very methodically and was able to find an issue with the junction box connection which was shorted out. This was behind the Wall Oven and Microwave assembly and was a very tedious job. He resolved it and now my oven is working fine. In spite of making multiple trips and doing much more than was expected, I was charged only $100 more than initial estimate and I am very satisfied with the work. The job was done expediently and Tony left the area clean and with good follow up instructions.

Description of Work
Wall Oven would not heat up

Category appliance repair

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking a few moments leave comments about your Whirlpool oven repair. Tony's as thorough diagnostician as I've seen in my time of recruiting and working with appliance repair technicians. He's aspiring to become an electrical and mechanical engineer and you can see the pride in his work. Hopefully you don't need us soon but feel free to request Tony next time you need a repair. Stay cool! Chris Boucher VP of Marketing & Operations
5.0

06/21/2020


J.L M.

EXACT PART NEEDED WAS NOT AVALIBLE, A NEW ICE MAKER WAS ORDERED AND CAME ABOUT A WEEK LATER.

Description of Work
REPAIR OR REPLACE ICE MAKER

Category appliance repair

Cost $434.45

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2020

Service Provider Response

JL, Thank you for taking a few moments for leaving a review. Have a cool, ice filled summer! Chris Boucher VP of Marketing & Operations
5.0

02/14/2020


Brad A.

It was wonderful and perfect. They called before they came and they always gave me a followed up.

Description of Work
They repaired my stove.

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback and enjoy working with you and Presidential Property Management.
5.0

02/13/2020


Laura F.

Gus did a great job replacing the cracked glass in my oven door.

Description of Work
Bosch Wall Oven Repair

Category appliance repair

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback, we'll let Gus know about the great job he did at our next team meeting.
5.0

02/12/2020


Angelica B.

Their service were good, it has always been very good, and they provide an explanation of the things that needs to be done, for approval, they have been accurate with their diagnosis, they were always on time and prompt, and does a very good job.

Description of Work
Appliance repair services for a refrigerator

Category appliance repair

Cost $225

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback and being a great partner through the years. With all clients and especially our property managers who aren't on site we want to be communicative and clear of expectations and recommendations.
5.0

02/07/2020


harold J.

Very well, tech was on time and new what needed to be done. Very good service.

Description of Work
KitchenAid Refrigerator

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback!
5.0

02/07/2020


Patrick B.

Great service tech onsite was friendly and helpful. Also gave great tips to help prevent the issue from happening in the future.

Description of Work
Whirlpool Refrigerator freezer side was leaking

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Glad to be of service. Sometimes showing customer how to do routine repairs like unclogging the defrost line or vacuuming refrigerator coils can be a big savings over a a refrigerator's lifetime.
5.0

02/07/2020


Mariann S.

Great service. Had to order a part which came in the next day.

Description of Work
Electrolux Refrigerator

Category appliance repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/07/2020

Service Provider Response

Happy to help. Most common parts are 1-2 business days out. We do our best to reschedule right from the home whenever possible to get the fastest follow-ups possible.
5.0

02/06/2020


Elizabeth M.

I had to have the hinges on my oven replace. They were on time courteous and did a great job, I would definitely hire them again and recommend them.

Description of Work
GE Range

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking a moment for leaving a review. Hopefully you don't need us soon but here for you when you do. Cheers, Chris Boucher VP of Marketing & Operations
4.0

02/06/2020


Bill L.

First tech cleared the line and left. Frig then leaked from a different place. Second tech fixed the second leak.

Description of Work
Leaky refrigerator causing water to leak on the floor

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time for the review. Sometimes leaks are illusive but it looks like there was no charge for the follow-up trip. Thank you for sticking through the repair and glad everything was resolved.
5.0

02/06/2020


Ayman N.

Best Appliance repair company I dealt with. Very upfront with their pricing. Honored their repair warranty when I called them again and they did not mind at all that they had make multiple visit. I would use them again for sure

Description of Work
Thermador Refrigerator

Category appliance repair

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for providing the review. Whenever there's an issue we want to do our best to not impact our customers financially. We look forward to taking care of you in the future!
5.0

02/06/2020


Astrid G.

We had a repair on the igniter of a 14 year old stove. The repair was done within a day or two after I sent an email describing the symptoms, the service and communication were impeccable. Prices are fair and an electronic invoice was sent within a minute of payment. The repair only solved part of the problem and I informed them by email that the same problem now occurred occasionally. De Anza sent out the same technician at their cost for the second time. When it turned out that this was a more severe problem and we decided to get a new stove, I was reimbursed for both material and labor of the first visit and only charged for the first service call. I am beyond impressed and highly recommend working with this company. De Anza is ethical, reliable, and easy to work with. I will continue giving them my business.

Description of Work
GE Range

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/06/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking a few moments for the review. We do our best to get to most customer within two business days and communicate through the entire scheduling process. Have a great weekend!
4.0

02/06/2020


John G.

They were timely and got the job done quickly.

Description of Work
GE Oven

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2019

5.0

02/06/2020


Florence J.

Unfortunately, it couldn't be repaired, and Frigidaire did not offer a repair kit, which De Anza Appliance tried to obtain. We paid the house call fee and bought a new refrigerator, following their brand-satisfaction guidance. We've used De Anza over the years with excellent results. They will give advice or info over the phone, without hesitation. They're terrific!

Description of Work
Frigidaire Refrigerator stopped cooling adequately.

Category appliance repair

Cost $98

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/11/2019

Service Provider Response

Glad to be of service. Though the refrigerator couldn't be repaired it looks like the team documented everything with Frigidaire's engineers. For the brands our team have partnerships for warranty repair we can always reach out to the manufacturer as your advocate.
5.0

12/26/2019


Laura M.

I was referred by a competitor as they couldn’t come out to fix the fridge until early January. I called DeAnza on December 23rd and wasn’t able to get an appointment until December 26th. Prior to his arrival Chris called to inform me he was his way. Chris was very polite and professional. He quickly assessed the problem and was able to fix it with the part he had in the truck. It was much cheaper than I expected. Chris recommended the back of the fridge be cleaned once a year to keep the dirt & dust away from the compressor. He also noticed a leak from the water hose. He closed the water valve and took the hose off. Now I take it with me to make sure I get the correct replacement hose.

Description of Work
Refrigerator freezer not working. The temperature was rising.

Category appliance repair

Cost $287

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking a few moments to leave a review. Though it gets a little busy during the holiday season we want to do our best to provide the same great customer service once we get to the home. Keep up the refrigerator maintenance your technician Chris suggested. We recommend customers to put it on their calendar to tackle themselves or call us to recommend a maintenance check up in May before the first heat wave hits and puts strain on refrigerators. Have a great holidays! Chris Boucher VP of Marketing & Operations
5.0

06/19/2019


Linda L.

Great. They are prompt and know their business. Will definitely use them again

Description of Work
Ice maker replaced, microwave repair eRlier

Category appliance repair

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/19/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for the review we look forward to helping you for all of your future appliance repair and maintenance needs! Chris Boucher VP of Marketing & Operations
5.0

04/25/2018


Daniel D.

The model and serial numbers were both partly obliterated. But the technician eventually figured out the oven model and what was needed to repair it. Unfortunately, the repair part is not longer available from the manufacturer, so the oven could not be repaired

Description of Work
Diagnosis of oven malfunction

Category appliance repair

Cost $99.95

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/21/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], My apologies we weren't able to get the unit fixed but many of our techs are old hats and can piece together partial model numbers. If you ever need us in the future log those numbers in a file for your current appliances and new oven. We'll try to research the likely failing parts before coming on-site. Thanks again for choosing us! Chris Boucher Marketing Manager
5.0

11/09/2017


jason W.

Smooth. He even dropped the estimate when it turned out to be an easier fix than he originally estimated. That's a first from a repairman!

Description of Work
Diagnosed and replaced the igniter on our Thermador range oven.

Category appliance repair

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/09/2017