American Kitchen And Bath Inc

About

Founded 1987 • With Angi since December 2005

American Kitchen and Bath, Inc. is a reputable full-service General Contracting business based out of San Jose, CA. We specialize in kitchen and bathroom remodeling. We not only design your kitchen and bathroom, we handle the entire project while offering innovative ideas and creative design solutions. Contractor's License #886059 ...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+10 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(163) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

135

4

19

3

4

2

3

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (150)plumbers (41)electrician (38)tile installation (32)lighting (31)countertop installation (31)interior painting (28)marble & granite (28)cabinet makers (26)drywall (25)flooring (22)woodworking (20)
Showing 1-25 of 163 reviews
5.0

07/30/2020


Cindy K.

American Kitchen and Bath, Inc. completed my contracted improvements on time and within budget. And that’s what would be expected. Yes, I would recommend them. AKB went beyond the normal expectations. My project required a whole house renovation. It included replacing the electrical, plumbing, windows, flooring and interior and exterior paint along with a completely new kitchen and bathroom. I found AKB by reviewing the City of San Jose permit website and saw they had pulled more permits than other local firms listed in National Association of Remodeling Industry (NARI). I completed an online contact request, and Shawn responded within the hour. We made an appointment to discuss what I wanted and was assured they could do the work within the budget. The process of developing the scope of work was very detailed. There were a few subcontractors necessary for my project, and I was introduced to each contractor at this early stage. I could tell from these meetings that the contractors had a very good relationship with AKB. It also involved working very closely with their designer, Buffy. I had no vision as to what I wanted, but Buffy was able to tease out what I did not like. In no time, she knew exactly what would appeal to my taste. Both Shawn and Buffy remained part of my project all the way through to the finish. When the project started, the demolition, installing a beam, rough plumbing and electrical all moved along very quickly. We were scheduled for the first city inspection when the pandemic shelter-in-place order was given. I was reassured by Johans, the owner, that the minute the business was released from the shutdown, my project would proceed. After the shutdown and passing that first inspection, the work progressed at an amazing rate. The site supervisor, Ron, would save up all of his questions for our Friday meetings as well as email or texting which would allow me to make necessary decisions quickly. They made sure that every decision I made was followed. There was a great deal of plaster and drywall patching, interior and exterior trim work, refinishing of doors, and many other finishing touches that needed to be done. Ron made sure each detail was completed with care and craftsmanship. The quality of the work was exceptional. All AKB employees and subcontractors were very responsive and respectful of my house as well as my time. At the first meeting with Buffy at my house, she called my house a “gem.” The finished project is better than I could imagine. I was promised a new beautiful home and now have my dream home, my gem.

Description of Work
My house needed a complete renovation including a new kitchen and bathroom.

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, insulation, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Images

Review for American Kitchen And Bath Inc - 1758 Junction Ave, San Jose, CA - 38758933

+6 More

Service Provider Response

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to post a detailed review for us! It was a pleasure working with you on your remodel!

5.0

01/01/2020


JAY V.

I had hired AKB in 2014 for a kitchen renovation so I knew they were professional and perform quality work. This was a small job for them but they were very willing to do the work. The cabinet installation went well and looks beautiful. The crown molding is awesome. I am very pleased and highly recommend AKB.

Description of Work
Replace one cabinet and install crown molding

Category home remodeling

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/02/2019

Service Provider Response

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review! It was a pleasure to work with you again.

5.0

11/07/2018


georgiann J.

Over the past 26 years, I have done a lot of home improvements myself. However, when it came time to replace everything in a whole bathroom and re-face a fireplace, I decided I needed to ask professional help. I knew from experience that the contractor I chose had to be licensed and bonded, plus I wanted one that was diamond certified. i called AKB and Shawn came over to go over my plans. after i made my choices, he set a start date. The staff always called the day before to let us know was in store for the next day, as well as what time we could expect the crew to arrive. The various phases of the job were well planned, and the workers were very knowledgeable. I am very pleased with my bathroom and fireplace, and thank AKB for a job well done. Best regards, G.K.J

Description of Work
Bathroom remold and fireplace re-face

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for us! It was a pleasure working with you!

5.0

10/19/2018


Christine G.

Very pleased with results! Took bit longer than expected due to some heath issues and worker changes Both contractor and designer were very responsive and had great, practical solutions for problems as they came up.

Description of Work
Remodel existing bathroom, Remodel kitchen, add 2nd bathroom

Category custom cabinets, contractors, ceramic tile, closet systems, countertops, drywall, electrician, glass repair, insulation, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, ceiling fans, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters, gas leak repair, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review for us. It was a pleasure working with you!

5.0

10/13/2018


Kelly A.

After using American Kitchen and Bath to remodel our bathroom last year, we knew they were the company to use when it came time to fix our kitchen. American Kitchen and Bath created a beautiful kitchen. We absolutely love it! They were able to complete the project on time and in an efficient manner. They paid close attention to detail, were flexible with the design to meet our budget and in the end our kitchen is exactly what we wanted.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/05/2018

Images

Review for American Kitchen And Bath Inc - 1758 Junction Ave, San Jose, CA - 37471844

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us! It was a pleasure to work with you on your project. We look forward to working with you again in the future!

5.0

10/01/2018


Irene S.

AKA is awesome! We will recommend them to anyone looking for home improvement work. We plan on Calling them in January for a Kitchen Remodel. Each and everyone we dealt with through this project were true professionals and a pleasure to work with. Simply said - this customer is 150% happy with our new Bathroom.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category electrician, glass repair, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

Images

Review for American Kitchen And Bath Inc - 1758 Junction Ave, San Jose, CA - 37440524

+2 More

Service Provider Response

The team here at AKB is thrilled to hear such good feedback! Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We look forward to working with you again!

5.0

09/03/2018


Cynthia L.

Overall, the work went great and I now have beautiful new bathrooms that feel luxurious to use. American Kitchen & Bath completely demolished my old bathrooms, removing everything and replaced with new tiles floors, new low flush toilets, warm LED lighting, new vanities and sinks, new tub on the hall bath, new walk in shower in the master bath replacing an ugly old tub, new fans with humidity sensors, new everything! My overall experience with AK&B was excellent. Their employees were always pleasant and friendly and helpful through the whole process. And they stuck to the contract budget, though I did choose to do some upgrades which of course, adds to their basic costs. My biggest upgrade was for the master bath vanity and I love the cabinetry. It is beautiful and feels quality made all the way down to the smooth as silk hardware in it. If I ding them on anything, it was that it took a little longer than I would have liked as they are in demand and have lots of remodeling jobs going on simultaneously. They are busy for a reason. They are a conscientious company, honest, and do great work. I not only recommend them but I plan to use them again as I eventually want to remodel my kitchen. They will be my go to company!

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, ceiling fans, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2018

Images

Review for American Kitchen And Bath Inc - 1758 Junction Ave, San Jose, CA - 37374164

+3 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We sincerely appreciate your time and effort. Also, it was a pleasure to work with you on your project!

4.0

05/22/2018


Angela C.

AKB has completed one bathroom and did some work for a powder room with one more bathroom to go. Michele worked with me on the design and I am happy with what we ended up with which is a Nantucket look that I was going for. AKB also did remodeling for a powder room which retained some of its original parts like cabinet and walls but the other things like countertop, sink, faucet, toilet and tile floor were all replaced. They also threw in crown molding which was nice. To be honest this could have been a better review had it not been for some persistent flaws during my project and even now with one more bathroom to go. They didn't have someone who is familiar with my project for the duration of the project. There were a number of things that had to be redone because there was no pass down between people who were here one day to the other people here the next day. There is no substitute for having oversight which they weren't able to provide. The company also took on more projects than they could complete in a reasonable fashion. I don't know if they were always like this before or this is a recent phenomenon. I would say I have observed it long enough to conclude it has been happening and is still happening. This affects everyone who has a project with them in that your project would take weeks longer to complete and you also have to prod them to get things done which is not what you would expect to have to do. I will do more review once my last bath is completed to see if the first bath and a half is a fluke or a trend with the length of time it takes and lack of coordination. Also, I am waiting for the last bath to get started. It is almost a month behind what the contract says the start date is. We purchased quite a bit of materials ourselves as a choice so the price doesn't reflect what it would cost if you have them provide everything.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodeling

Category home remodeling

Cost $31,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2018

5.0

04/16/2018


Cynthia L.

To begin with, in choosing American Kitchen & Bath (AKB), I interviewed and got bids from 5 different contractors. The bid from AKB was neither the most nor least expensive but was somewhere in the middle of the pack. And in choosing them, I was impressed by not only their Angie’s List rating, but also their Diamond Certification, and A+ Better Business Bureau rating as well. In starting my project, I worked with Michele to select my materials and fixtures. I found her to be a joy to work with, incredibly knowledgeable, and with amazing design skills. Then during my project, their work crew was very friendly, skilled, and professional. To be sure, construction inside your house is disruptive but American Kitchen & Bath (AKB) made every attempt to let me know when they would be here, who would be here, and what work was being done. And they worked closely with me from start to finish, taking care of all my concerns. I found everyone at AKB very easy to work with whereas in the past I felt like I had to do battle with contractors just to get the work done according to my desires and not theirs. With AKB, I had my wants, wishes, and desires met. And the result is that I have a beautiful new hall bath that I am very happy with. In fact, when I take a shower in it, it feels so luxurious and wonderful that if it weren't for the need to watch my water usage and conserve, I could shower all day! And I am so happy with my experience that I have signed a contract with American Kitchen & Bath to remodel my master bath too! I absolutely recommend them.

Description of Work
Hall bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, glass repair, plastering, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $23,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/16/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We sincerely appreciate your time and effort! Lori American Kitchen and Bath

5.0

04/11/2018


A V S.

They are now working and explained to me about the issue we had.

Description of Work
kitchen remodeling

Category home remodeling

Work Completed On 04/11/2018

Service Provider Response

We are sorry to hear [Member Name Removed] is unhappy with his experience at AKB. We work diligently with clients to ensure the best experience at a fair price for their respective projects. In this case, we did do a free in-home consultation, detailed estimate, and preliminary design layout. Within the estimate, we gave basic allowances for the materials required for the remodel based on the mutual understanding of the project. One request was he wanted to come in to our showroom to meet all the guys in the field and our field supervisors, a meeting we cannot arrange quickly nor without disrupting our field staff from their scheduled tasks. We offered to have him come in and meet with the General Manager and the office staff, but he wanted to meet the field crew before any further commitment. However, we cannot have the entire company in one location at one time, it is just not feasible for us. A second request was to reduce the cost estimate before the design work and before any decisions had been discussed, a difficult task given the complexities of remodeling. Our decision was then to convey that we are not a fit to work together and we wished him luck on his project with whoever he chooses to do the work. We want to give clients what they deserve and what they expect. In this situation, we could not accommodate. Clients deserve the best treatment from the best fit business for their needs. We want a mutually beneficial relationship to produce the most desirable outcome, it's what we all strive to accomplish as business owners and homeowners alike.

4.0

04/11/2018


A V S.

The project began three days ago. So far, they have performed very well. The owner is very nice and understanding and very professional. The designer Michelle is a hard working, kind and respectful lady. She goes beyond the call of duty to help her customers. Project completed, quality of the work was very good. However, there were a lot of bumps on the road relating to contractual matters as well as city inspection related issues. I will be very careful on using them again because the contract terms and condition to assure city inspection clarifications.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category home remodeling

Cost $56,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2018

5.0

02/19/2018


Michael P E.

American Kitchen and Bath (AKB) is a well run company with talented and experienced workers. I was pleased with there work and attention to detail. There workers were very punctual and cleaned up at the end of the day.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel including a sloped shower floor, and electrical work

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, glass repair, insulation, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $14,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/22/2018

Images

Review for American Kitchen And Bath Inc - 1758 Junction Ave, San Jose, CA - 36843002

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We sincerely appreciate your time and effort. Lori American Kitchen and Bath

4.0

12/21/2017


Ross L.

American Kitchen & Bath remodeled the kitchen and bathroom in both units of my duplex. The first project was completed in 2015 and the second in 2017. I continue to be satisfied with the results. I can't say that everything went exactly as planned, but few projects ever do. The jobs took a little longer than expected, but the owner, Johans, communicated well when issues arose and worked on getting things back on track quickly. Johans is committed to quality work and excellent service. He wants his customers to be satisfied and follows up to make that happen. It's hard to find contractors that do great work in the bay area at a rate that makes sense. Based on my experience, American Kitchen and Bath was able to deliver.

Description of Work
bathroom and kitchen remodel

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2017

Images

Review for American Kitchen And Bath Inc - 1758 Junction Ave, San Jose, CA - 36692890

+1 More

5.0

09/20/2017


bill W.

American Kitchen and Bath(AKB) remodeled our master bathroom last year(fall 2016). From the very beginning we were very comfortable with the staff helping us with remodeling plans and selecting materials. This was a complete remodeling job. The shower, plumbing, fixtures, cabinet, lighting fixtures, mirror, dry wall and floor were all replaced. The workmanship, especially the tile installation, was excellent. We were very happy with the end result. Based on our previous experience, we had AKB remodel our guest bathroom this year. While not as extensive, the staff, the planning, workmanship, and end result was the same- happy with the new bathroom. As with the master bathroom, questions, concerns and minor problems were dealt with to our satisfaction. AKB did everything they needed to do to make sure we were satisfied. We especially appreciated the knowledge, workmanship, cooperation and responsiveness of Mike Pera our project lead. Bill W.

Description of Work
Remodel master and guest bathrooms.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, ceiling fans, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/12/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We sincerely appreciate it.

5.0

09/19/2017


Marion V.

They were neat, on time and on budget. They were very responsive to our living situation and if we had questions or concerns, the were promptly dealt with. From design (Michelle, one of the reasons we chose this company) to execution with Jeff as our project manager, with just minor set backs, we lived through this remodel and have a beautiful kitchen to boost

Description of Work
We had a complete kitchen remodel and new floors through out the house

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your time and effort in posting this review!

5.0

09/02/2017


Kimberly B.

Professionally completed all aspects of the job.

Description of Work
THe remodel involed taking down three walls, moving a support beam into the attic/roof line and digging down below the foundation to provide the nececessary support to make the home stucturally sound. A big project, beautifully orchestrated. They made it as easy as possilble for me. AKB took care of all the permits, and inspections. I continued to live in my home during the remodel and they were always mindful of my needs. Also, the kept my beloved puppies safe throughout the process. Extra points to Mike for sending me pictures of the puppies while I was at work. The process started with Michele; the heart of the company. She designed and put the plan in place. She has established contacts with local granite/tile to find the right granite at a great price. Looking at granite/tile by yourself is completely different than looking with Michelle. She had marble custom cut for my backsplash tile and had the granite slabs moved to the sunlight for closer inspection. The design/build process makes for a seamless project. In my opinion, it is the only way to go I used the DeWIlls cabinets. They are beautiful. THe cabinets were customized to exactly what I wanted. I especially like the pantry for my microwave and toaster oven with pocket doors that retract when the appliances are in use, and close to make a finished look. Johans and Mike were always responsive and I feel like they had my best interest at all times. A quality team: Steven did great finish work, Eddie was expert at cabinet instal, Juan is an arrtist at sheetrock/texture and Andy finished out to provide a responsive and talented team. Thank you AKB. I love my kitchen!!

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, ceiling fans, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $75,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2017

Service Provider Response

We truly appreciate your time and effort in posting this review! Thank you!!

5.0

08/30/2017


Timothy M.

Remodeling is problem solving. People who have experience in their trade and can optimistically pursue the architectural vision will get your remodeling done right even if there are unforeseen problems to solve. That’s AKB’s track record on our completed project. They were mindful of our home space since we were living in it. AKB protected our floors, sealed out dust with plastic, and picked up trash frequently. Indoor foot traffic was kept to a minimum. Noise was unavoidable so be prepared for that. A “Red Book” is kept on the job site and it includes their previously agreed-upon 3D and 2D plans for cabinets, counters, lights, outlets; a schedule of work and installation spec sheets for appliances. Eventually the book held the city building permits and inspection sign offs. We think that the up-front planning time should not be rushed by the customer so options can be considered. It is a learning experience to consider the myriad of new products that are available and how they all come together in a finished kitchen. Once construction is underway it costs more and complicates the process to reconsider earlier choices. Of course AKB would work with any customer-requested changes but the impact on the project should be considered. We met some of the behind-the-scenes team at the start of the project and met more of the trades people as the project got underway. We were impressed how they choreographed a lot of people and events relatively quickly. We are happy we chose them and now we have our new kitchen to use for a long time. Mike Pena (AKB project lead) On the first day of work at our house we were greeted by a smiling AKB employee who said “Let the games begin.” He wasn’t kidding but what he didn’t need to say was that we were in good hands and that the “games” would be over almost on schedule and with us coming out loving our remodeling project. That’s our introduction to Mike Pena who channeled the AKB craftspeople through our kitchen from demolition to reconstruction culminating in the final, successful inspection. The problems we encountered were unexpected, as remodeling can surprise you like that, but Mike’s experience in the trades guided us through to professional solutions. Mike jumped in to do work as needed — and even unexpected fixes — drawing from his long list of skills and using his truck full of tools and supplies. He texted us when there were be changes in the schedule and ahead of his visits. He was responsive to our calls and concerns plus he was the guy who represented us and our project during inspections. It was easy to talk and text with Mike during the working phases and he was open to ideas and ways to improve upon original planning. He made the difficult process of remodeling process as easy and pleasant as possible with expertise and cheerfulness. Michele Crawford (AKB designer and project manager) Michele understood the whole project and how important it was for us to stay within budget. AKB uses a series of scheduled payments so as the project progressed it was easier to manage the expense. She kept an eye on our budget when decisions needed to be make and made sure we knew of any trade-offs. She was unfailingly cheerful and always returned phone calls and texts. Scheduling was the backbone of the project. Michele’s spreadsheet showed us how the process was going to proceed. It was printed in the “Red Book” that we kept near our kitchen. All of the trades people referred to it during the remodeling work as did we. Michele gave us expert advice on kitchen options in design, cabinets, counter tops, flooring — the whole package. it was always our decision about what to choose and her discussions bring as many options into play as possible. She rightly said that the sum of the parts add up to a kitchen that is more aesthetically pleasing than you see on paper. She gave us a tour of local vendors and educated us about stone countertops, tile, electrical, cabinets and floor coverings. We saw 3D renderings she created for the layout discussions after spending time with us in the kitchen we were going to remodel. What we now have is much more efficient and attractive than the old one and it was actually fun to do the dishes by hand.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

We sincerely appreciate all of your time and effort spend to post a review! Thank you!!

5.0

05/15/2017


Lynn H.

Construction started two weeks before Thanksgiving. They taped up a heavy-duty tarp to separate our kitchen and Great Room to minimize dust spreading. There were workers on site nearly every day, though not usually for full days. Our job manager, John, was good about keeping us informed of any problems or schedule changes, which were minimal. I would say, overall, the process went quite smoothly. Their staff, from full-time to sub-contractors, were all very nice and professional. They finished the job on time and on budget (for the most part) and the quality of work was excellent. We did encounter a few problems, however. From the very beginning, we discussed not removing or altering the soffits (the section between the top of the cabinets & the ceiling), as that would add time and expense to our project. We were told they could order crown molding similar in size to our existing ones. However, what was ordered was at least 2-2.5x the size of our old molding. Don't get me wrong, it was beautiful, but immediately, I was concerned that this meant they had to install the cabinets lower than our previous cabinets to accommodate the larger crown molding (thus decreasing the space between the upper cabinets and the countertop (and potentially making it impossible to keep my KitchenAid stand mixer under the cabinets). Thankfully, that was not the case. However, it did contribute to our soffit issue, which the next problem also exacerbated. Michelle suggested a corner cabinet to maximize a corner where we used to have an L-shaped cabinet. This was a great addition as it gave us a lot more storage space, but she forgot to factor in that it would mean having to build out our L-shaped soffit. Additionally, she ordered a larger upper cabinet for one section, which also meant they needed to build out the soffit there to match the cabinet. According to AKB, our soffits would have had to have been built out anyway, because of some building issues, which is not usually something you can figure out until new cabinets have been installed. I'm not sure how much of that is true, given that the previous, thinner molding fit around the soffit just fine. Given that most of the issue was caused by their mis-ordering and mis-calculating, we felt that we shouldn't have to pay for the soffit work. They did build out the soffit (which was 2-3 days of work), but the communication around the cost for it could have been better. We did end up paying for some of it, because we were pleased with the majority of the work. The third problem was our accent tiles. We had ordered 11 sheets of fairly expensive mix-material tiles for the backsplash. Once the tile backsplash had been completed, I did a quick mental calculation and determined that they had used 5 sheets (if they were really judicious with the cutting) and at most 6 sheets. When I mentioned it to AKB, they assured me that all the sheets were used. I let it go for a few days, but it really didn't make sense to me. So, I pulled out my measuring tape and did more concise calculations and sent them a very detailed email. Finally, they admitted that their tile guy threw away the rest of my accent tile sheets because they were damaged by water (it was raining on the day they installed the backsplash). I was really disappointed that 1) their staff was careless enough to leave tile out in the rain to get ruined and 2) I had to really press them to get the truth. I did get the cost of those sheets taken off my bill, thankfully. All in all, I am still very pleased with AKB and would consider working with them again. We had a fully functional kitchen by the end of 5 weeks, and it took another week to complete all the finishing touches.

Description of Work
We hired AKB in November 2014 to remodel our kitchen and worked with Michelle to design the new kitchen. She walked us through the materials selection process, and knowing that we had three young children (5 and under), she helped to make sure that we made selections in a timely manner to most efficiently take advantage of the order/delivery schedule. We also received assurances that since our job was "easy" (e.g., no re-wiring, no re-configuring appliance locations, minimal painting, etc.), they could finish the job in five to six weeks. In the end, we put in a contingency in the contract that we would get $1000 back if they failed to meet the schedule, so they were financially motivated to stay on track.

Category drywall, electrician, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/09/2016

Images

Review for American Kitchen And Bath Inc - 1758 Junction Ave, San Jose, CA - 35043989
5.0

04/24/2017


Lani P.

We were very pleased with all the design help and advice we received. They sat with us and did CAD drawings and we discussed some of the things we wanted and they made suggestions on configuration and materials. They even went shopping with us for some items like tile, counter tops and lighting fixtures and gave us names of places to shop for other items. They kept us well informed along the way and even when we hit a glitch when removing the walls in the kitchen. We discovered that one wall was load bearing. They gave us an estimate of the additional cost and an estimate on how much of a delay in the project we could expect. We had a deadline of Thanksgiving for at least a functional kitchen and even with the change order for the load bearing wall, they managed to get us a functioning kitchen on the Tue. before Thanksgiving by having workers here on both the Sat. and Sun. before Thanksgiving. We were pleased enough with the work on the kitchen and the final result that we contracted with AKB to remodel our master bath. We gave them some ideas of the kind of look we wanted and they helped us pick out a tile scheme that met with our vision. It turned out extremely well and we are very pleased with the result. They were always very responsive and kept us informed as to what to expect and when. And they stayed very close to their original time estimates. There were no long gaps between different phases of the work as I have experienced with other contractors. I would highly recommend AKB and would work with them again in the future.

Description of Work
We did both a kitchen remodel and a bathroom remodel. Kitchen was completely gutted and we removed existing walls around what was originally a nook for a washer/dryer. In bathroom, new shower, floor, toilet, fixtures and vanity counter top and light fixtures. Basically everything except existing cabinet for vanity.

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/24/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review!

5.0

04/12/2017


Michael P E.

The assistance with the design process and purchasing process went very well.

Description of Work
Kitchen re-model

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We sincerely appreciate your comments. Lori American Kitchen and Bath

5.0

04/03/2017


Sharon R.

I think they are great. They did a great job. As with all construction projects it requires a little bit of oversight.

Description of Work
They redid a master bathroom, so a complete renovation.

Category remodeling

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2016

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review!

5.0

03/12/2017


Chris T.

We contracted with AKB to do a complete makeover of the two dated bathrooms in our condominum unit based on the reviews here in Angie's list. We were fortunate to work with Michele Crawford, who was wonderful. She was professional, punctual, and on top of things throughout the process. Plus her design ideas and recommendations were outstanding and it was a joy to work with her. Our project was on time and the quality of the work seems excellent. This was our first remodeling experience so we were learning as we went along, which is also why we appreciated the design input from Michele. We have some built in cabinets that required custom doors made to match the new vanities but Michele helped us through this without a hitch. Their price was in the upper half of our other bids it was still in the mid-range. We also remodeled our kitchen at the same time using another contractor we met through Home Depot. This job was of a similar magnitude but it was much more disjointed. It started before the bathroom work, and it is still not done. It is also having issues passing inspection which was not an issue for AKB. We should have gone with AKB for all the work! We would definitely consider hiring them again. There are always unexpected things that pop up in any remodeling job so you have to expect this to a certain extent. But in our case it minimal and overall it was a very positive experience. The quality timeliness of the workmanship was excellent but we honestly felt that Michele's personal touch is what made it truly positive experience.

Description of Work
Remodeling of two bathrooms in our condominium unit in Santa Clara

Category ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling