Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bay Home and Window

Founded 1993 • With Angi since December 2007

85 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. Service fee may apply. Additional e-mail - appointments@bayhomeandwindow.com. May contact through e-mail. Additional phone - (866) 633-4400. Additional DBA - The Home Source Company Inc.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.3

(23) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-23 of 23 reviews
Andrew W.
1.0
02/25/2022
Summary: They charged me $9,000 for a shelving system. Several years later, the system is defective and not usable through faulty installation and/or materials. They want to charge me hundreds of dollars to fix their shoddy work, despite claiming to have a lifetime warranty. In 2014, I paid $9,000 for some built in shelves. For the first time ever, I tried moving one of the shelves they installed. It was almost impossible to get out (I literally broke out in a sweat doing it), and it was impossible to reinstall. I measured it and saw that the space at the bottom of the shelf was 3/16" wider than in the middle/top (where the shelf was supposed to go). No problem because these guys have a lifetime warranty, right? Wrong. I contacted the service department and asked to get this taken care of. They say, "Sure...we'll be there next week. Send a picture of what's going on so we have a better idea." I sent the picture and then was told that I have to pay $115 for their time and gas...JUST FOR A CONSULTATION. Then I have to pay $115 for the first hour of actual work and $75/hour for each additional hour. That's not a lifetime warranty...it's a way to bilk you out of money every few years. Call me crazy, but when I pay $9,000 for a couple pieces of wood, and that purchase comes with a lifetime warranty, I'd expect that it last longer than a two-term president...and if something went wrong through no fault of my own, they would fix the issue without asking me for hundreds of dollars. They either installed this improperly or are using inferior products because I've never had any other shelf move like that by itself. So now I have the amazing choice of either paying even more money to this company for these shelves or rendering a good chunk of this unit useless. Unless you like paying the cost of a used car for a few shelving units and then having to pay hundreds of dollars every few years to continue using these shelves, save yourself the money and headache. They're not worth it.
Description of Work
Installation of custom shelves
Category
custom cabinets, woodworking
scott M.
3.0
02/24/2016
We set up an appointment with this company at the Home and Garden show. We were told they would be at our home on Monday, February 22nd. As the date got closer, we received a conformation email and phone call. My wife and I both took off work early to be home at the designated time. As we were waiting for the company to arrive, we received a phone message telling us that they would not be coming. We called back to leave a message and have not heard back. 2/25/16 update: My wife was able to get a hold of them and we now have an appointment scheduled. I guess we will see what happens.
Description of Work
We set up an appointment for an estimate.
Category
window treatments
Kenneth P.
3.0
06/21/2015
They were friendly, but the product was much better somewhere else as was the price. I was told that they would send an estimate, but never got it.
Description of Work
estimate on closets and shutters
Category
window treatments
Martie M.
5.0
06/17/2015
They were very professional, the quality of materials are wonderful, and they were very helpful in choosing our shutters and in how to coordinate with new flooring .
Description of Work
Installed new shutters in many windows in our home
Category
window treatments
DEBBI AND GEORGE B.
3.0
05/27/2015
NOTE: I spoke with the CEO and have updated this review accordingly. The project started off well. Our designer, Angel Manoguerra, seemed to know what she was doing and she was very helpful in arriving at a design for each closet. We had downsized and needed to maximize the small amount of space we have in our new house. Flexibility was also important. Angel told us that every bar and shelve was moveable/removeable. This turned out to not quite be true. Also, although she measured, we were not able to fit things in as planned. Sales Process - all meetings are done in the home and designs put together on the spot, which is nice. Unfortunately, we had a discount but in order to use it, we had to make a decision that night. If a quote is good that night, it should still be good the next day or the day after. Also, their policy is not to give us a copy of their drawings, which we felt was essential for us to determine whether or not the design would work. We had already gotten other bids and were not going to shop the design, but that is their policy. Before spending $6400 we wanted to sit with the plans in the rooms and think about how they would work. That is not unreasonable, and might have helped us avoid the outcome that we have, where things that we expected to fit, don?t. Ultimately we did get some design documents. It was 9 weeks from the time we agreed on the project to the installation date. On the date of installation, even before the installation in the first closet was complete, I realized we had a major problem. The 2 hanging bars were not far enough apart for my husband?s shirts, and they had been fixed into the side of the installation, and were not adjustable. There was also a shelf between the two bars that appeared to be permanently affixed to the wall. I pointed this out to the installer and he removed the bars, drilled new holes, and installed the bar higher (although it could have gone higher still, and should have). He did this with two bars. I told him that it was really important that we be able to move bars and shelves and he said we could, but that three of the shelves needed to be permanently affixed for structural reasons. At that time I should have gone into the other closet to check that bars and shelves there were movable, but I didn?t. 15 minutes after the installers left when I started to put things away, I realized that I had problems in my second (guest) closet. While I could (and did) adjust the hanging bars, there wasn?t enough room in my husband?s sections for him to hang 2 rows of shirts, even if he took out all the shelves that were underneath the shirts. And, some of the shelves were permanently affixed, just like in the other closet. Given the nature of the cabinet closet, there is no structural reason for any shelves to be permanently affixed. When I realized that I couldn?t move the shelves, I called Angel and left her a voicemail. I then called the main number and spoke with Kester who said someone would call me some time the following week (which they did). I never did hear from Angel but I understand that may be because she left the company. . I?m not sure who I spoke to on Monday following installation, but he explained that the shelves that appear to be permanently affixed have a camlock, and he explained how to open and remove the shelves, which we have now done. I jokingly wondered if Angel was paid by each shelf she sold, he told me that extra shelves were left as a convenience and a courtesy; if we wanted them later, it can be hard to match colors exactly. I understand and appreciate that sentiment; I just don?t need 6 extra shelves and I feel like I've paid for every last one. Given that storage is at a premium, I am not sure where I am going to put them either. When we originally talked to Angel about what we wanted to do, she measured and said clothing (like men?s shirts) would fit on 2 bars in the closet, but they do not (there is not enough height). She thought my ?little tiny clothes? would fit on double bars too, but they actually don?t either. We should have double-checked and not taken her at her word, but we also thought she had done a lot of closets (certainly more than we had!) and would have the expertise to know how much room you typically need to hang shirts. We did schedule someone from Bay Home & Window to come out and raise the bars in the office closet; he came to do this yesterday, 6 weeks after our installation. In order to fit my husband?s shirts on his side, we also removed yet another shelf. It is my opinion that Angel does not understand the installation process, and how the actual organizers go together. She was unaware (or didn't tell us) about the camlocks, the supporting shelves, and she apparently didn?t know that there would be shelves on the floors of the closets (even though they do not show the shelves in the drawings, with the exception of the office closet where we did expect there to be shelves and a toe kick). She was not aware that some closet designs do NOT have adjustable bars (unless you call having to drill new holes and screw the bars in adjustable). I do have some positive feedback. The cabinet with the slide out shoe shelves is perfect. It looks great, holds the shoes well, and is exactly what we hoped for. The laundry cabinet is another bright spot in that it looks great and functions exactly as I expected. However, there is a dent in the side of the dryer that was not there before (picture enclosed). There was a very large, heavy shelf that needed to be removed, and a supporting piece of wood and it?s likely that one of those hit the dryer. Accidents can happen, but I am not happy that no one told me about it. We did ask if they wanted us to move the washer or dryer before they started and they said no. In summary, we spent almost $6500 on the 2 closets and the laundry cabinet, and we are definitely not $6500 worth of happy, primarily because when all is said and done, we did not have the space for clothing that we expected to have and were led to believe we would have. We have made it work, but it?s certainly not the outcome we had hoped for. I am struggling with the rating; I initially gave a C rating overall, because we are happy with the shoe closet and the laundry closet, but the most important closets have not turned out as we had hoped. However once the company knew we were unhappy, they did a good job of contacting me, and working with me to see if there was anything they could change about our installation or do for us otherwise; I truly believe they want their customers to be happy. I'm somewhere between a C and B. I gave a C on price, because I feel that Bay Home & Window is expensive compared to others. The quality of the cabinets is good, but I don't feel commands the premium price I paid. For $6400 I wish I had gone with someone else. I initially gave a C on responsiveness, because it was a mixed bag, but I have changed that to a B. On one hand, I didn't hear from Angel, but she has left the company. It took 6 weeks to get someone out to readjust the bars. On the other hand, the person I spoke to immediately after the installation (Kester) was very responsive. I also spoke with someone else who did a good job of explaining things (another Jeff), and returned my call within a day or so. And I received a phone call from the CEO, who also emailed me and left me voicemail; I feel he genuinely was open to the feedback and wants us to be happy.
Description of Work
Installed closet organizers in 2 closets, a shoe closet with pull out shelves, and a laundry cabinet in the laundry area. Of the 3 parts to the project, we are happy with the laundry cabinet, and shoe closet, and not as happy with the other 2 closets, but we have made them work.
Category
window treatments
Allison R.
5.0
04/21/2015
.
Description of Work
.
Category
woodworking
Sharon A.
5.0
02/11/2015
unknown
Description of Work
I had a closet organizer put into my walk-in closet in the master bedroom. It includes shelves and a laundry basket. I'm very happy with Bay Home and Window. Their work is high quality and very functional and my organizer was delivered very quickly. I love my new closet!
Category
closet systems, window treatments
Gail M.
5.0
11/18/2014
.
Description of Work
.
Category
drapery cleaning, remodeling
Christopher L.
5.0
07/31/2014
The entire process of ordering our closet organizer from start to finish couldn't have been better. After we had ordered our organizer and had the measurements taken, a second individual from BHW came to our residence to take additional measurements. These additional measurements were essential to ensuring a perfect fit as the walls are not perfectly square. This additional measurement was evident when the installers came to install the organizer. Everything fit perfectly and the installation only took 45 minutes. We could not have been happier with the service received from BHW and the quality of the materials used. We were so pleased that we decided to order plantation shutters for our three bedrooms from BHW which are scheduled to be installed in Sept. I mention the importance of additional measurements for the closet organizer as we had previously ordered a closet organizer from another company. The other company only took one set of measurerments and it took the installer almost three hours to install the organizer unit. In addition, although the price for this organizer was approximately $300 less than what we paid BHW, the quality of workmanship was evident when the two units were compared with one another. The bottom line is if your want good customer service and high quality materials at a competitive price, you need to go to BHW. I plan to furnish additional feedback following the installation of our plantation shutters.
Description of Work
Installed closer organizer unit in bedroom closet
Category
closet systems, window treatments
Evelyn M.
3.0
06/30/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Have not finished yet. My shutters will be ready for installation in Sept.
Category
window treatments
Elaine T.
4.0
06/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Bay Home & Window quoted us at least 25% higher than Closet World and could not start work for at least 2 months. We had to get started sooner and went with a competitor at a lower price--Closet World.
Category
replacement windows, window treatments
M N.
5.0
05/30/2014
Long story short, while there were some initial and latter problems, the manager Jeff Falcon personally followed up and made sure the job was done to my satisfaction. The shutters are very nice, the installer Miguel was more than excellent - he was great , and the design rep Emily offered a varied number of options. Both showed up on time and were professional. I would definitely recommend Bay Home and Windows because of the responsiveness and follow up of the manager and the installation.
Description of Work
Made and installed custom sliding shutters for patio door.
Category
window treatments
michael W.
2.0
03/01/2014
again I'm happy that i chose to go with another company--- read above!
Description of Work
The guy only came out and gave me a bid... and told me that he could take about 500.00 off the price shown if i made a decision within 24 hours as he would have to "bundle the order" I right away said i'll get back to him as i was still price shopping.... note this for two window shudders for small sliding shudders going to the patio, and one average window shudder.... I thought the price was a little high.... oh well long story short --- i found a company that did the same work and product for less than half of what Bay Home and Window was going to rip me off for---- oh also i believe that they said that it could take between 8 to 12 weeks but possibly longer to do the installation ---- i believe possibly longer but i honestly do not remember but i do remember that it was an un believable amount of time!!! and i also read that others had problems in this area on their yelp reviews... but the company i chose did it in just 2 1/2 weeks with half down and the other half when the job was completed! --- I'm so happy that i did not go with them and shopped around!
Category
window treatments
Elizabeth F.
5.0
10/22/2013
The units turned out beautiful and it looks wonderful. My only problem I had with the company was with the designer. She did a great job but told me that I was being offered 30% only at that time if I paid for half of it now which I did. I was then told of a time line of when someone would come out and do a final measurement before everything is ordered. I waited for two to three weeks before calling the office. A message was left for the designer who promptly called me back. She hadn't put the order in thus I never received a phone call. I also had to retake measurements on the size of the computer tower which I then provided to her. I received a phone call a week later and the guy remeasured before the final order was placed. I waited a few more weeks before I received a phone call to have it installed. It was supposed to take two days but happily it took only one. So from time of signature approximately the middle of April, the job was completed the end of June, beginning of July. I can't remember the exact completion date. The price is steep but it really came out nice and let's face it, It's not going to be removed anytime soon so it will remain in my house for a lifetime.
Description of Work
Our living room/kitchen had no organization to it. I wanted an entertainment center, bookshelf and a desk area for my husband to use his computer at.
Category
custom cabinets
Shelley H.
5.0
10/01/2013
They're the first renovation that we've done inside the house but so far we're pretty happy with it, it was nice. They had computer and they were able to actually do a scan roll on size so we can actually see what kind of window would be put in our living room. You definitely get what you want. They have worked with on actually getting your idea in. They have designers that will work with you to work with you on your design the only thing is I think that they're pricey.
Description of Work
I went to Bay Home and Window last June for window service.
Category
replacement windows
Arlene & Richard H.
5.0
07/06/2013
Fantastic! My husband and I visited their booth at the Fremont Arts and Crafts Festival and made an appointment for a designer to come to our home to design the unit. Loretta came with her laptop, looked at the room and wall where we wanted the wall unit installed, listened to our needs, took measurements, made suggestions, and came up with the design right in our home. She took into consideration, heat registers, electrical outlets, door clearances, etc. Using her laptop, we were able to see exactly what the unit would look like. We were very impressed with her knowledge of the product and of design and of her ability to work with us. The design was then double checked for accuracy back at the company. They discovered one thing that needed to be tweaked, which they did, and Loretta emailed us the final design for our approval. When the unit was ready, within the time Loretta said it would be, Rebecca called us to set up an installation time. She was very respectful of what day would work best for our schedule Two installers came out exactly on time and expertly installed the unit in one day. The unit is absolutely beautiful and we are thrilled with the result. We have had the unit eight months now, and all the drawers, sliders, and hinges work beautifully. I would highly recommend Bay Home and Window.
Description of Work
Designed and installed a wall unit with two desk areas, book shelves, two slideout shelves for laptops, two overhead cabinets, two lower cabinets with slideout shelf for printer and slideout shelf for shredder, and three drawers.
Category
window treatments
MaryEllen B.
5.0
01/12/2013
Had an in-home consultation and closet could be customized for my needs and my husband's closet for his particular needs. A couple of gentlemen from the company came to measure and the draftsman came and checked his own measurements before everything was fabricated. The installers were really EXCELLENT . I say this having done 2 large remodels in our house and being the daughter of a home builder myself. The finish work was great and I had every hook and piece of hardware exactly were it worked for me! I don't hesitate to recommend this company for closet installs...not the cheapest, but I consider the walk-in closets to be an investment in my sanity and a huge resale factor
Description of Work
Beautiful closets!
Category
closet systems, remodeling
Vikram V.
5.0
05/31/2012
Everything went smooth. The sales person( Adrien) came first on time, he was extremely professional and told us of all the minor details that needs to be worked. He spent couple of hours with us and gave different designs for closet. They do use better quality of wood that other vendors. After we agreed to go with them, there was a time set for the installers to come . The worker were very professional and completed the job without any issue. Overall it was very smooth experience. I will do business with them again. The only negative is that we had to wait for 2 months before the installers could install the closet.
Description of Work
I used them for putting closets in 2 bedroom.
Category
custom cabinets, closet systems, window treatments
Andrew S.
5.0
11/16/2011
I they did a great job. Their salesman knew a lot about the product. In fact, he was able to answer questions for me that others weren't. The actual installer was very professional. He was clean in regards to his work, and I think he did a wonderful job.
Description of Work
They installed interior plantation shutters on nineteen windows in my home.
Category
window treatments
Antonio X.
5.0
10/22/2011
We just bought our first home and replaced an outdated built-in entertainment center that came with the home. My wife and I couldn't be happier with our experience. My main concern was creating a nice space for a modern TV. The old entertainment center was limited to a boxy 37and quot; with a ton of wasted space for over-sized compartments. The new design from Bay Home and Window made excellent use of all the space and allowed me to upgrade to 51and quot; while still keeping plenty of room for drawers and an elegant arched glass cabinet. However, the main reason I am writing a review was the great experience with the installation team. Josh and Don were skilled, friendly and just about as good as it gets. My wife and I suggested numerous changes during the course of the day and Josh and Don were able to make it all happen.Their attention to detail during the install and their skill and experience really stood out to me. None of the ideas we had were shot down or ignored. They thought it through and let us know if they couldn't do exactly what we wanted but would always suggest an alternative. It was a very positive experience and it felt like we were all part of the same team. To give an example, I had some concerns about air-flow in the cabinets for the A/V equipment. Josh came up with an idea to trim the corners from the shelves and drill multiple grommet holes. This would improve air flow as well as give me plenty of options when running cables. His solution was so great it should be standard procedure! I truly appreciated the modifications after they left and I was connecting all of the equipment. At the end of the day when they were wrapping up some last minute ideas came to me. I brought them up and felt bad because I could see they were ready to call it a day. To their credit they didn't make me feel guilty at all. They said it would be quick and no problem at all. They unpacked their equipment and went right to it. To give another example of how great Josh and Don were, they noticed my daughter (21 months) was startled whenever the compressor kicked in for the nail gun. They started to give me warnings so I could prepare her for the noise. By the end of the day she was fine with it and learned to say they were and quot;workingand quot; when the noise kicked in. Excellent customer service and an excellent product have resulted in an extremely happy customer.
Description of Work
Replace our existing built-in entertainment center with a new custom design
Category
custom cabinets, remodeling, glass block
William S.
1.0
09/01/2010
They were very delayed in the installation of the shutters, and we had to be the ones to call to find out the status. Also, we had paid our deposit, half the cost, and were going to pay the other half after installation. After the worker installed them (the day after the appointment for installation was made), he then immediately demanded the other half of the deposit. I said we could send a check the next day, because my husband was not home and I was not handling that. He called his boss, who then immediately started threatening to take them down, that their "contract" said that the balance was due on installation, that the worker "wouldn't leave" until he got his money (which is illegal to pretend to force yourself to stay in someone's house...). Of course, if they had reminded us, we could have had the money ready. After all, it had been so long since we placed our order, we had "forgotten" that. And by the way--the contract also listed a delivery date, and they were a month late on that! If that is their main concern rather than good business, they should call or clarify before they have installed them. We were treated like we were trying to stiff them, when in reality it was there own failures that created the situation. These people are rude! We will never use them again, or recommend them. Too bad, because we have more work to do. They lost our business now!
Description of Work
We had two patio shutter doors installed.
Category
home improvement stores
Michael B.
5.0
12/31/2009
We initially had a bad experience with CA closets. Our sales person worked very hard and did a great job, but his office never processed our order or called. We didn't find that out until 4 weeks later when they missed the installation date. That's when CA closets told us they didn't order anything and it would be at least another month before they could schedule our work! We found Bay Home & Closets right after that. We met with four other companies to obtain quotes. Jeff and Skip form Bay came over and built a design at a very competitive price. Jeff was refreshing; very bright, straightforward and extremely knowledgeable. We discovered that Jeff could also size everything custom, especially for our tall ceilings. We weren't limited to the standard size components that the other firms offered. Because of our situation they rushed the order and quickly installed all six closets. What impressed me was that Josh, their installer, focused on the details. He took a custom approach. Instead of hanging shelves on walls he integrated them into the room. He detailed existing trim, added trim to his closets, built a box for the lightswitch and even trimmed out a utility bar. We are extremely pleased with the finished product. The quality is great, the fit and finish exceptional and the entire process was very smooth and pleasant. We ended up with a beautiful custom setup for just a little more than CA closets. It was well worth it.
Description of Work
We had just moved into a newly constructed Condo, with six empty closets. We had a floor to ceiling Master Closet system installed, along with custom organizers for the other five closets. The Master was custom melamine without visible holes. It gives it a much richer look, but it was around the same price as CA closet's estimate. It runs floor to ceiling with molding top and bottom. The other closets are various depths and include double hanging, drawers, file cabinet drawers and are also without holes for the hanging areas.
Category
closet systems
Nathan C.
5.0
12/08/2007
Called and had an in home consultation with a sales rep. Rep went over all options and had many samples. Decided to go with them on the spot as there was an additional discount given. Shutters took roughly 4 months to build, which was told to us prior to purchasing. Rep gave us some temporary paper shades in the mean time. 4 months later, shutters were in and installer came. 3 windows installed ok, but found that 2 did not perfectly align to the inside window frames. Instead of just installing what was built, they remade those 2 for us, which took another 6 weeks. Company called us the next day to apologize. The shutters fit, but did not fully line up with the frames. Some installers might have just installed them anyway, but I'm glad these guys noticed the issue and corrected it. 6 weeks later, same installer came back and installed the final 2 shutters. They look great.
Description of Work
Built and installed custom wood shutters in 5 windows.
Category
window treatments

Phone

Address

40 California Ave Ste H

Pleasanton, CA 94566

Other Information

Services offered

Sales and installation of plantation shutters, custom built-in closets, entertainment centers, home offices, pantries, bookcases & built-in furniture.

Services not offered

Repairs of existing shutters not installed by company.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express

FAQ

Bay Home and Window is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

Bay Home and Window accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

Yes, Bay Home and Window offers free project estimates.

Yes, Bay Home and Window offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Bay Home and Window offers warranties.

Bay Home and Window offers the following services: Sales and installation of plantation shutters, custom built-in closets, entertainment centers, home offices, pantries, bookcases & built-in furniture.

Repairs of existing shutters not installed by company.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Aesthetic Elements Construction

5.0

(17)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Aesthetic Elements Construction

We are a licensed general contractor located in San Leandro, California. We are experienced in handling various types of residential and commercial remodeling projects of all sizes and scopes, end to end. Every residential and commercial property we work on is treated as our own and our client’s satisfaction is always our number one priority. We do not sub out projects, they are done in-house by our field crew and you will have a dedicated project manager throughout the process. Our team has been working together for the last several years on numerous construction projects located throughout the greater Bay Area. WE ONLY WORK WITH CURRENT PROPERTY OWNERS and our pricing STARTS at $5,000. Please give us a call at (510)404-0005, extension 1 or visit us on our website (www.aestheticelementsconstruction.com) to schedule a free on-site consultation. We look forward to hearing about your project!  

Family Owned and Operated since 1994. Nine Brothers & Sisters Striving For Your Complete Satisfaction! Energy Efficient, Replacement Windows and Doors. No Subcontractors! No High-pressure Sales! Ranked Among The Top Nationwide by Qualified Remodelers! AAMA Certified and Members of the Better Business Bureau. Quality Craftsmanship. Lifetime Warranties. Save $75 per window & $150 per door. Financing Available.  

BEAR Remodeling Inc.

5.0

(4)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

BEAR Remodeling Inc.

ABOUT US We are a family-owned business, fully licensed, bonded, and insured providing home remodeling services in your local area. As a full-service general contractor, we specialize in residential home remodeling projects. Our services range from Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Room Additions, Garage Conversions, Decks, and Outside Kitchens. We have in-house Engineers and Designers. At BEAR Remodeling we provide a turn-key solution and guide our customers through planning, budgeting, design, permits, and builds. We do it all. From start to finish, BEAR gets the job done right!