Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

CertaPro Painters of Berkeley

4.7

(93) Verified Reviews

With Angi since November 2006

Licensed
Trade License Number
837312
Trade License Locale
California
Trade License Authority
California: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
06/30/2021
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

1940 Union St

Oakland, CA 94607

http://berkeley.certapro.com/?source=Angie

Description

We are your locally owned and operated, full-service painting contractors - providing the highest quality work, best value and most professional painting service in the East Bay since 2004. We pride ourselves on our customer service and the quality of our work. We will show up on time, leave the work area clean and tidy everyday, and keep you informed on our progress. Whether we paint one room or your entire house, our goal is to provide you with a trouble free painting experience and lasting results. Our painting process is designed to provide you with the best possible painting experience for your home or business. First, we will provide you with a detailed, itemized estimate for your project. We can optionally provide the services of a professional paint color consultant if you wish. Every project is carefully managed to ensure the painting process goes as smoothly as possible and is completed to specification and on schedule. Our painters are courteous, professional and regularly trained to ensure safe working practices. We will leave the work area organized and uncluttered at the end of each day. And we will keep you informed on our progress throughout. Serving Berkeley, Oakland, Richmond, Alameda, Walnut Creek, El Cerrito, San Pablo, Hercules, Lafayette, Orinda, Moraga, Piedmont, Montclair, Albany, Kensington, Pinole, Pleasant Hill, Alamo and surrounding areas. Fully licensed, bonded and insured. EPA lead-safe certified....

Verified Reviews

4.7

(93) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

72

4

12

3

3

2

4

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

house painting (73)interior painting (43)deck cleaning (6)woodworking (5)pressure washing (5)general contractors (5)plastering (4)wallpaper removal (2)drywall (2)mold removal (1)stucco (1)decks & porches (1)
Showing 1-10 of 93 reviews
1.0

08/22/2020


Bill M.

Had a call from him, set up appointment, but no show and no response when left message on where he was!!

Description of Work
Need Redwood siding stripped and refinished

Category house painters

Work Completed On 08/14/2020

Service Provider Response

Sorry for your bad experience. I think there may be a mix up, as we do not service the Marin area. There is a different branch that works in that area, with their own Angies List account.
2.0

06/14/2019


Maya B.

I submitted a quote request here on Angie's List for exterior house paint. CertaPro Berkeley owner contacted us within hours, to set up a time for estimator to come out. They then requested a time change, which we accommodated. Estimator arrived on time, we spent 45 minutes with them going over the project, then were told our estimate would be sent within a couple of days, but no later than that Sunday (3 days later). Here it is 8 days later and we've been ghosted! Totally forgotten. No quote, no follow up, nothing. What a waste of time both my husband and my time! They are officially off our list now. I have no tolerance for promises not kept.

Description of Work
No follow up!

Category house painters

Work Completed On 06/06/2019

Service Provider Response

So sorry that you did not received the proposal. We typically send the proposals out within 24 -48 hours. I checked our system, looks like the proposal was written up on 6/8/19,with all details listed out. I wonder if maybe the email that was sent went into a junk mail folder. So sorry if this caused issues for you, this is not how we operate. We have had issues in the past with emails going to junk mail or not getting delivered. In the future, please give us a call if there is an issue, we can resolve quickly in that manner Thank you
5.0

09/06/2018


Alana L.

They were very professional.They were on time and very good about cleaning up each day. The results exceeded my expectations.The house looks amazing.My neighbors thought I put on new shingles and windows. They took off years of dirt wth the power wash and the cleaning of windows before painting. Their foreman Deon was very patient with all of our questions. I will continue to recommend them to friends and neighbors for years to come.

Description of Work
Exterior second and third story windows were cleaned and painted. Shingles were also cleaned and stained with semi transparent color

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and glad that you are happy with the results. The guys did a very nice job. It is not easy to work with older wood shingles, and the outcome looks great. Take care
5.0

03/23/2018


Khari L.

After reaching out to CertaPro, they promptly messaged back and setup a date to come and review what needed to be done, totally around our schedule. When it was time for the actual job the team showed up and quickly prepped the room(s) that needed to worked on and fast forward 3 days we have a beautiful new feel to the house. There were no issues with the work done and they were meticulous in making sure that everything was done properly. Couldn’t be more happy with the service from start to finish. Definitely will have them out again for any interior painting and also highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Needed the interior of our house painted from a very dark green to lighter color. Including ceiling and trim around doors and baseboards

Category interior painters

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Great to hear that the work turned out exactly the way you liked. It was great working together.
5.0

01/01/2018


Manisha P.

Soumil and his crew were top notch. Quotes were received in a timely fashion and the work met expectations of both the timeline and price. If we noticed something it was addressed immediately. Overall, one of the better experiences we've had working with contractors.

Description of Work
Complete exterior paint on a tall and long neglected stucco home

Category house painters

Cost $13,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2017

5.0

11/04/2017


kathleen B.

Excellent responsiveness and attention to detail by work crew, foreman, and project manager. Juan Diaz, our foreman, was always available for questions and specific directions on what was needed. Juan was wonderful throughout the project! The project manager kept us informed about the planned project start and what could cause delays. He gave me the name and phone of our foreman well in advance of the project. Overall he was responsive and organized with very good planning skills. Our initial contact and discussion with the owner was professional and helpful. He was prompt to the appointment and offered to include all details we wanted. He gave directions on types of paint products so we were better informed on paint selection. The contract was inclusive and reasonably priced. Excellent work overall. Thank you.

Description of Work
Exterior painting of home including dry rot repair, vent screening, and installation of bird spikes

Category contractors,pressure washing,house painters

Cost $8,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2017

5.0

10/05/2017


Cherie and Ron H.

The painters were very meticulous. I would recommend them to anyone that has a very high quality job.

Description of Work
They painted two major rooms and did some lath and plaster.

Category plastering,interior painters

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2016

5.0

09/22/2017


John S.

I was VERY pleased with the CertaPro Painters (Berkeley) team - from Kevin (the sales guy who came out to scope the work and provide a quote), to Deon (Production Manager), Hieme (foreman), and the guys who did the prep, painting, and carpentry work that was required. They were easy to work with and professional, and the quality of work was really good. I particularly appreciated how flexible and open they were to my requests as the project progressed - no attitude or unnecessary complexity. I would work with them again and recommend them.

Description of Work
Prep (including replacement of shingles on one side of the house) and exterior painting, as well as interior painting of two bedrooms and ceiling repair in the living room.

Category woodworking,house painters,interior painters

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2017

1.0

09/11/2017


Annette L.

They said they were going to call me the first week of September to set up an appointment. They never called.

Description of Work
power wash and stain redwood deck They never called me back to set up an appointment as I said before. this is all the information i have.....

Category deck cleaning,house painters

Work Completed On 09/11/2017

5.0

05/16/2017


Dennis H.

The experience with CertaPro was perfect. They took a lot of time to make a careful bid, which was a bit lower than their competitors. They scheduled the work promptly, but were responsive to our request for a schedule change. The crew was very careful and professional, and communication was good. When we panicked for a moment that we might have chosen the wrong colors, Certa Pro was very responsive and understanding and paused the work. The whole experience was fantastic.

Description of Work
We need an exterior paint job for home, which had not been painted in many years.

Category house painters

Cost $12,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2017

Services Offered

Interior Painting, Exterior Painting, House Painting, Commercial Painting, Industrial Painting, Interior & Exterior Painting, Epoxy Coatings, Cabinet Refinishing, Stain/Sealants, Power Washing, Drywall Repair, Acoustic Ceiling Removal, Lead Safe Painting, Historical Home Painting, Professional Color Assistance

Services Not Offered

Wallpaper installation.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CertaPro Painters of Berkeley

How is CertaPro Painters of Berkeley overall rated?

CertaPro Painters of Berkeley is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

What days are CertaPro Painters of Berkeley open?

CertaPro Painters of Berkeley is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

What payment options does CertaPro Painters of Berkeley provide

CertaPro Painters of Berkeley accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available, American Express, Discover

Does CertaPro Painters of Berkeley offer free estimates?

Yes, CertaPro Painters of Berkeley offers free project estimates.

Does CertaPro Painters of Berkeley offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, CertaPro Painters of Berkeley offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Are warranties offered by CertaPro Painters of Berkeley?

Yes, CertaPro Painters of Berkeley offers warranties.

What services does CertaPro Painters of Berkeley offer?

CertaPro Painters of Berkeley offers the following services: Interior Painting, Exterior Painting, House Painting, Commercial Painting, Industrial Painting, Interior & Exterior Painting, Epoxy Coatings, Cabinet Refinishing, Stain/Sealants, Power Washing, Drywall Repair, Acoustic Ceiling Removal, Lead Safe Painting, Historical Home Painting, Professional Color Assistance

Are there any services CertaPro Painters of Berkeley does not offer?

Wallpaper installation.