Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

LOBO SERVICES LTD

Founded 1996 • With Angi since May 2007

James Nolen Sr., the founder of Lobo Services’ involvement with residential construction goes back to 1952 at West Oak Lake, Pennsylvania. As a young man his dad put him to work for their family’s home construction company as a laborer. Over the years, James learned and mastered all phases of residential construction and repairs. In 1990 James moved his wife Joan and their family to the Sacramento area where he and his two sons started Lobo Services. In 2005 James retired and the company is now being operated by his two sons, James Jr. and John, with the same tradition, handiwork and professionalism that Jim inspired. Under the current direction of James Nolen Jr. and John Nolen, Lobo Services continues to specialize in all types of home construction and repairs. Lobo Services have done extensive home repairs and warranty work for some of the nation’s top homebuilders in both Northern California and Western Nevada. They have established an excellent reputation for being competitive, dependable, reliable and on time.

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
10%
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

3.7

(9) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews
Rebecca H.
3.0
09/24/2015
The work was done by several skilled men. In particular, Alfredo, who did the dry wall work and painting. They were professional in what they did. But there were very large gaps of time between each step. I frequently had to call the office to try to get the next step done, to get this project on calendar. Each step of the way the workers took photographs for the office and measurements...the information was seldom sent on. As a result, workers came without the necessary tools, and the original mantle place was the wrong size and had to be re-cut. As the mantle was being installed, a gap was noted between the drywall and the mantle. It was decided that the framers needed to do a fix. A picture was sent with the measurements. After approximately one month with no word. I called and spoke with the owner who said he'd have someone out the next week. When I called the office to confirm that the work would be done, they were shocked. They could not get someone that fast, but did schedule Alfredo on a day I agreed to. He came and was shocked at the problem of the gap. He had been told to just float some mud! He and I both decided that was no fix. He called the office and eventually got the OK to do the fix properly. He came a week later, an agreed date, to paint it. The idea was that I would give him a check for the balance. While he was there, I requested an invoice. It came. It was wrong. They tried to tack on an additional $492, allegedly for time and materials for mounting the TV. The only materials that I did not supply was a cheap cover for the wires, and a couple of cable extensions that probably cost under $20. I refused to pay any of that additional amount as it was never discussed with me, I did not agree to pay extra for something that was discussed and supposedly included in the original scope of work. It took Lobo Services FIVE months to complete what was a relatively straightforward job.
Description of Work
Remodel existing fireplace, reframe the chase, change drywall, add additional rows of brick to the surround, paint it all and supply and install a three sided fireplace mantle and mount a TV with owner supplied mount. I accepted the estimate on or about April 2, 2015 and the first work was scheduled for April 13...the job was not completed until September 24!
Category
drywall, remodeling, house painters, interior painters
Daniel M.
1.0
07/21/2015
It was horrible. From the start, we gave them over $40k. They didn't do anything for about 2 months. John assured us there would be no change orders and it would only take 4-6 weeks to complete. It has been a year and they still aren't done. They used our money to do other jobs. Several of their subcontractors still haven't been paid for work done last year. They made up bogus change orders after the fact and tried billing us for them. They are by far the worst company I have ever dealt with. They might be fine fixing fences, but don't hire them for real construction. We have been lied to and taken advantage of for over a year.
Description of Work
We hired them to do TI for our brewery. They were supposed to be a one stop shop.
Category
house painters

Service Provider Response

The original plans changed 4 times. The Architech did the design of materials. The owner did not want to pay for changes to major components (ie building power) and decided to use a different electrician to get a different price which held up the project 6 months. All subcontractors and their suppliers have been paid and had been paid by the completion of the project.
Madelena K.
5.0
05/23/2015
I had a very good experience start to finish. Everyone was pleasant, professional, and eager to do the job right. I would hire them again in a heartbeat. The new reframed wall and drywall matched perfectly to the existing wall to the side. The new cabinet was made to match my kitchen cabinets, and they did a darn good job. In every aspect, every person: the demo crew, framer, drywall person, painter etc. all did a fantastic job. John has a great crew and they were easy to work with.
Description of Work
Lobo Services LTD demolished an existing entertainment wall cabinet, reframed the wall, installed a junction box and ran romex wire from an existing box to new junction box, supply hanged, mud tape and textured drywall, and supplied and installed a custom cabinet.
Category
house painters
BARBARA K.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
LOBO SERVICES REPLACED DOORS AND WINDOWS THAT WERE DAMAGED BY VANDALISM. THEY WORKED WITH ME TO DO THE REPAIRS THAT WERE NEEDED IN A TIMELY PERIOD IN SPITE OF CONFLICTS BETWEEN AN INSURANCE QUOTE THAT WAS VERY LOW AND MY EFFORT TO HAVE THE INS. CO. BE MORE REALISTIC ABOUT COSTS OF MATERIALS AND LABOR TO HAVE HOME BROUGHT BACK TO LIVABILITY. I HAD TO ADJUST THE WORK TO FIT THE INSURANCE CHECK, THEY WERE VERY ACCOMODATIVE AND I THANK THEM VERY MUCH....B.KERFOOT
Category
remodeling, house painters
Josh B.
5.0
02/05/2014
Lobo Services has helped many of my friends and family over the last 6 years. For me, they did a very large whole house remodel. Everything from new flooring, upgraded bath tub to a larger tub with jets, removed a wall in kitchen to open up to the living room then new cabinets and granite counters in the kitchen. They also painted the exterior and interior of the house when the remodel work was completed. I give them an A on all aspects of the work, except price. I give a B for the price, simply because they were not the lowest bid I had. I have tried to use the companies who provide the lowest bid in the past and it has turned out with less than desirable results every time. They were able to complete the project on time and on budget for me. I do, and will continue to recommend them to my friends and family.
Description of Work
.
Category
custom cabinets, countertops, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters
BONNIE W.
3.0
08/30/2013
They were professional and polite but it took a long time for LOBO SERVICES LTD to finish the stuff. We would never hire them again. The first crew was good. We had two issues though. We had a leak in our kitchen window so the team came out and they found the leak. They worked really really diligently, found it, fixed it, and then they came out to paint it. Everything was done well and they found everything. The second work we wanted done was some replaced fencing, in two different spots. The problem is their communication. They would not come back and we had called but we would not hear from them. It was just so annoying. Their communication was horrible. You would drop a message for the office people but they don't get back to you for a couple days. It's crazy. Then the workmanship too, there was one guy I think his name was Wade, who was their master carpenter, was really good. They had some newbie guy who put up the boards which shrunk after awhile from rainy season because it was not painted before or whatever they do with it and neither were the sides of the slats, which we let go. On the other side of the house we had a gate with a short fence. They painted it and put it up but the wood was horrible. The wood had knots in it. After a week or two the wood started disintegrating, chipping, and big pieces of wood were coming off in a line. That tells us it's something with the wood so LOBO SERVICES LTD didn't use very good wood. We had hired professionals because this is their deal, this is what they are supposed to be good at. They are supposed to know what to do. So, the gate shrunk. We also had a lock put on and the gate started sagging. It is a push button lock we can get into the yard with a combo, so it was no longer lined up right because of the sagging. One day, my husband and I were upstairs in the bathroom when we were looking down at the gate and to our amazement we found out that the newbie painter did not even paint the top flat board of the gate. This is a 6 foot gate and you are not likely to look at the top but he forgot to paint the top board. We were just mortified and appalled. It would have gotten totally destroyed in the winter plus the sun kills it. They agreed to come out and reconstruct the fence. The sent the master carpenter out. My husband discussed everything with him and showed him how everything was going south, especially where the top flat 6 inch board was not painted. The master carpenter was speechless and looked at my husband with disbelief. So, Wade finished it. They dropped off the boards for us and we painted them which was not part of the deal but at this point we just wanted it done. It was so hard to get LOBO SERVICES LTD back. It was such a chore getting them back here. People in our neighborhood have used them and absolutely love them. Maybe this job was too small for them. They're used to big jobs so maybe they did not treat this with much care. They charged us $180 for the new material after they screwed up but we did not pay it. They tried to get us to pay and I don't understand why because they're the ones that bought the crappy material but Wade was wonderful. He was the star. He ended up doing it, he wanted to improve the security so he made suggestions, and he was excellent. Also, they guys who did the window were great.
Description of Work
We used LOBO SERVICES LTD to find, fix, and paint a window leak and to replace and paint some fencing including a gate.
Category
fencing, replacement windows, house painters
David S.
1.0
07/11/2013
This evening, I sent an email to both BZ Plumbing and their remediation service. Dear Carlie & BZ Plumbing Management, First and foremost, I was referred to you by Golden Aire HVAC and because they have done stellar work for me, it seemed reasonable to take their recommendation - BZ Plumbing. I am looping them in on this note so that they know that their customer is not being treated very well by BZ Plumbing. I think they need to be informed before referring BZ Plumbing to their customers in the future. While I am loyal to Golden Aire, it may behove them to perhaps reconsider using BZ Plumbing for future referrals. Are you hearing me Gary at Golden Aire? BZ Plumbing caused water damage to my home on 24 June. While it is an accident, it's the way it has been handled that is upsetting. Accidents happen all the time, but it in the way that things are handle that shape the over-all impression/disappointment. Today is 10 July, 17 days later and my home is still damaged. What's left now to do? From my last view, and I had only one day before jumping on another jet to another state, carpet needs cleaning, imperfect smooth texture is not done correctly, Lobo lost the clip to my light fixture and replaced the light with one that does not match all the other lights and well, painting the ceiling to match the walls. I was assured, because I too work for a living and am crunched for time, that everything would be fine and that I would not even know that anything happened. The work would be transparent. Well, loosing a clip and transplanting a light that doesn't match certainly does not fall inline with the promise that was made. Oh yes, some 17 days later, work still needs to be done. A few minutes ago, I checked my voice mail and Joanie called to let me know that some guy is coming up now (this was around 9 am this morning) to clean my carpet. There is a word for this, "random". No one called ahead of time to schedule. I can not imagine that this is a normal business practice. Anyway, Joanie tried to reach both myself and my neighbor to find out if we are around and asked that we call back so that she could have her guy turn around and not come all the way to El Dorado Hills. Might I suggest scheduling. How about 24 hours notice? I have provided my cell phone numerous times and access to my neighbor who has generously agreed to make accommodations in my absence while I am away working. All that I ask is that we be treated reasonably and fairly. Can both you (BZ) and Lobo do this? Like all of you, I am earning a living and can not just randomly drop what I am doing and be there at your beck and call - and neither can my neighbor who has generously agreed to help in my absence when available. Lastly, what disturbs me most is that BZ Plumbing dumped Lobo on me and you guys have disappeared and it appears want nothing to do with me -- though, BZ Plumbing is the one that damaged my home with mass amounts of water - blowing out my ceiling, dirtying up my home with debris throughout and really causing a great deal of stress in my life (which I had clean). Of note, not once has BZ Plumbing followed up with good intentions to find out if I am ok and is there anything we can do to make this easier. I am a follower of our lord and saviour and I firmly follow scriptural principles. Is how you are treating me in line with wholesome Christian principles?
Description of Work
Remediate the flood damage caused by BZ Plumbing.
Category
doors
DORIS S.
5.0
09/06/2007
I am thrilled with the deck. They are not cheap but are very confident and very competitively priced. I am going to have them do some more work.
Description of Work
Put in a new deck. They came back another time and put in an electrical outlet, refinished/restained my front door, and switched a door so it would open to the other side.
Category
decks, electrician, doors
NORMAN M.
5.0
05/09/2007
Very happy with the work. The bid and work were explained very well. The workmen were here on time and worked hard and professionally all the time. A quality job through out and completely cleaned up. A change order I had was taken care of with no problems. Very reasonable price also.
Description of Work
Repaired a large deck area, (about 300 sq ft) made with wood. This work consisted of replacing the deck wood plus extensive replacing and repair of the frame and replacing the railings.
Category
decks

Phone

Address

3298 Swetzer Rd

Loomis, CA 95650

Other Information

Services offered

Carpentry, Concrete, Drywall, Stucco, Lathing, Electrical, Landscaping, Mold Remediation, Painting, Plumbing, Remodels & Additions, Tile & Granite, Windows & Doors

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
PayPal

FAQ

LOBO SERVICES LTD is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

LOBO SERVICES LTD is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

LOBO SERVICES LTD accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal

Ask LOBO SERVICES LTD for details on free project estimates.

No, LOBO SERVICES LTD does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, LOBO SERVICES LTD does not offer a senior discount.

No, LOBO SERVICES LTD does not offer warranties.

LOBO SERVICES LTD offers the following services: Carpentry, Concrete, Drywall, Stucco, Lathing, Electrical, Landscaping, Mold Remediation, Painting, Plumbing, Remodels & Additions, Tile & Granite, Windows & Doors

Other Local Pros In Your Area

BTS Builders

5.0

(8)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

BTS Builders

BTS Builders is an owner operated small business. We have been licensed since 2016 but in the contracting trade since 2006. The owner, Ben Saunders, has been apart of building multiple homes from the ground up as well as many types of remodels and additions. We now specialize in outdoor structures, pergolas and deck builds. Our crew works on these types of structures on a daily basis which makes us efficient through the job and gives the customer the quality product they are looking for. We would love to connect with you about any projects you might need done and hopefully be of service to you in anyway we can. We appreciate your consideration.  

BCH Custom Cabinets

5.0

(3)

Angi Certified

BCH Custom Cabinets

Professional custom cabinet services at affordable prices!  

California Sunrooms, INC

4.0

(9)

Angi Certified

California Sunrooms, INC

We are a family owned company that has been in business for over 30 years serving California. We offer many options in financing as well as monthly sales and deals.