Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

NoMow Turf

Founded 2005 • With Angi since June 2008

4.3

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

26774 Vista Terrace

Lake Forest, CA 92630

Description

LICENSE NUMBER: C-27 903704. ADDRESS: PO BOX 928 TRABUCO CANYON CA 92678....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/22/2018


Caron R.

All the wooden stakes that hold my 44 feet of bender board in place have rotted and failed and now the bender board is in jeopardy especially with the rains of winter to come. I was also told the stakes used were too short for the job. The owner at No Mow Turf won't be responsible for any level of repair to the mess his firm created. Instead he insists they are not obligated to replace the stakes because my LABOR warranty has expired, but since when is a wooden stake considered ‘labor’? The problem is not the ‘labor’. The stakes were installed ok, it’s the stakes themselves that have failed. I do not understand why NoMow Turf will not cover the failure of the stakes under the 10 year materials warranty, which has not expired. I am also not pleased that on January 2nd 2018 NoMow promised to make repairs, but then did not. When I finally got a response from them they oddly replied with the suggestion that I should give them a 5 star rating. Here is the exact quote; “What I think would be amazing and, dare I say, the right thing to do, would actually be for you to give us a 5 star rating based on how you really felt back when we did the project.” I additionally received a snotty email from the owner advising me that "this is not how human beings are to interact", and further explained that "the crew is responsible for go back repairs, and this is usually done on their own dime". NoMow Turf has been very volatile in their communications as evidence of their response here. They sent me emails that were rude and insulting, then a day later they were apologizing over and over, followed by a promise to make the repairs, which they never did. NoMow Turfs claim on the home page of their web site of "superior products and installation expertise" and “satisfied clients” certainly does NOT apply to me and my job. I would not recommend a firm like this that is pleasant to get the job, then is quite unpleasant when there is a problem later with their choice of inadequate materials. Below are a few pics of how the wooden stakes failed and how the board is creeping up. UPDATE: There is far too much in NoMow Turfs response below to even try to respond but my Yelp profile is in fine working order and my reviews are a reflection of my consumer experience for good, bad and in-between.

Description of Work
Front yard artificial turf installation.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

To the Angie's List community, prospective customers, and fellow contractors: I thank you for taking the time to read this. It has been with utmost professionalism and courtesy that we have tried to resolve this situation. Unfortunately, in the end, one has to have an honest broker on the other end to facilitate a good resolution. 1. We take our reputation and standing in the community very seriously and I therefore want to be sure to present the other side of this matter, hopefully showing the integrity with which I run my company and have done so for 14 years - I'm proud to say we've achieved a solid, customer-centric reputation in the OC-SoCal area over that time as well as a tradition of happy and satisfied homeowners. 2. Just as important, it is my desire to do a public service and help prevent this person from attempting to damage another company's or contractor's reputation. You will see, after reading my response and the timeline laid out, that this person intentionally posted negative reviews all over our social media presence online (Yelp, Google, Angie's List, BBB, etc.) in order to force us to render a service we were no longer contractually bound to perform (she knows she was years beyond warranty). It essentially amounts to extortion. I have only read about this type of behavior in other posts and articles but never thought I would experience it personally. I am pleased to share that this person has effectively been blackballed by Yelp, meaning her review of our company doesn't show up as "recommended". Perhaps it has to do with the fact that she has posted one-star ratings to almost 10 other companies on Yelp. I am trusting the other home-social sites will follow suit, but if we have to restore our profile the old fashioned way, so be it. Let this simply be a PSA for contractors to beware of signing with this person - eyes wide open. Below, is posted in summary (couldn't fit it all), my last email exchange with this customer. Thank you for your support - we look forward to serving you! ************************************************************************* - 4/24/09: Our company installed a front yard turf area at your property in Huntington Beach. (Warranty: 5 years on labor - covers installation - corners coming up or seams splitting; 10 year warranty on turf fading) 8 1/2 years later.... - 12/31/17: 4:01 pm. We were contacted by you, where you stated "You guys installed artificial grass in my front yard years ago and it still looks just as good as it did on day one!" You requested that we come out to your property to take a look at an issue with the bender board. You mentioned you would send photos of the issue in question. - 12/31/17 4:36 pm. I responded via Yelp: Hi [Member Name Removed], Happy New Year! We'd happy to take a look in the new year after the holidays. Please feel free to send a picture of the spot to our GM. (email shared...) She may be able to arrange to have someone come by to repair - naturally since the install was done in '09 it would be a trip charge. But once we see the pic we can determine more from the details. Thank you and have a great rest of '17! NoMow Turf Customer Care. *** Please note we did not receive a photo from you, as we requested (and as you stated you would send), which would have helped us understand the scope of the repair (or go-back as we like to call it). We noted that there would be a trip charge because the installation occurred many years ago and would be out of warranty - this is standard protocol to inform our clients to protect both the client and us - but as I indicated, pictures would have helped - we usually go above and beyond for these types of requests and when we are in the area we can tend to it, especially if it's a quick fix. 1/1/18 New Year's Day: Without any warning or dialogue you posted a negative review on Yelp. You had yet to send the requested pictures, that certainly would have helped and in all honesty, would have prevented all of this. You did this simply for the fact that we mentioned a possible trip charge for a repair we were under no obligation to perform. This is the essence of your offense. 1/2/18: You continued to post on Google, Facebook, My Good reviews site - all one star negative ratings, while there was no interaction with me, the business owner, to explain why we would deserve such a thing. 1/2/18: At the behest and advice of my rep at Yelp and another social media consultant, I did what most all small businesses with a strong social media profile do when confronted with this situation, do the best you can to reason with the client and fix whatever is needed. *****We reached an agreement to make the repair, even while client continued hold negative reviews over our head. Repair would be done when we were in the client's neighborhood. 1/16/18: 8:56 am. You posted another negative review on Better Business Bureau. This is with the understanding in place that we had an agreement to go back and do the repair. ******** That was the final straw... One would simply ask, who does that? We made a decision to post all of this information for interested parties to view and decide for themselves against a backdrop of many many happy and satisfied customers! In all honesty, I can rest assured knowing that we have done and continue to do what we do everyday, which is to endeavor to please our customers each and every time we are hired to do so. The preponderance of evidence of our superb customer service and quality experience is shown in our stellar profiles throughout our online presence. Thank you for the time it took to read this!
5.0

09/29/2015


Jack W.

After much thought and investigation into other turf companies, I chose NoMow Turf as their product seemed superior to the competition, the account representative (Sierra) was very helpful, informed, thorough, and left me samples to discuss with my family. This installation went well, the guys were respectful and cleaned up thoroughly each of the 2 days they were here. I would recommend this company to anyone looking to cut their water useage while having a beautiful, "manicured" lawn to enjoy everyday.

Description of Work
NoMow Turf tore out my back yard and replaced it with artificial turf that looks and feels like real grass.

Category landscaping

5.0

01/26/2014


Cheryl F.

It went very well. They arrived on time and finished in about 3 hours. It looks beautiful!

Description of Work
Put in new artificial turf. 6 feet wide by 28 feet long.

Category landscaping

5.0

01/15/2014


Carol L.

Our backyard looks fantastic! Pat (Owner) was very responsive and provided a competitive bid to install artificial turf in our backyard. He immediately came to our home to do measurements and show us samples of turf types then gave us the bid on the spot. The installation took place a few days later. The team did an outstanding job! We had just painted the exterior of our home and were concerned about the mess, etc. The guys were very careful during the entire process and cleaned up thoroughly at the end of the day. It was great to have the yard transformed in only one day! Pat provided great customer service throughout the process and followed up to inspect the work to make sure we were happy. We would highly recommend Nomow Turf! Thank you, Pat and installation team!

Description of Work
Installed artificial turf in our backyard (approx. 350 square feet)

Category landscaping

5.0

07/07/2013


Brian B.

Patrick was great, his price was competitive with the other quote I got. I feel I would have received a great final product from him. I was stuck deciding between No Mow Turf and another contractor and had to come up with a decision so I ended up going with the other contractor just because they did the pavers and turf themselves while No Mow Turf subs the pavers to another contractor. He stands behind the work of his subs so I'm sure it wouldn't be an issue, but that was the only differentiator I could come up with.

Description of Work
Patrick came out and measured and then delivered a quote for pavers and synthetic grass for our back yard.

Category landscaping

5.0

01/05/2013


Lori R.

I The quality of the work and product was very good. My yard looks 1000 times better. Patrick was very responsive to my phone calls and came out the same day for an estimate. We scheduled a date for install, but the crew never showed. I told Patrick I was flexible, so he changed the install date on me, but forgot to leave me a message regarding the change. Oops... Sorry - This gave you a and quot;Cand quot;. Regardless, I love the finished product and would not hesitate to recommend them to someone else.

Description of Work
I hired NoMow Turf to install turf in my backyard alongside my pool. They pulled up existing bark/dirt/plants and evened out my backyard before installing the turf.

Category landscaping

5.0

01/18/2011


Patricia Y.

We have only good things to say about our experience. They returned our call immediately and came out the same day. He had a written estimate to us by that evening by email. They scheduled us very quickly. They sent quite a crew over to work on it. It was almost like they sent shift B over to work on it late in the afternoon. They worked hard and got the project done. Then the rains started and my husband wanted to test it because it was done quickly and kind of in the dark at the end. My husband was finally able to test it. They did come back one time just before the rains to try to even out some of the bumpiness but because of the rain they really couldn't. They told us to call them back. They are eager to make it right if it is not perfect. They have different qualities and grades of artificial turf. The putting green is a nice high quality. Their work is very good and the service is excellent. We are going to call them today to come back and even it out. This is our second putting green and the other one was done ten years ago. We didn't price around. We would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
We used No Mow Turf to do a putting green in our backyard and they put a little artificial grass in the dog run.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/24/2009


MICHAEL T.

Pat showed me samples of all the different types of imitation grass he had, and I selected the perfect one. It looks so much like real grass, it's hard to tell it's fake. I'm very pleased with it. So is the dog; It's so much cleaner looking and isn't affected by dog urine. I should have done this a long time ago

Description of Work
a square of weedy grass in our backyard was replaced with fake grass.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Point taken. We will try to respond in a faster fashion. Thanks for your business!
1.0

10/27/2008


Patrick P.

This company installed the turf and the cost (though higher than competition) and product quality (all three co's that provided estimates had comparable product in this price range) were initially delivered as agreed. So why did we pay more? The service. We were thinking a local company, and an owner that we knew, may be a little more attentive to the job. Sorry to report that the service we received has been beyond poor. Broken sprinklers that were damaged during installation and not repaired promptly. No return phone calls for maintenance requests, and then showing up unannounced at our home and performing service that was promised at no charge then requesting payment. This is a small company that is not taking care of what matters in business-delivering the basic services to their customer...as promised. Based on our experience, there are more professional companies out there worth trying.

Description of Work
Replaced natural grass with synthetic turf.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

It was our mistake for charging this customer for the return grooming of his lawn. We used to have a program whereby we provided one complimentary brush-up. Due to the fact that we're not really set up as a maintenance company we no longer offer that as a regular service. Therefore it was a mix up on our part for the charge. Incidentally, the charge was refunded and an offer for another subsequent brush-up was put forth. To this day, we have not heard back from the client, either for acknowledging the refund or the offer for another maintenance. Instead, we received a negative post on Angie's List. As far as the actual work completed, my communication to the customer was that when we were in the area we would stop by to brush up for free. Sometimes we're able to give more notice than other times. On balance though, I see where the client might have been a little frustrated, but in the grand scheme of things, especially people to people issues, his reaction is overdone and overstated. His comment above of having "overpaid" is unfounded given the quality of turf selected and the overall bid value. Sure, he might have been given slightly lower total quotes from the other companies he mentions, but at the expense of a lower quality turf. Enough said. On the whole, we have a long history of satisfying many clients and providing great value. See other posts for other opinions! Thanks.
5.0

06/18/2008


STEPHANIE C.

I got three bids and they were the more reasonable priced. It took about 4-6 hours to do the work. They took their time and did a real good job. They came when they said they would, they were professional and explained things well. They cleaned up after themselves. It looks beatiful.

Description of Work
They installed artificial grass for my yard. It was about 100 sq.ft.

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Oasis Turf & Hardscape

    #1 Artificial Grass Company in California We carefully and closely work with your vision to help you create an invigorating and functional space with artificial grass, putting greens, pavers and more... that not only looks great but is also one that can be enjoyed for many years with very little maintenance and a lifetime warranty!  

    Valencia Landscaping

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Baraca Design & Remodeling

    #1 in Orange County for Kitchen & Bathroom Remodels. We'll Work With You To Find The Right Design And Layout. Premium fixtures. Custom designs. Safe child-proof designs. Styles: Modern, Luxury, All-Inclusive Packages Designed to Stay in Budget and on Time. Stress-Free Renovations. 0% APR Financing Available. Get Your Estimate.  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    903704
    Trade License Locale
    California
    Trade License Authority
    CSLB
    Trade License Expiration
    09/30/2017
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    We offer installation and sales of ARTIFICIAL TURF, SYNTHETIC GRASS, PUTTING GREENS. We are a certified installer of Tiger Turf synthetic grass products.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not offer standard landscape construction or maintenance.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about NoMow Turf

    How is NoMow Turf overall rated?

    NoMow Turf is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are NoMow Turf open?

    NoMow Turf is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does NoMow Turf provide

    NoMow Turf accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does NoMow Turf offer free estimates?

    Yes, NoMow Turf offers free project estimates.

    Does NoMow Turf offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, NoMow Turf offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does NoMow Turf offer a senior discount?

    Yes, NoMow Turf offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by NoMow Turf?

    Yes, NoMow Turf offers warranties.

    What services does NoMow Turf offer?

    NoMow Turf offers the following services: We offer installation and sales of ARTIFICIAL TURF, SYNTHETIC GRASS, PUTTING GREENS. We are a certified installer of Tiger Turf synthetic grass products.

    Are there any services NoMow Turf does not offer?

    We do not offer standard landscape construction or maintenance.