Mr. Handyman serving Beverly Hills & Hollywood

About

Founded undefined • With Angi since September 2005

Mr. Handyman is a licensed contractor (CA lic #807495) and proud to have a perfect record with the licensing board, a perfect AAA rating with the Better Business Bureau, and the most A ratings in the Handyman category on Angie's List. And we guarantee our work 100%! Our technicians are all

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.7

(522) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

409

4

43

3

18

2

19

1

32

Rating Details

Price

4.1

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

handyman (462)door installation (91)woodworking (84)plumbers (67)electrician (60)drywall (41)window replacement (35)interior painting (28)general contractors (27)lighting (24)gutter cleaning (23)tile installation (22)
Showing 1-25 of 522 reviews
2.0

12/08/2020


Maurice A.

Cost to much. They end up with service fee. Even I for estimate three hundred and 16 dollars for to fix four sprinklers heads. I just pay for estimate 85 dollars. Cost to much for the real work. I never got done.

Description of Work
Sprinklers heads repair .

Category air duct cleaning

Cost $85

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/08/2020

Service Provider Response

We understand that you felt the charge was higher than you would like. We admit that we cost more than an independent unlicensed handyman, But we also offer a lot more. Our technicians have 15-30 years of experience, we are insured, we guarantee our work 100%, we have an office staff ready to help you 24 hours per day, we carry workers comp insurance so you don't have to contact your insurance company if someone is injured on your property, we are licensed contractors and we have a perfect record with the CSLB. Unfortunately this means that since our costs are higher, and you are getting better work and more security for your home, our prices are higher than someone's who can't offer you our quality or safety. We’re sorry you didn’t give us a chance to show you our quality and level of service, but thank you for calling us.
1.0

10/08/2020


Marilyn H.

The $85 That we paid them Went through. This was to pay for them to tell us it’s $15000 for 2 planks of wood siding, 2 trellis and 2 4x6 planks on a patio. Twice the cost of painting. Pretty good way if making money without having to do work.

Description of Work
Repairs prior to a $6,700 exterior paint job of our house

Category air duct cleaning

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/08/2020

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, we will happily refund your money. We actually lose money by sending a technician if we don’t do the job for you. We have no interest in just doing estimates. We are sorry you weren’t happy with the estimate and will be returning your money via check today.
1.0

08/02/2020


Kimberly P.

Unable to get response. Two appointments were made through online connections. Neither appointment was kept. If there was a communication failure that could explain the lack of response, I would consider changing my rating.

Description of Work
Install pre-hung exterior door

Category air duct cleaning, doors

Work Completed On 07/27/2020

Service Provider Response

Hello! Thank you for your comments. Angie’s List recently changed its notifications and we have been having a lot of trouble finding out when we have messages and reviews. We only just saw this review a few weeks after you left it. We are terribly sorry and are trying to figure this out with Angie’s List.
5.0

06/25/2020


Helen F.

All jobs were completed to my satisfaction.

Description of Work
Gutter drain spout reconnected; install grab bars in bathroom; remove radio from under counter; remove wall curtain plug and patch.

Category gutter repair, plastering, air duct cleaning

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review!
1.0

06/10/2020


Warren S.

Their prices were way out of line. They asked over $6000 for a moderately sized job. I was able to get other estimates closer to $2600, much more reasonable.

Description of Work
sanding and refinishing a deck

Category air duct cleaning

Work Completed On 06/10/2020

Service Provider Response

We are sorry you were not happy with our estimate. Sometimes we are the least expensive, sometimes we are not, but our clients often tell us that we are a “bargain” because we offer much more “bang for the buck” than any other company out there - we guarantee our work 100%, our technicians are the best in Los Angeles with a minimum of 15 years of experience, we have a full-time office staff to help 6 days a week, and the quality of our work is incredible. At least 25% of our work is fixing the mistakes that other handymen and service providers make when the customer can’t get them to come back and repair or finish the job. The reason we have 3000 customers who repeatedly call us back is that price isn’t everything, value is. And Mr. Handyman is a great value.
1.0

02/17/2020


George S.

Wanted to charge me almost $500 Wanted me to provide all material. Got it done with material for $180 Never use Angie’s list or this guy.

Description of Work
Reframe door?

Category handyman service

Work Completed On 02/16/2020

Service Provider Response

This customer is not in Mr. Handyman’s records. Angie’s List is investigating.
5.0

11/15/2019


Paul Y.

Everything went so smoothly, it was incredible. The handy person knew what they were doing and took care of everything and was courteous all the way through. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Purchase and install door.

Category handyman service, woodworking, doors

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for this kind review, and for using our services! We read all Angie's List reviews to our entire company in our monthly meeting, so we will be reading this and giving kudos to your technician. Thank you again!
5.0

11/01/2019


Maria B.

I was very happy with it, they were very professional, on time and very polite.

Description of Work
They put in doors between the entrance way of the dining room.

Category doors

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for leaving us this great review, and thank you for using Mr. Handyman! These reviews make our day!
5.0

08/13/2019


Rachel G.

I’ve had Mr. Handyman do work at a number of my houses over the years, and they always provide the best of the best service. I am not willing to risk the safety of my family or the quality of my home to an unknown, unlicensed handyman service, and the handymen at Mr. Handyman are all background-checked and guaranteed. Cannot recommend them enough!

Description of Work
Repairs and cleanup

Category drywall, electrician, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, home & garage organization, doors

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for this very kind review!
1.0

07/20/2019


Perry S.

highest in the world I'm getting it for 1500.00 bids from 900.00

Description of Work
100 feet of ceramic tile installed

Category ceramic tile

Cost $5,500

Service Provider Response

We do understand your concern about cost. We know we cost more than the typical handyman who works from the back of his truck. We price ourselves competitively with professional plumbers, electricians and contractors, primarily because we spend so much on making sure our clients have the best possible experience. This includes carrying far more insurance than the state requires, covering our technicians with workers compensation so if they injure themselves on your property your insurance doesn't have to be involved, hiring only technicians with a minimum of 15 years experience (and on average 25 years), staffing a full-time office with professionals to help you with your requests, using only the best materials, and guaranteeing our work 100%. This does lead to higher costs, but in fact our profit margin is a slim 10%. Our goal is to provide the best service and quality, and we promise that when you use us, you will receive that. Were very proud that while other handyman services have come and gone, we just celebrated our 15th anniversary serving Los Angeles.
5.0

07/05/2019


Lily R.

Ed Rizzo was on time, and left my cabinets looking amazing! He was very respectful and hard at work. He is very detailed and works with precison. I will definitely call Mr.Handyman for my next repair and request Ed Rizzo.

Description of Work
Carpentry- Kitchen cabinet repair

Category handyman service, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/04/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for this very generous review. We will be reading this review for Ed to the entire team in our next meeting.
5.0

07/03/2019


James G.

Great! James identified the problem as an old track that was bending. I was scared it would require a huge hole in the wall of my tenants apartment. James replaced the track with a minimal hole and patched it up in only a couple hours.

Description of Work
Fix a pocket door

Category drywall, handyman service, woodworking, doors

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2019

Images

Review for Mr. Handyman serving Beverly Hills & Hollywood - 15720 Ventura Blvd, Encino, CA - 37965831

+1 More

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] is a life-saver!
5.0

07/03/2019


Dave D.

We needed a new front door installed and Mr. Handyman was the company to do it! They picked up the door from the place we bought it from, got it to our house, primed it, installed the hardware (including the smart lock), and hung it perfectly! We couldn't be happier! We will definitely be using Mr. Handyman again!

Description of Work
To-do list.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, remodeling, doors

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2019

Service Provider Response

Thanks for this fantastic review!
2.0

07/02/2019


Larry W.

Dale arrived on time and gave estimate of time and material - noting that usual final cost is less than estimate. Estimate was $800 labor + $250 material. I gave go-ahead. When work was completed he email photo taken of front of house. I noted that front of house photo did not show the side of garage facing the street. I gave initial approval over the phone to an inquiry from the firm. Upon actual inspection of the work, I was very disappointed to note that surface preparation was minimal and wood trim surrounding the garage door was not painted. Also, the invoice presented (via email) did not provide any details of how the price was determined. I requested more detail and to date have not received any reply. I was assured that the work would be redone to my satisfaction. To date, I have not received any reply.

Description of Work
Exterior wood trim at front of house (3 BR) needed paint to satisfy Housing Inspection

Category handyman service, house painters

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2019

Service Provider Response

Since this review was added, we have gone back to the the home to complete the work to the satisfaction of the member, at no cost, fo course.
5.0

06/30/2019


Jack G.

First of all unlike the handful of services I tried to reach this was the ONLY one that immediately picked up my call, I was greeted by a knowledgeable representative by the name of Jack. He went over my list of issues and selected a technician by the name of Ed and scheduled me for a time. He was there at the agreed upon time as promised, we went over the issues and he was able to complete all of my projects ( no need to call 5 different companies ) significantly under his initial estimate. I've had a significant amount of experience with GC's and Handymen but have never received this level of service from a company. I'll definitely be using them again!

Description of Work
I needed to have a laundry list of items taken care of, some minor electrical, faucet replacement, drywall work, etc.

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/29/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you!
5.0

06/20/2019


Lisa S.

You get what you pay for folks - it is that simple. I needed help with what sounded to be a simple job (install a dog door) but I knew wasn't (was going in where an existing dog door was located - but not the same size/construction). My husband and I are pretty aggressive about tackling home repairs on our own, but this was certainly out of our league and would have been botched by your average guy. Frank showed up on time, loved the dog, did an outstanding job and worked with me to keep the job within my budget. Once we got into it, the project was going to take a lot more time than I had anticipated. To make it work, we agreed that I would take on the work to "make it pretty" if he tackled the stuff I wasn't so confident about (framing, plastering, stucco repair, install of new door/device) and it worked out great. After seeing what Frank through to get it installed, I know we made the right choice - this needed a true pro and that is what we got. Everything was clean, the workmanship was excellent and Frank was a pleasure. It helped that I had materials here ready for him to use and had talked through the project carefully with the manager. All in all, for those annoying projects that go beyond our skill set, I know I'll call again.

Description of Work
Install doggie door, repair plaster/drywall, repair stucco, paint

Category contractors, drywall, handyman service, plastering, woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors

Cost $280

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2019

5.0

06/15/2019


David R.

We discovered (the hard way) why we needed to hire a licensed contractor like Mr. Handyman, and we’re glad we did. We have been using the same good independent handyman for some time. He’s pretty cheap and he does decent work, although sometimes it’s hard to reach him (especially when we need him to come back and fix something that didn’t quite work out), and sometimes he doesn’t show up because another job took longer than he expected. But we were willing to use him for a small bathroom remodel. We had called Mr. Handyman for a quote because we wanted to compare and we had used Mr. Handyman to build a deck at another address, but they were a tad bit higher priced, so we hired our regular guy. Bad idea! We started our handyman, and our neighbors weren’t thrilled with the noise from the work, so they called the city. Turns out that there’s a state law requiring you to use a licensed contractor for any work that is over $500. We didn’t know that, and we were cited by the city, as was our handyman (he knew this law). Apparently Los Angeles is cracking down on handymen who break this law. It dose us a lot of extra money we hadn’t anticipated, and our handyman couldn’t finish the job. So back to Mr. Handyman. These guys are a little more expensive than your average back-of-the-truck handyman, and I understand why. They’re uniformed, drive nice vans, background check their employees, and most importantly, they are licensed. So if anything goes wrong, you have the state contractor’s license board to complain to. But nothing went wrong. It was a dream from start to finish. They show up on time, they never canceled, they were super duper fast, the work was stunning, the were thoroughly professional, and we are thrilled with the work. Don’t make the same mistake we made by going cheap. Just call Mr. Handyman.

Description of Work
Renovated a bathroom

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, glass repair, handyman service, lighting, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2019

Images

Review for Mr. Handyman serving Beverly Hills & Hollywood - 15720 Ventura Blvd, Encino, CA - 37931902
5.0

06/12/2019


Sonia P.

Superb from start to finish, and it cost LESS than the estimate. This was a great experience, maybe the best I’ve ever had with a repair service. They were friendly and smart on the phone, they arrive on time, the technician was background-checked, well-spoken, clean and kind, they did the work quickly, and they charged LESS THAN THE ESTIMATE. I was so impressed. I will be calling them again.

Description of Work
Three pieces of hardwood flooring were replaced. They added some dimmer switches and helped me install a smart camera. They installed a new faucet. They mounted a wide-screen TV. They replaced about a dozen broken tiles. They fixed a small hole in the drywall. They adjusted a stuck door.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, handyman service, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $330

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2019

5.0

06/04/2019


joanne M.

Through the years, Mr. Handyman has sent several handymen. For the past few years, James has been doing the work. All of them performed Excellent work but James is the best of the best.

Description of Work
I have used Mr. Handyman several times a year for the past 5 years. The work performed includes light plumbing, household repairs & maintenance, garage organization, security camera setup & installation, and a whole lot more.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home & garage organization

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2019

5.0

05/24/2019


Jaime M.

Our service was absolutely superior. The technician arrived on time and was very pleasant during his time with us. He left the area clean after his work. The office concierge, Jan was really helpful getting us on the schedule. Thank you Mr. Handyman!

Description of Work
Repair screen door & screens on windows

Category screen repair

Cost $330

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2019

5.0

05/15/2019


Theo L.

I paid LESS than my estimate. That has NEVER happened to me. These guys have won me as a customer for life. From the first phone call with the professional office staff to the politeness and quality of the technician they sent to the follow-up calls, this was by far the most professional experience I have ever had with a repair company. And I repeat, THEY CHARGED ME LESS THAN THE ESTIMATE. Who does that???

Description of Work
Repair holes in wall, patch and paint. Replace three faucets. Fix tile in shower. Install new recessed lights. Install new floating shelves.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2019

3.0

05/02/2019


MARIANNE J.

The worker arrived on time. He seemed overwhelmed. He stated: "this is a lot". I explained the projects were clearly listed prior to his arrival. I requested that he place the Ring camera on the garage facing the back entrance. He started muttering that he probably could not do this. I explained there was ample wiring in the garage, He never went into the garage to check. Rather, he placed the camera at the back door, merely replacing the light that was there. I think he spent 5 minutes doing this. This was the most important job. The payment is rigged. It is hourly or half-hourly. The worker obviously worked very slowly, taking 2 hours to replace a ceiling fan, not needing to rewire anything. He added an extra half hour at the end, claiming that he had begun a new half hour (had not). I made the decision not to have him check the gutters, as he very obviously had no expertise.

Description of Work
Ceiling fan installation, sconce installation, recessed lighting installation, Ring camera installation, gutter work

Category electrician, handyman service

Cost $850

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2019