Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Affordable Tree Care LLC

Founded 1992 • With Angi since March 2009

Locally owned & operated. Arborist on staff. All calls are returned promptly. No travel fees and free estimates. Fully insured. Work is completed year round. Winter Discounts are provided. Affordable Tree Care is a WI Certified Firewood Dealer. Crews are professionally dressed and follow all Safety Standards for the Arboriculture Industry. They have many years experience at trimming and removing trees and receive ongoing training to keep their skills current. . For plant health care treatments we service all of Milwaukee County.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
satisfaction
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(92) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 92 reviews
Ronald M.
5.0
11/10/2017
They were very good. I would use them again.
Description of Work
They took out a tree for us. It was trimming and things like that.
Category
tree service
Thos M.
5.0
08/25/2017
Went very well. On time, good job cleaning up, professional, friendly.
Description of Work
Emerald Ash Borer preventative treatment (2 large trees), and removal of a dead tree
Category
tree service
ELAINE R.
4.0
08/16/2017
They were here about three times in total.It was in the thousands of dollars, i'd say altogether about three or four thousand dollars. We had trees cut down, it was pretty major. Overall all I'd say a B. They came to deliver one tree and it basically died in the nursery. So, they're going to have to redo that one. So, that was a little bit of a setback. We weren't charged for it. The work is not yet completed. We're still waiting for one tree to come along. That's the only reason I wouldn't give them an A because of the little inconvenience there. I don't have anyone to compare them to. We didn't shop around and get estimates from different people. I don't know if they're more expensive to others or not. On the responsiveness, we had to call them several times on one or two things. If we needed them, I think we would use them again. We're happy overall. My wife, she is the one who selected them. The arborist was very knowledgeable and gave us a good rundown on the trees and shrubs that we had and what they were like and what kind of care they needed, whether they thrived in the sun. The arborist that came out here was very knowledgeable and a job to work with. They could've maybe noticed the tree was noticed before they came out here. We had a laugh about. Whoever was in charge of watering it. They didn't do what was needed to keep the tree flourishing and healthy.
Description of Work
We used them to clean out our wood and plant new trees.
Category
tree service
Pete M.
5.0
07/11/2017
They were great. Very punctual, very professional and cleaned up the total yard.
Description of Work
Took down three pine trees today 7/11.
Category
tree service
Gregory H.
5.0
04/23/2017
Excellent. Showed up when they said they would. Work was completed within 1 day. Did what we asked them to do. Cleaned up very nicely with no damage to to property.
Description of Work
3 tall evergreen trees very close to house and power line removed along with stumps. Fully trimmed large adjacent maple tree. Hauled all debris away.
Category
tree service
C S.
5.0
04/07/2017
Fantastic I would use them again and refer them to friends and family.
Description of Work
Removal of a HUGE tree from a tight area. It spread over 3 houses. Service was flawless. Clean up impeccable and Professionalism top notch.
Category
tree service
Douglas S.
5.0
12/12/2016
They got in an out quickly and cleaned up any mess
Description of Work
They trimmed two trees
Category
tree service
KateLynn B.
1.0
07/25/2016
The crew snapped a cable, tension, and power line (and left two telephone poles leaning over) with their bucket truck when they were driving off our lawn and out of the driveway. We got it all on our security camera. The crew said NOTHING to us AT ALL (we did talk to them after it happened but we didn't know it had happened yet) and they drove away. Our neighbors lost power for 4 hours. We had to deal with the whole thing for over 5 hours on Saturday; talking to the police, cable company and electric company who had to come to our house. Nobody from Affordable Tree acknowledged this happened AT ALL. I had to call them on Monday and they denied everything and made up lies about what they knew about the situation. DO NOT hire them or give them a dime of your money, and install security cameras at your house for incidents like this or it's your word against their's. They are snakes, do not waste your time.
Description of Work
Complete trim on an elm tree.
Category
tree service
Nina B.
1.0
07/05/2016
Did not use service. I called for estimate, they said it would take ONE MONTH to just get an estimate! Then the lady on the phone was rude so I told them just forget it I will go with another company.
Description of Work
Silver maple taken down and stump removed. Also another stump removed.
Category
tree service
Luann B.
4.0
05/05/2016
They did a very good job. They pulled out tree stumps. I contracted with them again to do 3 tree removal but I haven't heard from them as to when they are going to do that. 4 or 5 years ago when I used them, theirs was the better price if not the best and that is why I went with them. They were here for days. They were professional.
Description of Work
I used Affordable Tree Service. They did a very big job for me. I have so many dead trees, and at that time, I had them take down some of the dead ones, and then I had them do some tree trimming because I would have so many branches down when I was doing the yard and I was getting tired picking the branches.
Category
tree service
Betty D.
5.0
03/11/2016
The job was done while I was on a business trip so I missed the actual tree felling. When I returned from the trip, yard was picked up and those messy trees were GONE. They originally came out to give me a quote at the end of January. It just took a while for them to coordinate with WE Energies coming out to trim the limbs that were too close to the power lines by the street. This had to be done before the trees were removed at a later date. HELPFUL INFO..the power had to be turned off most of the day because they were near power lines (which they coordinated) and it turns out winter is a great time to have trees cut down. Trimmers don't have to deal wth leaves and ground is usually frozen.
Description of Work
Removed two large locust trees from front yard. This quote for removal and clean up and stump grinding was $800 less than a Kenosha competitor!!!
Category
tree service
Nancy J.
5.0
02/02/2016
This is the third time (that I can recall) using Affordable Tree Care. I intend to continue using them for future tree trimming and removal needs. They are great to work with. Skilled, professional trades people. They protect the ground with plywood, to prevent ruts, and clean up the debris. Prices are fair. Thumbs up.
Description of Work
Trim 2 trees. Removed one tree. No stump removal. Al trees are 40+ years old, therefore very tall. I have no idea what kind of trees they are, other than deciduous.
Category
hauling services, tree service
Kathryn N.
5.0
09/14/2015
The company did a wonderful job! They removed the trees (one 30+ ft. Maple and one 20+ ft. Maple) and a ton of brush really well and quickly. They even expedited the job since the trees were in danger of falling over. They cleaned up the job site excellently, and even tilled the ground (so it's easier to plant grass). Highly recommended! Well worth the money!
Description of Work
Removed two Maple trees and the surrounding brush.
Category
tree service
Tom S.
5.0
07/27/2015
These guys are amazing. They were on time each occasion. The first occasion was during the winter on a very cold day. I almost expected that they would re-schedule. The arrived worked thru the snow, tight quarters with my house, fence and neighbors newly paved driveway. By the time I got home from work they were just packing up. The tree was removed, and all debris cleaned up. In the spring I had no lawn damage from the removal. The 2nd tree (a bigger willow) went just as easy. They got there on time, laid plywood down on the lawn and went right to taking the tree down. By the time I got home the tree was down. Except for some dirt where the tree was you would never even known a tree was there 24 hours before. Once again, all of the debris was cleaned up. The yard was pretty much left they way they found it. I didn't even have to remind them about the neighbors driveway. There was a note on the quote indicating the driveway needed to be avoided. I have one remaining tree (willow) to be removed I will not hesitate to ask Affordable to come back and remove that tree later this year. If you need a tree removed big or small these are the guys to call. On a scale of 1 to 10, they get a 12!
Description of Work
Affordable Tree Care removed 2 huge willow trees from my backyard on 2 separate occasions.The guys are amazing.
Category
hauling services, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you Member for the great review. Our crews have been with us a long time and have the right skills and experience along with equipment to get the job done safely and efficiently. We look forward to helping you with the 3rd tree!
Stephanie T.
5.0
06/17/2015
Very well. They're very busy this time of year but they contacted us when diggers hotline came out and again the day before they planned on completing the work. They hauled away all the wood and left no debris - we come home to a clean yard. We got estimates from multiple places and Affordable was definitley the best value - and they did great work!
Description of Work
Removed a large dead tree, two bushes and three small fruit trees from our backyard. They did stump grinding on the bushes and small trees.
Category
tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed]! We always call Digger's Hotline before grinding stumps to be sure both your property and our crew are safe at all times. We enjoyed working with you and are happy to hear you were very pleased with the work and clean up too.
Denise S.
5.0
05/20/2015
Very professional and good work. They completed the job in half a day. Removed the trees and cleaned up not only our yard but 2 of my neighbor's yards that were used to remove the branches and other tree parts.
Description of Work
Removed and three 40-year-old pine trees in the backyard.
Category
tree service
Jennifer M.
5.0
05/11/2015
I was not at home when the tree removal took place, but came home to find the trees down and all remnants removed and the site clean and looking undisturbed, except for the missing trees. I was extremely pleased with the work that was done.
Description of Work
The provider took down two nuisance trees that had sprung up behind my garage and were in the power lines, and hindering the ability to have a fence put in.
Category
tree service
Alex S.
5.0
03/01/2015
Tree looks great, left a bit of a mess in surrounding bushes and roof... Falling limbs broke a hose reel and no one mentioned it after debris was removed... Overall a good job, will use again.
Description of Work
Trimmed overgrown tree behind house in backyard
Category
tree service
Lauren W.
5.0
01/13/2015
We've used them twice now. The first time we called on a Friday at about 1:00 pm and they had the wood delivered to our driveway by 5:00 that night. The second time we called at about 1:00 pm on a Friday and they delivered at 8 am the very next morning. Very happy with the responsiveness, price and quality.
Description of Work
Delivered face cord of firewood.
Category
firewood, tree service
Ann L.
5.0
12/23/2014
It went well. Just took a long time before they could get to us. Expect a wait if you want trees trimmed. They are very busy. the men were very polite and did a good job of removing tree limbs. They also did a good job of cleaning up afterward.
Description of Work
Trimmed trees that were over garage and home.
Category
tree service
Jessica T.
5.0
10/21/2014
They cut down a 65-year-old ash tree that had emerald ash borer damage, and they ground the stump. They had to have the power lines dropped on my house and my neighbor's house, but everything was on schedule and they finished and had the power back on in a few hours. The crew was friendly and polite, and they cleaned up well. The lawn around where they were working will need a little tlc, but I actually expected more lawn damage considering how big the tree was and the equipment they had to use to move the logs.
Description of Work
Tree removal and stump grinding
Category
tree service
Robert V.
5.0
10/13/2014
Excellent service. Very responsive. Very professional. Our 60+ year old white ash tree was looking sad. Our neighbors were encouraging us to treat it for Emerald Ash Borer (EAB) since our county was recently put on alert for the invasion. I was skeptical that a fall treatment would effective but the Affordable Tree Care service team was very convincing that immediate treatment was necessary to save the tree. Through a series of emails and phone calls over 3 days, the customer service team patiently answered all my questions, asked for photos of the tree, and sent a lot of supporting information. When I persisted in asking for an immediate on-site evaluation by a certified arborist, they explained his heavy schedule but still arranged for him to see the tree the next day. The arborist arrived as scheduled and examined the tree and said that it was not infected enough to warrant removal, but showed me where EAB had burrowed into the tree and were beginning to girdle the tree under the bark. He said that a preventative treatment was the best course of action to save the tree, because with EAB in the county, it would probably die the next year. He said the Tree-Age insecticide agent would kill all the current EAB larvae this fall and prevent their emergence as adults in the spring which would reinfect the tree and our neighbor's trees. The arborist explained the cost effectiveness of the injected insecticide by comparing it to the costs of the user-applied 'root drench' insecticide process, showing that the costs were equal on a yearly basis but the the injected process was 100% effective and the root drench was less than 60% effective (I later confirmed these claims by reading literature from the state department of natural resouces).. He added that the treatment would need to be done soon, before the tree went dormant in the fall. With my travel schedule I asked for them to treat the tree immediately which they initially said they could not do. After some discussion, they agreed to schedule the treatment in two days. The tree technician arrived two days later on schedule and very professionally talked me through everything he was doing to inject the Tree-Age insecticide into the tree. Using an ArborJet pneumatic syringe, he injected each of 15 holes around the base of the old tree. In about half an hour the service was complete for the next two years. I was very impressed how responsive everyone at the company was. I would recommend Affordable Tree Care to anyone.
Description of Work
Emerald Ash Borer treatment on a 60+ year old white ash tree
Category
tree service
Christy G.
1.0
09/19/2014
I would have given 5 stars for the work done. Cleaned up well. However, the office and owner are truly the rudest and most offensive unprofessional people I have ever dealt with. When I mailed in the confirmation to accept the estimate, it stated, payment must be received the day services are rendered. I was fairly sure I would not be able to take off work to be there for the removal of the tree; therefore, I mailed the check with the work confirmation. They came and removed the tree but never cash the check. A week after the tree was removed, I received a invoice with a balance due of $263.75. My husband called their office and explained that we mailed the check with the confirmation to have the work done. The girl stated that she "may have thrown it out". So I called the office asking for a $30 credit because their office lost my check and I am being charged by my bank a stop payment fee of $30. The girl then told me that people try to get their bill reduced by lying all the time and said that I was probably just trying to get my bill reduced. I explained that I could provide a copy of my bank statement with the fee for the stop payment, which will prove that I am not lying. And then she said that I probably never sent the check because there is no proof that I sent the check. I also told her I could send a picture of copy of the "carbon copy of the check". And she continued to tell me that customers are always lying to them. I am highly offended that the office girl would speak to me like that. Additionally, she said she would ask the owner if a credit could be provided. And I asked her if she could have the owner call me if he a credit would not be granted and with attitude she said "we'll see". The childishness I encountered on the phone with this company is unbelievable. I emailed the the company's e-mail on their website and recieved a response containing lies, refusing a credit and stating "If we do not receive complete payment by Tuesday September 13th then we will have not choice but to escalate things to the next level which would be a shame for both of us." This statement was totally unnecessary. I never expressed in the slightest that I would not pay for the services. I also need to add that Sept 13 is a Saturday and this email took place on Sept 18 so they needs to take a better look at the calendar. Furthermore, the the owner and office girls I have spoken with or emailed keep insisting that I give them my credit card and that I do not need to put a stop payment on the check that they lost, which is a huge red flag to me.
Description of Work
Removed birch tree
Category
hauling services, tree service

Service Provider Response

Our crew completed the contracted work and by [Member Name Removed]comments did a great job. Our standard policy is to receive payment the day of the job. We do not ask for deposits in advance for routine work. It's unfortunate [Member Name Removed] feels someone said she was lying as that was never said. [Member Name Removed] insisted she mailed a check and we did not receive it. As a result we asked her to issue a new check as we have no control over the U.S. Mail and things do get lost. We work hard to do great work at a fair price and expect to be paid promptly when the work is complete.
Lois S.
5.0
09/04/2014
They're booked rather heavily, but I'm willing to wait. I have two huge maple trees and I was impressed about the details they noted about the job.
Description of Work
They came out very quickly and gave me a good quote.
Category
tree service
Julie M.
1.0
07/06/2014
I found their conduct very unprofessional and the was the WORST experience ever working with a company. The company came in and removed some trees on Saturday on Memorial day weekend. After they were done, I noticed an areas were there was some debris. I called the company and I was told that it was not my responsibility to clean up the debris. They came back, apologized and told me that they were in a hurry and had another job to go to. They picked up 2-3 bags full of debris. As one person was cleaning up, one of the workers was talking to me about landscaping. He then had me talk to the owner about landscaping. They told me that they picked up everything and they left. I talked to the owner for a few minutes and then he left. After they were done, I said that the dirt area where the trees were removed looked good. It was nicely done with no debris. The next day, my brother raked the area where the trees were removed. We found a lot of tree branches, large pieces of stumps and debris that were covered by the dirt. I then noticed debris-pieces of stumps, tree branches all over in my yard. my neighbors yards and in the street. It was Sunday of Memorial Day weekend so I figure it would be my responsibility (seeing that the company has not taken any responsibility) to clean because it was my property. I picked up 6 big grocery bags and a garbage bag full of debris that they left behind. I contacted the company and complained about the mess in my yard. I had one simple request and that was to meet with the owner and get compensation for my time. I was told to feel free to save the bags of debris and they would have the crew chief evaluate the area again. The crew chief came to pick up the bags of debris and said it was "unacceptable." He took the bags and said he would show the owner. He tried to negotiate a deal with me. He said if they would clean the yard for an hour for the work that I did. I refused so he walked around the property took a picture and then left. I told him that there were still a lot of branches in the stones and he told me that they were hard to get out of the stones. I ended up picking up the branches myself. That day, a week later, he took a picture of the yard. Now a week later, when i contact them they now claim that they have a picture and everything looks good. I also have pictures that they refuse to see and also have witnesses. After they they left I noticed branches lying in different piles in my neighbors wooded area and near a tree in my neighbors yard. I called to have he owner come and see the branches that they missed. They refused so I picked another garbage can and garbage bag full of branches that are sitting in my garage. All I wanted was to meet with the owner and get compensation for my time. I received and email that the owner already met with me when he picked up the logs the day of the job and will not be meeting with me again to have the same discussion. I talked to the owner the day they did the work and we talked about getting a landscaper to level the ground. I did not talk to the owner about the debris because it wasn't until the next day that I found the debris all over the yard. An email claimed that the crew spoke with my neighbors to the right throughout the day and the neighbor was completely satisfied with the clean up of their property. It goes on to say our crew made sure of it. When the crew chief came to pick up the bags of debris that I picked up, I offered to take him to my neighbor's house to talk to them about this and he refused. I talked to my neighbors and Affordable did not talk to them about their yard. My one neighbor did come over and a worker showed us a little saw dust and asked if it was ok to leave in the dirt. I agreed with some sawdust but what we found was big pieces of stumps, branches and debris. The contract says (without grammatical corrections) remove all tree's and stump's, customer wants to plant a green, remove all stump's to allow planting. Remove debris. Wood will be hauled, branches chipped up and the lawn raked of smaller tree debris such as sticks, leaves,and twigs. Client satisfaction- all work will be done in a professional manner. It also says "satisfaction guaranteed." All I get is a lot of excuses like it was a big job, long day, in a hurry, had another job to go to, it is a busy time, and lot vs. removing trees. Told that a cleaning a lot doesn't leave the customer with a finished end results like tree removal does, its apples to oranges comparison. They said that there is no way to remove sawdust and all stump grindings when a lot is cleared like they did on my property. According to the contract, I did pay to have all stump grindings removed I have spent over 8 hours cleaning up after this company. I also spent me many hours emailing, calling contacting organizations and now writing complaints. I tried to work with them but they were very uncooperative. The last email I received from them said that my behavior is harassment and as far as they are concerned this matter is closed. They refuse to pick up the rest of the tree branches in my garage. All I wanted was to meet with the owner to get compensation for my time for cleaning up their mess. I went to the BBB and the company still refused to meet with me. I then went to the WI Consumer Protection Agency and that seemed to get their attention. Finally after 2 months, the owner agreed to meet with me and it did not go well. He just started yelling at me for no reason. He claimed that they cleared out 30 extra stumps that would cost me an extra $600. What? So instead of cleaning up after they were done, they were counting extra stumps? How did they decide which were extra and which were included? What about the contract that says remove all stump?s and tree?s. I didn?t even have 30 trees in my backyard and my backyard area is not that big. I am the one who is stumped. He was also adamant that they did not have another job to go to after they were done. Later they claim that they had an ?unscheduled? job to do later. Does it matter if it is scheduled (which I believe it was) or not, it is still another job to go to. I know for a fact that the workers told me they had another job to go to, They sure were in a hurry to leave the 2nd time when they came back. He did offer me money for 5 hours (5 X $20) of work but not because I did the work but because I was unsatisfied. I told him that I spent over 8 hours picking up after them. He then started yelling at me that he raked the yard. I told him that I was out there talking to him about landscaping and he did not rake the yard. He then went ballistic saying I was ?bashing? his company. He then went into his truck and drove off. I told the person who came with him that he was ?crazy? the way he was yelling. She claimed he just has a ?loud? voice. That is very interesting because he didn?t have a ?loud? voice when I met with him for the estimate or when he picked up the logs. I know I would never have hired anyone who had yelled at me in his ?loud voice? the way he did that day. After I decided to accept their offer, I was shocked to receive a package from the WI Consumer Protection Agency. In the package there was a contract from Affordable Tree Care. They made changes to the contract and sent it to the WI Consumer Protection Agency. They faded out the original contract and added things like dates, money amounts and 4 men 8 hrs 250per hour. It was so obvious that they made changes because the original contract was faded out and the changes were in dark ink and in different handwriting. When they finally met with me, they told me that they were there for 8 hrs. I assume that they needed to cover their tracks and took it upon themselves to add it to the contract. Here is their response to changing the contract: In regards to the copy she received along with other communication from us, that was just our internal notes that just exemplify the point that we were there for the estimated amount of time. We had 4 guys for 8+ hours not to mention all the additional number of hours our employees spent with the customer dealing with all of the issues. They forgot to mention that they faded out the original contract. Who fades out the original contract, writes on it, says that it?s just internal notes and then sends it externally to the WI Consumer Protection Agency? If they did the job that they were suppose to, why would they need to make changes to the contract? If the owner had met with me, they would not have to have spent additional number of hours dealing with this. The company still claims that they cleaned up everything. If it wasn?t their mess, whydid they remove the bags of debris in my garage, offer to spend an hour to clean up for compensation, make an offer or change the contract. I also have witnesses and pictures. Because the company refused to meet with me,it cost me an extra $150 for the landscaping. The ground needed to be roto-tilled because the ground had sat there for over 2 months. This has been the worst customer service that I have ever dealt with. I have spent over 8 hours cleaning up after this company, not to mention all the time that I have spent emailing, calling,dealing with the BBB and Consumer Protection Agency and putting in complaints. It wasn't so much that they left debris all over the yard, but the way they handled the situation. I now check every review and will not hire any company that has one complaint against them because I feel if they have a complaint, they are not good at dealing with problems.
Description of Work
removed trees
Category
tree service

Phone

Address

3201 Hwy H

Sturtevant, WI 53177

Other Information

Services offered

Residential & commercial tree service - trimming, removal, pruning, cabling, stump grinding, brush removal, storm damage, preventative treatments, insect & disease control. Lot clearing. Snow removal, salting. Firewood. Decorative mulch

Payment options

MasterCard
Check
Visa
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Affordable Tree Care LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Affordable Tree Care LLC is open:

Sunday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Affordable Tree Care LLC accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa, American Express, Discover

Yes, Affordable Tree Care LLC offers free project estimates.

Yes, Affordable Tree Care LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Affordable Tree Care LLC does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Affordable Tree Care LLC offers emergency services.

No, Affordable Tree Care LLC does not offer warranties.

Affordable Tree Care LLC offers the following services: Residential & commercial tree service - trimming, removal, pruning, cabling, stump grinding, brush removal, storm damage, preventative treatments, insect & disease control. Lot clearing. Snow removal, salting. Firewood. Decorative mulch

Other Local Pros In Your Area

TNT Tom's On Call Team

5.0

(4)

Angi Certified

TNT Tom's On Call Team

We specialize in moving & junk removal/ cleaning! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

TJ's Hauling Service Inc

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

TJ's Hauling Service Inc

We are a hauling company that offers a variety of different services, will haul away 1 item to as many as you have. For more information please call or visit or website www.tjshaulingservice.com.  

Dumpster Pros LLC

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

Dumpster Pros LLC

Dumpster rental and junk removal business.