Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Tarzan Tree Service

Founded 2007 • With Angi since May 2011

4.9

(115) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

421 Schuyler Rd

Virginia Beach, VA 23462

Description

We are owned and operated by military veterans, now we are looking to serve our neighbors on the homefront. Honest hard work is hard to come by at an affordable price but that is what we built our business on.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/24/2022


Tamara R.

I’m a female disabled veteran on a fixed income and needed a tree removed. I contacted several companies and was shocked by the outrageously expensive quotes I received. Companies were quoting me $1,000 - $1,200 just to remove one tree. It wasn’t a huge tree! Finally, I contacted Tarzan Tree Service. Tarzan Tree Service is a veteran owned business. And, the difference shows! Tarzan didn’t make me wait for weeks just to get an initial estimate. I called to request an estimate, and they came out the very next day to assess the tree. He quoted me $400. They are certified arborists and a reputable business and they were only charging one third of my highest quote! It’s a small townhouse with a small front and side yard and a small, fenced backyard. So, I asked him about the cost to prune some other trees on the property and asked his advice about whether another tree in the backyard should be removed. The owner of Tarzan Tree Service was very easy to talk to and recommended that I not remove the Japanese Maple in the backyard. He suggested that the Japanese Maple simply be reshaped by removing a few lower branches. He explained that he felt it gave the property character and would increase my property value. He also explained the growing habit of the tree and told me it wouldn’t grow much further. He left the decision to me; but after listening to him, I decided to follow his advice. And, I’m glad I did. After assessing the entire property, and patiently explaining his recommendations, Tarzan Tree Service quoted me $475 to remove one tree from the front, remove a small bush that was too close to a window and the siding of the house, prune another front tree, prune and reshape the Japanese Maple in the back, and prune some neighboring tree limbs in the back that were hanging over my fence line. Tarzan quoted $475 for everything when another company quoted me $1,200 just to remove the one tree. I happily agreed! Tarzan Tree Service then came out the very next day with a crew of five military veterans and two work trucks. They quickly did all the pruning and removals, fed all the debris into their wood chipper, and quickly cleaned up all leaves. They were in and out in about 20 minutes and the property was spotless! They didn’t leave a speck of sawdust or any loose leaves or branches! They operated with precision and professionalism! They were personable, knowledgeable, honest, ethical, and an absolute joy to work with. I am not receiving any kind of benefit from providing this review, and I don’t personally know anyone from their company. I just want to give an honest review and recommend Tarzan Tree Service because they are an honest company. And, honest, ethical companies are hard to find. They are veteran owned and helped a fellow veteran on a fixed income without taking advantage of me like other companies tried to do. If you need tree removal or pruning, Tarzan Tree Service is by far the best. And, they deserve your business.

Description of Work
Tree Removal and pruning

Category landscaping, tree service

5.0

10/27/2020


Anne J.

They did a fantastic job! Very professional! The men worked as a team and did an excellent cleanup removing all leaves and wood! I feel they earned every penny I paid them. I would highly recommend them to do any work needed!

Description of Work
Large tree removal.

Category leaf removal, tree service

1.0

08/07/2020


Ashley C.

My next door neighbors used Tarzan for tree removal and they knew we would happily take some wood. That morning, Tarzan’s Foreman and I discussed we’d take log splitter sized logs. Perhaps “log splitter” size is a broad term, but he seemed to understand exactly what I wanted. BUT, if you saw what was left behind you’d be dumbfounded. I didn’t pay the guys $100 to cart 4-6ft long tree trunks, some 4-6ft in diameter w/ huge knotts over for me to split. I wasn’t home when the wood was actually brought over, otherwise I would have disputed it then. They took advantage of a situation and then returned none of my calls. It’s now 1 1/2 years later and the remnants of the largest pieces are still in my driveway. I had to PAY a different tree service company to come with their commercial size Stihl chainsaws and cut most of it down to be used for our splitter, And our splitter isn’t a wimpy one. Poor business. They got paid the same for doing less, plus my tip, and not following up with myself or my neighbor is just greed.

Description of Work
Tree removal

Category landscaping, tree service

1.0

08/07/2020


Beverly S.

After trimming a tree on my property that was overhanging my back-door neighbor's driveway, the crew neither replaced the neighbor's things that they had moved, nor did they remove large limbs left on her driveway. After 2 days of leaving phone messages (they do NOT answer their phone-you can only leave a message) and sending an email containing photos of the debris left behind, I received no reply. This left me with no option but to clean up their mess myself; a 3 hour job. I'm a 66 year old woman and, although in good physical condition, had to drag these large, heavy limbs through a hedge, cut them up with a hand saw and carry them across my yard to the curb for the city to remove. If they had sent one crew member with a truck, it would have taken him 10 minutes. Zero customer service, will not hire again nor refer to friends/neighbors. Ps FInally spoke w/owner (after I had finished cleaning up their mess.) He told me that if I was going to post negative comments on social media I should go F--- myself. Guess that's one business owner's solution to taking care of customer request to finish a job....

Description of Work
tree pruning

Category tree service

1.0

06/13/2019


Edward T.

I am giving this Tree Service an F for not being accommodating after trying to move an already confirmed appointment. Had to wait a week just to get an estimate two hours before our scheduled appointment I was called and told they needed to move it another hour back unfortunately I could not be here at that time had taken the afternoon off from work to be here then they informed me they would be an additional hour late unfortunately I had A prior appointment that I needed to be 2 by 5:00 They Did not want to come the following day because of graduations when I asked could they come Monday to accommodate me was told that they had no appointments in the Chesapeake area they are located in Virginia Beach I am roughly 10 to 15 minutes from this company they could not go out of their way to send someone out next week to accommodate me since they messed my appointment up then wanted me to wait till the end of the month to come back out at that point I said I am no longer interested. I fully understand that things come up and appointments need to be changed my biggest gripe is that they were unwilling to try to accommodate me and go a little out of their way so I would not have to wait another two weeks just to get an estimate. That was my experience with this company. Judging by there A ratings I’m sure that they do good work but The experience I had with them was not a good one.

Description of Work
A number of trees all over yard cut back trimmed up

Category tree service

5.0

11/20/2018


Jesse W.

I chose Tarzan Tree Removal service on the recommendation of a neighbor who had a wonderful experience. I have used other tree services in our area but I think supporting veteran owned and operated businesses is important. They are very busy. I waited two months between the estimate and the work but it was worth the wait. I had several trees removed and a very large, old bay oak trimmed. Today an entire team worked like a well-oiled machine and completed everything I asked of them. They guys were professional, knowledgeable and did such a great job. They cleaned up everything and didn't leave until they knew I was completely satisfied, Their prices were competitive and I could not have gotten the job done as well for the quoted price by any other service that I have used before. I HIGHLY recommend Tarzan Tree Services and I will certainly use them again. Jesse and Sandra both recommend their company to anyone who is looking for reliable, professional and reasonable tree services.

Description of Work
several trees removal and tree pruning

Category landscaping, leaf removal, tree service

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] and Sandy! Thank you for your business and this awesome feedback. We have been discouraged by our wait times but we are so glad that you chose to give us a chance and wait for us to serve you. It was all our pleasure! Have a great Thanksgiving and please call on us again should you ever need to.
5.0

09/22/2018


Marshall Y.

Outstanding service and a great value. They showed up ten minutes early for the estimate quote and work. Very professional and walked me through everything they were going to do. Impressive clean up after. They are very busy so you will have to wait a few weeks but it’s well worth the wait

Description of Work
Pruned three trees and removed one small tree

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! Pleasure was all ours. Call on us anytime should you need to.
5.0

06/28/2018


Robert L.

We had Tarzan take down two cedar trees next to our patio and pool today. They did a terrific job, we are very happy. I was pleased that they were professional, explained what was going to happen and cleaned up when they were done. I got a few quotes and Tarzan was the most reasonably priced. I would highly recommend Tarzan.

Description of Work
Tree removal

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, [Member Name Removed]! It means a great deal to us that you were satisfied w/ the work. We appreciate your business and your time in looping back around to let us know.
5.0

04/25/2018


Jill W.

Great company! They were very professional, arrived exactly on time, and did great work. They sent a larger crew than I anticipated, about 8 people, but that meant they were finished very quickly. They removed a pine tree from our backyard and ground the stump down. In the front yard they trimmed back a very large oak, providing more sunlight for our yard, more airflow for the tree, as well as providing more clearance between the house and tree and more vertical clearance over the driveway. They made sure the yard was well cleaned up before they left, and walked me around to show me everything they did and ask if there was anything else they could do. The crew was professional and efficient. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
Tree trimming, tree removal, stump grinding

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Hi, [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for your business and your review. Also, we're so happy you included before/after pictures w/ your review! We really appreciate your time to loop back around and give us feedback. Please call on us again should you ever need to!
5.0

04/17/2018


John M.

Everything went great. Professional and friendly. This is our third time using them always the same great service.

Description of Work
Multiple tree removal and trimming.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and your continued support, [Member Name Removed]! We are so happy to know that we've continued to make you happy with our service. We love forging a repeat customer base and relationship with our customers. Their business and satisfaction means everything to us. Take care!
5.0

02/18/2018


kathy M.

The estimator arrived on time with a great estimate. The team that removed and trimmed trees arrived on time and did a great job. Everything was disposed of cleanly. We will be hiring them again. Great experience.

Description of Work
Remove dead tree and trim unhealthy branches

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you very much for your time and your review! It means a great deal to us when customers choose to share their views w/ not only prospective customers; but w/ our crew as well. We appreciate your business and we hope you'll call on us again!
5.0

01/16/2018


William S.

Contacted Alex via Angies web site. He had done tree work for me in the past. He called within 2 hours and setup his visit the next day to see needed work. Priced the job and set a time to do the work. Team was on time and did an excellent job of cutting hanging limbs in my yard and those hanging into my neighbors yard with no damage to wood fence. Cleanup of all pine was outstanding. This included work area from back of yard to street around their trucks and the neighbors yard. They have done work for me in the past and I called only them.

Description of Work
Had pine tree damage from snow storm. Needed hanging tree limbs cut down and all limbs removed from my yard and neighbors yard.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, Mr. [Member Name Removed]! We are so very happy and grateful that you reached out to us again for more work. We strive to form lifelong relationships with our customers through hard and quality workmanship. Take care and if you ever need us again, please reach back out!
5.0

11/15/2017


D W.

Fine. Work was done when they said they would do it.

Description of Work
Removed tree

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We surely appreciate your time and feedback. We see you rated us all As w/ the exception of a B for professionalism. If you have feedback on how we can improve in that area, please give us a call or send us a message. We strive to do better and be better. Your opinion matters to us. Thank you for your business and for the work. We greatly appreciate both!
5.0

10/16/2017


Cynthia E.

The crew showed up on October 6th as promised. I met with the foreman who informed me once he met with his crew he would discuss the plans. After our brief meeting the guys went to work and I mean WORK! I observed a well tuned crew. The guys kept busy and I could tell they had been working together for some time. As luck would have it the stump grinder broke down. The foreman explained the issues with the machine and told me "we will be back we are Tarzan". As busy as they are I thought someone would be here in a couple of weeks. Well Sunday (10-15-17) morning two Tarzan trucks showed up I met with one of the men who informed me they were there to get rid of the stump. Just like the last time the two guys went to work. In a matter of maybe 30-45 minutes the stump was gone as well as the grindings. This is a GREAT company and we highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Had a large maple tree removed.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, [Member Name Removed]! It was our pleasure to meet and work for you and your husband. We're so very happy that you enjoyed your experience with our company. Thank you for your patience while we took a few days to complete your stump grinding. We share these reviews w/ our crew so they can receive the accolades they truly deserve. We know how fortunate we are to have a well seasoned crew, as well as customers such as yourselves! We hope you'll call on us again should you ever need to.
5.0

10/13/2017


Gary L.

The crew showed up at the appointed time, and worked very hard and efficiently to complete the work. I had an entire afternoon of being entertained as I watched them climb trees, cut limbs and fall a tree. All members of the crew were very friendly and explained step by step to my wife and to me exactly what cuts they were going to make and they made sure that we were satisfied with the work. I was also impressed that the fact that the owners and crew members are all veterans. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
We had one Holly tree removed, several shrubs removed from the front of our home, and several low hanging limbs and dead limbs removed from trees in our backyard.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, [Member Name Removed]! We really appreciate the flexibility you gave us in having to reschedule you and also w/ waiting for us to finish final touches; it means a great deal to us. It was a pleasure working for you through the whole process and we hope you'll call on us again in the future, should you have the need.
5.0

10/11/2017


Henry P.

Rob and his crew did a very professional job. The tree was taken down in a tight space with great skill and special care so as not to damage anyone's property.

Description of Work
Removal of big pine tree including stump grinding.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review, Mr. [Member Name Removed]! You are our 100th review and what a great one it is! We're happy you were pleased with our performance and we hope you'll call on us again if you ever need to.
5.0

09/25/2017


Anna M.

Great!! They always returned phone calls, was on time, very professional even took care of calling miss utility and price was very fare. We will definitely use them again and recommend them to friends.

Description of Work
Removal of a tree with root ground and some other limb trimming

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your support and for your review! Our customers are our lifeblood and their satisfaction our reward. By the time a job is completed, we feel as though we personally know them between the calls and work being done. We wouldn't have it any other way. Call on us anytime, should you need to!
5.0

09/19/2017


John G.

It was done quickly, efficiently and professionally. Would highly recommend their services to any friend.

Description of Work
Trim an old large tree in my backyard. Little room to maneuver.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Hi, [Member Name Removed]! Thank you so much for your time in leaving us a review! We greatly appreciate your business, as well as your feedback. It is reviews such as yours that always make our crew feel they've done a job well done. Please call on us any time should you need us. Best wishes!
5.0

09/05/2017


Jean B.

They were all professional and courteous. They completely cleaned up when they were done. Two posts that hold bird feeders had to be temporarily removed before they could start working. They put both posts back in place once they were done. I will definitely hire them again if their services are needed. I highly recommend them to anyone who needs this kind of work done. THANK YOU TARZAN TREE SERVICE!

Description of Work
We had two trees that had to come down ASAP before they came down on their own. He arrived promptly to give me an estimate. They stayed in contact as the date approached.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and kind words, [Member Name Removed]. You were a joy to work with and for. We've shared your message w/ our team and there were smiles all around. Please contact us again should you ever need to!
5.0

08/02/2017


NOEL M.

They all worked efficiently as a team to get the job done quickly and cleared up everything completely.

Description of Work
They cut down a tall gumball tree.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We were so happy that we were able to get you moved ahead of schedule and that you're happy with our work. Please call on us again should you ever need to!
5.0

07/19/2017


Andrea A.

They were great from the get go. It was a busy season for them, they originally said it was 6 weeks out and were able to squeeze me in 2 weeks later. They charged me 1/2 The price of what I was quoted from other companies. Would highly recommend Tarzan!

Description of Work
Had to have 4 oak trees cut back.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us a review! We're so happy we were able to get to you sooner than projected and that you're happy w/ our services. We recognize word of mouth is the best advertisement and we appreciate your recommending our services to others. Enjoy your summer and please call on us again should you ever need to!
5.0

07/19/2017


Wayne B.

The performed exactly as expected. Result was just what I wanted

Description of Work
cut down trees, trim trees and remove stumps

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and your business! We're so glad we delivered exactly what you expected. The pleasure was all ours and please call on us again should you need to. Take care.
5.0

06/25/2017


Aaron D.

They did an excellent job. They showed up on time. They made sure I was happy with the tree pruning as the job was being completed so they wouldn't cut too much or too little. They kept a very clean site and my yard was cleaner when they left than it was before they got there. They were very professional. Have good equipment and worked as a team. Very qualified to do this work. I would hire again.

Description of Work
One tree cut down and stump ground and two other trees pruned. Two of the trees had limited access and all were very close to my house playground and shed.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, [Member Name Removed]! We love when customers take time out of their busy days to give us feedback; it helps us keep a pulse on how we're doing. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority! It was our pleasure to work for you and we hope you'll contact us again should you ever need to.
5.0

06/22/2017


Albert C.

Highly professional. Price was excellent so I did not get get further estimates. I will use this service again next year for a bigger job. Exceeded expectations across the board!

Description of Work
removal of several trees and some trimming

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, Mr. [Member Name Removed]! We are so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations! We look forward to possibly working for you again, sir. Enjoy your summer!
5.0

05/27/2017


Daniel T.

Very well. They showed up when scheduled, removed the tree, ground up the stump and several roots, hauled everything away, and cleaned up the back yard. They also were very diligent at moving things out of the way to avoid any collateral damage. The foreman was very professional.

Description of Work
Had a sweet gum tree (best guess about 60 to 70 foot tall) removed from my back yard.

Category tree service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and for your business! We truly appreciate both. It was our pleasure to work for you, sir!

    Other local Pros in your area

    AM Arbor & Landscaping

    We specialize in all phases of landscaping services and tree removal! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Gardens By Oz Inc

    Founded in 1979, Gardens By Oz, Inc. has built a reputation for inspired design, thorough knowledge and unsurpassed customer service and has provided superior landscaping services to Tidewater, Virginia, businesses and homeowners. Our specialty is beautiful aquatic gardens and ponds. We work with a wide variety of customers, from single family homeowners who want to completely transform their landscapes to large corporate clients that need luxurious entry areas, and deliver the same level of attention to each and every customer we serve. At Gardens By Oz we combine science and art to create landscape masterpieces that are the envy of the neighborhood. We are passionate about what we do and approach each and every landscape design project with creativity and enthusiasm. Additional address - 5541 Iowa Ave., Norfolk, Va 23513. Please include your phone number if you are sending us a message through the Angie's List Message Center.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Green Collar Lawns & Landscapes, Inc.

    Give us a call or click to request a quote today!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    2014-247644-r
    Trade License Locale
    virginia beach city
    Trade License Authority
    virginia commonwealth
    Trade License Expiration
    03/16/2017
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Tree Trimming, Removal, Pruning, Emergencies, Insurance Work, Stump & Brush Grinding

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Tarzan Tree Service

    How is Tarzan Tree Service overall rated?

    Tarzan Tree Service is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Tarzan Tree Service provide

    Tarzan Tree Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Tarzan Tree Service offer free estimates?

    Yes, Tarzan Tree Service offers free project estimates.

    Does Tarzan Tree Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Tarzan Tree Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Tarzan Tree Service offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Tarzan Tree Service offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does Tarzan Tree Service offer emergency services?

    Yes, Tarzan Tree Service offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Tarzan Tree Service?

    No, Tarzan Tree Service does not offer warranties.

    What services does Tarzan Tree Service offer?

    Tarzan Tree Service offers the following services: Tree Trimming, Removal, Pruning, Emergencies, Insurance Work, Stump & Brush Grinding

    Are there any services Tarzan Tree Service does not offer?

    ask for details