Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AIR MASTERS

Founded 1985 • With Angi since May 2010

Air Masters Heating & Air Conditioning owner, Pete Maravas, is an Alexandria, VA native who entered the HVAC industry upon graduation from Fort Hunt HS, moving on to complete with honors the HVAC program at Northern Virginia Community College. Currently, he holds both his Mechanical and Gasfitter Masters License for the state of Virginia along with numerous certifications and accreditations. Over the last 30 years, Air Masters has worked hard to build their company into the quality contracting firm that all of their customers have come to expect and admire. The highly-trained and qualified technicians at Air Masters strive to provide excellence when working with all clients, both residential and commercial; contract and non-contract customers alike. In all aspects of their work, your comfort and satisfaction is their primary goal. Air Masters Heating & Air Conditioning is a Trane Comfort Specialist Dealer, proudly representing the leading brand in America as their first and finest. Trane Comfort Specialists routinely demonstrate their commitment to excellence in many ways. They believe in constant self-improvement, participating in training to enhance their business and technical skills. And they never stop their pursuit of total perfection, striving to achieve and maintain customer satisfaction and referral scores of 100%. As Trane Comfort Specialists, Air Masters Heating and Air Conditioning has the expertise and standards to exceed your expectations every time. Trust them and you trust the best. Serving Northern Virginia with excellence since 1985. Licensed, Bonded, and Insured - VA License #2705005946(B)

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

5.0

(41) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 41 reviews
Weishuang Q.
5.0
11/16/2022
I recently had my heat pup system replaced by Air Masters. In addition to all the quality work done on time with reasonable price, I found the company especially good in two places: trying hard to exceed the current expectations of the customer, and paying attention to the long-term trouble-free operations of the system during installation. Thanks to Gene and Frank of Air Masters! Wilson Herndon, VA
Description of Work
Replace the old 2 ton heat pump system
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Nick K.
5.0
10/17/2021
Air Masters was great at helping me solve a long-time issue with my HVAC system. They were the only company which took the time to evaluate my entire system, including the duct work, to provide a professionally-calculated solution. I had an old York system where the furnace was 4 Tons and the air conditioner had been replaced by the previous owner with a 5 Ton unit. This unbalanced system did work for many years, but would freeze over if the outside temperature got too far below 70 degrees. I also had to keep all registers open, so the basement was freezing while the upstairs was too hot. There are no dampers and the way the duct work is set up any dampers would cut off part of the supply to the upstairs level. When the unit started freezing over more often, I began looking to get the entire system replaced since the furnace was still the original from 1991. I was getting conflicting opinions like going to a full 5 ton system since that is what was already there or just putting in a new 5 Ton furnace to push more air. This would have been oversized which is not a good scenario (short-cycling, moisture, etc.). A neighbor with a similar home had a 3 ton system with dampers in the configuration. I worked with Pete and Michelle and they were great at listening to the scenario and my concerns. Pete came out and took a thorough look at my entire system down to the diameter of the suction line to ensure compatibility. I was given multiple options which were 3.5 Tons and went with the Trane system. I was able to close up to 30% of the registers (most of the basement) with this new balanced system. This has been the best summer for the upstairs cooling since 2007. I highly recommend Air Masters and appreciate their time and expertise
Description of Work
Full HVAC Replacement
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Aww... thank you, Mr. [Member Name Removed] for your very kind words and the confidence you have placed in Air Masters. It's our pleasure to work with clients like you that understand and appreciate the level of service we provide to all our clients. I'm sure you will get many good years from your new Trane system and the quality installation Pete and his crew provide. As always, should you need anything at all give us a call. :-)
Lawrence R.
5.0
06/25/2018
Installation went smoothly. Staff was courteous and professional. Finished on time, one day, and no extra costs.
Description of Work
Install new heat pump and furnace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you, Mr. [Member Name Removed]! Customers such as you are always a pleasure to work with! We'll be in touch when it's time for your service check. Enjoy the rest of the summer in your nice cool house with your nice new Trane system! :)
Susanne S.
5.0
06/28/2017
Excellent people to work with. Would recommend this company to friends and family. I gave Air Masters straight A on all of the above questions because they truly deserved them. Very friendly, very professional, and excellent price .
Description of Work
New upstairs air conditioner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Dear Mrs. [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for your kind words and glowing endorsement. After so many years of being in business (32+!) we know that our customer is [Member Information Removed] most important part of operating this business and it's folks like you and Mr. [Member Name Removed] that give us reason to want to come to work every day and do what we do so well. If there is anything at all that you need, questions you may have, (plants to share!) - give us a call. You know we'll take good care of you and your hvac systems. Michele :)
Heather C.
5.0
10/11/2016
We always base our decisions on professionalism and honesty and they have always been. We would use them again in the future.
Description of Work
They did air conditioning maintenance.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks as always, [Member Name Removed]! Michele :)
Heather C.
5.0
10/11/2016
We've been with them for about 20 years. They are a little bit more than other people with pricing but they are worth it though. They are professional and they are always on time. They don't try to sell something that wee don't need. They pay a lot on the actions and the outcomes.
Description of Work
I use Air Masters for Heating & A/C services. They did heating system maintenance.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we thank you for your loyalty through the years too. We appreciate you more than you know. We are currently working to revamp our Maintenance Agreement Program and hope that we can get you onboard with it to save you money on your routine system checks and any other service that crop up down the road as your systems age. Know though that we will always be there for you and will always provide whatever you may need to keep you coming back for the long haul. Michele :)
David W.
5.0
09/09/2016
When our air conditioning failed we decided to go with a new Trane unit since our previous Trane had lasted 26 years and Trane has a good reliability record. We obtained estimates from three Trane dealers. Prices were fairly similar but Air Masters was impressive in their thoroughness. Pete spent close to an hour examining our old system and measuring to design how the new system would install. He priced options for various models, explained the trade-offs, and also priced an option to relocate the outside condenser to a more out-of-the-way location and run a new refrigerant line through our crawl space. Once we accepted their proposal, they scheduled the installation for the following day, which was just as well as the temperature was in the 90s. Pete and his three other staff completed the installation in one day. Everything was done very neatly. It was evident how well they worked as a team. At the end of the day, Pete spent an hour monitoring the system once it was running to ensure everything was working correctly. Pete is very much a hands-on owner. Afterwards Michele took care of the product registration with Trane.
Description of Work
Replaced air conditioning and furnace. Relocated outside condenser and ran new refrigerant line.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words, Mr. [Member Name Removed]. I also hope that as of our last conversation you were able to get that nice rebate from Washington Gas. That's always a nice bonus to a job well done! Thanks again. Michele :)
Michelle H.
5.0
05/10/2016
On time, clean, polite, explained everything thoroughly.
Description of Work
AC systems check.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for you your kind words and continued loyalty to us all these years, [Removed Member Name]. It's always a pleasure to do business with you and catch up too. (Congrats on the newest edition to the family!)
Jane B.
5.0
05/05/2016
Have used Air Master for 20 yrs & never any complaint.
Description of Work
Checked out & cleaned AC system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks for hanging in there with us all these years, [Removed Member Name]. :-)
John C.
5.0
04/07/2016
Prompt, professional expert service and support. Have worked with them for years for all HVAC needs.
Description of Work
Installed HVAC System
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Removed Member Name], thank you for always calling us and always trusting us. Best wishes to you and your wife as you move on into this next step in your journey. Pete said he was truly impressed with your patented invention. Hopefully, you'll lots of time to enjoy this and many other leisure pursuits. :-)
Cynthia M.
5.0
01/22/2016
Pete spent a lot of time talking with my husband about our options and explaining the pros/cons of different systems. They did an excellent job providing a detailed proposal so we could make an informed decision. We had two other estimates that were written very quickly and with little information. Air Master's quote was actually lower than the other two estimates and we trusted their expertise. They arrived at the stated time and installed the heat pump with no problems. Their office was very thorough and helpful in proactively completed the Dominion VA rebate form and also informing us of a new tax break. They came by the week after when we had a minor problem and quickly resolved the issue. We are extremely pleased with their service and will definitely use them again and highly recommend their business!
Description of Work
Install new Trane high efficiency heat pump system, humidistat, and thermostat.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking notice of how thorough Pete is and how he has instilled this into all of our staff here at Air Masters. We love what we do and trust that it is conveyed in how well we do what we love. Happy customers and a job well done are what make it all worthwhile at the end of the day.
Susan S.
5.0
11/04/2015
Co-owner Pete Maravas was at our home for 10 hours installing new Trane products (see above). He and his crew were highly knowledgeable in explaining the products and their use. Everything works fine. Pete is very conscientious, as is Michele who is a whiz at the office.
Description of Work
Installed new furnace and A/C condenser and coil and thermostat.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Removed Member Name] for your kind words and your trust and confidence you've placed in Air Masters. It's always our pleasure doing business with nice folks like you.
Virginia D.
5.0
11/04/2015
Great! Air Masters has installed an HVAC at our home, and repaired/serviced the heat pumps at two rental properties. They arrive on time, explain things well, are very reasonable, and fix things right the first time. Very professional, and easy to work with! We highly recommend! Best regards, Virginia
Description of Work
Serviced the HVAC they installed last year
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Removed Member Name]. We like working with you, too! Trust that whatever you need, whenever you need it, we will do our best for you.
Joanne H.
5.0
08/20/2015
Excellent technician changed filter for me and checked system inside. Then went outside and checked unit. Cleared!
Description of Work
A/C service
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kudos [Removed Member Name]. And thank you for calling us again to do your system check this spring. Conscientious, regular maintenance is what provides our customers with many years of long-lasting service from the excellent TRANE systems we install.
James J.
5.0
08/20/2015
Excellent! Very professional. Answered all my questions and did an excellent job.
Description of Work
Routine maintenance on existing A/C unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words and confidence in us, Mr. [Member Name Removed]. I didn't realize your review was here or I would have thanked you for it. Since 2015 you now have a new system in place and I'm sure you enjoyed the benefits of the added efficiency this summer (2017). We look forward to maintaining your system for you for many years to come. Sincerely, Micihele :)
Anthony D.
5.0
07/28/2015
Outstanding service. Highly recommend! Owners Pete and Michelle went out of their way to help quickly resolve a problem for me under an unusual circumstance. We were in the process of selling our home, approaching closing date when the AC Electronic Air Cleaner unit began flashing a fault indicator. Needed to fix quickly prior to closing. After consulting with other companies who either (a) did not have sufficient expertise to properly service the equipment or (b) were too busy to help me, I found Air Masters, who were great! First spoke to Michelle, who then had Pete call me. Rather than invest time (and $) in scheduling a diagnostic service call, Pete took the time to step me thru a simple but thorough diagnosis of the equipment over the phone, determining from that the fix required. Michelle then researched the availability of parts from several sources, as well as the possibility that the required parts may still have been under warranty (unfortunately not). Once identified and ordered, part arrived quickly and Michelle arranged a prompt visit from tech Thomas to install. Once complete, equipment checked out in good order. Not only fixed the problem, but also saved me much time and what would have been a wasted $1400 had I followed the advice of an earlier-contacted company that had mis-diagnosed the problem and tried to sell me a non-refundable unit that would not have resolved the situation. I genuinely appreciated the special efforts made by Air Masters on my behalf, and highly recommend them for their superb expertise and great customer service! Well done, Air Masters. Thanks.
Description of Work
Repair of Trane Electronic Air Cleaner
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Removed member name] for your kind words and glowing endorsement. You were awesome to work with, too. I wish all customers were as easy to work with as you. Blessings in your current situation and in your future move as well. Michele
John C.
5.0
06/28/2015
Arrived quickly after reporting problems and fully restored in one trip.
Description of Work
AC system check and repair
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Well, Mr. [Member Name Removed], I know that you have moved now and are longer in our service area, but if we traveled as far as Fredricksburg we would be delighted to take care of your systems at your new home. I hope all is well and sorry I didn't see this earlier. Kind regards, Michele :)
Carole S.
5.0
06/17/2015
Owner/operator Pete and Michele are professionals who care the moment you call. After a lightening strike, we had to have several different service calls set up and appointments to keep. This team was most responsive. My team for life!
Description of Work
Troubleshoot and repair/replace HVAC system components after lightening strike.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], for the kind words and vote of support and confidence. I'm sorry I didn't see this earlier (Angie's does not do a good job letting us know we have reviews). At this point - November 2017- you are due for a system check. Give us a call and we'll schedule something in for you. If I don't hear from you, I'll call you. Thankfully, you haven't had any more lightning strikes! Kindly, Michele :)
Paul G.
5.0
06/11/2015
Professional, on time & fair priced.
Description of Work
New air conditioning & heater units.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Removed Member Name]. I'm sure you're enjoying your new system now. :)
Barbara E.
5.0
06/09/2015
Thomas was on time, very polite and got right to work. Promptly diagnosed the unit problem and then checked other functions of the unit, (it is 17 years old.) He was very quick & thorough. Answered all my questions!
Description of Work
Replaced burned wire and capacitor on air conditioning unit. Checked freon and added needed amount. Checked amperage and other system functions.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Removed Member Name] for your kind words about Thomas and the service he has provided for you. We feel blessed to have him, too. We thank you also for your continued trust in Air Masters over the years. We value you as our customer (and I like our chats!).
kolleen M.
5.0
05/29/2015
Fine, on time, collaborate, test went fine.
Description of Work
Recover refrigerant from indoor coil and liners; remove coil; remove baking and rusted pan from indoor coil, replace pan, reinstall coil, assembly and leak test, new fittings, evacuate coil and evacuate line set, run test system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
William H.
5.0
05/29/2015
Mr Maravas arrived as always on schedule. He previously installed both systems and has maintained them in a highly professional manner for over 5 years. He is both technically expert and customer oriented. He explains the systems' requirements as he performs his work. I have grown to trust his technical recommendations and his interest in ensuring the economical operation of the systems. In the years before I "discovered" Air Masters I had never found a firm that is as reliable and technically knowledgeable as the service provided by Air Masters. I have never had any problems with the systems that Air Masters recommended and installed over 5 years ago.
Description of Work
Spring Service of two heat pumps and air conditioning systems.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks as always, [Removed Member Name]. I'll call you this week to arrange your Spring checks. You know that Pete always looks forward to servicing your units. :-)
April S.
5.0
04/26/2015
I contacted Air Masters after it was discovered that my air conditioner's compressor has shorted to ground. I own a Trane Air Conditioner and purchased it in part because of the 10 year warranty on all parts. The company that discovered the error, told me the cost to replace the compressor would be as much as a new air conditioner, so should probably replace the air conditioner. So, of course I called in two other contractors. I hit the jack pot when I called Air Masters. I spoke with Michele and right away it was very clear how knowledgable she was regarding air conditioner/heating systems. (To only complicate things further, I currently live in Europe and the time difference can sometimes be challenging when working with a contractor). Michele worked with me through email and by phone, answering all my questions and helping me to understand everything. Pete then went to my home and did a very thorough inspection of my entire heating/cooling system. What he had discovered was that the thermostat what was programed for a heat pump. Which was completely incorrect and what caused the short to ground. (And this was the company that told me it was cheaper to replace the air conditioner.) I was given a quote of $2,127.00 to make all the necessary repairs and when the work was completed, that is exactly what I paid. I highly recommend Air Masters.
Description of Work
Replaced a shorted out compressor in my air conditioner, reconfigured a thermostat that was installed improperly and cleaned condenser and evaporator coil.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Dear (removed member name), Thank you for the confidence & trust you placed in us. We value this and always strive to care for our customers like family. Call us whenever the need may occur in the future and we will be happy to continue to take care of you and your family and your hvac system. Michele :)
Arnold M.
5.0
04/25/2015
The serviceman arrived on time and went over the details of the job before starting. He was very courteous and professional. After he finished the warranty work he tested out our AC system and then gave us feed back on the work he had done. The outside unit is working much quieter now.
Description of Work
Replaced the outside AC condenser fan which was under warranty.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Dear (removed member name), Thank you for the nice review and thank you for being loyal Air Masters customers over the years. It's always a pleasure when we speak and a pleasure to take of folks like you. Have a great summer and we will see you again in the fall. Michele :)
Arnold M.
5.0
04/24/2015
Great, everything was checked, cleaned and tested. Serviceman arrived promptly on time and was very courteous and professional.
Description of Work
Spring AC/Heating service maintenance & humidifier checked.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you! :)

Other local Pros in your area

Brennan's Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Since 1979, we have been providing homeowners and businesses throughout Northern Virginia with our award-winning customer service, outstanding products, affordable prices and superior workmanship. Whether you are in need of emergency service, preventive maintenance, a new HVAC system or you just want to learn more about how to reduce your monthly energy costs; our friendly and knowledgeable staff is always ready to help. We are here when you need us! 2014 - 2020 Carrier Presidents award. Additional contact: Liz Cain. Additional phone: (703) 291-1677.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Salvation Home Service

Please text or call us at (703) 859-2200 for a quote or service. We are specialists in water heaters, heating and air conditioner ventilation, working with the most higher standard on the market, providing the best service each time to our client, and ensuring the best performance on the pro yet.  

Angi Certified

Indoor Air Quality Medics

We are a total home comfort services company that can handle everything from heating and air conditioning to duct cleaning and insulation. Our healthy home comfort specialists have the knowledge and skills to provide thorough service for every inspection, repair, or replacement of your home's heating, air conditioning, water heating, and indoor air quality systems. We pride ourselves in building a relationship with you, as the difference between a good company and an excellent company is the SERVICE provided, including long after the first call. With over 20 years experience and workmanship that is second to none, we are confident that we will keep your home comfortable and the air you breathe clean at all times!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

14001-C Saint Germain Dr. Suite 274

Centreville, VA 20121

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

MasterCard
Discover
Check
Visa
Financing
Licensed
Trade License Number
2705005946
Trade License Locale
Commonwealth of Virginia
Trade License Authority
Dept of Professional and Occupational Regulation
Trade License Expiration
11/30/2017
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

AIR MASTERS is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

AIR MASTERS is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

AIR MASTERS accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing

Yes, AIR MASTERS offers free project estimates.

Yes, AIR MASTERS offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, AIR MASTERS offers a 5% senior discount.

Yes, AIR MASTERS offers emergency services.

Yes, AIR MASTERS offers warranties.

AIR MASTERS offers the following services: Repair & Replacement Of Gas Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Humidifiers, Eacs, UV Filtration, Programmable Thermostats, Duct Work, Residential & Commercial. Consultations For IAQ Issues & Remedies. Phone consultations available 24/7.