Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Fix-A-Fence

Founded 2005 • With Angi since March 2010

4.5

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8514 Friendsville Rd

Lodi, OH 44254

Description

FIX-A-FENCE is a company created in 2006 by John Lenart, a Medina County Resident and Highland High School/U of A Alumnus. We serve a previously ignored corner of the construction marketplace; fulfill a need; and we are the best at what we do. A high percentage of industrial, commercial, and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Kathy M.
4.0
06/27/2018
very professional and a job well done
Description of Work
chain link fence gate repaired and caps replaced on post
Category
fencing, driveway gates
Diane B.
5.0
10/15/2017
Ron takes great pride in his work and meticulous to detail. Dug hole to appropriate depth. Will definitely hire again.
Description of Work
1 post was dug replaced and cemented
Category
fencing
Richard S.
2.0
07/26/2016
John Lenart's crew, Mike and Nigul, completed the job very nicely; however, in doing so, damaged 2 fence caps. It is now over 1 1/2 years and the repairs have not been made. John claims to have the parts but is not responding to my husband, BBB or myself. I do not feel he is reputable and would not recommend this company.
Description of Work
Our vinyl fence needed some added support on two sections as it blew apart during wind storms.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

An exact match to the [Member Name Removed]'s caps was sought but not available. Several similar styles and solutions were offered - even replacing all of the caps - but none were accepted. This customer has harassed us to the point that Facebook found it appropriate to block his wife from continuing to try to tarnish our reputation; it's walking the line of libel and our legal team is considering civil litigation. Mr [Member Name Removed] (more than likely Mrs. [Member Name Removed] who's been blocked by other outlets) wrote - "I don't feel he is reputable..." and it's malarkey. Aside from customers who could not get a spot on our schedule or the one's who couldn't get an estimate, we have an absolutely stellar reputation, not just regarding our product, price, and punctuality but the integrity of our core values and character that leads us to take tremendous pride in a project "done right". Until now, I'd chosen not to acknowledge this ridiculous review but enough is enough... get a life Mr. [Member Name Removed], you are the reason that there should be an Angie's List for contractors to avoid customers with poor reputations - you are a menace and have been to more than just myself.
Dan A.
5.0
06/10/2015
Showed up on time, innstalled new post and built gate. They showed up when they said they would and completed the work we agreed on.
Description of Work
Installed a 42" gate in existing chain link fence
Category
fencing, driveway gates
Cheryl B.
5.0
05/01/2015
It went very well.
Description of Work
They reset a post.
Category
fencing
Katie O.
4.0
04/10/2015
unknown
Category
fencing
Jim D.
5.0
07/14/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Built and installed new back fence gate. works prefect and looks great!
Category
fencing
ELAINE B.
5.0
08/13/2013
John's crew did a great job of adding to our existing fence. They removed some posts and moved the fence line further out to make our patio area larger. the installed new posts and pickets and also a new gate. They used parts of our existing fence to help keep the cost down. We had a few communication bumps but all in all it turned out well. The crew did not show up on a day they said they would and after contacting John, they were back on the job that same day. We have a gothic picket that was hard to match up but John did a great job of putting the new pickets all on one side of the fence and not mixed in with the old. You can't even tell they are different unless you are really looking for it. We will eventually replace our other gate and will have John's company come and do the work.
Description of Work
Installed new fence.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

(removed member name), this is such a nice review. Thank you! As the company grows, my position changes. This year I've tried to start making the transition into trusting my men to complete projects without me on site. My perfectionism has made this transition difficult. As (removed member name) confirmed, one of my crews decided to "call off" after delivering material to the site. This is completely unacceptable. Good, knowledgeable, help is surprisingly difficult to find, even now - in this job market! Thanks to (removed member name) and her husband, I was notified quickly. Tardiness is unacceptable, going A.W.A.L. infuriates me - my reputation is on the line. The issue was dealt with swiftly and thoroughly. This specific crew (who did not complete the work) is no longer part of the FIX-A-FENCE team. It is a blemish on an otherwise typical FIX-A-FENCE work week. Thank you for awarding us with your project; I'm sure my daughters would say the same if they could. The fact that you took time out of your day to write a report humbles me and renews my appreciation for Angie's List. Reading this at 11PM on a Friday, with the girls asleep and as I burn the midnight oil, is the best ending to a work week that I could possibly hope for. You're the best!
Jeffrey F.
5.0
02/29/2012
He was a few bucks more then the other guys but he took the time to explain his process and how he does things, to the point that I can fix some stuff on my own now that he told me how to do it, thereby saving me in the future!!!!
Description of Work
Repaired gate, planted two new 4x4 posts, replaced 2 top bowed cross members, adjusted horizontal or leveling in areas where the posts had heaved and placed all new screws where the cross members meet the posts.
Category
fencing
Barry J.
5.0
10/11/2011
Called and returned call within hours. Came out next day on time, and did repairs as expected. Did a very nice job. Came back to handle further damage within a couple of days. All in all a very good experience.
Description of Work
Repaired two plus sections of wooden fence. Replaced two poles.
Category
fencing
Michelle H.
1.0
08/04/2011
see above
Description of Work
They were suppose to give me an estimate on Monday August 1st at 10am. Never called, never showed up! Very unprofessional.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

An estimate was scheduled for AM Aug. ST and we dropped the ball. The customer should have been called; no excuse. The customer DID however present herself as a "referral from the owner's-ex-wife's-sister" and not as an "Angie's List Consumer". Though we make an effort to treat everyone with the same amount of respect and integrity, Angie's List customers undoubtedly receive our utmost attention and customer care. Had this customer, member, presented herself as a potential customer whom was referred to FIX-A-FENCE by: Angie's List, Google, Fixafenceonline.com, or anyone other than the "owner's-estranged wife's-sister" her probability of receiving an estimate would have skyrocketed. That being said, we are ashamed of the poor report and "F" rating. It does not reflect the superb customer service that FIX-A-FENCE patrons have come to know - and love. We would like to apologize specifically to the member and though we may not be interested in completing this individual fence project, we are more than happy to refer you to another local and accredited company.
DIANE V.
3.0
08/03/2011
Didn't get estimate
Description of Work
Called and left a phone mail. I was looking to either fix or replace a fence. Two days later they called back and appoligized for taking two days to get back to me. He said he didn't normally come out to Wickliffe since they had been so busy this summer but they had a job near by the next week and would have someone come by and give me a quote. He said they would call me the day before they came. Never got a phone call and never got an estimate.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

Several phone calls were exchanged. The customer understood that we only Restore and Install select fences in her vicinity (normally only those referred to us by Angie's List or past customers). We did have a commercial project scheduled within 25mi. of the member's home, however, the project was restructured and the fence now scheduled to be installed in November. From May-Sept. it is not in the best interests of this company to use our limited time, resources, and manpower to travel great distances for "potential" customers. We complete many projects all over Ohio, PA, and MI but it is impossible to provide a "FREE ESTIMATE" when the cost to complete it exceeds $100.00. Our standard procedure to combat this dilemma is to complete the estimate via e-mail. It requires that the potential customer have either a digital camera and e-mail or a phone capable of transmitting images. It is with this standard operating procedure that we are able to successfully provide our customers with Free and Instant Feedback. Free, individual and in-person consultations - while desirable - are not always achievable.
MELVYN G.
1.0
04/22/2011
They never returned my call.
Description of Work
I called for an estimate.
Category
fencing

Service Provider Response

The member did indeed receive feedback including an e-mail message that explained how we were not currently serving her area.
Chaz B.
5.0
10/07/2010
Job was never started read above
Description of Work
FIX-a Fence gave me an estimate and were very fair . After checking entire fence, they suggesred I do nothing about repair because fence is in very poor condition. If and when I decide to replace fence, I definitely will call this company. Joaane Berman
Category
fencing
vince P.
5.0
09/30/2010
The whole job went great. John from FIX-A-FENCE came over and gave me an estimate within 24 hours of my job. He gave me a fairly high price, but I felt more comfortable with the knowledge he demonstrated to me about building a fence and the Lock-a-Post method. He explained it to me in a way that made sense. He even gave a list of questions to ask another fence company while they were doing their estimate. Needless to say the other fence company was not prepared for this and stumbled on a few questions. I decided to go with Fix-A-Fence after that. He started work early and John was a very nice young man who was nothing but courteous and helpful; he even helped me move some unrelated items in my yard for me. He did the job in about two days with one other worker. The first day they tore down the fence, removed the posts, and made the new holes for them. On the second day, they put up the posts and the new fence. It went smoothly and they didn't even tear up my yard!! I have nothing but good things to say about this company and will use them for any future fencing needs.
Description of Work
My old fence was falling apart; FIX-A-FENCE came in and replaced my old fence with a new wooden privacy fence.
Category
fencing
MARC L.
5.0
09/15/2010
John came out for an estimate and was very nice. He explained what he was going to do and will call me with an estimate possibly by tomorrow. He even suggested we meet my back neighbor to ask her about working on her property if necessary.
Description of Work
Estimate for putting a fence in my backyard as well as a retaining wall and clearing the area of trees and bushes.
Category
fencing
Joyce C.
5.0
07/20/2010
They were very personable and detail oriented. I felt very comfortable with his approach, he had some unique solutions to my particular needs. They could come up with their own way of making sure posts don't sag. I was real impressed, I just haven't made a decision on what I am going to do with the gate. I was very, very impressed with the owner, the estimate and explanations he gave me. It was very good.
Description of Work
Fix-A-Fence gave me an estimate.
Category
fencing
Chris M.
5.0
05/31/2010
Exceptional product and service delivered as promised!... John (Owner), extremely knowledgeable in the arena of fence installation. John's willingness and ability to address all questions and concerns, while providing his professional recommendation, provided a comfort level that I had not experienced with any other company representative. Immediately following approval of the job quote, an installation and completion date were communicated along with one final review of the proposed fence installation. John's team was professional, courteous, maintaining a clean and organized worksite throughout the entire process. The job was completed on time, with the end product exceeded my expectation. The fence looked phenomenal. I would highly recommend that Fix-A-Fence is considered for any fencing need.... Best Chris M.
Description of Work
Installation of a custom decretive wood fence.
Category
fencing
KELLI H.
5.0
03/21/2010
My husband and I recently moved into a fairly prestigious area. We wanted a fence for ease of mind when our children and dogs play in the yard. Our budget for the fence was $5000.00. We set out by calling seven different local Fence Contractors, FIX-A-FENCE was the first to respond to our request for an estimate, and the third company to come to our home. John's (the owner) age threw us at first, he can't be thirty, he was much younger than the other men whom we'd already seen. However, he was the BEST at explaining exactly what and how things needed to be done. He was suprisingly professional and quite easy to talk to in comparison to the "salesmen" from the other companies. When the estimates for what we wanted came back at double our budget, (P.S. only 5 of 7 companies contacted returned our calls. Of those only 4 of 5 ACTUALLY SHOWED UP!) John was full of ideas to help us find our solution. In turn, he was able to develop a plan that we LOVE and was $250.00 UNDER our budget. We were extatic, but it didn't end there. The FIX-A-FENCE installers were a pleasure to have on our property. They worked so efficiently that the fence was up in half the time that I expected. Not only that, but they took time to stop and answer my silly questions AND catered to EXACTLY my husband's "vision" for the finished product. Not to mention they were histarical gentlemen, both were older than John, whom stopped in to check progress daily. Now that our fence is in, bills are paid, and we have had a week to reflect; I have to say that we could not be any Happier! John and the rest of his FIX-A-FENCE crew made this expierence fantastic. My husband and I agree that they were the best Contractors we have EVER used PERIOD. We plan on recommending them to all of our friends and family. KNOWING WHAT I KNOW NOW, WE WOULD HAVE SPENT EXTRA TO USE THESE GUYS.
Description of Work
Scheduled Estimate, Preformed Estimate, Drew Contract, Pulled Permit, Brush Removal, Fence Installation, Hauled Debris, Great Follow-up and Customer Service
Category
fencing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Josh the Window Cleaner

    We are Northeast Ohio's premier window cleaning and power washing company! Our trained technicians are expertly trained to provide top customer service and communicate efficiently. We also have your health in mind by wearing masks at all times.  

    Angi Certified

    Solid Rock Home Services

    Get Your Honey Do List Done  

    Angi Certified

    Northcoast Painting And Pressure Washing

    Established in 2000 & a 6x Super Service Award winner, we specialize in residential & commercial interior/exterior painting & pressure washing, but also do many other home services. We are fully insured, carry workmans compensation coverage, and only hire professional painters that have at least 10 years of experience. Our quality, experience, and affordability is what sets our company apart from the competition. Not only can we provide painting and pressure washing services, we also can provide staining, faux finishes, drywall repair, wall paper removal, radiant barrier coatings, and much more! Check out our 'services offered' section below for a full list of services. We pride ourselves on our workmanship and the customer service we provide. We have won the Super Service award in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2017, with no plans of stopping in the future. Give us a call for all our home project needs today!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    FIX-A-FENCE is unique because we offer you options no other fence company will. POSTS - Rotted, Rusted, Heaving, Loose, Cracked, Snapped, or Leaning? We Fix It! SECTIONS/RAILS - Wood, Chain-link, Aluminum, Steel, Iron, Vinyl, etc.? We Fix It! GATES - Won't latch? Drag the Ground? Broken hinges? Malfunctioning in any way? We will fix them too! Need a new fence? FIX-A-FENCE will surpass your expectations by installing the finest fence available!

    Services Not Offered

    ...back rubs...

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Fix-A-Fence

    How is Fix-A-Fence overall rated?

    Fix-A-Fence is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Fix-A-Fence open?

    Fix-A-Fence is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 PM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Fix-A-Fence provide

    Fix-A-Fence accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal

    Does Fix-A-Fence offer free estimates?

    Yes, Fix-A-Fence offers free project estimates.

    Does Fix-A-Fence offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Fix-A-Fence offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Fix-A-Fence offer a senior discount?

    No, Fix-A-Fence does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Fix-A-Fence offer emergency services?

    Yes, Fix-A-Fence offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Fix-A-Fence?

    No, Fix-A-Fence does not offer warranties.

    What services does Fix-A-Fence offer?

    Fix-A-Fence offers the following services: FIX-A-FENCE is unique because we offer you options no other fence company will. POSTS - Rotted, Rusted, Heaving, Loose, Cracked, Snapped, or Leaning? We Fix It! SECTIONS/RAILS - Wood, Chain-link, Aluminum, Steel, Iron, Vinyl, etc.? We Fix It! GATES - Won't latch? Drag the Ground? Broken hinges? Malfunctioning in any way? We will fix them too! Need a new fence? FIX-A-FENCE will surpass your expectations by installing the finest fence available!

    Are there any services Fix-A-Fence does not offer?

    ...back rubs...