Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Environmental Doctor

Founded 1989 • With Angi since March 2008

Additional contact name - Brenden J Gitzinger. Additional DBA - Indoor Environmental Specialists Inc.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(59) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 59 reviews
Frantz G.
5.0
02/01/2022
I spoke to Brianna and she knew exactly what I was looking for. She informed me that her company can do an Assessment of where the cigarette smoke is coming from but they would not necessarily do more than that. She instead, referred us to the right company (EnergyWIze) which just does that. We were very please with the inspection and the report EnergyWize generated for us. I had called many HVAC companies but none of them was able to come close to providing a solution to what we needed. I am grateful that Brianna was honest and did not want to take our money for nothing. Thanks to Environmental Dr. for their referral and honesty.
Description of Work
Cigarette smoke infiltration inspection & report between 2 condos unit
Category
radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]!
Aaron B.
5.0
07/23/2018
Enviro Dr listen to my ideas/concerns and accounted for them in the proposal. Competitive price. Called when they were on their way. Very responsive to phone calls and emails. What more could you ask for.
Description of Work
Radon Mitigation
Category
radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much [Member Name Removed]! We really appreciate your positive feedback and vote of confidence. We look forward to next time! Best wishes, Brenden Gitzinger, President
Michael K.
5.0
10/21/2017
Very well done. The process and pricing was explained by the estimator before any work was done. System was installed in less than 4 hours by technician on rear of house into corner of basement. Tested close to zero in basement afterwards, any readings likely due to drafts in basement from outside. Very competitive price. 5 months later still operating smoothly. This is the second house I have had a system installed in by this company. I would use them again.
Description of Work
Sub Slab Depressurization System for Radon Mitigation
Category
radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate this feedback and will do what we can to continue to offer high quality service including a full time office staff, highly trained technicians, professionalism and expert advice at affordable prices.
Jerry C.
5.0
02/27/2017
Excellent. I highly recommend Environmental Doctor!
Description of Work
New HVAC System and Duct Cleaning.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for your review! We appreciate your business and will continue to do whatever we can to help, Brenden
Jo W.
5.0
12/02/2016
Anthony & Danny on time, very professional & friendly. Highly recommend.
Description of Work
Cleaned air system, registers, grills blower compartment. Treats/EPA approved antimicrobial. Fog entire house w/ clear EPA reg. Antimicrobial solution (OZONE).
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review [Member Name Removed]! We appreciate your business and will help you however we can, Brenden
Miachel L.
5.0
05/18/2016
Great! On time, neat, clean install. Delivered as promised!
Description of Work
Installed a radon mitigation system.
Category
radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]for your review! Please let us know how else we may be able to help, Brenden
Daniel W.
5.0
04/18/2016
Extremely responsive, efficient, and professional. Very quick response to my phone call. Explained all the details of the process for radon mitigation. They came out within a day or two to provide an estimate, and they were able to perform the service that week. I highly recommend them for radon mitigation. ?On future houses in need of mitigation, I will definitely be using them again.
Description of Work
Radon Mitigation.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much [Member Name Removed]! We really appreciate your positive feedback and vote of confidence. We look forward to next time! Best wishes, Brenden Gitzinger, President
Richard K.
5.0
04/09/2016
Very, very well. The job could not have been done more efficiently and professionally by workmen who were nice/polite and took meticulous care to clean up after themselves on a daily basis. The work was done in April of 2013, on a date that happened to have record low temperatures. The company thus provided space heaters to keep us warm until the new furnace was operational.
Description of Work
Removed old furnace and ductwork from our 106 year old house. Replaced ductwork in basement. Installed Carrier heating and air-conditioning system. Installed Mitsubishi Mr. Slim mini-split heat pump system for the 2nd floor of the house, which had never had heating before. Added an air register to main level bathroom.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks again [Member Name Removed] You are a valued client and we really appreciate your positive feedback. Please let us know how else we may be able to help you. Best wishes, Brenden
Michael T.
5.0
03/31/2016
No problems at all. All work completed in a professional, timely and courteous manner. Took my radon levels from 21 to 1.1.
Description of Work
Installed a radon mitigation system.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, radon testing

Service Provider Response

Great! Thanks a lot for your feedback [Member Name Removed]. We appreciate your business and we are glad that we were able to achieve such a big reduction in your radon levels. Please let us know how else we may be able to help you with a healthier home environment, Brenden
james E.
1.0
02/06/2016
I bought a house in December 2014.? Had radon test done, and result was over 6.0.? Seller contacted Environmental Doctor for quote, (Brian Warner) and seller proposed to give us the money and we would have the work done when we moved in.? We agreed. I did some research on radon, and called Brian Warner to tell him that I wanted the system to mitigate the radon under 2.0.?? Upon hearing this, Brian got quite irate and started throwing things out at me such as "that is not what I contracted for" and "in Europe they accept radon levels as high as 40", etc.? My research had shown me that the World Health Organization recommends radon levels below 2, and that systems can mitigate levels very low depending on how the installation is done, size of the fan, etc.??Brian's extreme reaction got me very concerned, so I asked him to come out to the house.? When he arrived, he again got rather irate when he "discovered" that we only have half a basement, and the rest is on a crawl space.? Turns out, he had done the quote OVER THE PHONE, WITHOUT EVEN COMING TO THE HOUSE.? Huge, huge red flag. On top of that, he was not willing to stick with his written quote - we would to pay more. Then he absolutely insisted that the only way a system could be installed was to run the piping up the outside of the house.? Have you seen these?? They are an absolute eyesore.? I myself could pick out several places where the piping could be run inside the walls of our house, through the garage, and then up to the roof level.? He would have none of that.? Our real estate agent was with us, and he also shook his head in disbelief at this man's antics.I was left with the distinct impression that he was out to do the quickest, easiest, and cheapest job he could to maximize his profit.?? And I can only wonder how he got a license from the state.We went with Radon-X, and were extremely pleased.? They did everything right.? They came to the house to do an on-site inspection.? They designed a system that would mitigate our crawl space as well as the basement/rest of house.? Their system is inside the house walls, and exits at the correct level on the roof.? Their system cost only a few hundred dollars more. If Environmental Doctor disputes this review with saying "Brian Warner does not work for us anymore" I would not consider that a valid dispute.? Any company that lets their employees behave in a manner that violates Ohio radon licensing is a company that I would not trust.
Description of Work
Provider was supposed to install a radon mitigation system. Due to details you can read in my review below, we wisely chose to go with someone else.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, radon testing, basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback on the free estimate that we provided back in 2014, [Member Name Removed]. We were unaware of this until February 6, 2016 when you submitted your review. We regret that this was not discussed directly when the original estimate was done (now 14 months ago) so that we could address it internally and resolve it with you. We would have been and still are happy to work with you to resolve any concerns. Our office staff is available from 7:30 to 5:30 every week and an emergency number may be used outside of those hours by calling (937) 433-5202. Our attempts to reach out to you by phone, email and by sending a hard copy of our email by regular mail have all gone unreturned for a period of almost two weeks, so we will now proceed with our response here on Angie's List, where we were a Super Service Award Winner for radon work last year (for the year 2015). Yours is the only review of this kind that we have received so it is highly, highly unusual! People have bad days and perhaps that was the situation here. Please contact me directly for a face to face meeting and a tour of our facilities, or at minimum a phone conversation since we did not have any chance to address this following your dissatisfaction with the free estimate that we provided. We would like to have you visit our facility and meet our people, while helping you to better understand our purpose, mission and values. We hope that it would change the way that you think about us as an organization (not one individual) dramatically. It is clear that your experience was not what we as the company ownership and its dedicated associates want or work hard every day to provide. Our mission with radon is to test, fix and save lives - not to cause any frustration during the design or estimating process. For your frustration with us in this case, we apologize, but I can assure you that this is inconsistent with our organization as a whole and we have proven it. Radon is the leading cause of lung cancer in non-smokers at an estimated 28,000 deaths per year. Our backgrounds here include degrees in occupational health, nursing, microbiology and natural resources just to name a few. Our Radon Specialists, who get licensed by taking rigorous training and passing national, proctored exams to answer your question above, have the highest credentials available. We have successfully and reputably served this region for over 27 years, substantially longer than most any other similar company in area. Having said that we also have complete file notes on the free, budgetary estimate portion of your review, which was requested by and given to the realtor at the request of the realtor who was under a severe time constraint. This does not violate anything as you suggested - rather it was done at the request of the realtor to help the realtor get to closing at the realtor's specific request. This is a large portion of your complaint, which contains several, specific and material inaccuracies that we can discuss when you call or visit. We also have in the file the company's firm estimate addressed to you, with design sketch included, which was based on a visit to the site and did meet all protocols for this work prior to having a signed contract. Regarding the professionalism and behavior of the estimator whom you mentioned several times in your review, we are not sure why you mentioned that in the last line but you are correct (that the person is no longer with the company). We cannot speak to any of the individual behavior points because that is out of our control other than to say that those comments in your review did not correspond to the findings of our internal investigation. However again we apologize for what appears to be questionable individual behavior. Our company now consists of over fifteen (15), full-time, indoor environmental professionals and as with most companies, not every single hire is a perfect match made in heaven! We strive to do things the right way and have a great staff of professionals, many degreed and all having strong industry credentials, but we like most people do make mistakes. Again we invite you to visit our facilities, meet our staff and get to know our company. We have been here for 27 years and will be here for 27 more because we care about what we are doing and we are focused on serving the customer. Again, we apologize that your experience with our free estimate was not a good one and we wish that we would have been able to help you to create a healthier home environment. Best wishes for a great 2016 [Member Name Removed]. Give me a call, Brenden (937) 433-5202
Karen L.
5.0
01/29/2016
Jon Fiala was very professional, on time, cleaned up before leaving. Went over what he did.
Description of Work
Installed radon mitigation unit, cleaned HVAC.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, radon testing

Service Provider Response

Great! Thanks [member name removed]. We appreciate your feedback and hope to work with you again, Carolyn
GRETCHEN F.
5.0
01/26/2016
Exceptional service & great price.
Description of Work
Furnace & humidifier annual service.
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you, (removed member name)! We appreciate your continued business and will do whatever we can to help you , Carolyn
Sheila P.
5.0
01/25/2016
We suspected a radon issue in our basement. We called the environmental doctor they promptly came to our home and set up a device to record the radon level. Our level was 17. Very, very high. They worked us in less than 2 weeks, repaired the issue, tested again and all was fine.
Description of Work
Radon testing and mitigation.
Category
radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing us to provide you with our services! We really appreciate your business and the feedback. Carolyn
Adam W.
5.0
10/04/2015
Brad was courteous and punctual with our estimate. The team that installed the system were very thorough and polite. This company was the obvious choice, due to the professionalism and competitive pricing. They fixed our radon levels completely.
Description of Work
Installed radon mitigation system to existing passive system. Sealed all cracks and sealed sump pump lid.
Category
plumbing, radon testing

Service Provider Response

Great! Thanks [member name removed]. We appreciate your feedback and hope to work with you again, Carolyn
Jim R.
1.0
07/22/2015
As part of a mold remediation I hired Env Dr to diagnose my A/c. It was important to me to have the AC working to help control the environment so the mold would not come back. I never got a real diagnosis other than it is broke and it might be a control board issue. I told them I was pretty disappointed with their fairly useless and vague diagnosis. To their credit they did refund the $59 for the diagnostics. Yesterday I paid $29 for a diagnostic test and the HVAC guy found the issue and fixed it in 15 minutes. It was simply a misplaced wire on the thermostat. The HVAC guy said what he did was a pretty basic test. I feel like the Env Dr over promised and under delivered. The main reason I went with them on the mold remediation was because they really sold me on how great their HVAC guys were. I paid a lot of money for the mold remediation and was happy with that but the doctor blew the diagnosis and I feel very let down by that.
Description of Work
A/c diagnosis
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We are sorry to hear this Jim. It is highly unusual for us to have a problem like this, but we are glad that you found the problem and corrected it quickly. It is the least we could do to refund the diagnostic fee. We will investigate this further and discuss in our next full staff meeting in order to try to prevent this from happening in the future. Please contact me directly for further discussion as you feel it may be worthwhile. Best wishes, Environmental Doctor Brenden Gitzinger, President
Laura B.
5.0
06/29/2015
Room looks great! No traces of mold left over, musky smell in the room has been eliminated. The contractors working for the provider were very professional and punctual. I would definitely recommend this company.
Description of Work
The provider did mold remediation in the basement room that houses the sump pump. The provider removed the drywall and insulation from the west side of the room. The other remaining walls were "chased" up to a height of 4 feet. No drywall was replaced as requested. Underlying frames were sanded and treated with anti fungal spray all areas were HEPA vacuumed. 2 Air scrubbers ran for 48 hours in the basement during and after the remediation. The provider also installed a radon mitigation system.
Category
radon testing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [member name removed]! We really appreciate your business and are happy that you are pleased with our work. Please let us know if there is anything else we may be able to help you with. Carolyn
Andrea H.
5.0
06/10/2015
Very well. Only note is that although you get an appointment window, they showed up earlier than the appointment window both times.
Description of Work
Replaced inducer fan
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your business! Carolyn
David C.
5.0
05/28/2015
Very professional and showed up when scheduled and did great work and cleaned up.
Description of Work
Installed a radon system, attic fan and took care of mold issue in attic.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, radon testing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and your review! Please let us know if there is anything else that we can help you with. Carolyn
Edith C.
5.0
05/13/2015
Very well. I thought that the fan of the radon mitigator was broken -- and that would have cost me over $300 to replace. The repair man realized what I had not -- which was that painters had accidentally flipped the switch on the outside and turned it off. He COULD easily have replaced the fan and not told me that the fix was so simple, but he just turned it back on for me. I bought a lock so that this could not happen again -- I also got radon detector which I will use in a few days to make sure that the mitigator is working correctly. He gave me a 5% discount and accepted a $25 coupon from Angie's list for the radon detector. My only complaint was with the company itself. I bought the radon mitigator from Environmental doctor in 2010. In 2012, they did notify me that it should be tested every two years and that it was time. They did not notify me last year.
Description of Work
My radon mitigator was not working, and he came to find out what was wrong.
Category
radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review Ms. (member name removed)! We appreciate your business. We have you on our list for the two year reminders so you should have and should continue to be receiving those in the mail! Best wishes, Brenden
Jeffrey S.
5.0
05/01/2015
Courteous & professional. Cleaned up after completing job. Took pride in work. Very knowledgeable & explained work done.
Description of Work
Radon mitigation. Installation of sub slab depressurization system, one way drain Lexan cover to seal sump opening. Radon post mitigation test monitor - report.
Category
radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [member name removed]! We really appreciate your business and this feedback. Please let us know how else we may be able to help you, Carolyn
Robert H.
5.0
03/31/2015
Very professional I had a sewer pipe broken from someone else construction. My insurance company provided the initial cleanup. They didn't provide remediation for mold or other microbial problems. The back up was on Labor Day weekend and the walls were soaked all weekend til the sewer could be fixed. Environmental Doctor had someone out quickly to assess the problem and took care of it quickly. Everyone I dealt with was very professional.
Description of Work
We had water damage from a sewer backup and need microbial cleanup.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We really appreciate your business and are glad that you are happy with our work. Please keep us in mind for all of your future air and water needs, Carolyn B
Donald O.
5.0
03/24/2015
We chose this company for their GREAT reputation and communication. Scheduled work as quickly as possible, house had a contract on it and work needed to be completed before we could close. Employees were on time and ready to work. I would recommend this company to anyone who needs their services.
Description of Work
Remediated mold in attic of house, also vented the bath exhaust.
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [member name removed]! We really appreciate your business and are glad that you are happy with our work. Please keep us in mind for all of your future air and water needs, Brenden
Janet B.
5.0
03/19/2015
Doug and ?(Can't remember partners name) on time. Explained everything showed me what they found. Enjoyed them talking to me. Makes it less uncomfortable with people in your house. Told me the truth about what products to use.
Description of Work
Air duct cleaning, Acid cleaning and microbian disinfectant spray.
Category
air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed]! We really appreciate your business and your review! Please let us know how else we may be able to help you. Best wishes, Brenden
Edward W.
5.0
01/24/2015
Brian came out and got us a quite right away. Technicians told us when they would be here and were on time, They even came back to get rid of odor. Very nice and we will use them again.
Description of Work
Mold remediation in crawl space, new liner
Category
mold removal
LAURIE M.
5.0
01/15/2015
The technician was on time and very nice. Did a through job. Found an old "scent sheet" and removed it. No more clicking sound! They are here twice a year and are always pleasant and quick. No surprise charges either.
Description of Work
Furnace tune up.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Other Information

Services offered

Repair, replacement and installation of indoor air/water quality products, duct cleaning, heating, air conditioning, radon testing, radon mitigation, mold testing, mold remediation, indoor environmental specialists.

Services not offered

ask for details

Payment options

MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
Visa
Financing Available

FAQ

Environmental Doctor is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Environmental Doctor is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

Environmental Doctor accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available

Ask Environmental Doctor for details on free project estimates.

Yes, Environmental Doctor offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Environmental Doctor does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Environmental Doctor offers emergency services.

Yes, Environmental Doctor offers warranties.

Environmental Doctor offers the following services: Repair, replacement and installation of indoor air/water quality products, duct cleaning, heating, air conditioning, radon testing, radon mitigation, mold testing, mold remediation, indoor environmental specialists.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

AquaProof Inc

Angi Certified

AquaProof Inc

Don't Just Waterproof it, AquaProof It!! With over 35 years experience AquaProof is the leader and authority in repairing all your basement waterproofing, drainage, and structural repair needs. We are fully licensed, insured, and follow all safety requirements that exceed OSHA standards. We have won the Super Service Award on Angie's List from 2006 to 2015! We offer a senior citizen discount of 10% up to $850. AquaProof will customize a solution to fit your specific needs. Job Minimum of $2,000.  

EverDry of Cincinnati is a full service basement waterproofing and foundation repair company. Our patented multi-step system is chosen by the vast majority of out customers.  

To protect your home in Cincinnati, basement waterproofing from Sohan & Sons can provide you with the long-term solutions your home needs to prevent damage. Our services can also improve the overall quality of the space by providing the preparation necessary for remodeling. Our qualified professionals have been providing solutions to the communities of Cincinnati, Dayton, and Northern Kentucky for over 30 years. Trust our contracting team to provide permanent solutions to your full satisfaction.