Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Environmental Doctor

Founded 1989 • With Angi since March 2008

4.7

(58) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Description

Additional contact name - Brenden J Gitzinger. Additional DBA - Indoor Environmental Specialists Inc....

Other local Pros in your area

Everdry Waterproofing of Cincinnati

EverDry of Cincinnati is a full service basement waterproofing and foundation repair company. Our patented multi-step system is chosen by the vast majority of out customers.  

Ohio Basement Authority

Ohio Basement Authority, founded in 2009, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. They currently maintain offices in Cincinnati and Columbus. Ohio Basement Authority is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by Ohio Basement Authority on Angi
Healthy Basement Concepts,LLC

Healthy Basement Concepts, take every water-related disaster very seriously. Our experts are well-aware of the various damages damp and/or moist surfaces can create, and thus, only utilize professional methods and equipment. Our services are available in Greater Cincinnati, OH and the surrounding areas.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by Healthy Basement Concepts,LLC on Angi

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/23/2018

Enviro Dr listen to my ideas/concerns and accounted for them in the proposal. Competitive price. Called when they were on their way. Very responsive to phone calls and emails. What more could you ask for.

Description of Work
Radon Mitigation

Category radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much [Member Name Removed]! We really appreciate your positive feedback and vote of confidence. We look forward to next time! Best wishes, Brenden Gitzinger, President
5.0

10/21/2017

Very well done. The process and pricing was explained by the estimator before any work was done. System was installed in less than 4 hours by technician on rear of house into corner of basement. Tested close to zero in basement afterwards, any readings likely due to drafts in basement from outside. Very competitive price. 5 months later still operating smoothly. This is the second house I have had a system installed in by this company. I would use them again.

Description of Work
Sub Slab Depressurization System for Radon Mitigation

Category radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We appreciate this feedback and will do what we can to continue to offer high quality service including a full time office staff, highly trained technicians, professionalism and expert advice at affordable prices.
5.0

02/27/2017

Excellent. I highly recommend Environmental Doctor!

Description of Work
New HVAC System and Duct Cleaning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for your review! We appreciate your business and will continue to do whatever we can to help, Brenden
5.0

12/02/2016

Anthony & Danny on time, very professional & friendly. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Cleaned air system, registers, grills blower compartment. Treats/EPA approved antimicrobial. Fog entire house w/ clear EPA reg. Antimicrobial solution (OZONE).

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review [Member Name Removed]! We appreciate your business and will help you however we can, Brenden
5.0

05/18/2016

Great! On time, neat, clean install. Delivered as promised!

Description of Work
Installed a radon mitigation system.

Category radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]for your review! Please let us know how else we may be able to help, Brenden
5.0

04/18/2016

Extremely responsive, efficient, and professional. Very quick response to my phone call. Explained all the details of the process for radon mitigation. They came out within a day or two to provide an estimate, and they were able to perform the service that week. I highly recommend them for radon mitigation. ?On future houses in need of mitigation, I will definitely be using them again.

Description of Work
Radon Mitigation.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,radon testing

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much [Member Name Removed]! We really appreciate your positive feedback and vote of confidence. We look forward to next time! Best wishes, Brenden Gitzinger, President
5.0

04/09/2016

Very, very well. The job could not have been done more efficiently and professionally by workmen who were nice/polite and took meticulous care to clean up after themselves on a daily basis. The work was done in April of 2013, on a date that happened to have record low temperatures. The company thus provided space heaters to keep us warm until the new furnace was operational.

Description of Work
Removed old furnace and ductwork from our 106 year old house. Replaced ductwork in basement. Installed Carrier heating and air-conditioning system. Installed Mitsubishi Mr. Slim mini-split heat pump system for the 2nd floor of the house, which had never had heating before. Added an air register to main level bathroom.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks again [Member Name Removed] You are a valued client and we really appreciate your positive feedback. Please let us know how else we may be able to help you. Best wishes, Brenden
5.0

03/31/2016

No problems at all. All work completed in a professional, timely and courteous manner. Took my radon levels from 21 to 1.1.

Description of Work
Installed a radon mitigation system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,radon testing

Service Provider Response

Great! Thanks a lot for your feedback [Member Name Removed]. We appreciate your business and we are glad that we were able to achieve such a big reduction in your radon levels. Please let us know how else we may be able to help you with a healthier home environment, Brenden
1.0

02/06/2016

I bought a house in December 2014.? Had radon test done, and result was over 6.0.? Seller contacted Environmental Doctor for quote, (Brian Warner) and seller proposed to give us the money and we would have the work done when we moved in.? We agreed. I did some research on radon, and called Brian Warner to tell him that I wanted the system to mitigate the radon under 2.0.?? Upon hearing this, Brian got quite irate and started throwing things out at me such as "that is not what I contracted for" and "in Europe they accept radon levels as high as 40", etc.? My research had shown me that the World Health Organization recommends radon levels below 2, and that systems can mitigate levels very low depending on how the installation is done, size of the fan, etc.??Brian's extreme reaction got me very concerned, so I asked him to come out to the house.? When he arrived, he again got rather irate when he "discovered" that we only have half a basement, and the rest is on a crawl space.? Turns out, he had done the quote OVER THE PHONE, WITHOUT EVEN COMING TO THE HOUSE.? Huge, huge red flag. On top of that, he was not willing to stick with his written quote - we would to pay more. Then he absolutely insisted that the only way a system could be installed was to run the piping up the outside of the house.? Have you seen these?? They are an absolute eyesore.? I myself could pick out several places where the piping could be run inside the walls of our house, through the garage, and then up to the roof level.? He would have none of that.? Our real estate agent was with us, and he also shook his head in disbelief at this man's antics.I was left with the distinct impression that he was out to do the quickest, easiest, and cheapest job he could to maximize his profit.?? And I can only wonder how he got a license from the state.We went with Radon-X, and were extremely pleased.? They did everything right.? They came to the house to do an on-site inspection.? They designed a system that would mitigate our crawl space as well as the basement/rest of house.? Their system is inside the house walls, and exits at the correct level on the roof.? Their system cost only a few hundred dollars more. If Environmental Doctor disputes this review with saying "Brian Warner does not work for us anymore" I would not consider that a valid dispute.? Any company that lets their employees behave in a manner that violates Ohio radon licensing is a company that I would not trust.

Description of Work
Provider was supposed to install a radon mitigation system. Due to details you can read in my review below, we wisely chose to go with someone else.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,radon testing,basement waterproofing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback on the free estimate that we provided back in 2014, [Member Name Removed]. We were unaware of this until February 6, 2016 when you submitted your review. We regret that this was not discussed directly when the original estimate was done (now 14 months ago) so that we could address it internally and resolve it with you. We would have been and still are happy to work with you to resolve any concerns. Our office staff is available from 7:30 to 5:30 every week and an emergency number may be used outside of those hours by calling (937) 433-5202. Our attempts to reach out to you by phone, email and by sending a hard copy of our email by regular mail have all gone unreturned for a period of almost two weeks, so we will now proceed with our response here on Angie's List, where we were a Super Service Award Winner for radon work last year (for the year 2015). Yours is the only review of this kind that we have received so it is highly, highly unusual! People have bad days and perhaps that was the situation here. Please contact me directly for a face to face meeting and a tour of our facilities, or at minimum a phone conversation since we did not have any chance to address this following your dissatisfaction with the free estimate that we provided. We would like to have you visit our facility and meet our people, while helping you to better understand our purpose, mission and values. We hope that it would change the way that you think about us as an organization (not one individual) dramatically. It is clear that your experience was not what we as the company ownership and its dedicated associates want or work hard every day to provide. Our mission with radon is to test, fix and save lives - not to cause any frustration during the design or estimating process. For your frustration with us in this case, we apologize, but I can assure you that this is inconsistent with our organization as a whole and we have proven it. Radon is the leading cause of lung cancer in non-smokers at an estimated 28,000 deaths per year. Our backgrounds here include degrees in occupational health, nursing, microbiology and natural resources just to name a few. Our Radon Specialists, who get licensed by taking rigorous training and passing national, proctored exams to answer your question above, have the highest credentials available. We have successfully and reputably served this region for over 27 years, substantially longer than most any other similar company in area. Having said that we also have complete file notes on the free, budgetary estimate portion of your review, which was requested by and given to the realtor at the request of the realtor who was under a severe time constraint. This does not violate anything as you suggested - rather it was done at the request of the realtor to help the realtor get to closing at the realtor's specific request. This is a large portion of your complaint, which contains several, specific and material inaccuracies that we can discuss when you call or visit. We also have in the file the company's firm estimate addressed to you, with design sketch included, which was based on a visit to the site and did meet all protocols for this work prior to having a signed contract. Regarding the professionalism and behavior of the estimator whom you mentioned several times in your review, we are not sure why you mentioned that in the last line but you are correct (that the person is no longer with the company). We cannot speak to any of the individual behavior points because that is out of our control other than to say that those comments in your review did not correspond to the findings of our internal investigation. However again we apologize for what appears to be questionable individual behavior. Our company now consists of over fifteen (15), full-time, indoor environmental professionals and as with most companies, not every single hire is a perfect match made in heaven! We strive to do things the right way and have a great staff of professionals, many degreed and all having strong industry credentials, but we like most people do make mistakes. Again we invite you to visit our facilities, meet our staff and get to know our company. We have been here for 27 years and will be here for 27 more because we care about what we are doing and we are focused on serving the customer. Again, we apologize that your experience with our free estimate was not a good one and we wish that we would have been able to help you to create a healthier home environment. Best wishes for a great 2016 [Member Name Removed]. Give me a call, Brenden (937) 433-5202
5.0

01/29/2016

Jon Fiala was very professional, on time, cleaned up before leaving. Went over what he did.

Description of Work
Installed radon mitigation unit, cleaned HVAC.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,radon testing

Service Provider Response

Great! Thanks [member name removed]. We appreciate your feedback and hope to work with you again, Carolyn

    Services Offered

    Repair, replacement and installation of indoor air/water quality products, duct cleaning, heating, air conditioning, radon testing, radon mitigation, mold testing, mold remediation, indoor environmental specialists.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes