Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Southboro Appliance

Founded 1995 • With Angi since August 2010

Located in Southboro, MA. Southboro Appliance offers professional, and courteous appliance repair services with over 25 years of experience. Our outstanding reputation has come from our dedication to customer service and quality workmanship. Additional email - service@southboroapplianerepair.com. Family owned & operated.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
no
Warranties
yes
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(78) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 78 reviews
Judith B.
1.0
03/17/2021
I have used Jim many times. Long ago, he was responsive. Now he ignores or calls in sick.
Description of Work
Dishwasher washing machine dryer
Category
appliance repair

Service Provider Response

I was hospitalized on 3/11/2021. I did not ignore your call..I was unable to get to you and explained that to you. We texted back and forth. I explained I had another heart attack that required 2 more stents. I have the text messages in which I informed you of that. I chose not to go to your home because of your behavior. I thought it best to end the long friendly relationship we had in response to you treatment of me.
Scott O.
5.0
06/27/2019
I have a GE convection oven. Last January 2019, the lower oven became more and more difficult to light and then it just stopped. I contacted Southborough Appliances through Angie's list shortly afterwards and was able to have Jim Moore come to my house. After analyzing the problem, Jim got right to work replacing the igniter and performing a custom repair on the heat deflector shield, which he advised me to replace. The oven worked again! Five months later, the oven continues to work with the custom fix. I was impressed by Jim's focus as he made the repair and his detailed knowledge of the GE model that I owned, including the design flaw in the heat shield that led to the failure of the igniter. I am planning on contacting him again with a problem I am having with my clothes washer.
Description of Work
Repair GE convection oven that would no longer light.
Category
appliance repair
Julie K.
5.0
01/23/2018
I called Jim because our dishwasher wasn't draining properly. He diagnosed the problem as a broken drain pump. He also noticed that the dishwasher was connected to the cold water! We've lived in the house for 5 months and never knew that but it explained why our dishes never looked clean. After Jim fixed both issues for us, the dishwasher is operating better than it ever has! Thank you, Jim!
Description of Work
dishwasher repair
Category
appliance repair
Phil S.
5.0
09/20/2017
I needed to get someone over asap. I texted Jim in the evening and he responded within an hour scheduling me for the next day. He arrived on time and diagnosed the problem as a bad compressor. He provided me with a pro/con on fixing vs buying a new one. Even better he offered to drop off a spare fridge to help bridge the gap of not having a working one. Great service- would recommend
Description of Work
My fridge wouldn't keep cool.
Category
appliance repair
Christina V.
5.0
08/22/2017
good. Repaired quickly and squeaking noise is gone.
Description of Work
Had my dryer repaired. It needed a new drum roller and belt.
Category
appliance repair
Adrienne N.
5.0
10/10/2016
Jim responded to my email within 15 minutes of sending it. He agreed to come to my house at a time convenient for me. He arrived on time, was very personable and was able to easily diagnose the problem. He stopped the leak and re-installed my dishwasher. The job was done in about 30 minutes. His website had a coupon that I had completely forgotten about. Jim added it my order without being asked. I will definitely call Jim again should I need an appliance repair.
Description of Work
Jim fixed my leaking dishwasher.
Category
appliance repair
Mark S.
5.0
10/23/2015
Jim replied promptly to my text and we set up a time to fix my dryer. He kept me informed of his schedule and arrived on time. He quickly figured out the problem and fixed the dryer and an awkward hose leading to the external vent. He cleaned out the vent and made a repair. He was very tidy and a pleasure to deal with. I would definitely use Jim again.
Description of Work
Jim fixed our dryer. We had a problem with the vent and the thermistor. He resolved all the issues.
Category
appliance repair
Gabrielle G.
5.0
10/09/2015
Jim is very knowledgeable, honest, and does quality work. He has repaired a refrigerator and washing machine in the past. Today he installed a new dishwasher. His prices are very reasonable, and I recommend his service.
Description of Work
Installed a new dishwasher
Category
appliance repair
Scott R.
3.0
07/14/2015
Jim has worked on our GE refrigerator in the past and has been great. My wife setup an appointment well in advance to look at our double oven and microwave. When he never showed up on the day he was supposed to come I gave him a call and got a voicemail. Unfortunately he was out sick and was not working on that day. This is understandable but an advance call would have been nice so I could have gone into the office that day. Also he never called to reschedule. I guess his business is doing well enough that he doesn't need to keep his current customers. Anyway I found a new company to service my appliances.
Description of Work
Contacted to repair my JennAir oven and microwave
Category
appliance repair, small appliance repair
Ronald G.
2.0
06/26/2015
Jim scheduled an appointment for the day following my call. I rushed home to meet him. 40 min before he was scheduled to arrive he called and left a voicemail (I was away from my phone) indicating he had to pick up his wife and would not be able to make the appointment. I called him back and got his voicemail. Left a message asking him to call back if he could come the day after he scheduled the appointment. No call back received. It is understandable that an individual running a business will have an occasional issue that prevents them from keeping scheduled appointments. It's not OK that they don't extend themselves to promptly reschedule. Also in looking more thoroughly at this provider's reviews it becomes apparent that he generally does a great job when he shows up, but that he has a problem with keeping appointments, showing up when scheduled and managing relations with customers. I sincerely hope he gets these under control in the future.
Description of Work
nothing
Category
appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Just to be clear [Removed Member Name]. My wife and small child were broken down on the Mass Pike. I can provide the invoice for the tow. I was not going to leave them stranded on the highway to go a repair an ice maker. I did mention that to you in the voice mail I left. I really felt awful for having to cancel and apologized repeatedly in the voice mail. I also mentioned that I was taking the next day off to meet up with my family for 2 days off, and apologized for the really bad timing. That you would omit these important facts is really disheartening.how is that a fair assessment of our interaction? You called late Wednesday afternoon. We set an appointment and I had every intention of keeping our scheduled appointment for late Thursday afternoon as you were not available until after 3 pm. They were broke down in the Berkshire, an hour and half away. Another point omitted by you. It really was more than "having to pick up my wife" as you put it. I really am sorry this situation caused you so much aggravation. Also, thank you for your concern. 6 negative reviews over hundreds of 5 star reviews i feel shows just how consciensous I am about my reputation and the respect I have for our customers busy lives and schedules.
Camille C.
5.0
05/09/2015
My refrigerator appeared to be going so I called Southboro Appliance. Jim was able to come the same day. He was able to get it running better but advised that my compressor was damaged. He advised that a repair would cost $600 for the part alone and recommended that I buy a new refrigerator. He also replaced a value on my washing machine and got it running good again. He noticed that I had a dryer in the garage that I was planning to get rid of .a He recommended that I replace the cord and I would have a very good dryer. He demonstrated how to replace the cord. He charged me for repair of the washing machine but not the refrigerator. The Total including a $25 Angie's List coupon was $229.
Description of Work
Washing machine repair. looked at dryer and refrigerator.
Category
appliance repair
Hai X.
1.0
12/22/2014
Jim took my call and set up appointment ten days in advance. The night prior to the work he didn't answer my call or email promptly, then late night he returned call saying he's sick and can't make it, we set up another app
Description of Work
Laundry room appliances installation.
Category
appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Really sorry that this is how you chose to characterize the situation. II did indeed have to cancel as I was sick. I desperately tried to get to you the next day but I was still not well. I ultimately learned I had pneumonia. This is really disappointing that you would make it sound as though I just " blew you off " with no explaination. Your emails and phone calls did not go unanswered. I was not well enough to commit to a day and time at that point but I absolutely communicated this to you during business hours. Your emails that were sent at midnight were ultimately responded to the next morning. I assure you my reputation is very important to me.
Dante M.
5.0
11/26/2014
did an excellant job, very polite and clean and knows his business.
Description of Work
Fixed my ice make of fridge
Category
appliance repair
Mary Ann H.
2.0
11/19/2014
I called on 11/07/2014 to get our dishwasher fixed. It was running excessively long - 6-7 hours instead of 2-3. I didn't have the model number available, since I was at work. I called back on 11/09 and left a voice message with the model number. I also e-mailed a picture of the model number tag to their e-mail address. I never got a response back.
Description of Work
I contacted him for dishwasher repair. After the initial contact, he never called back or responded to e-mail.
Category
appliance repair
Glenn J.
5.0
09/08/2014
Nothing says, "Oh, crap!" like waking up in the morning to a freezer full of water. Luckily, I found Southboro Appliance on Angie's List. Jim answered right away and after a few trouble shooting questions, we made an appointment for the afternoon. He was prompt and professional and gave the frig a series of tests to find the problem. Unfortunately, a previous repair had left a sensor vulnerable to water, which shorted out the costly electronic board. Fortunately, Jim had done his research on the make and model during our telephone Q & A session, so he had the necessary replacement parts with him. (As a bonus, he showed me the burnt out board and exactly where the fail was - something a lot of technicians would not bother to explain.) Within an hour or so, the frig was chillin' and so was I. Thanks, Jim!
Description of Work
Evaluated and repaired GE refrigerator
Category
appliance repair
Lynette H.
5.0
08/20/2014
Jim was great. He responded quickly to my phone calls. I described the water leak problem with my LG refrigerator (which many appliance places won't even deal with), and sent him over a couple of photos. He did a preliminary diagnosis, ordered the right valve and hoses, and showed up prepared to fix whatever the problem was. He actually showed up EARLY!!!, was presentable, and a nice guy (my spouse and pups all agree). He fixed the problem handily, and informed me about his 1 year warrantee. I will happily hire him again, the next time a need arises, and will tell all my friends!
Description of Work
Replaced the water dispenser valve in my LG refrigerator
Category
appliance repair
Michael H.
5.0
05/06/2014
Prompt service, very pleasant and professional.
Description of Work
Replaced a lid and actuator control. Had fixed our dryer in the past.
Category
appliance repair
Nancy L.
3.0
04/06/2014
Southboro Appliance appears to be a small, one-man operation. I was aware of that going in and I was expecting better, more personal service as a result. What we got was what I would deem lackadaisical, half-hearted follow through on a job that was obviously low dollar and low margin and very much treated that way. Knowing that we had a small fix required I was hoping going to a small, local provider would be a good match but the overall process played out in a manner that I was expressly trying to avoid. Jim, the owner, certainly knows his stuff and ultimately made an effective diagnosis and fix. I'm sure he has the necessary expertise to deal with most appliance issues homeowner's encounter through the normal course of daily life. Once he identified our job as a relatively small one he made an appointment to come back and fix, he subsequently forgot about that commitment, and then was difficult to track down for a period of 2 weeks before he got back in touch (via text) to confirm he would come by and complete the job. I'm big on the customer service aspect of the experience and was disappointed here and won't be using this vendor again.
Description of Work
Evaluated an issue with the clothes dryer and provided a couple of solutions for remedy.
Category
appliance repair
Andrea F.
5.0
03/07/2014
Our washing machine had stopped spinning. Jim quickly diagnosed the problem and repaired the machine all in one visit, and for a reasonable price.
Description of Work
Washing machine repair.
Category
appliance repair
Roger D.
5.0
10/24/2013
Prompt response to phone messages and on time arrivals. Clearly knew the product and problems. It took two trips as the fill sensor had an intermittent failure that let the new ice maker start the first time. Excellent response for second call.
Description of Work
Replaced ice maker, saddle valve and a sensor.
Category
appliance repair
Alan B.
5.0
09/15/2013
He was running early, so he called to see if that was possible, Work was done effortlessly in 40min, with a one year warranty. He had the parts in the truck and the whole process couldn't have been smoother. Would definitely use again.
Description of Work
Replaced belt and rollers in our Maytage electric dryer
Category
appliance repair
Ronald P.
1.0
08/13/2013
Doest not show up or return calls
Description of Work
never got back to us and never showed up
Category
appliance repair
Christopher L.
5.0
07/19/2013
Jim was very good to work with and he was always on time. He diagnosed the problem with the stove and had to order a part, and assured me that the stove was fine until he could install it (it's been really hot and I haven't been using it that much anyway but his assurance was well taken nonetheless). The part was installed about two weeks after he initially came over and that was fine with me (he took a long July 4th holiday - we all need vacations). When he came to install the stove component, I asked him if he could take a look at the dishwasher door that wasn't opening/closing smoothly and fixed that with no problem.
Description of Work
Jim fixed a problem in which the pilot light was always flickering, even after the burner was lit. He also tweaked the dishwasher door to make it open and close smoothly.
Category
appliance repair
Jim C.
5.0
07/12/2013
I initially had a scheduling problem and Jim worked it out with me. He arrived on time and completed the job in 25 minutes. He knew what part to use and brought it with him. He was very courteous and knowledgeable. Very satisfied.
Description of Work
Replaced ignitor unit in wall oven
Category
appliance repair
CHUCK S.
5.0
07/02/2013
Jim came the next day after we called (before we had to leave for work), and was able to fix it on the spot. He also recommended changing the hoses as they were at least 5 years old and showing signs of cracking. He wasn't pushy about it at all. He had the new ones in his truck, so that was great. And as our washing machine is on the 2nd floor, we felt this was a great suggestion! We will definitely use Jim again, and give him a great recommendation!
Description of Work
Fixed our washing machine
Category
appliance repair

Phone

Address

5 Prentiss St

Southborough, MA 01772

Other Information

Services offered

Refrigerator & appliance repair - refrigerators, freezers, air conditioners, heaters, dishwashers, garbage disposals, washing machine, dryer repair including gas & electric washers, dryers, range oven, cooktop repair including gas & electric ranges, space heaters & parlor heaters.

Payment options

MasterCard
Visa
Check
American Express

FAQ

Southboro Appliance is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Southboro Appliance accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Visa, Check, American Express

No, Southboro Appliance does not offer free project estimates.

No, Southboro Appliance does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Southboro Appliance offers emergency services.

Yes, Southboro Appliance offers warranties.

Southboro Appliance offers the following services: Refrigerator & appliance repair - refrigerators, freezers, air conditioners, heaters, dishwashers, garbage disposals, washing machine, dryer repair including gas & electric washers, dryers, range oven, cooktop repair including gas & electric ranges, space heaters & parlor heaters.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Ken hvac service

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Ken hvac service

We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

Since 1979, we've provided the highest quality plumbing, heating, cooling, electrical and drain services for residential, commercial and property managers in Chelmsford, Westford, Andover, Tewksbury, Billerica and Lexington, to name a few. At MillTown Plumbing, Heating, AC, Drain Cleaning & Electrical, we're a family owned and operated business. We know the value of prompt, professional and reliable services and look forward to serving your needs.  

Coan Inc

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Coan Inc

Coan Heating & Cooling is a team of comfort specialists who deliver advanced solutions for heating, cooling and indoor air quality. Our mission is to improve your year-round comfort, handle all your heating and cooling needs, and save you money through intelligent energy conservation and competitive pricing. Volatile energy prices are a major concern these days, so we offer an integrated approach that limits your costs. The high-efficiency equipment we install helps reduce your energy requirements so you can buy less oil and electricity. Our price protection programs lock out inflation, and our service contracts reduce costs for system maintenance and repair. We also make your life easier by serving as your "one-stop shop" for home comfort. You never need to call anyone else, and we simplify your life with automatic fuel delivery, a budget plan that makes your costs predictable, and service plans that provide exactly the coverage you want for your systems .