Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

American Roof Preservers

Founded 1989 • With Angi since July 2010

American Roof Preservers has been in business since 1989. We have since grown to become the largest roof maintenance and wood preservation company in the Chicagoland area. Through our commitment to providing quality customer service with exceptional workmanship we have developed long-standing relationships with many customers. We pride ourselves on quality. Our employees have had extensive training and experience with roof maintenance and preservation.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(16) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews
michael O.
5.0
07/23/2018
Did a great job
Description of Work
Re coated roof.
Category
roofing
C David L.
5.0
03/05/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
roofing
Eileen B.
5.0
12/22/2015
Very thorough repairs and cleaning of the roof.
Description of Work
Performed roof repairs.
Category
roofing, roof cleaning
Bianca S.
3.0
11/29/2015
The short answer is they completed the job... twice. They sent an unprofessional team of three guys the first time to perform the work on my roof. I called the estimator of my job expressing my concerns about safety and quality of work, and I was told they would do the job right and not to worry. I authorized the opening of up to two additional bundles to complete the job right, and the "B-Team" did not do so. I withheld payment due to the poor job the first team performed. The company was fairly prompt to work with me on my complaints. The "A-Team" came out to assess my concerns. They inspected the work performed by the "B-Team" and judging from their reaction and responses to my concerns and the fact that they took photographs to support my complaints, my complaints validated. A few days later a team arrived to pretty much redo the entire project and clean up after the "B-Team." The crew worked hard to clean and make additional repairs spending another 1.5 days on the roof. I did not inspect the "A-Team's" work and made final payment because I wanted them off my house after the stress of over two weeks dealing with this issue. I finally started looking around recently and found that while the cleaned the brown stain off most gutters visible from ground level, they did not clean the top of the gutter shield. Now when looking out my second floor windows, I can see the brown stain on the top of the gutter guards. If they did clean the brown stain off the top of the gutter guard, then the stain is already washing off my cedar shake roof! I didn't realize when I entered into the contract they spray your house with water from a garden hose during the application of the roof preservation agent in an attempt to keep the stain off of gutter shields, siding, soffits, fascia, doors and windows. It worked for them hit and miss on my house. The liquid preservation agent, once dried, can only be removed from the surfaces with mineral spirits, I guess, because water hasn't worked for me. I have several areas where the stain is on my painted cedar siding. I?ve started painting over it. There is brown stain remaining on the gutter covers, downspouts and elbows as well as the painted wood trim, soffits and fascia boards. It is not everywhere, but it is obvious. I knew I would need to clean my windows after the project. What I didn?t expect is that I will need to scrape them with a razor blade (or use mineral spirits on glass?) to remove the water diluted stain which adhered to the glass on a majority of the windows. Not to be overlooked is that I DID RESEARCH the company on multiple websites including Angie's List. Since the good reviews outweighed the bad, and I liked their product over the other company, I went with American which cost more. I even asked the estimator about the bad reviews prior to accepting the bid. He stated of the thousands of jobs they had done, there were only a few complaints out there. It was stupid for me not to inspect the second crew's work. I honestly think the "B-Team" crew was just a bad combination of workers. Had the "A-Team" been sent to do my job the first time, I honestly feel I would not have had all the problems I did and do. I said I would use the company again because the "A-Team" and the office staff were very responsive to my concerns. If I did use them again, I would provide more supervision or pay an additional fee to have the house tented in plastic, if available. The hosing off with water did not work on a house of painted wood siding and painted wood trim. Finally, I have reviewed over 12 companies on Angie's List and about 75% of those reviews were A-B so I don't post just because my experience is negative.
Description of Work
We hired the company to clean off our cedar shake shingles, replace damaged shakes and seal the roof with a brown roof preservation liquid.
Category
roofing, roof cleaning
Jeanne H.
4.0
11/18/2015
.
Description of Work
.
Category
roofing
Pamela M.
5.0
10/21/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Treated cedar roof and cleaned out gutters
Category
roofing, roof cleaning
Kevin S.
5.0
09/23/2015
.
Description of Work
.
Category
roof cleaning
Stephanie F.
5.0
06/09/2015
Just wanted to tell you that I?m very satisfied with the work you preformed on my cedar roof. Your fast, professional service will give you an edge over any competition. Your a winning team. Good luck and much success.
Description of Work
Finish their job.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the trust and confidence you have placed with us! Let us know if there is anything else you need.
Christina P.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Category
roofing
Craig L.
5.0
06/12/2014
They did a great job and the roof looks great. Our roof was 15 years old and I hope to get another 10 years out of it by doing this. It took 2 or 3 days for them to complete the job.
Description of Work
They repaired and replaced cedar plank shingles that needed it. They cleaned off moss that was growing in various areas on the roof. They then applied a preservative stain to the roof.
Category
roofing, roof cleaning
kevin S.
4.0
06/09/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Roof
Category
roofing
Tim M.
5.0
07/29/2013
Went well. Only wished they had contacted us prior to arrival. Part of problem was we had moved, but they still could have reached us with a different phone number that they had. Work done was fine though.
Description of Work
Applied Preservation materials to our wood shake roof
Category
roofing
Deborah A.
1.0
09/15/2012
Work started a few weeks later. I had inquired if anything needed to be removed from my deck, etc. prior to the start date. Foreman indicated that ONLY the outdoor furniture was in the way and that the workmen would move that. The next thing I knew, two large deck railing planters with long trailing flowers were removed without inquiring or informing me of the necessity to remove them and were broken in the process. While hoses were used in an attempt to prevent the stain from damaging my cedar siding, brick and windows, all had damage to them. Window cleaners had to use razor blades to remove the stain on every window. There were random shakes lying in creases of the roof and a rag was thrown in the trees. My deck furniture was never put back. I called the company, a crew came back to supposedly clean off the siding, brick, etc. When they left I went outside only to see the sloppy effort that was made to remedy the situation. I took pictures of the stain still remaining all over my siding (that had just recently been freshly painted) and mailed the pictures along with the invoice to replace the two deck planters. The siding will now have to be repainted at my cost. The flowers that had grown all summer were destroyed at my cost. I deducted the cost of the window cleaning and the planters minus the flowers and paid the balance. A week later, I was alarmed to see several cedar shakes blowing all over my deck and others stuck in various areas of the roof gutters. I looked from a 3rd floor window to see all the areas where shakes were now missing. Obviously, I could only see a small area from my vantage point and am concerned how much more damage is on the roof in other areas. (The roof area, according to their estimate is 5357 sq.ft). Old, damaged shakes were obviously not replaced and it is apparent how sloppily this job was performed. I also noticed an entire roof line of nails sticking up 1-1/2" out from the shakes. These had never been hammered down (and in fact were in one of the original photos the foreman took when he was estimating the job). Several nails are laying in my roof gutters which will clog the gutters as fall progresses and they become filled with leaves. It appears they were removed and just thrown in the gutters. There appears to have been very little effort to clean up during or after the job was performed. I called and asked to speak to the President, Jeff Krall. He returned my call where I proceeded to explain was a disaster I was looking at on my roof. I have NEVER in the 15 years of living with this shake roof had shakes flying off my roof! I am concerned what a windy rainstorm is going to do to the roof! The only word that consistently came out of his mouth was, "Uh-huh, Uh-huh." Not, "I apologize" nor "how can we remedy this" nor "we will make this right." His attitude sucked. He indicated that someone would come out within a week or so to look over the roof; no date, no time. End of phone call. Of course they already have my check, so what's the rush? I would NEVER use nor recommend this company to ANYONE! They hire young, immature, inadequate employees yet ask upscale, professional prices. I am now paying for a professional roofer to look over this botched job. I cannot risk shakes flying randomly off the roof potentially causing damage to the interior of my home.
Description of Work
Cedar shake roof repair and preservation treatment (brown color) applied. The foreman came out and took several photos of my roof, indicating shakes that needed to be repaired/replaced, protruding nails, gutter cleaning, etc. Gave estimate, I signed contract with a deposit.
Category
roofing
Maida M.
5.0
06/07/2012
They say the restoration adds 5-6 years to the life of the roof, but I'd say it's more like 7. My roof is about 21 years old now and it looks phenomenal after they finished.
Description of Work
They have added so many years of life to my cedar roof. I had used them twice now, the first time 7 years ago. They restored and cleaned my roof and they can also do repairs.
Category
roofing, roof cleaning
DANIEL D.
5.0
11/04/2011
Good job cosidering I have a very large and steep roof. The entire job took about 3 to 4 days to complete with (2) employees. The repairs and the entire shake roof now has a (5) year warranty.
Description of Work
Wood shake repair and replacement, along with a mildew preventative Then the application of a color stain water repellant.
Category
roofing
ROBERT D M.
5.0
04/02/2003
ONE TIME THEY INADVERTENTLY LEFT SOME PLASTIC OVER A WINDOW, TOO HIGH TO REMOVE MYSELF. I CALLED AND THEY RESPONDED RIGHT AWAY.
Description of Work
THEY HAVE TREATED MY SHAKE ROOF EVERY FIVE YEARS - HAVE DONE IT TWICE NOW.
Category
roofing, roof snow removal, roof cleaning

Other local Pros in your area

Dixons Dirt Stoppers

At Dixon's Dirt Stoppers, we believe that you work too hard to worry about a job done right. Let our IICRC certified trained technicians take a weight off your shoulders by restoring your home and maintaining it in optimal condition. Every service comes with our satisfaction guarantee. Offering Carpet Cleaning, Upholstery Cleaning, Natural Stone and Tile Cleaning, and Pressure Washing. We are serving Cook County, Orland Park, Tinley Park, Lagrange, Lagrange Park, Hickory Hills, Palos Hills, Palos Park, Oak Lawn, Western Spring and Hinsdale  

Angi Certified

Rooftech Systems Inc

Rooftech Systems, Inc. is a full service roofing contractor specializing in shingle and flat roofs, modified bitumen, complete tear-offs, roof ventilation, roof maintenance and repairs.  

Angi Certified

S&YPOWERCLEANING

Welcome to S&Y's pressure washing business! We specialize in providing high-quality pressure washing services for commercial and residential properties. We offer a wide range of pressure washing service, including exterior building washing, concrete, pavement, driveway, and more. If you're looking for a reliable and efficient professional pressure washing service, look no further than us. Contact us for a free quote today!  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

6813 Hobson Valley Dr Ste 102

Woodridge, IL 60517

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Pressure Washing

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

American Roof Preservers is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

American Roof Preservers is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

American Roof Preservers accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

Yes, American Roof Preservers offers free project estimates.

Yes, American Roof Preservers offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, American Roof Preservers does not offer warranties.

American Roof Preservers offers the following services: Roof Cleaning, Roofing, Roof Ice & Snow Removal