Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Basement Flood Protector Inc

About

Founded 1974 • With Angi since November 2002

Basement Flood Protector provides basement waterproofing services as well as the best in sump pump and basement flood prevention products. We manufacture and carry the most advanced sump pump and battery backup systems available on the market. For more than 45 years we have served the Chicagoland area with the highest quality service and attention only a smaller company can provide. As a leader in basement waterproofing and seepage prevention services, we treat every basement as if it were our own property – ensuring the highest standards in planning and solutions. Call us today and ask our experts to put together a customized basement waterproofing package that’s specific to YOUR property....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+17 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(132) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

115

4

9

3

4

2

2

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

well & water pump repair (103)basement waterproofing (55)plumbers (24)drain pipe installation (9)excavating (6)foundation repair (5)drain cleaning (1)sewer cleaning (1)water damage restoration (1)
Showing 1-25 of 132 reviews
5.0

04/04/2022


David P.

They were knowledgeable, excellent installation, went above and beyond.

Description of Work
Sump Pump installation

Category water damage restoration

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/04/2022

5.0

08/02/2021


DIANE W.

It's been great. The technician is very experienced and it just took half an hour to finish the job.

Description of Work
They replaced my sump pump.

Category plumbing

Cost $454

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2021

5.0

03/31/2021


Jim C.

The folks at Basement Flood Protector have been fantastic to work with, especially Roger and John. Over the years, we used them for routine sump pump servicing on our exterior drain tile system. Always prompt, honest and fair. A few months ago, we decided to install an interior drain system with a new pump. It was a major job, having to jackhammer up part of the basement floor. Basement Flood Protector did the job efficiently, professionally and exactly as they said it would be. Pictures show before, during and after. I recommend them without hesitation.

Description of Work
Interior drain tile and new sump system.

Category excavators, basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/22/2021

5.0

12/30/2020


Mike W.

After 14 years, I decided my sump pump was living on borrowed time. Called on Tuesday, was quoted over the phone, appointment set for Wed. Roger showed up right on time, and was very efficient. He even explained that I did not need the higher cost unit I had been quoted for as the lower cost unit would still pump at nearly double the capacity of my old pump, so he saved me $100!

Description of Work
Replace sump pump

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $490

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/30/2020

5.0

07/28/2020


Tom W.

They were great. Did what I asked and suggested a better backup than what I thought to give me better piece of mind. I've had no issues. This is the kind of company you have confidence to recommend - which I have and they were also very happy.

Description of Work
Sump and backup

Category basement waterproofing, wells

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2018

5.0

05/07/2020


Helen S.

Basement Flood Protector, Inc. takes great pride in their work! Everything went very well! The Installer - Scott was very professional, friendly, detail oriented, super meticulous, answered all of our questions, explained and described the system thoroughly and insisted on completely cleaning up after the installation.

Description of Work
Replace a Backup Sump Pump System with Battery (reused our existing battery-Scott verified/tested it and informed us that the battery did not need replacing).

Category basement waterproofing, wells

Cost $1,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/06/2020

5.0

09/10/2019


Robert M.

Basement Flood Protector Inc is an outstanding firm, providing excellence of service. When I contacted the company, the process was thoroughly explained, my initial questions were answered, the cost was provided, and the date for the work was scheduled. A follow-up call was made by them to confirm the date, time, and cost. The agent called prior to arrival providing a 30 minute advance notice. The work was completed within the suggested time. Each stage of the process was explained, my questions were answered, and the cleanup was exemplary. All the debris was removed, and the space was left better than before. The agent explained how proper maintenance could help extend the life of the equipment. I am delighted with the service I received and the cost. I would highly recommend this firm to anyone need assitance. They are exceptional.

Description of Work
Plumbing

Category plumbing, basement waterproofing

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/11/2019

5.0

07/25/2019


ajay P.

Roger was extremely professional, reliable and expert in his work

Description of Work
Install sump pump back up system from Wayne

Category wells

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/24/2019

5.0

11/08/2018


Juan M.

John gave a very honest assessment of the situation, which ended with no work ordered on his end, but made me feel great about his approach in general. I really appreciated his honesty and would certainly use/recommend him in the future.

Description of Work
Evaluation for sump discharge solution

Category wells

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2018

5.0

08/27/2018


mark R.

Great service from beginning to end. John was easy to talk to, and did not try to upsell me on a unit I did not need. Installers arrived promptly on day of appointment, worked quickly, cleaned up after themselves, and gave me a thorough walkthrough of the new primary sump pump and battery backup. Would definitely use again!

Description of Work
Sump Pump Installation

Category wells

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and the review. We strive to do our best for our customers. I am glad you had a good experience with us. Thank you for your business.
5.0

07/16/2018


Stewart S.

Things went well. We received an estimate to put drains in window wells. The estimator did not pressure us at all. Since we were about to start another home project, and we did not have a serious water issue, the estimator encouraged us to do our other project first, and stated that his estimate would likely be good for a few years. Seemed very honest.

Description of Work
Asked for estimate to correct seepage in basement.

Category basement waterproofing, drain pipe

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/16/2018

5.0

09/14/2017


DIANE W.

I called them in August and they said usually this time of year is a busy time, but they got me in around the time I needed it. Roger came out. I told him that when they installed the original pump in 2003 that there was an attachment that was part of their sump pump that stuck out of the side of the house. I let him know that a few years ago Hanover Park came out with an ordinance that the pipe cannot be less than 5 feet from the property line and that was pushing it so I had that pipe removed. Roger said that was no problem. He checked everything and said that I did need a new battery. He told me that if we lost power it probably wouldn't give us more than an hour of power so he replaced that. I asked about the pump, he said that it doesn't look bad. I said I was worried that back in 2003 I was told that it had 15 years of life and we were getting close to that. He said that the pump hasn't been constantly running so it wasn't needed yet but that I could decide if i wanted to. I appreciated that he wasn't trying to sell me. Overall, everything was done well and quickly. It went smoothly from scheduling the appointment to the end of the service. Roger was very pleasant during the whole experience, he came on time.

Description of Work
They originally installed my sump pump and back up battery back in 2003. In June of this year, they sent me a notice that the battery was getting to the end of its life and needed to be replaced. I wasnt able to do it at the time, but since Fall season is upon us and is usually rainy, I figured I shouldn't put this off any longer.

Category plumbing

Cost $310

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/08/2017

5.0

09/04/2017


Brian V.

Went well - technician arrived on time and worked quickly.

Description of Work
Backup sump pump battery replacement

Category wells

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/21/2017

5.0

07/16/2017


sherry C.

We just moved into a new (older) home in Hawthorn woods from the DC suburbs area in Virginia. My husband was out of town at the time and we were unaware/uneducated about sump pumps and lights on the already installed system. The alarm switch was off for some odd reason but the device had lit up and it was making a weird noise. I called the company on the box (Basement Flood Protector) and I left a message. Quickly, I received a return call and an appointment was readily made same day (despite this massive storm). The plumber was very professional and he determined we needed a new battery and sump. We were very lucky our basement didn't flood. Had they not been prompt, I'm sure it would have as the system was failing. The work occurred over 2 days. A very reasonable price was offered by Danny. He even took extra time to call and try to work with our home warranty for coverage. The plumber also took extra time try to trouble shoot on the current pump. He even investigated outside draining and made suggestions. He noted that the drain was not properly sized and it was most likely cogged by tree roots, etc. He also took the time explain the devices and how they work. Danny even thanked us for our time as a Marine Corp family and my husband's 20 years of service. Thank you and Semper Fi!

Description of Work
Sump pump emergency to prevent a flood. This occurred after a huge storm that came in 5 rounds, including over 5 inches of rain, thunder, lightening and hail!

Category basement waterproofing, wells

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/12/2017

5.0

07/14/2017


Troy R.

Basement Flood Protector was fantastic. I reached out to 10 companies trying to get a free estimate within a couple days because my sump pump's back-up battery was no longer taking a charge, heavy rain was in the forecast (5 inches in 24 hrs) and I was scheduled to travel for 2 weeks. I spoke with John, and he went out of his way to educate me on sump pumps without a hard sales pitch or badmouthing the competition. He also found a worker to come out same day and install a new high quality sump pump at a very reasonable price. 2 other companies pushed higher priced pumps with unneeded bells and whistles. I do my research and recommend Basement Flood Protector.

Description of Work
Sump pump maintenance (dead back-up battery)

Category wells

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2017

5.0

06/02/2017


Mark V.

Great job, no more leaking. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Repair leaking crack in basement wall.

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you
5.0

02/06/2017


Paul M.

Excellent work. On time, on budget. Great communication throughout the process, would hire again

Description of Work
Remove old sump pump and old check valve Install 2 two sump pumps, 2 new silent check valves Remove old battery backup batteries, install new and test with system

Category wells

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2017

Images

Review for Basement Flood Protector Inc - 100 Oakwood Rd, Lake Zurich, IL - 34423753
5.0

12/10/2016


Roger K.

Worked well with John (experienced & professional) on design, modifications, costs, permits. Design was complex with a number of obstacles and constraints. They also manufacture their own state-of-the-art sump pumps. They also followed up on a needed modification outdoors which took a couple of hours, materials at their own expense. The foreman, Steve, is one of the most amiable persons you'll ever meet & very experienced (his unique solution with drainage was right on), and works with a competent crew like Alex. They also recommended other solutions including gutters & landscaping--and worked with your own preferences.

Description of Work
Window well modifications & engineering, tap into existing interior drain tiles. Several window well replacements with drain and tie into existing interior drain tiles. Concrete work. Extensive outdoor piping drainage in tight area with tree & root obstructions. New sump pump & backup sump pump. Definitely a challenge requiring professionalism and within budget.

Category basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2015

5.0

08/03/2016


Robert A H.

From the estimator/salesman to the office staff to the crew who showed up to do the work, we had an excellent experience with BFP, Inc. I'm pretty sure the guys who did the installation left our basement in better condition than they found it, and I'm not just talking about the work they were hired to do. After the big mess was made during installation, they cleaned up the basement and yard incredibly well. And they even fixed a questionable door hinge because they were concerned about the door dragging on the new concrete. Steve and the rest of the crew are to be commended for their great work and friendly demeanor. They worked their tails off, and it was sincerely appreciated. The trench was clean and straight, the piping was installed with proper slope, stone, and cleanout, and the finished concrete looks amazing. The concrete isn't even fully cured as I write this, but I wanted to make sure to highlight the work that was done. Here's hoping we don't have a major flood test of the pump and assembly, but from what I've seen it should work just fine for a very long time. Perhaps I'll post a follow up review after a huge rainstorm or something...

Description of Work
Interior perimeter drain tile, cove base, and complete sump pump installation in basement.

Category basement waterproofing, wells

Cost $6,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/03/2016

3.0

08/08/2015


Jennifer C.

We had a flood after massive rains in April 2013. We had Basement Flood Protector come out to assess our sump pump system and drainage system. The plan was to address our issues in 2 stages- first replacing our sump pumps in our 2 pits with even stronger pumps and 2 extra large/deep pits, then re-doing the drainage in our yard. We had to get in line to get the work done, but he sump pumps/pits were done in late July 2013 and they did an excellent job. We were very pleased with their work and the pumps/pits have been functioning well. However, since that time my husband repeatedly called to have someone come back to fix our back yard sump discharge area (which is only 2 feet from the house!) and has been unable to get any response from the company. He called several times in 2013, then again in 2014. At one point he was told it had been awhile and someone would stop by to refresh their memory about the drainage and get back to him. At another point he was told they would put us on a list and call back in the spring. Since then.. nothing. No answer to multiple messages in 2013, 2014. (John Burns was his contact person). It is disappointing as the initial work was excellent and everything went smoothly and we paid our bill right on time. However we feel like the issue that led our flooding still hasn't been completely addressed and that the company just dropped us once the most expensive part of the project had been done. (scores for price, quality, and punctuality reflect the actual work done, for overall, responsiveness, and professionalism- our overall experience with the company based on above comments)

Description of Work
Provided estimates for replacing our 2 sump pits with deeper pits and putting 2 pumps into each pit. Provided estimates to re-do the sump discharge drainage outside the home. They did the work on the sump pits/pumps but have never responded to attempts to schedule the drainage work.

Category excavators, plumbing, basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe

Cost $4,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2013

Service Provider Response

Hi, My name is John and I am the Operations Manager. I apologize that you had issues trying to get through to our office. I do know that in late 2013 we were having issues with our voicemail system and lost a lot of business because it had been deleting messages. Once we were aware this was happening it was resolved. My records indicate that John Burns did receive your information from our office in September of 2014. I spoke with him and he remembers your husband and giving him a quote for the drainage issue. John Burns also mentioned that you have his direct number and he does not remember receiving any calls from you after the original job in 2013 and prior to when he visited you in September 2014. If you have any other questions for me, please contact me. We try to handle everyone who contacts our office with the utmost care and efficiency. Thank you,
5.0

07/26/2015


Sarah D.

I can't say enough good things about this company! Amazingly prompt service. Technician was knowledgable and patient - willing to answer lots of questions. Installation was professional and well done. Willing to send technician out again in a few weeks when we had additional questions and unrelated water issue. Very highly recommended!

Description of Work
Replaced sump pump and installed battery backups on two pumps

Category plumbing, basement waterproofing, wells

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/29/2015

Service Provider Response

We will pass along your comments to our technician. We strive to do our best for the customer. Thank you.
5.0

07/22/2015


peter G.

installer was prompt. He installed the pump immediately. He was patient while I asked some basic questions and he answered them so a novice like me could understand. He took the old pump away and cleaned up the area. Was extremely satisfied with the job. Will use them again.

Description of Work
install new sump pump with check valve

Category wells

Cost $423

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/20/2015

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your continued trust in us and on going business with us. It is greatly appreciated.
5.0

04/20/2015


Lily R.

Everything went well. From the outside of the house you can't tell they were ever here. The windows look great. The only thing is the inside of the house, they had to cut into the drywall when they made the windows bigger. They do not do drywall repair, they also did not provide any referrals and I am having trouble getting a contractor who is available to fix this. Other than this, the work they do is superb. I had a bathroom contractor over who asked for their information because he said he had never seen such beautiful work and he knew of a client who could use the information because she had used a different company and it was a disaster for her.

Description of Work
Enlarged 2 basement windows to make escape windows and installed covers. Removed 2 other windows and filled them in.

Category wells