MILLER FARMS NURSERY

Founded 1963 • With Angi since August 2010

A family run business with an average of 45 employees. We have a Retail Nursery and Power Shop. We also have a landscaping and construction division.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

3.9

(8) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews
Harlan L.
4.0
06/25/2015
unknown
Category
greenhouses
M G.
3.0
05/11/2015
It took quite a while to get a response from them and I had to make multiple phone calls. I was persistent as I had used their landscaping services in the past and was satisfied with the result. We drew diagrams walked the grounds twice with the owner and was assured the job would be finished the same week they started. On the surface the work looks good, but they put a drop inlet for drainage right in the middle of a walk path, they moved a swale laterally three feet thus requiring our shed to be put on cinder blocks, they only partially graded a slope, and they took apart an intricately laced rock wall. I guess I wouldn't be so incredibly frustrated if they had just owned up to the mistakes and apologized. But they denied they took the wall apart and boldly told me we were confused about the original placement of the wall "it looks different when grass is next to it". In fact my husband hand selected the rock and intricately laced each one precisely. He spent many countless hours doing so. I was told we told them to put the drain in the middle of the walkway and the swale was moved because of machinery width. There are other defects also but I'm exhausted just writing about this experience. In the end they came back twice and finished to their expectations and it only took three weeks..... They used to be terrific. They had pride in their work and customer satisfaction was very important. I have always bought most of my plants and gardening supplies from them. This division is always spot on. But as a result of the frustration of this project I will have to change my loyalty to Piersons. To think all of this could have been resolved with accepting responsibility and a a simple sorry......
Description of Work
Grading, base rock installation, irrigation, sod.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems, greenhouses
Shannon H.
3.0
10/14/2014
dont know, they never called back
Description of Work
doesnt respond to voice messages
Category
greenhouses
Vickie S.
4.0
10/08/2014
unknown
Category
greenhouses
Mark R.
5.0
06/04/2014
They are always great for advice, including the machine shop
Description of Work
Bought lime for my soil
Category
greenhouses
rose P.
1.0
12/10/2013
no response
Description of Work
left several messages, never received any call backs. nor answered any e-mails
Category
lawn service, greenhouses
Robin G.
4.0
07/22/2013
Although the walkways turned out very well, we were disappointed because the job was not initially finished as promised. However, once we contacted Miller's about what was left undone, they responded promptly and wrapped up the job. I'll start with the positives: 1) The walkways were done very well and look nice. 2) The crew who poured the cement worked hard and was quiet and efficient. And now what didn't go so well: 1) We got the estimate in early April. We had to call a few times to schedule the work. Our first message or two was not returned. 2) The crew didn't show up at all on the day we were told work would begin. Instead of Miller's contacting us regarding the delay, we had to call and were told the crew had to finish another job. Our project was rescheduled to the next week. 3) When the crew showed up the following week, the first two guys had no idea what they were there for. They asked me if they should start shoveling the rock perimeter in the front yard. I had to explain our project involved only the back yard and showed them a diagram and instructions my husband fortunately left, just in case. The crew leader appeared to know more but it wasn't clear how much instruction had been given about what our project entailed. 4) The workers asked me where to put the ornamental rock they moved to pour the sidewalk. I asked them if they planned to put the rock back once the forms were removed and they said yes. I then suggested putting the pile near the walkway so it'd be easier to put back when they were done. They left without putting the rock back. My husband had to shovel the rock instead. 5) They also left without reinforcing the fence posts. We had to contact Miller's and ask that the work be completed. Okay, now for the rest of the story (another positive!): The owner followed-up with us immediately after receiving our complaint by e-mail. He apologized profusely and graciously offered to have the workers return and complete the job at no additional cost. The two workers who showed up to reinforce our fence posts were punctual, knew exactly what needed to be done and had the job finished in 20 minutes. If I was asked to provide advice to the merchant, I'd say their communication with staff and customers before, during and after projects needs work. There should be a confirmation call to the customer to make sure details are set and expectations outlined before the work begins. If a crew can't show up on the day a project is to begin, contact the customer to say so and offer an alternative. Finally, I'd suggest a follow-up e-mail survey, inquiring about the quality of work, whether the job was finished to the customer's satisfaction, allow for comments, etc. There are several internet survey sites that can easily be set up to perform such an inquiry.
Description of Work
The estimate was provided for pouring concrete walkways along one side of our house and along the back to an existing pad. It also included reinforcing three fence posts in the back yard. The provider installed the walkways as requested. The fence posts were not reinforced and the ornamental rock was not put back in place as stated by the workers.
Category
hardscaping
Chris J C.
5.0
07/17/2012
They did a beautiful job. I'm thinking about having them come again to do my backyard. They are wonderful. The clean up was great and they were fantastic overall. Their price is very reasonable.
Description of Work
I used Miller Farms Nursery to put in a new lawn.
Category
lawn service, greenhouses

Phone

Address

PO Box 2145

McKinleyville, CA 95519

Other Information

Services offered

A Full service landscaping construction and contracting. Full retail nursery and power equipment sales.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

MILLER FARMS NURSERY is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

MILLER FARMS NURSERY is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

MILLER FARMS NURSERY accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, MILLER FARMS NURSERY offers free project estimates.

Yes, MILLER FARMS NURSERY offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, MILLER FARMS NURSERY offers emergency services.

No, MILLER FARMS NURSERY does not offer warranties.

MILLER FARMS NURSERY offers the following services: A Full service landscaping construction and contracting. Full retail nursery and power equipment sales.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in Fencing services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!