Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

King Electric

4.8

(151) Verified Reviews

Founded 1981 • With Angi since March 2005

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask
Phone Wiring
Licensed
Trade License Number
PA034483
Trade License Locale
Pennsylvania
Trade License Authority
Pennsylvania: Home Improvement Contractors
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
Closed

Phone Number

Address

5300 Perrysville Rd

Pittsburgh, PA 15229

http://kingelectricservice.com
COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

King Electric's mission is to provide the best client care and service through education, training and integrity. We pledge to educate our clients so that they are able to be safer and more aware. We strive to have integrity through straight forwardness & our 100% satisfaction guarantee. Additional phones - (412) 561-7888, (412) 683-9949, (412) 921-3903, (724) 776-7390. Award winning. Additional email - info@kingelectricservice.com. Additional contact name - Norman Anthony King....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(151) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

129

4

7

3

4

2

6

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

electrician (149)lighting (31)ceiling fan installation (17)lamp repair (1)
Showing 1-25 of 151 reviews
5.0

07/26/2020


James W.

Anna was outstanding. She was upfront about the possible price increases/decreases. Further, she offered options for maintenance on outside outlets that I had not considered, but made a huge amount of sense. This was NOT bait and switch by any means, but the presentation of better, and in the long run more cost-efficient, options. Further, she was careful about mess and debris, as well as wearing a mask and social distancing in my home. I would certainly engage King Electric, and Anna, the next time I need electrical work done.

Description of Work
Diagnosis and repair of CFI circuit.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2020

1.0

06/18/2020


Gloria V.

Technician unable to identify problem. Promised a quote to rewire entire basement. Never received. Paid 150$ for no advice whatsoever. New electrician identified and corrected for 20$.

Description of Work
No lights in basement

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $150

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2020

5.0

08/05/2019


John C.

King was able to respond and solve the problem quickly.

Description of Work
Faulty Electrical Outlet

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2019

5.0

03/19/2019


Eric G.

I had a variety of issues that I called King about. They came out promptly and assessed each issue thoroughly and explained the options available. I was very pleased with the quote and the work was extremely efficient and done well. Overall I am very happy with this service.

Description of Work
wiring repair;installation of outdoor lighting/post; transformer replacement;doorbell

Category electrician,lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/18/2019

5.0

01/22/2019


Ann B.

On a co-workers' recommendation, we called King to come do some work on the spot and to quote us for further work updating the late 1970s house we bought with safer outlets and modern lighting. Two workers - one a woman, to my delight - arrived promptly as scheduled this morning, and quickly, efficiently, and clearly walked through today's planned work and outlining the work we want done in the future. Both worked swiftly to complete GFI installation on the spot, and explained their process for future work. Today's job was contracted on the spot and completed and paid; upcoming work will be quoted in pieces so we can select or modify the work we wish to have done. I'm very pleased and impressed with the quality and professionalism of the workers and their work and look forward to working with them again. It's good to work with professionals for one more reason; the peace of mind that the work is being done correctly, to code, for our safety.

Description of Work
GFI installation and residential electric review

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/22/2019

5.0

10/17/2018


Ari R.

Joe and his coworker contacted me when they were on their way to my home. They were very professional, polite, and immediately put on work socks to prevent tracking of any dirt into the home. They quickly found the issue, resolved it, and installed new parts. All work and parts are warrantied by them for 3 years without any fee to service or replace them. Overall a great experience and I will definitely be contacting King Electric again for any electrical work on my home.

Description of Work
Diagnosing of circuit after short

Category electrician

Cost $165

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2018

5.0

10/12/2018


Robert L.

I was very pleased with the work done by King Electric and the professional manner in which they conducted themselves from the point of initial contact to set-up the appointment through the completion of the work. They arrived promptly at 8 am as promised both days of work and worked conscientiously the entire time they were here. I was especially impressed with the fact that on the first day, the General Manager arrived with the two electricians and reviewed each item of work to be done per the written agreement, walked though the entire job with them in my presence to ensure that they understood what needed to be done, and marked the location of switches and outlets. They wanted to be sure that the understood what I wanted done and allowed me to make a few last minute changes that I requested. I would definitely recommend King Electric to others based on my experience with them on this job.

Description of Work
Addition of new circuits, multiple outlets and switches, and changes to existing outlets and switches for basement remodeling job. Also, added new circuit and GFI outlet at back of house for outdoor lights

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2018

5.0

08/17/2018


Sandra G.

Excellent communication. Arrived on time and Tech confirmed work to be performed. Efficiently went from one task to another until complete. I purchased several types of flood lights and the Tech offered suggestions and explanations for all our questions. Would definitely call again.

Description of Work
Replace Porch Ceiling Fan & Outside Flood Light / Disconnect Landscape Lighting / Replace Electrical Outlet

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/12/2018

5.0

08/07/2018


Carolyn S.

Very satisfied. Joe was very Professional, yet friendly.

Description of Work
Replaced ballast and installed LED light

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $194

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2018

5.0

07/03/2018


Kelly W.

Justin came out to perform an estimate initially and provided us with multiple options for our job. On the day of, the team showed up on time, was very professional, and finished the work in the time promised. We needed to have two electrical outlets installed in order to run 2 separate beverage refridgerators. They had to combine circuits on our panel, fish wires through our walls and spend hours crouching in our crawlspace. They made sure to check with me prior to doing the work so that it would be done to my satisfaction. They cleaned up after themselves and were very friendly. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Wiring and Outlet Installation

Category electrician

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/22/2018

5.0

05/14/2018


Nancy R.

The workers arrived promptly, assessed the job and did the work efficiently. Everything was completed as we specified and cleanup was done quickly.

Description of Work
Rewriting a wall that was half torn down to make a breakfast bar and installing can lights

Category electrician,lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2018

5.0

04/16/2018


EILEEN D.

It went fine, no problems! They came on time.

Description of Work
They repaired the pendant in the kitchen.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2017

5.0

03/02/2018


Betty K.

It was very good. They new what they were doing and they did it in a clean and neat manner. They worked really well.

Description of Work
He put in some circuits for the new lighting in the kitchen.

Category electrician

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/01/2017

3.0

10/04/2017


Cheri N.

They have been here a couple times, I'm not all that enamored with them. I don't know if it's the company or it's the person that they send to me. He wasn't a very good problem solver. If it wasn't obvious then it wasn't within his realm. He said that there was nothing he could do with that without ripping out the whole ceiling and that surprised me because I thought electricians could run wires. They were relatively responsive.

Description of Work
Installed some under cabinet lighting in the kitchen, we then had him look at an overhead light in the living room which the previous owners had capped off.

Category electrician,lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2017

2.0

07/19/2017


MaryEllen P.

When I called to schedule, the woman in the office said they didn't have a minimum charge, but that they would assess the problem and give me a price and I could choose not to get the work done if it was unacceptable. However, when they arrived I was told they had a minimum $145 fee just to show up, so I definitely felt I had been misled. In addition to that, the problem was "cosmetic" to use their term, and all they did was flip the circuit breaker back on and tape a small slash in the wire (that my husband said later wasn't even where he had hit the wire!) They also reversed two plugs and left the plaster mess on the counter. Couldn't have been here 1/2 hour.

Description of Work
Power went off in bathroom during installation of new medicine cabinet. My husband hit a wire hidden behind a piece of metal.

Category electrician

Cost $145

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2017

Service Provider Response

We do not have a service call fee, travel fee, or an hourly fee. We try to quote everything before starting any work once we get to the home. The $145.00 is the minimum repair/service fee which was quoted when we got there. If the minimum service and repair fee was not acceptable at that point, there would not have been a charge. We took out 2 receptacles and reinstalled them the correct way. We checked the wiring, taped up the nick that we saw (maybe there were more than one nick), and reset the breaker. This was done for $145.00 which is the minimum repair/service fee. We apologize for the confusion and that our electrician misstated what the minimum service and repair fee was for. However, we did perform a small service and the minimum repair/service fee was properly quoted beforehand.
5.0

06/20/2017


Todd S.

They did a good job and was prompt.

Description of Work
Repaired the damage to an electrical wire that was nicked during some repair around the house.

Category electrician

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2016

5.0

06/02/2017


Jill D.

The guys were prompt, friendly, and professional. They also took the time to share some tips with me on how to save money on my electric bill. I followed their instructions and it worked! Also, they are priced very reasonable. They charge $280ish for the foyer light. I received estimates up to $650 for that same job! 5+++ stars out of 5!

Description of Work
I needed a very old and heavy (and ugly) foyer light pendant swapped for a new one that is on a 20 foot ceiling. I also need help with an outlet.

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2017

Images

Review for King Electric - 5300 Perrysville Rd, Pittsburgh, PA - 35160179
5.0

05/24/2017


Smitha P.

I was pleasantly surprised to get a real person (a receptionist) on the phone when I called. She made sure to look up whether any electricians were available for same-day service before taking my info. Two guys were fortunately able to come over within a couple of hours. They immediately put booties on over their shoes when coming in, which I appreciated immensely. And they walked me through prices/options before starting work: based on the issue, they offered single-circuit repair work for a flat fee. They were very courteous and professional, and took the time to explain what was going on - as a single woman, I'm wary of male contractors being condescending, but they were very approachable and easily answered my questions. I'll gladly call them again should any future issues arise.

Description of Work
Out of the blue, my 1st-floor lights and living room outlets stopped working.

Category electrician,lighting

Cost $227

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2017

5.0

05/10/2017


SHARON T.

The experience was fantastic from start to finish. I submitted a request for service online, and within the 48 hours that was indicated, I received a call back from their scheduler. He was knowledgeable and gave me advice with how to proceed especially with the ceiling fan. We scheduled an appointment two and a half weeks after the initial inquiry due to our schedule. They would have been available sooner. When the electricians arrived on time, they assessed the chandelier and ceiling fan issues and gave me a thorough explanation of what they were going to do and how the costs covered their work. They cleaned up and finished within an hour and a half. They were friendly and professional.

Description of Work
We had issues with a master bedroom ceiling fan and our foyer chandelier that we needed to be addressed. We weren't entirely certain what was going on with the ceiling fan, but we knew it was electrical in nature.

Category electrician,lighting,ceiling fans

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2017

5.0

03/20/2017


James M.

We were very satisfied with work performed.

Description of Work
Installation of interior lights and ceiling fans.

Category electrician,lighting,ceiling fans

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/14/2017

5.0

03/20/2017


Beatriz A.

They did a great job. The only problem was that they broke the connection of the exhaust fan and could not fix it.

Description of Work
Re wire the kitchen outlets to put them up to present codes.

Category electrician

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/24/2017

2.0

02/17/2017


Alicia P.

Joe came twice for the same issue - didn't address it properly the first time. Came back, charged us again, to correctly ascertain the problem. Said he would follow up with an estimate to do the work, and never has.

Description of Work
Several small electrical issues in our home - blinking LED lights mainly.

Category electrician

Cost $290

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/10/2017

Service Provider Response

At King Electric we pride ourselves in doing what is right for our clients. Here is a description of how the job took place. On Fri 1/27/17 We arrived at the client's home on and called before our arrival. Upon arrival, the homeowner walked us through 3 separate issues. First, was concerning the range hood. We explained to the homeowner that we do not repair appliances, but we could check the connections to the hood to make sure it was receiving the correct voltage. The second issue was concerning the lack of lighting in the garage, and the third issue was the master bedroom/closet/bathroom lighting. Once we went over the issues we informed the client that we have a minimum service and repair fee of $145.00. Which the client authorized to investigate those items. First, we repaired the connections, and socket for the range hood, and informed the client which type of bulb the unit requires. The LED bulbs the client installed we not compatible. Second, we diagnosed the issue with the garage lighting was due to the old Knob & Tube/ BX wiring being disconnected. We informed the client new MC wiring and fixtures would need to be installed to correct the issue. The client asked us for a proposal outlining the work needed. We emailed a proposal on 2/1/17, and the client responded back declining the work. Third, concerning the lights in the master bedroom area. We explained to the client that the lights were on multiple switches and that because they are LED lights, either the dimmers or the LED fixtures were not compatible. The client informed us that they would try a different bulb and let us know, but did not want us to proceed any further. King Electric collected the payment for service provided which involved 2 electricians for 1.5 hours. After receiving an email that the issues were not resolved, we made a return trip. On Fri 2/10/17, We arrived a the clients home on time and called before we came. Upon arrival, the homeowner walked us through 2 issues they still were having. First, the range hood was not working again. The client had put in different bulbs and they did not work. We inspected the situation and found that one of the bulbs was not screwed in all the way, and the other was bad. We informed the client and told them there was no charge for this. The second issue was concerning the master bedroom/closet/bathroom lighting again. The client had tried different bulbs and it did not resolve the issue. The client then asked us to replace the switch to one of them. We explained that this would not resolve the issue, and would have to charge her another minimum service and repair fee if we supply and install it. They insisted and authorized the work. We replaced the switch, checked all the connections and found that the issue was not related to the dimmers. We opened the fixtures and found hazardous wiring conditions due to the illegal wiring from a previous electrician. We showed them the incompatible drivers (for the led lights), open wiring, buried junctions, and illegal LED trim piece (no housing). We explained the dangers involved and the client requested another proposal to complete resolve the issue. We collected the minimum service and repair fee which again involved 2 electricians, 1 hour of time, and materials. We emailed the client a proposal on 2/10/17 outlining the work required to the correct the hazardous wiring/lights, in which we received no response.