Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

FAZIO HEATING & COOLING

Founded 1989 • With Angi since February 2004

OFFICE HOURS: 8:00 AM-4:30 AFTER HOURS & WEEKEND ANSWERING SERVICE 24 HOUR EMERGENCY SERVICE

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(52) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 52 reviews
Charles K.
5.0
01/17/2018
I paid a slight premium for their time, *$120, and they delivered a great estimate, were professional and definitely more thorough then others I have worked with. I will use them again. If you go cheap on your furnace maint. you will pay in the end. I was told by other contractors if you need a definitive report on what's actually wrong, and what it will take to bring it to new, you call them. I was incredulous of the claim, but it turns out to be correct. Has a great reputation among other contractors. If they follow up a Fazio, they can assume things were executed correctly, which makes their troubleshooting easier.
Description of Work
Safety Inspection and Estimate for furnace repair and/or replacement.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
SANGHO Y.
5.0
10/21/2017
Nice and professional! Happy to get with finance and a good warranty.
Description of Work
New furnace installation.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Edward B.
5.0
08/30/2017
Everything was installed quickly in a single day
Description of Work
new air conditioning unit ins
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Larry G.
5.0
01/07/2017
It couldn't have gone any smoother or better if I made it up myself. I chose Fazio because it was the closest A rated company to my house. It was the coldest day of the winter to date, so I expected all of the furnace people to be very busy. I have some experience with furnaces, so I was hoping to talk to someone about my problem before committing to an emergency charge for someone to come out. I am not rich, so if it was something simple that I could do myself, it would save me some money. The person who answered their phone was very patient and understanding about my request for someone to call me to advise me about the best way to fix my furnace. I got a call back in thirty minutes from one of the service techs, Tony, one of the sons of the company owner. I told him the symptoms of the furnace and he was immediately aware of what the problem was and said that he probably had the necessary part with him on his truck. He told me what it was and that it was a quick fix and that he could be at my house in twenty minutes since he was already in the area. He came on time and quickly and expertly repaired the coupler on my circulating pump in about thirty minutes. The pump was fine and did not need replaced. That alone saved me hundreds of dollars. He wrote me up for a minimum service fee of $80 and the part was $40, so the whole bill was $120. From my first phone call to the end of the repair was less than two hours on a very busy furnace repair day. It could have gone way worse. The Fazio people were a real life saver and I appreciate their concern and professionalism.
Description of Work
I needed my furnace fixed. The circulating pump started making an incredible racket.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Edie Jean M.
5.0
12/07/2016
They were "A", the best! All "A's!" They did a fantastic job.
Description of Work
They repaired my furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jim H.
5.0
10/31/2016
System installed in a timely manner
Description of Work
New heating and cooling system
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Edie Jean M.
5.0
07/28/2016
Everything went great. He explained everything thoroughly about what he was going to do. He gave me a good deal and I had no problems with the work. Excellent job. The price was reasonable and I would highly recommend him!
Description of Work
The provider put in a brand new furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
john S.
5.0
03/22/2016
Furnace wasn't working. the technician's first thought was we needed a new thingy, but he went the extra mile and looked inside the chimney/exhaust pipe and there was a dead bird. Very thorough work
Description of Work
Fixed furnace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
PAUL B.
5.0
02/29/2016
Contractor showed up when promised. Diagnosed the problem and prompt fixed.
Description of Work
Repaired boiler at rental property
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair
Raymundo O.
2.0
10/02/2015
Not very well, my furnace has a malfunction and they promised to send a quote for fix in it, however, up until now, I have nor received any call or quote.
Description of Work
Service and diagnistic
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Devin S.
5.0
09/03/2015
I called this morning, and the office person told me I would get a call a little later when the technician's timeline was planned out. He called when he was in the neighborhood, since I am home all day, and said he could stop by soon. He did so, showing up about 15-20 minutes after he called. The tech's name was Tony. He was nice, and got down to business, since we had spoken on the phone about the possible issues. He was nice to the cats when he came in the house, which is nice. He checked the basics on the outside unit, then the wiring on the thermostat, which was a little off. The unit came back on, and since it was a very quick fix, he checked the unit operation and refrigerant levels, and charged the minimum service fee, which was reasonable for what an annual service check on the unit would be anyway. He called in a credit card to the office, and we were finished. He left a refrigerator magnet for Fazio. I'll probably call them again if I have a big project I want a bid on.
Description of Work
They came to check out the central air, which stopped working. It turned out to be thermostat wiring, the hookups to the controller, which I had suspected already since I put it in myself and the system acted a little odd. He fixed it up, and then checked the pressure and coolant levels in the system, and charged me the minimum service fee, which was fair.
Category
electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac
David V.
1.0
06/03/2015
I depended on Russ Fazio of FAZIO?S HEATING AND COOLING, LLC to be the expert. When I didn?t get any service and wondered why, I had to research HEATING AND COOLING myself to uncover what might be the reasons. I WILL INDICATE BELOW 6 POSSIBLE REASONS HE NEVER CAME BACK AFTER PROBLEMS DEVELOPED. And, a conclusion you may want to read if you are considering FAZIO'S HEATING AND COOLING, LLC. Russ Fazio, of FAZIO?S HEATING AND COOLING, LLC, interviewed well for the job and a neighbor that had known him in high school said he was OK; so I hired him to provide and install two sets of mini-split ductless A/C equipment. Expecting him to act in my interest, I believed his recommended equipment was superior to that from the manufacturer I was considering. His company performed the installation of two heating and cooling systems for my two story house with only one misstep. The unit on the second floor had to be moved to provide better airflow to the front bedroom. In the contract, Fazio and I agreed to a 1 year maintenance agreement to cover the 2nd year maintenance. The units were installed approximately June, 2012 Two months into the 2nd year, the units stopped cooling. I called for service. Fazio?s technician refilled the systems with refrigerant (August, 2013). I also asked that the fan blades be cleaned on both inside portions of the A/C systems, as there was an unusual accumulation of material on the blades (even though the filters were cleaned regularly). The technician said he didn?t have time to do it then (August, 2013). He told me Fazio would call about it. Fazio didn?t call about it. I caught him on his cell the following month (September, 2013). An appointment was made to have the blades cleaned the following month (October, 2013). NOBODY SHOWED UP from FAZIO?S HEATING AND COOLING, LLC. Nobody called. Approximately 1 year after the first time the units were refilled with coolant, THEY STOPPED COOLING AGAIN since the refrigerant had leaked out (September, 2014). (I operated the fans to dry the indoor units, and shut them down for the season.). In May, 2015 I had surgery. The day after surgery, in pain and on strong pain medicine, with 90 degree temperatures, no breeze, and no A/C; I called FAZIO?S HEATING AND COOLING, LLC. The receptionist told me they can?t clean my type of units (mini-split ductless A/C equipment recommended by FAZIO). But, when I called Fazio on his cell, he made an appointment with me to look them over to see about cleaning and recharging them. He said he was taking a 3-day weekend and couldn?t come till the following week. We agreed on an appointment time. FAZIO?S HEATING AND COOLING, LLC DID NOT SHOW UP again.Nobody called. Why I believe Fazio abandoned the systems he SPECIFIED and INSTALLED: 1) He specified equipment that cannot be easily serviced. He is supposed to be an HVAC pro?; shouldn?t he specify equipment that can be serviced? 2) HVAC equipment that is properly installed should not need to be recharged all the time. If it needs to be recharged regularly, most of the time it is because the connections that were made during installation are leaking. Considering both units needed to be recharged, it is most likely the problem is with the installer?s technique; as the odds of the factory made portions leaking is extremely unlikely. 3) When the refrigerant leaked the first time, rather than repair the systems, he recharged them. When it leaked the 2nd time, he scheduled the appointment, and did not show or call. 4) Remaking the connections involves essentially disassembling the entire system and cutting and fixing the the connections made during FAZIO?S HEATING AND COOLING, LLCs installation. Then the entire system must be reassembled. This would be a major expense to FAZIO. 5) If indeed the leaks are in the factory provided equipment, our contract includes warranties on the hardware. If that is the case, he would have to replace it. Again, this would involve total disassembly and reassembly of the system, a major expense to FAZIO. 6) The material that is on the fan blades is mold.I have discovered that others recommend that a UV light be installed in these units when you purchase them, to prevent mold growth. RUSS FAZIO never recommended that a UV light be installed. CONCLUSION: I am not an HVAC specialist, so I can only guess that FAZIO?s reasons for not showing up for the appointments and not calling are monetary. It seems possible that once he received the money for the installation, and realized the installation was of poor quality when after a year, the units leaked refrigerant on a regular basis: 1) He did not want to bear the expense of the repair to what appears to be poor workmanship that his company is responsible for, and 2) He did not want to accept responsibility for the poor selection of equipment he recommended even though I had initially inquired about another brand. I believe the selection of equipment may have been more related to contractor profit margin than to benefit his customer.
Description of Work
Russ Fazio of FAZIO'S HEATING AND COOLING, LLC specified and installed two ductless mini-split A/C systems, but would not service the units when problems developed due to poor installation.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Kelley V.
5.0
08/18/2014
The technician was very polite, courteous, and friendly. He had been working for Fazio for about 12 years, and had never seen this kind of problem before. I feel that the service I received was well worth the price.
Description of Work
My a/c was working fine one moment and then blowing warm air the next. I called two other HVAC companies and both of them said they were too backed up to even give an ETA to come take a look. Fazio came within a few hours of my call, and then fixed the problem within an hour after arriving. The problem was extremely unusual and took some troubleshooting on the part of the technician: a random piece of metal had come loose and lodged itself within the system, blocking a return connection. This had caused the internal pressure of the return line to jump to more than triple it's normal range. Once the piece of metal was dislodged, everything worked fine. Since no materials were used for repair, the technician simply charged me for the trip fee and one hour of labor.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Margaret J. F.
5.0
08/07/2014
It was not an inexpensive undertaking with older house and radiators. But I was very impressed with every aspect of the installation. Gracious, helpful, professional. (The carpenter with which Fazio subbed installation of ducts did a brilliant and invisible job!) I am completely satisfied with the quality and quiet of AC. Made move into new home at beginning of summer a much happier experience than it would have been without AC.
Description of Work
Installed High Velocity AC in an older house with radiators.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning
Jamie F.
5.0
06/19/2014
Great service, friendly staff, great products! Would definitely recommend and will use again in the future!
Description of Work
installed new air conditioner and furnace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Shirley M.
5.0
06/17/2014
It was wonderful. They've been really good. They're the ones that put the furnace in and then they periodically service. Their price is average. They come when they say they're coming.
Description of Work
I've had them several times. Most recently, my humidifier that's built into the furnace wouldn't work. They came and fixed it. They cleaned the whole furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Rachelle D.
5.0
03/31/2014
That went well and it was a good experience because they were reliable and courteous. They're also prompt and the price was reasonable.
Description of Work
I used the air duct cleaning service of FAZIO HEATING & COOLING.
Category
air duct cleaning
Carol C.
5.0
03/13/2014
They came in and did it and got out of my way. They were easy to work with.
Description of Work
I used Fazio Heating & Cooling for a whole house air conditioner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Malinda M.
5.0
01/28/2014
We woke in the middle of the night to the smell of burning and had to turn off our furnace. Called a few different places in the morning; Fazio was the only place who could get someone here before noon....and he was here by 9:30. Russ was very nice and took his time to explain what was going on. Wasn't pushy at all. Reasonably priced. He told us that basically our motor is going bad and we could replace it now, or wait until it dies completely. Our furnace is old and will need to be replaced soon anyway. He put my mind at ease so that I don't have to worry about my house burning down and gave me an estimate for every level of work that we might decide to tackle.
Description of Work
Russ just told us what was going on with our furnace and advised us on our options. He replaced the filter and told us that we didn't have to worry about our house catching on fire, but we should consider either getting a new motor or eventually replacing the furnace (from 1997).
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lance D.
5.0
12/17/2013
They quickly showed up and fixed a pilot light issue.
Description of Work
Quick response
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Anthony C.
4.0
10/24/2013
I had an appointment at 10, and the two service people came around 11:30. I have a double furnace and an air handler that I wanted to have checked out b/c the previous owner had not done so since the units were installed ~6 years ago. I tried to keep an eye on what was going on b/c I'm interested in performing this maintenance myself in the future, but it didn't look like much took place. I know one fellow cleaned the thermo couple with an emery cloth, and the other claimed that the slave unit was disconnected (however, I had heat before this). He reconnected it and exchanged the filters with ones that I had on hand. I already know how to change filters, but I felt like they wanted the service to appear more substantial. Afterward I was told that not much had to be done because the units were newer and blowers were sealed. They were out in 30 minutes flat. All in all, I don't feel like I received nearly the level of service $99 warrants. I'm sure the price and service were competitive with what others were advertising as "specials" but certainly not worth it to anyone with even a hint of DIY skill. I only called in a service because the previous owner had not, but in the end I was left with a feeling that this should have been less expensive considering the blowers were sealed and nothing had to be done. I was also told I don't need any service on the air handler, but again, the filter was changed and I'm sure it was put in the rate. It would be refreshing to get something for less if it turns out that not all the services were required.
Description of Work
Annual furnace check
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jeff B.
5.0
08/28/2013
Our AC was working fine but had a pretty strong musty odor coming from the vents. I had already checked what I could and needed a professional to do some more in-depth troubleshooting. We found Fazio via angie's list and they came out the next morning to look over everything. The guy they sent out was very professional, friendly, and explained things in detail. It looks like our problem is in the vent and we'll need to do a vent cleaning (which Fazio doesn't do) so he gave us a recommendation on who to call and just charged us the trip fee. All in all it was exactly what I was looking for - someone to look over the AC portion of the system to see if they could find a source of the smell there. I felt like the tech from Fazio gave us exactly that and didn't try to sell us on any unneeded fixes, etc. We'll definitely call them the next time we need HVAC work.
Description of Work
Did some troubleshooting on a musty smell coming from our AC
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Christa C.
5.0
07/24/2013
Mr. Fazio's team did a unbelievable job. the new boiler was over 300 pounds and they had to get it down a very very tight and difficult basement staircase. The house is over 120 years old so the basement is not like a typical high ceiling wide staircase situation. Mr. Fazio took out the old boiler (someone took it for the metal in less than 15 minutes when it was placed at the end of the driveway) then it took 6 men to lower the new boiler down into the basement. Not a scratch on it. Once installed they created an new manifold since the old one was leaking in several places. Once installed they refilled and checked it after 2 hours in operation, additionally they came back the next day to recheck to make sure all was in good shape. We are really placed with the Crown boiler (made in USA!) - it is small but it really pumps out the heat, the house has NEVER been this warm AND the gas bill went down from $600 to a little over $200. This year it will have paid for itself! Mr. Fazio is a no nonsense guy who is a straight shooter and is very focused on making a customer experience the best. His crew is very respectful and was earnest in making sure everything is done right. I will use him again!
Description of Work
Remove a 50+ year old boiler and replaced with a crown along with manufacturing a new manifold
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Robert D.
5.0
06/06/2013
I could not have been happier with Fazio heating and cooling. When I called to get an estimate, they were out here within days and gave me an estimate right away. After I accepted the quote, I worked with their office to setup financing. The whole process was simple and quick. They showed up and brought the finance paper work with them and all the other equipment. The installation took 2 days. They removed my existing furnace, installed the new one. Then they installed the AC to the new furnace. Tested the system and it worked flawlessly. No more window AC units for me! I don't really have anything negative to say. The price was good, the quality was excellent, and the responsiveness was very quick. I would highly recommend them to anyone who needs heating or AC work done.
Description of Work
Installed brand new AC unit and replaced an old Furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Christa C.
5.0
06/08/2012
unreal how fast, my son is in the military and he called him on a Sunday from north carolina, Mr. Fazio met with us on Monday and the job started and was completed on Wednesday. The site was left spotless and he took out the old boiler, which was over 300 pounds and placed it outside for the junkmen who promptly retrieved within 1 hour. He called us a week later to verify that all was in good shape. Very responsive, tidy and economical.
Description of Work
We had a VERY old boiler that needed replaced, the heat bills were over 600 a month and the house was always cold. Mr Fazio not only installed a Crown boiler his team crafted a new brass manifold to properly connect the pipes to the boiler. The prior manifold had leaks that the prior owner just taped up. Addtionally they put in a far better expansion tank. When the system finally kicked up it was incredible that the heat bills dropped to 300 this year and the house was very toasty! They did a terrific job and the boiler they recommended was perfect to get now the tight narrow staircase.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Phone

Address

800 WILKINS AVE

Pittsburgh, PA 15221

Other Information

Services offered

LIGHT COMMERCIAL SERVICE & INSTALLATIONS, ROOF TOP UNITS, HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING FOR RESIDENTIAL, COILS, DUCT WORK, HOT WATER TANKS, HOT WATER BOILERS, HIGH EFFICIENCY BOILERS, HIGH EFFICIENCY A/C OR FURNACES, HUMIDIFIERS, CHIMNEY LINERS, AIR CLEANERS, ELECTRICAL SERVICES, UNICO SYSTEMS (AIR CONDITIONING FOR HOT WATER HEAT OR BASEBOARD HEAT), SERVICING OF ALL MAKES AND MODELS ON EQUIPMENT, RADIATORS, PUMPS, HEAT PUMPS, GAS LINES, DUCTLESS MINI SPLIT SYSTEMS.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Financing Available

FAQ

FAZIO HEATING & COOLING is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

FAZIO HEATING & COOLING is open:

Sunday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

FAZIO HEATING & COOLING accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

Yes, FAZIO HEATING & COOLING offers free project estimates.

No, FAZIO HEATING & COOLING does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, FAZIO HEATING & COOLING offers a 10% senior discount.

Yes, FAZIO HEATING & COOLING offers emergency services.

Yes, FAZIO HEATING & COOLING offers warranties.

FAZIO HEATING & COOLING offers the following services: LIGHT COMMERCIAL SERVICE & INSTALLATIONS, ROOF TOP UNITS, HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING FOR RESIDENTIAL, COILS, DUCT WORK, HOT WATER TANKS, HOT WATER BOILERS, HIGH EFFICIENCY BOILERS, HIGH EFFICIENCY A/C OR FURNACES, HUMIDIFIERS, CHIMNEY LINERS, AIR CLEANERS, ELECTRICAL SERVICES, UNICO SYSTEMS (AIR CONDITIONING FOR HOT WATER HEAT OR BASEBOARD HEAT), SERVICING OF ALL MAKES AND MODELS ON EQUIPMENT, RADIATORS, PUMPS, HEAT PUMPS, GAS LINES, DUCTLESS MINI SPLIT SYSTEMS.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

All your masonry needs from new brick, block or stonework.. Retaining walls..chimney repair..whole house repointing..lintel replacement..step cracks ..mortar matching..no job too big or small  

Mr. Waterheater

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Mr. Waterheater

Mr. Waterheater started in 1981 installing water heaters in Pittsburgh, PA. The winning combination of better than competitive pricing and unparalleled service were used to build a successful specialty plumbing business. Expansion to other markets is the goal of this family owned business with three generations of plumbing professionals. The competitive environment in the plumbing industry combined with the public’s distrust of unscrupulous service providers are the backdrop for the development of the Mr. Waterheater brand and a better way of doing business. Mr. Waterheater is known for speed, integrity, ethics, low-cost pricing, and extraordinary customer service. Our company is run by people who understand what it takes to start a business from scratch, sell franchises of their business, and build it into a recognized and respected symbol of dependable, trusted service. Prior to owning Mr. Waterheater, the owners were successful in the plumbing industry. Family Owned & Operated. Additional DBAs - Mr Waterheater of Butler, Waterheater Inc. Award wining. Additional phones - (412) 247-1920, (412) 486-4112, (412) 882-7771, (412) 921-2080, (724) 327-6000, (724) 337-9522, (724) 836-1711, (724) 863-6080, (866) 647-8379. Award winning.  

Above All carpet & AirDuct Cleaning. Over 30 years experience. Truckmount Equipment and portable service offered. We are the only company in the area with a 12 Step Carpet Cleaning process. Highlights include pre-treat, spot-treat, power buffing, moving furniture, and Wiping Baseboards included in our pricing. Upholstery cleaning we have a wide knowledge of all the different fabrics and best methods to clean your furniture from Steam Clean, Dry clean and Leather Cleaning. Oriental rugs cleaning we offer on site or off site cleaning. Airduct cleaning we have several methods on the truck to take care of your unique system. We look forward to working with you. Please fill free to contact us with any questions. 412 808 8477 Aboveallexp@gmail.com