Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

LW3 CARPENTRY LLC

Founded 2000 • With Angi since October 2005

4.9

(90) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1459 WYANDOTTE AVE

Lakewood, OH 44107

Description

I am a one-man show. I do employ laborers from time to time but nobody that I wouldn't trust in my own home. I can and will recommend sub-contractors but I will not employ them to do part of a job. My goal is to start and finish one job at a time unless my customer needs me to give them time to

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Patricia Y.
5.0
01/13/2019
I did not hire or even hear from this outfit. I did hear from 2 other outfits, one of which was Landmark Construction Co. The gentleman arrived after calling, and in 1/2 hour the job was done in a very professional manner. The problem was a hinge on the door between the house and the garage that had loosened. I was delighted that a nuisance was taken care of that quickly. The price was right ($110) and the work was excellent.
Description of Work
This review is NOT for LW3 Carpentry.
Category
contractors
Chris P.
5.0
06/15/2018
Lou is fantastic to work with. All other general contractors and tradesmen should be as easy and fun to work with. Prompt, responsive, frequent updates, and outstanding work. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a contractor or carpenter.
Description of Work
Complete renovation of our third floor into a master suite
Category
contractors
Paul D.
5.0
04/21/2017
Work was outstanding. Lou was always on time and kept me informed on his schedule, Weather was a challenge, but Lou was able to complete the job in a timely fashion. Would use LW3 Carpentry again.
Description of Work
Old deck removed and new deck installed.
Category
contractors, decks
Paul D.
5.0
04/21/2017
Lou did a great job. He was on time every day. The work was all completed as promised. Lou took the time to discuss best options for maintaining the deck.
Description of Work
Removed old deck. Constructed 20 by 8 deck using pressure treated lumber.
Category
decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the opportunity [Member Name Removed]. The key to this project was pulling permits through the city and having eac step inspected.
Gerald S.
5.0
10/29/2016
Vry well. Beautiful mahogany porches!
Description of Work
new front and rear porch's
Category
contractors, decks
KEITH O.
5.0
06/05/2016
Lou does timely quality work. He does not mess around, and tells it like it is. Checks every step and every cost with customer, explains well, no surprises. If he finds an unforeseen problem, he explains it carefully. Great guy, great carpenter/
Description of Work
Installed a new door and repaired door frame. Installed new deadbolt locks and knobs. Installed a railing on breakfast room porch. Repaired rotting area on garage.
Category
contractors, decks, doors
DAN M.
5.0
09/14/2015
Lou did an excellent job of replacing and leveling a front porch on an old home. He promptly provided a quote and was able to fit us in on his schedule for the next week. We had several other contractors look at our porch but they either wanted to install a concrete porch (not appropriate and too expenseive for this house) while another contractor seemed puzzled about how to level the porch. Lou was confident from the get-go about how to fix this old porch. Thank goodness we found him. He knew exactly how to level and replace the porch without having to lift and straighten out the concrete pillars. The porch looks great is very stable. Thanks Lou!!!
Description of Work
Replaced and leveled a wooden front porch on a 1913 home
Category
contractors
Barry M.
5.0
08/31/2015
Lou was always on time and worked tirelessly all day. He listened to and addressed all of our concerns. He also provided valuable tutorial lessons. Finally, the work was clean and met our expectations.
Description of Work
Lou prepared a third floor attic space and installed all dry wall. He also completed a variety of carpentry work in the space.
Category
contractors, woodworking
Gerald S.
5.0
07/07/2015
Excellent work overall! He even did some extra minor work that was not contracted for at no charge. I would definitely recommend Lou to a friend or relative or anyone.
Description of Work
remove old and install new side entry door and side storm/screen door.
Category
contractors
annie M.
5.0
06/02/2015
Made appointment with Lou and he came out on time. He gave me an appropriate estimate for the work I required. He did tell me that he was booked until September but said he may be able to squeeze me in on a weekend. I told him that was fine, I just wanted to get it done. He texted me two weeks later and said he would come out on the following Friday. He showed up, did the work, (without taking a break during 90+ degree day) and fixed everything that I asked him to. Porch looks infinitely better and I feel relieved not to have to worry about anyone falling through now. Talked to him about future project I would like to have him work on (after September) and he said that he would. Thanks Lou! Looking forward to working with you in the near future!
Description of Work
Re-attached porch support beam and lattice work, railing. Replaced sagging porch steps and re-secured railing.
Category
contractors
Carolyn C.
5.0
02/21/2015
We received an immediate response from the owner/operator of LW3; he came an evaluated the work projects and set a schedule with us for completion of each project. Since we needed to space things out over a period of months, we were delighted that he was willing to work our needs into his schedule. Everything was handled professionally, and yet with a personal touch. Pricing was fair and honest; his work and work ethic were superb. I almost hate to write this review because if people knew what a gem LW3 is, the company might become too busy to work for us again. We would hire LW3 Carpentry in a heartbeat.
Description of Work
LW3 Carpentry did several jobs for us over the course of 3-4 months. These included: plaster work to enclose exposed pipes; creating a shelving system in the basement; installing kitchen cabinets; fabricating and installing a new storage area off the kitchen.
Category
custom cabinets, contractors, plumbing, woodworking
Nancy L.
5.0
10/13/2014
This guy is WONDERFUL! When he gave us the estimate, we had no idea he would run into the issues which added time to the job. While starting the job, he found the bottom of the overhand had rotted out and then found a hole in the drain pipe leading into the kitchen sink. Much to his and our surprise he found an old bees nest the size of a football. Thank goodness they were gone. He had to go out and get additional supplies, twice, because when he replaced the drain pipe, he found the copper piping under the sink had a bad leak, again a hole in aged piping. The house is 60 years old, so finding things like this are expected. To my dismay, we had a new faucet and sink installed a few months ago and the plumber never found these things. I cannot say enough good things about this man and his worth ethic. A job that was slated to take about four hours turned into six hours. He charged us his original estimate plus the cost of supplies. Many other companies would have charged additional time. Truly a man of ethics and his word. This is the second time we used this company. His work is above reproach.
Description of Work
He replaced the overhang under the kitchen window and replaced drain in kitchen plus water line.
Category
plumbing, woodworking
Kathryn S.
5.0
10/02/2014
I contacted Lou via Angie's List on a Wednesday, he came out Friday to give us an estimate, and the work was complete the follow Wednesday - one week total. He was very knowledgeable in his work, and was able to fix our porch that was leaking water into our basement when it rained. He installed additional joists, corrected the pitch to be away from the house, and installed new Koma flooring. We are very happy with our end product and would recommend Lou for anyone that needs work done.
Description of Work
Tore up existing porch flooring, repitched and installed new flooring and made sure porch would not leak into basement.
Category
contractors, decks, flooring contractor
Patricia U.
5.0
09/23/2014
We were very pleased with his work. Will hire again.
Description of Work
Skim-coated the ceiling, repaired cracks in dining room walls, replaced missing trimwork, repaired wall by window seat. Sanded walls and ceiling and got room ready for the painters. We found the preparation that he did made a big difference in the final outcome of the paint job.
Category
contractors, drywall, interior painters
Nancy L.
5.0
06/24/2014
Had I known we could find such a talented carpenter months ago, I surely would have called much sooner. Great work!
Description of Work
We had new steps built to access our home. We needed 3 inch stairs, so my sister would be able to get in and out of the house with little help. Joe came out ready to work, arrived at 8:30 a.m. and finished about 1:20 p.m. The materials were exactly what we needed. He checked in with us to be sure he would be replacing the stair railings too. We were so pleased with the quality of the work, we asked him to return to complete another repair when he was able. I will definitely refer my friends and family to this great company. Thanks for a great job and for helping to make my sister's safety something I don't need to worry about.
Category
contractors
Josh S.
5.0
02/12/2014
Lou's quality of work was outstanding. My wife and I couldn't be happier with the job he did for us. The scope of the job was beyond what I could do myself so I am grateful I contacted Lou. He was always on time and was sure to ask my opinion and offer options for the repairs. I plan on hiring Lou again in the future for a custom cabinet in our kitchen.
Description of Work
He repaired 10 original interior doors, added 8 sets of new hardware, and salvaged two sets of original hardware from my 117 year old home in Lakewood. Each door either had broken hardware or would no longer close smoothly due to some minor settling in the foundation. None of the 5 bedrooms had locks nor did 2 of our 3 bathrooms have working locks therefore we opted to add the new hardware to these. Removing the hardware required a significant amount of backfilling the voids with wood and wood filler before the new hardware could be added. In addition new door stops were added where needed and doors shaved to fit better in each door frame. The job took 2 1/2 days.
Category
contractors, doors
Ramona B.
5.0
11/16/2013
Louis was a wonderful find for us when we had some exterior projects that needed to be done before having our house painted. When we contacted Louis, he was able to able to fit us in between some larger jobs that he had. He was prompt and eager to find solutions to some problems that had plagued us for several years. Louis designed and made blocks to support sections of porch railing to counteract & prevent sagging. He replaced a curled floorboard. He was able to enlarge an area of gutter where a downspout was connected to help prevent clogs & ice dams. He made 2 large mailbox posts plumb again. He worked with us to address several other things that might be an issue for the painters, including re-nailing sections of clapboard. He also tailored some sections of trim on an older Trex deck that had bowed badly. We had him look at a gazebo that has developed a bowed floor and we plan to have him back in the spring of 2014 to address it.
Description of Work
Rough exterior carpentry; straightened mailboxes; trimmed tar paper from porch shingles; created support blocks for 10 sections of porch railing; adjusted and enlarged a problem gutter join to a downspout; etc.
Category
contractors, handyman service
kathleen Z.
5.0
11/03/2013
Lou is a great guy to work with! Super professional and incredibly detail oriented. He was hired to complete our trim project and we couldn't be happier. Lou worked on baseboards, window and door trim. He was always there when he said he'd be and stuck with the budget. We would love to work with him in the future!
Description of Work
Woodworking
Category
contractors, woodworking
Edward S.
5.0
09/10/2013
Lou did a very nice job replacing the siding on my home. He was attentive to details and did good quality work. He did a good job of communicating with me during the work. The job came in slightly under budget, and I was satisfied with the overall value I received.
Description of Work
Lou removed and replaced the siding on my family room addition.
Category
contractors, siding
Kathryn C.
5.0
04/08/2013
Although he does not paint he was very tidy and very neat. He showed up on time.
Description of Work
He build new steps for me and new rails.
Category
woodworking
Dennis M.
5.0
03/23/2013
It was a great working with Louis. He was honest, responsible, professional,creative, detail oriented and provided a quality product. He always kept me updated regarding his availability (our building only permits construction Monday through Friday, 9-4 pm) The quality of his work was exceptional and I am extremely pleased with the final result (I tend to be critical). At the end of this year I am planning another "creative project'-the addition of a unique gas fireplace. He is the only one I am considering for this job. I am looking forward to the beginning of my next venture..
Description of Work
The original project was to restructure a storage area located in the great room (the previous area was a 14 foot wall of mirrors and 4 bi-fold multi-panel doors). I wanted this project to be unique because I was adding a wine chiller and alcohol storage and wanted the access to the areas to be different. After deciding on book cases that would act as doors I spoke with 3 carpenters. Of the three I felt most comfortable with Louis's enthusiasm in tackling this project. I wanted the book cases made of maple to match other cabinets within the kitchen, which made the job a little more challenging than painted book cases. Louis began immediately drafting plans and emailed them to me for my input. His plans were really great and we decided to move forward on construction. He continually kept me up to date on the status of the construction. He sent photo's of his progress and at that point I decided to expand the project and added the building of a new column (located on my island) and a small recessed cabinet (both to resemble the kitchen cabinets).
Category
contractors
Mike M.
2.0
02/26/2013
I called Lou in October 2012 after reading positive reviews on Angie's List to reframe and rehang doors following a botched job. He camed out and appeared knowledgable and passionate and advised that the floor should probably go down next. I let him know I'd contact him when the time came for work to be performed. When I called in January of 2013 and asked if he'd be interested in doing the floors he seemed equally responsive and passionate. When setting up time for an estimate in February 2013, he missed an appointment. Following a reschedule he provided a brief email with estimates of the jobs to be performed. I asked for a formal proposal and contract and sent him an example of what i was looking for in this regard. He said he'd follow up on a certain day and did not get the proposal nor the contract to me. When i followed up, he apologized and said he got caught up in watching the oscars. A day later, he sent a list of his terms that he works hourly, but no proposal nor contract for any of the work to be performed. Lou seems to be a nice guy, with higher than average price estimates which i took to mean his quality would be high. The service i saw from him and the lack of a formal proposal and contract made me think twice about his quality and his ability to get the job done in a professional and timely manner. Either be aware that you'll have to be flexible and roll the dice on $ and quality or beware and look for a more professional company as I am doing. Edited response following Lou's response: Lou - i think your response is a perfect example of what service and miscommunication people may see from you. Thanks for providing first hand example. Up your game and up your professionalism. D to F. You are still a nice guy, but unorganized and exceptionally shady.
Description of Work
Rehanging doors, closet rehab, concrete leveling, floors, trim. I estimated an 8 thousand dollar job in time and materials.
Category
contractors, concrete repair, flooring contractor, woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

I hope my response to this review will aid potential clients in how I conduct my business. Although I feel obligated to defend myself in the hopes that the customer will somewhat amend his comments about what transpired between him and I. Firstly, the customer stated that I "missed an appointment", what he didn't mention was the fact that I called a half hour after our meeting time, I apologized and asked if we could move it to the next day because I finished work late. Secondly, understand that there is a difference between an "estimate" and a "bid". When you request an "estimate" from LW3 Carpentry you will receive an email listing the projective hourly requirements for your project. In addition, I will include projective costs for building supplies. We will both agree on any item that will be subject to your selection. Maybe kitchen cabinets or a type of flooring, for example. the customer asked for an estimate on a couple of projects. Detailed next are parts of threads of our communication via email; Feb 18th ME:"This is the labor estimate we talked about for everything we discussed." Feb 19 Customer: "Do you/can you provide a formal contract? If i could get one for everything listed above and one for the doors, that would really help me out as i'm hopefully getting $ back from the individual who hung the doors improperly the first time." Feb 19 ME: "I generally don't do contracts for a jobs like this but i could provide a receipt." Feb 21 Customer: "I would like to work with a formal written estimate and a standard written contract. Is this something that you simply do not do? .If you could let me know today I'd appreciate it." Feb 21 ME: "Could you use the emails as the "formal estimate" and I would just write up a "standard" that you could amend to if needed. I just don't have one that I generally use." Feb 21 Customer: "Something like this would be acceptable for the job proposal and would also serve as the contract. You could amend the materials aspect to your needs. I ask for a detailed description of the work you would be performing. I do ask for this formality considering the size of the job and the cost involved. Please let me know if this is a problem." The problem with the last email he sent was that I thought he was saying that the emails, sent from LW3 Carpentry, were acceptable as the contract.(which according to a Lawyer and friend of the family, said that emails can be used as binding contracts) After I read Customer's review on Angies List, I noticed that he mentioned that he had sent me an attachment with an example of a contract. I recieved this email on my phone and didn't notice the attachment. Although I didn't need his sample contract, I told customer that I would draft a standard work contract by the end of the weekend. Because I thought that he accepted the emails as the proposal, I drafted a general contract basically stating that any extra work beyond the scope of what we discussed would be brought to his attention for consideration before work is performed. Yes, I sent it 24 hours late because I got caught up in the "oscars", and I apologized for it. After I sent my "contract" he asked again for the proposal to which I asked "didn't we agree that we would use the emails?" He responded by saying that he would look for another contractor, and "I cannot roll the dice on your services based on what I've experienced. Up the game on service is my suggestion." I am fine with his suggestion, but there are over 50 Angies List customers that seemed to work fine with me without a "contract". If a customer wants a "bid", then I will provide a "contract". But when a project is time and material, what does a "contract" provide differently than what is stated in an email? In the end, there was a breakdown in communication, which I accept full responsibility for, and a difference of opinion in regards to professionalism. Customer has every right to search for a contractor that best suites his ideology of professionalism, even for a small project such as this. He asked me early on if I "will/do" provide a contract and I responded. This is where his interest should have ended. I will continue to do business as usual. Lastly, I am perplexed at his grades. I was graded a D on quality although no work was performed. I was graded a D on responsiveness although, from the thread of emails between he and, I was very responsive. He graded me a D on punctuality although I was on time, to the minute, on 2 of our 3 appointments. And I did call as soon as I could when I had to reschedule my missed appointment. I was graded a C on "higher than average prices". Most importantly I am offended at his comment " The service i saw from him and the lack of a formal proposal and contract made me think twice about his quality and his ability to get the job done in a professional and timely manner. Either be aware that you'll have to be flexible and roll the dice on $ and quality." It just seems like an unfair assumption to make without ANY work being performed.
Willie L.
5.0
02/12/2013
We needed to repair a sagging side door landing and called Louis based on Angie list reviews. Louis provided an appropriate scope of work for the job. He did not "over" job and therefore the cost was in line to our research. We negotiated the start time to fit our schedule, he arrived on time and finished when he said he would. He used quality materials, his assistant provided excellent support, and the job is wonderful. The floor looks beautiful! We will not hesitate to call him first for other jobs.
Description of Work
Replace side door landing with new flooring and repair landing supports.
Category
contractors, hardwood floor
Kevin W.
5.0
11/27/2012
I found Lou on Angie's List and heard his name a local block party. His immediate responsiveness was great right from the start. I have a 110 year old house so it seems like few want to take on the unique challenges of a old home. Lou didn't seem concern one bit by the age of my house as he has a lot of experience in such homes. i hired him to handle a bedroom renovation project. I twas a complete renovations project that consisted of building a closet, some general construction repair work, (remember very old house), drywall, and finish carpentry (moulding.) He gave me a detailed proposal and responded very quickly to all my questions. Lou's communication is great and key for me in working with a contractor. He's an all around good and trusting guy. I gave him the access code to my house and he performed the work while I wasn't home. This is critical to me to be able to trust the contractors I hire. The work site was clean each day and I never had any concerns. At the finish of the project he was under budget as well. I was very pleased. The work and craftsmanship are excellent. He is experienced and pays attention to detail. I was so pleased with the outcome of the first project I had him immediately start a second project. The second project was actually started by another contractor who's work was marginal at best. Lou stepped in and fixed the problems left by the original contractor. The same second project involved installing trim on a custom oval window. Lou was excited for the challenge and it turned out awesome. In short, Lou is a great contractor and a talented guy. His responsiveness, communication, flexibility and quality make him my ideal contractor. I look forward to working with him on my many projects.
Description of Work
There were two projects contracted. Both were bedrooms and consisted of construction of closets, drywall, insulation and finished carpentry.
Category
contractors, remodeling, woodworking
Sudha I.
5.0
09/25/2012
Lou, and the other workers (Eric and Rick) were courteous and professional. They showed up on time and let me know if there was going to be a delay or difficulty with a specific part of the project. He completed the project in 11 days, well ahead of his estimate of two weeks. He even helped me with a few small extra projects. Each day, we discussed what he would try and accomplish that day so that I could move the small pieces of furniture ahead of time. He kept tight timelines and finished about a room a day. If I needed a specific room put back the same day, he tried to make sure that the large pieces of furniture were placed back in the room by the end of the day. The floor looks gorgeous and is so easy to clean. I am enjoying the beauty of the new floors and remain very happy with his work. I wish I had done this earlier!
Description of Work
Lou removed the old carpet and installed hardwood floors throughout my house ~1200 square feet. I bought the flooring at Lumber Liquidators, a Brazilain Cherry. Part of the installation was on concrete (above grade), and part of the installation was on a second floor, with a subfloor. Lou picked up the flooring and other supplies for me. He organized the work so that it was completed on time, within my work window. Lou also gave me advice on what to do with the steps, which were difficult to work with, as they were made of pine instead of the same wood, Brazilian Cherry. I decided not to put new treads on because of the expense, but he worked to ensure that they still looked good. He and the other workers he brought in also moved furniture in each room as they worked on it. In the end he returned the extra wood that we did not need to Lumber Liquidators.
Category
contractors, hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    BEST BUY PAINTING

    Best Buy Painting is a family owned, full service painting company, dedicated to providing superior interior, exterior, and specialty painting services to both residential and commercial customers in the Cleveland and Northeast Ohio area. As Cleveland house painters, Best Buy Painting is proud to deliver on job quality, customer satisfaction, and of course, our reputation.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    J and E Quality Painting Inc

    Interior painting specialist. Quality work at affordable prices. Caring and quality services, which include interior/exterior painting, hardwood refinishing, power washing, just to name a few. Give us a call and we'll be glad to get started right away.  

    Angi Certified

    HENNESSY'S INTERIOR PAINTING SERVICE

    For the fastest response, please call Gary directly at (440) 777-1598! ANGI Super Service Award winner yearly!! Owner-operated with the owner on each job at all times (+) 3 full-time employees - Excellent response time and attention to detail with every job. Insurance credentials available upon request - No subs - Free estimates and no travel charges!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    CARPENTRY & CONSTRUCTION. CONCRETE COUNTERTOPS.

    Services Not Offered

    ROOFING, VINYL SIDING, CONCRETE SIDEWALKS, FENCES,

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about LW3 CARPENTRY LLC

    How is LW3 CARPENTRY LLC overall rated?

    LW3 CARPENTRY LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are LW3 CARPENTRY LLC open?

    LW3 CARPENTRY LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does LW3 CARPENTRY LLC provide

    LW3 CARPENTRY LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, PayPal

    Does LW3 CARPENTRY LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, LW3 CARPENTRY LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does LW3 CARPENTRY LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, LW3 CARPENTRY LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does LW3 CARPENTRY LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, LW3 CARPENTRY LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by LW3 CARPENTRY LLC?

    No, LW3 CARPENTRY LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does LW3 CARPENTRY LLC offer?

    LW3 CARPENTRY LLC offers the following services: CARPENTRY & CONSTRUCTION. CONCRETE COUNTERTOPS.

    Are there any services LW3 CARPENTRY LLC does not offer?

    ROOFING, VINYL SIDING, CONCRETE SIDEWALKS, FENCES,