Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

PREFERRED FLOORING

Founded 1996 • With Angi since July 2010

We are small, female owned , in business for over 16 years . Combined experience is over 50 years.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(11) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews
Brian K.
5.0
11/21/2018
We replaced our carpet upstairs everywhere with engineered hardwoods to match our downstairs. I got five estimates and Jeff was the most responsive and helpful with a great price. I never like to go with the lowest, but they were extremely close and had better reviews. I am extremely glad I did. The install took 2.5 days, there were 3-6 guys at any given time here working. They were all extremely polite and even played with my kids and learned their names. Very very happy customer. Referred them to my neighbor two doors already. Jeff Parker makes sure you are taken care of and happy. I was a difficult person to work with, very inpatient during install process, he was always extremely responsive and concerned even when I was just jumping the gun. There are messes during the install, like the glue they used, and I just needed to wait for them to finish and get to the clean up phase for everything to be taken care of. They left it like they found it...maybe a little cleaner, did I mention I have a 4 and 5 year old?
Description of Work
Install engineered hardwoods upstairs
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
michael K.
5.0
02/19/2018
Received tiles in good condition.
Description of Work
Purchased ceramic tiles for sunroom floor
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor
James E.
5.0
08/06/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
ceramic tile
Martha C.
1.0
08/28/2015
The worst treatment I have ever received at a business. Kim seems to have a tremendously large chip on her shoulder and her rude treatment pushed me - a serious customer who went in intending to buy after picking out flooring - right out the door. Rude, snarky, horrible.
Description of Work
I could not employ them after the horrible treatment I received in this store.
Category
flooring contractor
Michael S.
5.0
12/23/2014
Overall, the experience was very positive. Preferred Flooring had the best selection of unique/modern tile flooring. They were very accommodating during the entire process. Preferred flooring was willing to work with us during all aspects of the project from tile selection to install and repair following install. I am a DIY'er so I removed all existing tile/flooring, shower surround and cabinets myself and worked with Preferred Flooring to schedule and install the tile. I would highly recommend Preferred Flooring especially for their tile selection, price, and willingness to work with customers to get the their complete satisfaction.
Description of Work
Installed new tile in master bathroom.
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor
Tia V.
5.0
10/21/2014
I chose a difference company based on cost. But I would still seek out Preferred's business in the future because my experience with them was quite positive.
Description of Work
I only got an estimate from this company - I did not end up using their services. But dealing with them was a good experience - they were professional, offered quality products and broke down the estimate into pieces when I requested that (which not all businesses like to do).
Category
flooring contractor
Becky H.
5.0
12/13/2013
The floors are beautiful. The color, staining and quality are perfect.
Description of Work
Installed hard wood floors throughout 90% of home and carpeting in other 10%. Approximately 3000 square feet of flooring.
Category
carpet installation, hardwood floor
Kristen H.
1.0
11/26/2013
HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!! HIDDEN FEES and POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!! I was introduced to Preferred Flooring through my flooring distributor, Horizon, when the other merchant I was working with wasn't able to complete my order due to credit card machine issues. Preferred only won my business to 'fulfill the order' as Horizon delivered my flooring and is my point of contact. Two weeks after ordering the materials I returned (3) sealed boxes back to the Horizon Distribution Center. Horizon offered to coordinate the refund with Preferred Flooring on my behalf. Yesterday, I got an email from Tricia Burchette saying I would be mailed a check for my refund; minus a $50 re-stocking fee. I explained to her that I never agreed to or was informed about a re-stocking policy at the time of purchase and that I personally drove the boxes of wood back to the Distribution Center myself. After exchanging several emails; Tricia admitted to being the owner of the business and refused to waive the 'administrative fee'. Preferred Flooring preys on the fact that in ALL flooring jobs, it is recommended to buy at least 10% extra. Most all other companies in the area that sell flooring DO NOT have re-stocking fees for this reason. Had I have been made aware of this policy, I would have found another company to 'fulfill my order'. PLEASE BE CAUTIOUS OF THIS LOCAL BUSINESS - THEY TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THEIR CUSTOMERS, CHANGE THEIR POLICIES, and DO NOT PROVIDE ANY POST-SALE CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Description of Work
Fulfilled my order through my distributor, Horizon. Horizon only sells through commercial organizations and cannot sell to the general public.
Category
flooring contractor
Nancy W.
5.0
11/26/2013
I could not have been more pleased.
Description of Work
First, they were very helpful in assisting me in choosing flooring for an entryway. I was looking at tile and hardwood. I choose a porcelain tile. They answered all my questions and did a very professional install.
Category
flooring contractor
Penny P.
5.0
04/02/2013
They were extremely reasonable. They were lower than the other places that I had looked at. The quality of their work was very good. At that time, they used their own carpet installers, they didn't contract it out. I haven't confirmed that they still do that. But their installers were excellent. Every interaction I had with them was very professional and very positive. I am getting ready to have them come and give me a quote on another room to be covered.
Description of Work
Preferred Flooring replaced a carpet for me. I have used them numerous times.
Category
carpet installation
James E.
5.0
06/03/2012
We removed damaged carpeting and had hardwoods installed in the hallway upstairs. The crew was really good and efficient. Remember hardwoods do take about 3 days to sand and finish. There was minimal dust from the hardwood work. It was an excellent match with our existing hardwoods downstairs. We had a satin finish and it looks terrific -smooth as silk. The carpeting was done the following week. We were allowed to see samples at home in all kinds of light-that really helped. We initially moved all the furniture but after all the carpeting was installed, they helped put all the furniture back- big relief. Both hardwood and carpeting crews were very neat and cleaned up really well after they were done.
Description of Work
Kim Miller was wonderful to work with- very professional and has years of experience with commercial and residential flooring. The show room is really pleasant to work in, nice relaxed atmosphere. Kim not only came when we had wet floors from the damage, she later returned to measure everything and offered recommendations on the flooring options. We had both hardwoods and carpeting installed after some water damage from a leaky faucet upstairs.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Other local Pros in your area

FISHER HARDWOOD FLOORING

In business since 2000, Fisher Hardwood Flooring provides quality hardwood flooring installation and dust free hardwood floor refinishing in Wake Forest, Raleigh, Cary, Apex, Durham, and Chapel Hill, NC. Our commitment to quality products, craftsmanship, cleanliness, and customer service is evident. When you contact us for an estimate, Matt Fisher, the owner, will personally meet you at your home to understand your flooring vision and needs. He will answer any questions to ensure you receive the best products at a competitive price. Join our growing list of satisfied clients! Estimates are free, contact us today to get started adding value and beauty to your home with hardwood floors.  

Angi Certified

Triangle Floors

Triangle floors Is a family company established in 2008, we work in the triangle offering the most quality installation and refinishing hardwood floors, if you are looking for a good and great floor call us! Formerly known as Brother's Flooring.  

Angi Certified

Footprints Floors of Raleigh

At Footprints Floors in the Raleigh area, we're a step above the rest! We are a one-of-a-kind family owned and operated flooring installation and restoration business. We have spent the past decade mastering the installation and restoration of hardwood floors as well as the installation of laminate, vinyl, staircases and baseboards. From small repairs to large refinishing and installation projects, we specialize in hardwood floors in Raleigh and we pride ourselves on offering top quality workmanship at a fair price. One of the ways we keep our costs low (without compromising the quality of our services) is by completely eliminating the need for any type of showroom - decreasing our overhead, logistics, and staffing requirements and passing those savings directly onto you, our valued customers. For your next flooring project, make sure to connect with Footprints Floors. NWFA Certified Sales Advisor, License #CSA668  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Phone

Address

8411 Glenwood Ave 105

Raleigh, NC 27612

Other Information

Services Not Offered

We do not repair items we have not installed, nor do we offer cleaning services.

Payment options

Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

PREFERRED FLOORING is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

PREFERRED FLOORING is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

PREFERRED FLOORING accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Yes, PREFERRED FLOORING offers free project estimates.

Yes, PREFERRED FLOORING offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, PREFERRED FLOORING does not offer a senior discount.

No, PREFERRED FLOORING does not offer warranties.

PREFERRED FLOORING offers the following services: We offer sales, design service, & installation of carpet, tile & hardwood flooring for your home. We will also sell cash and carry.

We do not repair items we have not installed, nor do we offer cleaning services.