Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Raleigh Mold Inspection and Remediation

Founded 1996 • With Angi since June 2010

Locally owned & operated since 1996. Free Estimates. Raleigh Mold Inspection and Remediation is Certified in mold inspection, mold remediation and prevention. We do residential and commercial We are also giving Free Crawl Space Inspections for Angie's List members.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
10%
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(35) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 35 reviews
Elizabeth B.
1.0
09/02/2018
Walk showed up at our house, inspected it carefully, told us exactly what needed to be done, and promised an estimate that night. We never got one. We had worked with a couple of other folks, but I had liked his suggestions for what to do with the house, so I waited a couple of days and then called him. He said that he would email it that night and to email him so we could make sure the email address was correct. I emailed him. No estimate. A couple of days later, I figured I'd try one more time, so I called. He was right next to his computer. He said he'd email. No estimate. I have to start all over with someone else now, and in the meantime, the mold problem isn't getting smaller. He either didn't want the job for some reason (though it seems sort of standard based on what he said) or he's disastrously disorganized. Either way, it's set us back a week.
Description of Work
Mold Removal
Category
mold removal
Anil C.
5.0
02/12/2018
Excellent ! Showed up on time. Efficient.
Description of Work
Inspection
Category
mold removal
Joseph H.
4.0
08/07/2017
Our agreement with Walt was that he would remove the kitchen cabinets involved, remediate the mold and repair the drywall after the source of the dampness was repaired. Our responsibility was to repair the kitchen cabinet after remediation and have the source of the dampness repaired then have the kitchen cabinets re-installed. Walt was responsive in providing us an estimate and coming our to remediate the mold. He and his helper were unable to remove the kitchen cabinets so we had to hire a handyman to remove the cabinets and repair the mold damaged back panel. We had the source of the water damage repaired in a couple of days but had to wait a week for a handyman. Walt agreed to repair the drywall the day after the cabinets were removed. We asked that it be done by Thursday afternoon because we had family coming to visit that evening for a long weekend. Walt's helper showed up at 5:15 pm and finished the repair about 10 pm so he was working as we cooked and ate our dinner. He was a nice guy and did good work but the timing was pretty bad.
Description of Work
We noticed that there was a black mold on one of our high kitchen cabinets We needed the mold to be remediated and the drywall repaired after remediation.
Category
mold removal
Steven H.
5.0
08/02/2017
Great, although it took most of the day.
Description of Work
Mold remediation upstairs
Category
mold removal
Sharron B.
5.0
06/26/2017
They came as scheduled and perform the services.
Description of Work
Mold inspection and remediation of a very small area. Money well spent.
Category
mold removal
Richard V.
5.0
05/15/2017
Walt showed up when he said for both times we had tests done. We were having mold remediation done by another company who recommended a third party tester. Walt's visits were punctual and informative. He got our results back quickly. Everything about this experience was great during a difficult time.
Description of Work
Mold and environmental testing
Category
mold removal
Maryann V.
5.0
09/14/2015
Walt did an excellent job addressing our issues. He was very easy to reach and very fast to respond to my calls throughout he process. He provided effective services and was very reasonable with his pricing. I was thrilled with how easy he was to work with, he is professional and seems to genuinely take pride in the quality of his work. I would high recommend this company.
Description of Work
Water damage inspection and remediation
Category
water damage restoration, mold removal
Jack H.
4.0
01/24/2015
Did a great job with the mold. But for the carpentry I would give him a C . He did try to fix the issues with the carpentry. He was very responsive in trying to fix the issues. I would hire him again for mold work.
Description of Work
Mold work and carpentry work
Category
mold removal
Linda R.
5.0
12/07/2014
We decided to make the repairs ourselves this time. However, I was impressed by Walt's professionalism and obvious skills, so I do plan to call him again.
Description of Work
I asked Walt of Cary Painting and Home Improvement to give me an estimate to remediate some mold/fungus under my roof and repair and paint the ceiling in the room where damage from a roof leak had occurred.
Category
drywall, water damage restoration, interior painters, mold removal
Bette L.
5.0
10/13/2014
First of all, Walt was very on to spot inspecting the crawlspace and providing a very fair estimate of the work. Then he and his helper Brad arrived each day and dove into the work and in a short span of days I had a newly leveled crawlspace, sealed from the humidity, the mold removed and mold killing spray applied, and new insulation installed. A new sump pump and dehumidifier put in and the work was completed
Description of Work
Walt Smith and his helper Brad brought my old crawlspace up to date and removed the mold that's been growing in this humid climate.
Category
insulation, basement waterproofing, mold removal
Joshua R.
5.0
09/04/2014
That service turned out good. One inspector came out and it took him about an hour. I thought he was very upfront and honest. He gave me a clear assessment of what the estimate would get me. He gave me some extra stuff that would help with the mold that I had.
Description of Work
I purchased a deal from this company for house and crawl space mold inspection.
Category
mold removal
BOB O.
1.0
04/24/2014
Never returned my emails to set up an appointment.
Description of Work
Did not return my emails to set up an appointment.
Category
mold removal

Service Provider Response

Mr. [removed member name] I did send you a couple of emails and asking you to give me a call to set up an appointment. You just responded in telling me something about your problem. You never called me to set up the appointment. So here is a couple of responses I sent you for all to see. Also I did call up Angies's list to refund your money the day you requested it. I did everything that I could have. Cary Painting And Home Improvement 3/11/2014 Hi Mr. [removed member name] Thanks for getting our inspection coupon. Please give me a call so we can schedule a time which is best for you and us. Also I need to ask about your mold problem. Kind Regards Walt Smith 919-342-5673 Cary Painting And Home Improvement 3/14/2014 Can you give me a call to schedule the appointment. Thank You Walt Smith 919-342-5673
michelle B.
5.0
02/20/2014
I was scared this was going to end up costing me a lot, but he was very HONEST with me and told me what I could do for the fact there wasn't any but a spot. So to take care of the mold cost a bottle at Home Depot for $15.00..... HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY !!!
Description of Work
mold test
Category
mold removal
Andrew C.
5.0
01/16/2014
The provider was on time professional and got us the photos and test results within a day or two. Thankfully there was no mold in the house that posed any threat to anyone.
Description of Work
The provider examined our rental house for mold after a tenant complained.
Category
mold removal
Elizabeth R.
5.0
10/23/2013
Walt was very responsive, always answered the phone, kept in touch, and follows up when there are issues. I contacted him two months ago get an estimate and due to delays outside his control I was not able to do the work immediately. He kept in touch and as soon as the work could be done, he was able to get the job completed within a week. My only issue was not knowing exactly when they would be doing the work but since they were working in a crawl space under the house, I did not need to be home for the work to be done.
Description of Work
Replaced insulation, remediated mold, and put vapor barrier in crawl space.
Category
mold removal
Lesley L.
4.0
09/26/2013
Rep arrived on time and was pretty thorough. Had to ask him a lot of questions in order to really feel like I was getting my concerns addressed, but he seemed credible and knowledgeable. Ultimately, his inspection put our mind at ease which was the objective. We asked for a quote for basement mold remediation as well as an estimate for a small paint job of our porch. The quote took awhile to receive and then his follow-up was pretty poor. The price was good and we'd consider using him again, but would like better communication on setting up an appointment rather than just calling to notify us that his guys are coming to do the job.
Description of Work
Mold inspection throughout home
Category
basement waterproofing, mold removal
Craig J.
2.0
09/10/2013
Negatives across the board. Never, never and never. They were not punctual, responsive and did not give me a quote back. They also did not reply to my questions. The gentleman who came out was sloppy and used foul language. I will never allow them on my property again.
Description of Work
I got a quote from Cary Painting And Home Improvement to strip my deck.
Category
deck cleaning

Service Provider Response

[member name removed]. I think you may have mistaken my company with another one. As far as I know I did not go out to your place. Could not find your name on my calendar or message book. I am always on time to give a quote to someone and always answer any questions a customer may have. I always answer the phone at all times of the day. If I was there you would know that I am not sloppy and I never use foul language anywhere. I am the only one that goes out to give estimates and no one else. Kind Regards Walt Smith
Michael M.
5.0
08/05/2013
They came out a few months back and the service went well. I was satisfied with their service and I have nothing bad to say about them.
Description of Work
I purchased a "Big Deal" from Cary Painting And Home Improvement and they checked the mold at my house.
Category
flooring contractor, insulation, mold removal
Jeff J.
5.0
06/27/2013
They are wonderful! They are top notch! The owner is always there if you need them.
Description of Work
They removed mold from the crawl space and insured that it would not come back.
Category
mold removal
Shaaron C.
2.0
03/18/2013
Overall it did not go well.
Description of Work
This company performed an inspection required by our mortgage lender to obtain a reverse mortgage for my elderly mother. While the company was licensed and did provide reports based on lab results, the inspector either could not or would not make any recommendations beyond those results to the mortgage lender and was rather rude in a comment given to them. While the inspector was at Mother's house, he was very professional but a little terse. I would not use this company or individual again.
Category
mold removal
Elizabeth S.
5.0
12/19/2012
I requested a mold remediation analysis and got a thorough analysis. It was exactly what I wanted. Everything went smoothly, as expected.
Description of Work
I requested a mold remediation analysis and got a thorough analysis. It was exactly what I wanted. Everything went smoothly, as expected.
Category
basement waterproofing, mold removal
Catherine M.
5.0
10/27/2012
After purchasing a house this summer I discovered a problem with cat urine in some of the flooring. In pulling up the laminate I noticed a strong mildew odor. Having had a mold issue in my last townhome I wanted to get to the bottom of it. Walt came over and immediately noticed the smell, too. But after inspecting the concrete subfloor and the laminate I had removed, he didn't find any evidence of mold or mildew. It's possible the vapor barrier keeping the subfloor moisture from the laminate might have led to mold eventually, if enough moisture become present. As I enjoyed dealing with Walt, I asked him about using his flooring services. I had already had a big home store come and measure and give me an estimate, however, as I wanted to get this done before moving day, the home center only had a few choices to pick from to get the carpet in time. I wasn't too happy with the available choices, but selected my carpet and vinyl choices and got the estimate. Walt sent me to a large showroom where a very helpful salesman patiently worked with me for quite awhile. I picked out 3 kinds of carpet and 1 kind of vinyl. Not only did I have access to a larger selection, but they were able to get the materials in faster. And then what really surprised me was that Walt's estimate came in under the home center's estimate! And i didn't have to settle for the few options they had in a couple weeks time. Walt's crew did a great job. They pulled up the old carpeting and vinyl. They did the vinyl in the 2 bathrooms, hall and 3 closets off the hall with only 1 small seam that I didn't notice. The crew really took pride in their work and were easy to deal with. They also did a great job laying the 3 kinds of carpet, too. When I noticed I felt a few tacks in the entryway of a couple rooms, the team leader came back and fixed that for me. They also built a little channel under the carpet edge to safely hide the TV cable. I would highly recommend this company and would use them again. But hopefully the flooring will last me a long time and I won't have to have them do the flooring again! They do offer many other services though.
Description of Work
I first contacted Cary Painting about a possible mold problem. As Walt didn't find a problem on a visual inspection, I instead used his company to replace the flooring in 6 rooms, a hallway and 6 closets instead.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor, mold removal
Greg H.
4.0
09/07/2012
The best thing about Walt is that he always picks up his phone-- even if he might not want to hear what you have to say. He's always polite and responsive. The work-- top to bottom-- was quality, no question. If there's something we didn't like, he would come and discuss it with us and fix it. It's been a huge improvement to our home and quality of life. It was a dirty job, but they did it well. Walt was straight up with us on prices and we never had any surprises. We never had to do any hard price negotiations or anything like that. One of the dehumidifiers started leaking, we called Walt to take a look. He said he'd come the next day to look at it, but seeing as we just spent all this money to remove moisture from our home, we insisted that he come immediately and he did. Sometimes his communication with the subcontractors was missed as far as arrival times and when they would be there. They weren't as responsive as they could have been and are not maybe on par with Walt. My only issue was that I wish he could manage his employees a little better.
Description of Work
We worked with Walt Smith who did a mold inspection and found that the insulation under our home was totally corrupt with mold. He pulled out all of the insulation and redid the crawlspace so that they would be protected from moisture. A few weeks later when he made sure that everything was properly sealed, he installed dehumidifiers to prevent further moisture. We also had mold in the upstairs bathroom ceiling. He ripped it out and he redid the entire ceiling including repainting it. Our downstairs toilet was also leaking. He replaced the toilet, removed the old flooring, and installed new.
Category
flooring contractor, interior painters, mold removal
John R.
5.0
06/25/2012
Very well. CP & HI work was generally very good, and when corrections were needed, they were made promptly.
Description of Work
Cary Painting and Home Improvement has done a wide range of work on our house in Cary, NC--from painting to siding replacement to deck work, etc.--over a 2+year period. Walt and his crew do very good work. We'd use them again.
Category
gutter repair, deck cleaning, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters, mold removal
Darlene P.
5.0
12/09/2011
This group is very familiar with mold issues and how to treat them while saving the customer money. They did a fine job and made us feel much more comfortable in our home. They were pleasant, thoughtful and unobtrusive.We would recommend them highly.
Description of Work
After looking at the mold we had in one duct, we had him eliminate the mold, preventative treat our ducts and under the house.
Category
mold removal

Other Information

Services offered

Mold Inspection, Mold Remediation and removal. Crawlspace Mold Removal. Interior Remediation. Close crawlspaces. Dehumidifiers, French Drains. Waterproofing. Odor control. Germ, Bacteria, and Mold prevention.

Payment options

MasterCard
Check
Visa
PayPal
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Raleigh Mold Inspection and Remediation is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

Raleigh Mold Inspection and Remediation is open:

Monday: 8:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 8:30 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Raleigh Mold Inspection and Remediation accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa, PayPal, American Express, Discover

Yes, Raleigh Mold Inspection and Remediation offers free project estimates.

Yes, Raleigh Mold Inspection and Remediation offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Raleigh Mold Inspection and Remediation offers a 10% senior discount.

Yes, Raleigh Mold Inspection and Remediation offers warranties.

Raleigh Mold Inspection and Remediation offers the following services: Mold Inspection, Mold Remediation and removal. Crawlspace Mold Removal. Interior Remediation. Close crawlspaces. Dehumidifiers, French Drains. Waterproofing. Odor control. Germ, Bacteria, and Mold prevention.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Red Letter Roofing, Inc.

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

Red Letter Roofing, Inc.

With over 12 years of roofing experience, we are here to help you with all your roofing needs such as repairs, replacement and new installation. We also do gutter, fascia, and soffits as well.  

All residential projects from the roof to the yard and everywhere in between! We specialize in kitchens, bathrooms, decks, porches, and sunrooms, but we do it all, so don't hesitate to call!  

Maestro Wallpaper and Paint

5.0

(6)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Maestro Wallpaper and Paint

Maestro Wallpaper and Painting is locally owned and operated out of Cary, NC. We provide all types of home renovation and painting services and we have over 20 years of experience. We are experts that treat your home with the care it deserves. Please give us a call or click for an estimate!