Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis

Founded 2017 • With Angi since July 2017

4.3

(14) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11993 Borman Dr

Saint Louis, MO 63146

Description

Since its inception by co founders William Barr and Michael Strmac in 2002, Universal Windows Direct has lived by the philosophy of CANEI - "Constant and Never Ending Improvement". This philosophy holds true in all aspects of our business, from sales and marketing to installation and service and has catapulted UWD from a small, local home improvement company to one of the largest exterior remodeling companies in the country. Every one of our employees strives continuously to be the best in the business at what they do and provide our customers with only the highest levels of sales, service, and support. We think our company's history speaks to this goal and to the power of what we can accomplish by never settling. Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis opened in 2017. Our products feature the exclusive UniShield brand and come with a transferable lifetime warranty on materials and labor. We are a fully licensed, bonded, and insured company and EPA Lead-Safe certified. In addition, a portion of every sale goes to support a growing list of local charities....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

10/04/2021


MARK P.

Earlier this year my wife and I signed a contract with UWD to provide us with 10 new windows in our home. The windows arrived at the warehouse in St. Louis and an appointment is made for installation. Contractor arrives with 10 windows, all in good condition, 2 of which are picture windows that require cut out and interior trim installation. Contractor starts installation without prepping site other than small pieces of old cardboard laid in front of the windows to be replaced. Contractor installs most windows without major issues other than the current, builder grade windows were extremely hard for them to remove which resulted in minor damage to existing window sills and window surrounds. Minor damage to wood flooring as well. Contractor begins work on 2 picture window cutout with an oscillating tool to cut out drywall which in turn blows dust all over our lower level, kitchen, living room, dining room, den, etc. No tarps or coverings are laid which creates a thick layer of drywall dust throughout the house. To remedy this, I purchased plastic sheeting and covered everything in our home. Contractor uses a broom to clean up large debris and a LEAF BLOWER for the visible dust. The entire situation creates issues with my wife and 2 & 5 year old daughters with respiratory issues. They have to leave the house. Contractor completes cut out and installation of larger windows but doesn't have the correct materials or right amount of Red Oak to complete the interior trim with the Red Oak they started with. Contractor informs me that I can have someone else complete it and send the invoice to UWD for reimbursement via check or gift card. I mention that we're also getting siding put on after the windows are installed and the Contractor advises that it would be better for the siding company to perform the exterior completion of the window trim/metal bend and wood framing. I contact siding contractor and they bid the job which increases my siding bid by $1,550.00 Contractor completes job having left interior Red Oak Trim and exterior window framing incomplete. Siding company installs siding, exterior metal/wood window trim, etc. on 10 windows. (added $1,550.00 to bid) UWD Salesperson calls asking for money ($1,300) for the picture window cut out and interior trim. I inform him that this wasn't completed and he states that he's going to get to the bottom of it and call me back. That never happened and I still haven't heard from him. I hire Carpenter to install interior Red Oak Trim ($972.35) I placed AT LEAST a dozen calls to a number of people in different positions at UWD sales, customer service, etc., most of whom told me they are going to try and get some sort of solution and have someone call me back. Somehow I got transferred to Mike in Pittsburgh UWD Warehouse who was very helpful, but also failed to provide a resolution. 3 different instances the St. Louis warehouse called me to set up an appointment for installation of interior trim which has already been completed. Customer Service contacts me and is very helpful. She listened to our concerns, spoke with management, and provided me with a solution which is unacceptable as it doesn't equal the amount we had to pay out of pocket for the incomplete work that should've been done by the original UWD Contractor. There is obviously a lot more to this story. The communication has been EXTREMELY POOR. At this point UWD is only removing the $1,300 charge for the window cutout of 2 picture windows and interior trim with Red Oak which wasn't completed and refunding $1,222.35. Again, we had to pay $1,550.00 to JB Exteriors and $972.35 to Helm Carpentry to complete the jobs that the UWD Contactor failed to complete, yet charged us for. Total, I owe $2,522.35 to these other contractors for their work. I'm willing to pay for half of the job for the cut out as I stated, but I'd like to, at the very least, be able to take the difference and pay the contractors what I owe them. I just want to be made whole. Logically, I should be reimbursed $1,550.00 for the exterior and $322.35 for the interior (the sum of the $1,300 - $650 = $650, $972.53 - $650 = $322.35) This entire situation has taken what should've been an exciting time for our family and turned it into a nightmare.

Description of Work
Window installation

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], we are truly sorry to hear about this experience with us as we aim to provide a quality customer experience. If you would like to discuss your experience further or have suggestion on how we can improve, please contact us at customerservice@universalwindowsdirect.com.^JD
5.0

07/14/2021


Diane D.

Great. The company kept in touch through the whole process and delivered and installed the windows when they said they would. 4 installers showed up at 8 this morning and were finished at 11:30. Fast and efficient. I highly recommend.

Description of Work
Replaced 19 windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the 5-star review! ^AM
5.0

07/07/2021


Mike W.

Rodney and his team - Tyler, Joey and Jordan - did an outstanding job removing and replacing our 17 windows and patio double door. All were very careful to ensure no damage to paint, woodwork and flooring when removing the old windows. All new items were installed square to their original frames, and all four sides of every item were carefully inspected and very well-sealed with caulk and insulating foam. The entire effort - 5 1/2 hours from unload to cleanup - was so efficient that we're certain an additional team member was in hiding somewhere! We are exceedingly pleased with the quality and price of our Universal Windows Direct products, and are absolutely amazed at the diligence, courtesy, and professionalism of this team. We highly recommend the Universal Windows Direct products and the professional work of Rodney, Tyler, Joey and Jordan. Thank you for your outstanding services!

Description of Work
Whole house window and double door replacement

Category replacement windows,doors

Service Provider Response

Hi, [Member Name Removed]. Thank you so much for leaving us a stellar review! ^AM
4.0

06/17/2021


lisa B.

The windows are are great and can’t wait to see my lowered a/c bill. The windows are also an attractive upgrade to the house. The installation was fantastic! Professional quick and clean. Universal Windows also replies to questions quickly and keeps customers updated on the next step. My only remaining question is “this was buy one get one free” and I still don’t understand if that happened. It seems like we paid $1000 per window. That’s high. The sales pitch is fast

Description of Work
Window Installation

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], thank you for the feedback. I can have a member of the sales team reach out to you to explain the offer to you! ^AM
5.0

12/12/2020


Erica F.

The sales rep Camden was great. His presentation was clear and knowledgeable. Love the quality of the windows! Would recommend them to my family and friends.

Description of Work
New Windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hello! We are so happy to hear that Camden provided you with a great experience! Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything! - MS
4.0

04/12/2020


Kathleen A.

I called to get an estimate for 2 small basement windows. They scheduled an appointment and came to give a long detailed presentation (90 minutes) and offered a "today only" price, which they subsequently offered to lower 2 more times. The quality of the windows seems good, but above our budget, and we were turned off by the sales tactics.

Description of Work
replace 2 basement windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback! We will pass this information about your experience along to our management team for review. -UWD Customer Service
5.0

10/22/2018


Lisa K.

It was a wonderful experience ... Jordan was extremely professional, personable, friendly and extremely knowledgeable with the companies product. Will definitely recommend to friends, family, neighbors

Description of Work
New windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

That wonderful! Thank you for your business and for sharing your experience with us. Thank you, UWD Customer Service
5.0

10/12/2018


Kate W.

Perfect. We love our new windows and couldn’t be happier.

Description of Work
New windows.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Yay!! We are thrilled to hear this. Please let us know if we can assist you with anything else. Thank you, UWD Customer Service
5.0

10/05/2018


paul F.

Sales representative was very thorough on her presentation explaining all the options based on our configuration. I choose Universal Windows for their quality and warranty when comparing to other manufacturers

Description of Work
Window replacement

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We love to hear from our customers and are happy to hear you had a great experience so far. Please let us know if we can assist you with anything else. Thank you, UWD Customer Service
1.0

10/02/2018


Rachel D.

In September 2017 my wife and I purchased a window and door from Universal Windows Direct, and financed it with them for 0%. The salesman did a cursory measurement, then a week or two later, the professional installer came to measure. The window and doors took much longer than promised to arrive. The day came for them to be installed, and the door that was made for our house didn't fit; the measurement was either done wrong, or the company made it incorrectly. A new door had to be made, and by the time it was ready, it was late January for the install. The day the window was installed, the two installers, who were outside on the front porch, smoked cigarettes during the install, with the smell and smoke wafting into our house. The truck they drove, which sat in our driveway leaked transmission fluid. They all appeared hung over. When the door was installed in January, they didn't have the new hardware we ordered, and so we decided to just use the existing hardware from our old door. The installer installed the lock upside down. The masonry around our door was damaged. The temperature that day was in the low 30's, and the slow install made the house unbearably cold. (We were told at the sale our install would be in late October.) The install manager, whose name I forget now, attempted to make things right by coming over himself, he said, the next day to fix the masonry and correct the lock. That morning, he called to say he couldn't come, but he was sending over someone to fix it. This was a Saturday. His communication among his men was lacking, as I was on the phone with two different men who knew nothing about why they were being tasked on a Saturday to come to our house, and, each of them didn't know the other had been asked to do this job. As we had a party that night to clean and plan for, I asked one of the men how long he expected the rehab of our door would take, and he curtly responded, "it's my Saturday too, and I have no idea; I'm not there." Fast forward a few weeks, and we get a call from Ryan Forden from Universal Windows Direct. He wanted to come over as soon as possible to have us re-sign the banking paperwork for the door. Because the door took so long to produce and install, the financing window for the door had expired. Ryan was on the phone with the bank, in our dinning room for over a hour, attempting to get the financing established. The bank refused to finance the door, as it was out of agreement with the original contract. While he was there, I detailed our experience with the install manager, and the installers. I told him how disappointed I was with his company, and I would not agree to have them place their sign in our yard, nor use them again. He was visibly shaken by my disappointment and promised to make things right, and offered a discount on future windows. He also said he would talk with the owners of the company, and get back to us soon about how to finance the door. He didn't leave his business card, nor did he ever contact us again. On Friday, Sept. 28, 2018, I had a registered letter from the post office, sent by Bedford Municipal Court, and that we were being sued by Universal Windows Direct. We immediately went to their office in Maryland Heights. We asked to speak with the owner or manager, and were directed to Ryan's office. After a minute, Ryan remembered us, and asked if we could pay for the door. My wife agreed to pay, but our only option to pay for the door was with a credit card, at 18% interest. I asked him how we got to the point of being sued by his company, when it was his company that failed every step of the way. I reminded him that I promised not to air my disappointment and experience on social media, as that wasn't how I like to operate in business. All Ryan did was say his company "dropped the ball", and apologized. He made no attempt to explore how they could offset the interest rate we are now accruing, or offer any other reparations. We insisted they contact their legal office to have reflected on our account that the door was paid in full and drop the lawsuit. We still haven't heard directly from their legal office, but we do have an email from the office manager, Brittany West, that requests them to contact us.

Description of Work
Installation of window and front door

Category replacement windows,doors

Service Provider Response

We are sorry to hear about your experience. We have shared this information with our management team. Thank you, UWD Customer Service
5.0

07/19/2018


Robin D.

How did it go? Let me tell you how it went. It could not have been a better experience. Universal Windows Direct (UWD) was immediately responsive to my request for a presentation of their product and an estimate. Once negotiations were complete I was kept informed of the status of my order throughout. I changed my mind on the style of lock finishes about 10 days after placing my order and they took care of that without any difficulty. Once my order came in two weeks earlier than expected UWD provided me with an install date the same week. My installers arrived one time and immediately went to work. The friendly three person crew braved the July heat and continued to work through completion. From the demo to the clean-up, I was completely satisfied with every aspect of the install. Not a bit of scrap material was left behind. Oh, and they even took care of a couple wasp problems for me. The windows themselves look incredible. The screens are easy to see through and hardly noticeable. Additionally, I saw immediate results in their efficiency. I have a west facing bedroom window that catches every ray of afternoon sun. I had become used to going into that room and it was nearly unbearable. The day after that window was replaced, I went into that room and couldn't believe the difference. I am actually looking forward to next coming month's power bills to see my savings. I am extremely pleased with my experience with Universal Windows Direct and I have sung their praises to my neighbors and friends with my highest recommendation. The highest selling point for me was the lifetime guarantee and the 30 year transferrable warranty once I sell my home.

Description of Work
15 Replacement windows throughout the home

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing your experience! We love to hear from our customers and are thrilled to hear about your experience. We hope you LOVE your new windows and please let us know if we can help with anything else. Thank you, UWD Customer Service.
5.0

06/23/2018


Nick M.

It went great. Jeff B. was very knowledgeable about the product and went the extra mile to ensure we got the best available deal. We were so satisfied we discussed potentially doing another project in the future.

Description of Work
All windows in home replaced.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Yay! We are happy to hear about your positive experience with us. Please keep us in mind for future projects. Thank you, UWD Customer Service.
5.0

06/19/2018


Tracy C.

Jeff Becklund was a very good salesman. He explained everything to us and worked with us to get our price we needed and our financing.

Description of Work
Vinyl windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

That's great! We are thrilled to hear about your experience with our company. Please keep us in mind for future projects. Thank you. UWD Customer Service
5.0

05/01/2018


Molly C.

I just wanted to say what a great experience I had with this company. From the sales associate Kim who made the decision super easy, especially after her awesome presentation with the fire, to the installers, to the ease of the billing process. I had been hesitant about making such a big purchase, but the windows keep my home warm in the winter and cold in the summer, all while saving me money on my bills! Myself and my family cannot thank you enough for such a comfortable home. If I ever need to purchase windows, doors, or siding in the future, I will not hesitate to call Universal Windows Direct!

Description of Work
New Windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

That's wonderful! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your business. Please let us know if we can help with anything in the future. Thank you, UWD Customer Service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Window World

    We are committed to our customers, providing exceptional products at an unbeatable price with service at the top of the list. Our products are EPA Lead-Safe certified and our windows are Energy Star certified and are backed by the Good Housekeeping Seal. Additional DBAs - Window World of St Louis & Window World Inc. Locally owned & operated by Jon Gillette & Jim Lomax.  

    Lakeside Renovation & Design

    Lakeside Renovation & Design is the Interior & Exterior remodeling company St. Louis trusts to provide top quality products and first-rate service. (Unfortunately, we do not offer Window Repairs) We are one of the only St. Louis siding contractors to achieve the prestigious James Hardie Siding “Preferred Remodeler” status. Our goal is to help make your home more beautiful, comfortable and energy efficient all while delivering a home remodeling experience that is enjoyable and stress-free. We specialize in full scale remodels and are not outfitted to do repairs unless you are our customer currently.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Lakeside Renovation & Design on Angi
    Chaney Windows and Doors LLC

    Installation and sales of windows and doors. NO REPAIRS. We are based in St. Louis and offer high level professional installation, and products, at reasonable prices. Our bids our competitive, but our service is hard to compete with. Please contact our address today for an estimate 636-699-6353. Thanks for considering us!  

    Business Highlights

    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Look to Universal Windows Direct for replacement windows, front doors, patio and storm doors!

    Services Not Offered

    Glass repair, window repair, door repair, interior doors

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis

    How is Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis overall rated?

    Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis open?

    Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis is open:

    Sunday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis provide

    Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis offer free estimates?

    Yes, Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis offers free project estimates.

    Does Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis?

    Yes, Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis offers warranties.

    What services does Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis offer?

    Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis offers the following services: Look to Universal Windows Direct for replacement windows, front doors, patio and storm doors!

    Are there any services Universal Windows Direct of St. Louis does not offer?

    Glass repair, window repair, door repair, interior doors