Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Window Outfitters Inc

Founded 2003 • With Angi since January 2004

4.8

(100) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

12605 Creek View Ave

Savage, MN 55378

Description

Home owners in the greater metropolitan area of Minneapolis and St. Paul can turn to the customer service specialists at Window Outfitters Inc, to help protect and beautify their homes. We have an outstanding record of satisfied customers who have found out that attention to detail, quality

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Bryan W.
5.0
03/28/2019
Things really well. Good professionalism and very quality crastmenship. It’s was a pretty big job as many of the windows were on second story over 20ft up. The crew made the best of crappy snow covered worksite and subzero weather without taking shortcuts. Salesman Dave is great to work with and provided a very detailed quote upfront. I’ll be recommending them to others.
Description of Work
replace 7 windows and a sliding door
Category
replacement windows, doors
Bryan W.
4.0
02/28/2019
Things really well. Good professionalism and very quality crastmenship. It’s was a pretty big job as many of the windows were on second story over 20ft up. The crew made the best of crappy snow covered worksite and subzero weather without taking shortcuts. Salesman Dave is great to work with and provided a very detailed quote upfront. I’ll be recommending them to others.
Description of Work
Replaced 4 big windows and sliding door
Category
replacement windows, doors
Andy D.
5.0
08/08/2018
Once I filled out a query for my window sill and frame rot on Angie's list, Window Outfitters was quick to respond and get an appointment scheduled. Dave Herstad came out and looked everything over and gave me a really honest take on the situation. With something like this, it's hard to know what the correct option is... I had another company out earlier in the day who wanted to take out the entire window and replace everything up to the frame. That proved to be a really expensive option, that would have thrown away windows only 10 years old. Dave, who's job it is to sell windows, explained that I didn't need new windows, only a fix on the frame and some aluminum wrap to make sure the problem wouldn't return. He called a handyman that he uses and waited until he showed up 20 minutes later to personally make the introduction. It's so refreshing to work with a salesman and a company that wanted the job done right, and only addressed what needed fixing, even if that meant not selling me something. The next time I need a door, window and an honest salesman, I'm calling Dave at Window Outfitters.
Description of Work
Consult on window rot and window replacement
Category
replacement windows
Charles B.
5.0
02/20/2018
Really great through the whole process. The man who did the framing and install was extremely accommodating. The door company sent out the wrong door but Window Outfitters was all over it and handled the mistake with a plumb. We had a new door in no time and they were back out in a timely manner to reinstall. The customer service we received was really great. Glad to have worked with them. The quality of the door and window were exactly as expected.
Description of Work
Hired for reframing and installing a new window and door.
Category
replacement windows, woodworking, doors
Sharon D.
5.0
01/16/2018
Window Outfitters and Dave their rep kept us informed of progress the whole way through the process. There was a factory problem with a chip on the wood of one of the windows and that was handled quickly and to our complete satisfaction. Windows are beautiful and efficient.
Description of Work
Install new windows in lower level of home.
Category
replacement windows
Debra M.
5.0
08/14/2017
It was awesome! If I had to do it all over again, I would choose Window Outfitters. Dave and Bob were awesome to work with and Joe and his crew were just as good! We are in love with the look and efficiency of our home!
Description of Work
We had windows, siding and doors put in.
Category
siding, replacement windows, glass block, doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review. We enjoyed working with you as well and are proud to see the way we were able to transform the look of your home! Bob Davis, CEO/President
Marjorie R.
5.0
05/25/2017
There were a couple hiccups but that's bound to happen from time to time. I was most impressed that the owner worked with me to find a solution that I could feel good about. I appreciate working with a company you can count on in good times and also for exemplary service recovery when things don't go according to plan.
Description of Work
We needed a patio door replaced.
Category
doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your kind review [Member Name Removed]. It is always our goal to resolve issues, that occur from time to time, and retain our customers loyalty and satisfaction.
Deborah Z.
5.0
04/10/2017
Very well. They were very prompt, responsive, and professional.
Description of Work
Installation of storm windows
Category
replacement windows
Doug I.
5.0
02/02/2016
This entire process went very smoothly. I contacted Window Outfitters through Angie's list to set up an estimate for replacing the windows in my home. David contacted me promptly to confirm the appointment. He arrived for the estimate and he was knowledgeable, professional and detail-oriented which I highly appreciate. The estimate David gave me was also very through and detailed, so that I knew exactly what was being quoted and what i would receive as part of the quote. Other firms I contacted were not as detailed. I had to go back many times to see what was and what was not included in their quotes. Even though other firms were initially cheaper, when I forced them all to include the same thing in their quotes, Window Outfitters wound up being cheaper than the competition. So, check the details. I signed up and waited for my new windows to be manufactured. About 1.5 weeks before installation, I got an Email from Window Outfitters letting me know the windows were in, proposed installation dates, and the assigned foreman for the job with his contact information. This was really helpful, so that I could stay in contact. On the first installation day, the crew arrived right on time and got to work. They were a highly experienced and professional installation team who understand customer service. They protected the floors during installation, worked around me when I needed access to certain parts of the house, and finished up the entire job in two days during a very cold part of January. The windows are installed, are square and level, and look fantastic. Every part of this process was communicated ahead of time to me which was very reassuring. The team met all their deliverables on-time, on-budget, and in the manner they promised. Truly outstanding customer service. I could not be more pleased with windows and with the team at Window Outfitters.
Description of Work
Replaced all the windows, full frame install, in my 2000 sq. ft house.
Category
replacement windows
Jennifer S.
5.0
10/18/2015
Dave was spot on with his quote when comparing apples to apples to the othe 3 quotes we got. He was responsive and delightful to work with in the process. Installation was scheduled approx 10 weeks later as promised. Salley did a fantastic job keeping in contact during the scheduling process. The crew arrived in time, were beyond professional, courteous, a pleasure to work with and most of all did a fantastic job. Overall we couldn't be happier and have already reached out to schedule "phase 2"!
Description of Work
Replaced 6 3rd story Windows
Category
replacement windows
Erica M.
5.0
10/14/2015
We are very pleased with the doors they recommended and the work they did and we are planning to use then again for future projects.
Description of Work
Approx $3000 for replacement of back door and storm door, including rebuild of doorframe and threshold.
Category
doors
Michael G.
5.0
07/12/2015
It went great from sales call/estimate to completion of work. I had a difficult unique job so before even bidding on the job Dave brought out the window installer, Tom, to look at the old windows. They weren't the low bidder, but the confidence I had with them being able to keep the look of the house inside and out was key to my choosing them to do the work. Tom did an absolute fantastic job on the window install and true to his word he maintained the look of my house. If you have an older house and want someone that pays close attention to detail, Window Outfitters and Tom should be called. You won't be disappointed!
Description of Work
Replaced all 12 metal single pained windows.
Category
replacement windows
Kristen Z.
5.0
02/20/2015
It went well. They did a great job and I highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Storm Windows
Category
replacement windows
Jacqueline W.
4.0
11/12/2014
The window replacement project was started in September of 2013. The window replacement itself went fine, and the great majority of the work was done within a two week time period. We had a problem, however, with scratched glass on five of our windows. Window Outfitters dragged their feet on ordering the replacement glass for these windows, and by the time the glass came in, it was too cold to replace the glass. The Hurd representative did replace the scratched glass on two of the windows in November. The other three panes of glass ordered were scratched as well, and had to be reordered again. They finally received the second replacement glass in December, and it was too cold to replace the glass. We also had a problem with deep scratches on a windowsill, and had to have that replaced. This was difficult for us, because we had our draperies laying on our living room couch for almost a year, waiting for the replacement glass. We were unable to use our living room, basically, for almost a year. In January, Bob Davis, was pressuring us to put in our replacement glass, even though it was extremely cold here in Minnesota. I had the feeling that all he cared about was collecting his money, not about customer satisfaction or getting the job done right. We paid him another check from the insurance company at that point, just so we could wait until warmer weather to replace the rest of the glass. We finally had the glass replaced on the last three windows in early June. The main construction person, Joe, did excellent work, but was very rude to me at times. When our kitchen window was installed, a worker stepped on the wooden ledge over our kitchen sink, and wrecked the finish on the wood. This was after I put a rug there to protect the finish. At first Joe denied that his worker did this, but then agreed to have his painter re-sand and stain the wooden ledge. Another time I overheard him talking with the Hurd representative and said, " She's just going to have to live with it one of these times." (referring to the scratched glass). I pretended that I didn't hear that, but he certainly doesn't have the attitude of customer service or satisfaction .On the other hand, David Herstad, the sales representative, was very professional and nice to us.
Description of Work
Window Outfitters replaced all 24 windows in our house from an insurance claim.
Category
glass repair, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We did our very best to satisfy this customer. The reason the scratched glass took so long to be replaced is that our vendor said the scratches were not big enough to warrant replacement. It required considerable effort on our part to get the vendor to replace the glass. Once we received vendor approval to replace the glass under warranty, the weather did play a significant role in when we could replace the glass. Actually, two of the glass packs were replaced twice because the customer saw small scratches in the glass after we replaced it the first time. This is why the glass replacement stretched through the winter months. Yes, we did want our money. We paid for the product and our installation labor and then had to wait several months to receive a significant portion of our final payment. All the while the windows were installed and the customer had full use of them. This was a warranty issue and all glass was replaced under warranty. I feel we took care of this customer in a fashion that deserved an "A" rating. I am sorry she feels otherwise. Bob Davis CEO/President Window Outfitters, Inc.
joshua K.
5.0
11/10/2014
The entire Window Outfitters team was very helpful. Dave provided great guidance and support during the quoting and scheduling process and Victor did an excellent job with installation. The final result was some VERY high quality storm windows.
Description of Work
Window Outfitters installed 26 storm windows on our 120+ year old home.
Category
replacement windows
William J.
5.0
08/31/2014
Dave was really helpful throughout the whole process. We went through about 7 or 8 different model designs before settling on what we wanted. Dave never pressured us into a decision. He left it up to us, but with some very helpful suggestions to guide us to where we wanted to go with our design. The owner stopped by to see how our appointment was coming along. He shook our hands and thanked us for using their services. Dave stopped by our house to take initial measurements and the lead foreman, Tom, stopped a few days later to verify the measurements. We were not home the day of the installation, but when we arrived home, the doors were replaced and all construction debris was gone. The only minor issue was the time between placing the order and the installation. We were told it would be approximately 2-3 weeks and it ended up being 7 weeks. This was due, we were told, was due to the rainy spring and their installation schedule was behind. Not a big deal especially with the fantastic door that was installed and the professional installation. Great job!!! UPDATE (10/27/14): It has been two months since our door was installed and we love, love, love it! We have received several follow-up calls to ensure we are satisfied with our purchase. A neighbor had a new door installed several weeks after ours. They chose to go through a "big box" home improvement store and things did not turn out the way they had hoped. As Forrest Gump said, "Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what your gonna get." This applies to the, as I call it, "contractor roulette" that you have to play when ordering from these retailers. A very poor job was done and no solution has been rendered yet. No need to worry when dealing with Window Outfitters. Professionalism from top to bottom. You will pay more, but you can have peace of mind that the work will be done properly the first time and they will stand behind it if you feel something is not right. We have literally had neighbors stop their cars to look at the door and have heard nothing but raves from everyone.
Description of Work
Replaced old entry door and storm door with new door and storm door.
Category
replacement windows, doors
Kathryn M.
5.0
08/30/2014
We recently moved into our home and the owner before us had started to remodel the main level and replaced a few of the windows, so we wanted to continue the project and replace a majority of the remaining windows. Dave with Window Outfitters did an excellent job helping us choose our new windows and understand the different options available. I'm a very detailed person and Dave was more than willing to answer all of my questions. He even came to our home multiple times before we made our final decision. The contractor that was hired by Window Outfitters to complete the installation was wonderful as well and took on additional work to replace our trim at our request. Overall, it was a great experience and we look forward to working with Dave again when we decide to replace the final few windows!
Description of Work
Replaced 10 windows (3 full replacement, 7 inserts).
Category
replacement windows, woodworking
sandra L.
5.0
08/19/2014
Dave Herstad provided invaluable guidance. We knew what we wanted and he helped us (we talked to many potential services, but our confusion & their lack of Outfitters EXTREME organization & efficiency made the experience frustrating). Window Outfitters solved that problem by guiding us in our selections and providing the installers. Installers ran into problems and challenges with our older, quirky home, but they were persistent & stayed on the job until it was done. Final price was more than we had planned, but was due to the products we chose. Very pleased with the experience and would recommend to others.
Description of Work
Recommended, provided & installed 29 new high-quality storm windows, 4 new storm doors & one new entrance door. Also provided access to installer & provider of 6 glass block basement windows.
Category
glass repair, replacement windows, glass block, doors
KATHLEEN T.
5.0
03/15/2014
All I can say is WOW! The first time they came to replace the back door was really a godsend for us. I had called companies I had worked with before for other reasons (which I had found on Angie's List), but because of storm damage and all sorts of things going on in September no one could promise me any time until three months out. At that time, our back door was nailed and boarded shut, due to damage done to it during the burglary, so we couldn't use it. A terrible inconvenience since access to our cars etc was all through the back door. One of the companies I called said he had met this guy at a conference who said he loved doors and gave me the guy's phone number. It was a company called Window Outfitters so I had no idea that they would do doors. I ended up talking to the owner, Bob Davis, who said that even though they too were terribly busy, he could come out and take a look at what I needed. He came right away and said they could do it. My house is an 89 year old Craftsman bungalow in very good shape, but as usual with older houses (as opposed to new construction), one always runs into problems one couldn't predict. The workers Bob sent over were friendly, patient and extremely creative and competent. They installed our new Provia door not only with attention to doing the door right but also to making sure everything was right with me. I made up my mind right then and there to hire them to replace the back storm door (not damaged in the burglary, but old and falling apart) and the front entry door (which was fiber glass and with a cheap glass window half). Bob sent over an even better crew than the first one to work on these two doors. Not only did they run into problems due to the age of the house, but also had to deal with terrible cold weather. Again they were extremely friendly, patient and amazingly creative and competent. My son has been thinking about renovating our basement and our deck and not only will we hire Window Outfitters for the egress window we will need, but also will be hiring some of his workers (who have their own construction companies--ProCraft Construction Services and Minnesota Construction and Property Management) for the basement and deck work. We now have amazingly beautiful and extremely secure new back and front doors and have found another company and workers we can trust on all levels. The $5200 was for all three doors.
Description of Work
The first time was in October 2013 when they replaced our back door because of damage during a burglary in September. The second time was this March 2014,when we hired them to also replace the storm door on the back and install a new front door.
Category
replacement windows, doors
joe W.
1.0
01/24/2014
They said they would be doing our windows in four weeks and he said four to six weeks. It took them two and a half months to start. The manufacturer of the windows said it was not their fault. They blamed it on the manufacturer and the manufacturer came out too and said they never had a manufacturing problem. So we don't know what went wrong. Then in addition to that, there was more problems. We had plantation shutters on our windows and they measured the windows incorrectly, so they brought out windows that were not the same size and then the plantation shutters did not work correctly. They didn't fit. I had ordered the new shades for the sun room and when I knew that the plantation shutters didn't work, I called the drapery people right away and said you better get out here and re-measure because these windows are all off. Sure enough they came out and said those drapes would never have made it. So they didn't measure the right size either. You expect your windows to be the same size they were before. It was a disaster from the beginning and they just kept giving us excuses. I wanted the windows done before it got cold and they didn't do it in the summer. It was really a bad experience. I told them I was going to give them a very bad rate on Angie's List. Their price was medium. It wasn't the lowest and it wasn't the highest. I would not even consider using them again.
Description of Work
We have used Window Outfitters for new windows.
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

The facts. The order was signed on 8-23-13. A final measure was completed on 9-10-13 and the windows were ordered on that date. The windows were delivered to our warehouse on 10-14-13. When we received the windows it was discovered that our vendor had shipped them with the extension jambs loose (not attached to the windows) and unpainted. The order to the vendor clearly stated that the jambs were to be attached to the windows and be painted at the factory. The vendor offered to have the jambs painted for us, but said it would take two weeks. The delivery was already one week late, so we had the jambs painted by our painter to speed up the delivery. As a result, the jambs were installed on the windows during the installation. The installation began on 10-21-13 and was completed on 10-24-13. Customer sign off was given on 10-24-13. Final payment was collected on 10-29-13. Eight weeks from start to finish. After the installation was completed and paid for, the customer informed us that plantation shutters, on the three windows that had them, did not close properly. Our contract with the customer did not call for us to remove and reinstall the plantation shutters. The customer had a handyman remove the shutters before we installed the windows. They then had the handyman reinstall the shutters after we completed the window installation. After visiting the account, it was obvious that the customer was correct that the shutters did not close correctly. When the shutters were closed there was a gap between the shutters of about 1/2" or less. For whatever reason, their handyman was not able to install the shutters to properly fit between the jambs of the new windows. In order to rectify this situation, at my expense, I had one of my craftsman remove the shutters, make the proper adjustments and reinstall the shutters so that they fit and closed properly. Once again, I want to emphasize that this was done at my expense. The customer is now satisfied with the way the shutters fit. We are sorry for the inconvenience these delays caused our customer, but we did not ignore the issues and we did follow up until we got the situation resolved. On a very rare occasion, and for any number of reasons, we have a installation that does not go as planned. This was such an installation. Do I think we deserved an "F"? Absolutely not! A "B" maybe, but certainly not an "F"! Bottom line, we took care of the problems and the customer has a good installation, not on the schedule they had their expectations set on, but still a good installation with a good product. This is not an easy business and one bad review can be very damaging. This customer makes it clear that their intent was to give us a "bad rate" on Angie's List. I am truly sorry they feel that way. If you have taken the time to read my response to this point, please take the time to read all of the remaining reviews on my company. You will see that overall we do excellent work, customer satisfaction is our number one goal, we handle excellent products and we pride ourselves in being responsive to our customer's needs. Robert E. Davis CEO/President
Adam J.
5.0
12/12/2013
The provider came to do a quote for new windows in our home. David was extremely professional and helpful. He was able to advise on the apparent problem with our windows and that it was not the windows that were the problem. Advised us on how to remedy the situation and referred us to someone who could fix the problem. Provider could have easily sold us on the idea that we needed windows but instead had the integrity to advise us of the real issue and offer solutions.
Description of Work
Came out to measure and quote for new windows.
Category
replacement windows
Anil P.
5.0
09/16/2013
Due to big price difference in comparision to other installer, Job was not completed.
Description of Work
Provided Quote
Category
replacement windows
Michelle P.
5.0
06/26/2013
Ultimately very satisfied with the work performed by Window Outfitters, Inc. Bob Davis was great with communication and follow up. If issues arose, Bob was very prompt to correct.
Description of Work
Replaced Pella Windows throughout 3/4 of the house.
Category
replacement windows
Laura H.
5.0
04/25/2013
My experience was good. The manager that was working communicated well.with me They got the work done quickly. There were no surprises at the end for the final bill.
Description of Work
They installed 7 new windows on our home.
Category
replacement windows
Charles H.
5.0
03/04/2013
all very professional and adept at doing the job. Some confusion over trim, it was easily worked out. They are very cool to work with.
Description of Work
Replaced kitchen and bedroom windows.
Category
replacement windows

    Other local Pros in your area

    Kaufman Sheet Metal & Roofing Inc

    Kaufman Roofing has been in business since 1930, working in the Twin Cities and surrounding neighborhood. With the peculiar nuances affecting roofs in the Twin Cities; varying roof types (slate, tile, wood shakes, metal, & flat), harsh weather conditions, and seasonal extremes, our experience is invaluable. Our philosophy hasn't changed since we started doing roofs in Minneapolis, St. Paul, and the surrounding areas nearly a century ago.  

    Angi Certified

    Craftsmen Home Improvements Inc

    Ask about Angie's list discount. Craftsmen Home Improvements, founded in 1991 is an award-winning contractor specializing in window replacement, siding, decks and roofing. Craftsmen uses the highest quality materials, backed by the longest, most extensive product warranties available. Awarded the Angie's List Super Service Award every year since 2004. (We have a 5 window minimum), (Gutters only in conjunction with roof or siding), (Attic insulation only in conjunction with a new roof.) (We do not do roof or siding repairs) Additional Phone Number: (651) 229-4045, (763) 441-5552 & (612) 861-1958. We offer James Hardie siding, and Vinyl siding, Timbertech and Azek deck material, Owens Corning and GAF shingles, Andersen Windows, Marvin Windows, Hayfield Windows, Richlin Windows, Lindsay Windows, Pella Windows.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Beissel Windows & Siding Co

    Family owned & operated since 1950. Angie's List Super Service Award recipient every year since 2003 (20 total category awards). We have long term, experienced staff and offer extensive product lines and showrooms with designers on duty. Evening and weekends available by appointment. Long term labor warranties. Award winning customer service! Additional DBAs - Accent Design & Renovation LLC, John Beissel, Inc., Beissel John Inc., General Home Improvement Company.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Sales, installation & replacement windows, glass block, entry and storm doors, windows, vinyl, siding (including installation of James Hardie products), soffit, fascia, gutters, polyaspartic garage flooring, interiors, wood clad & fiberglass pella.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Window Outfitters Inc

    How is Window Outfitters Inc overall rated?

    Window Outfitters Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Window Outfitters Inc open?

    Window Outfitters Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Window Outfitters Inc provide

    Window Outfitters Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Window Outfitters Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Window Outfitters Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Window Outfitters Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Window Outfitters Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Window Outfitters Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Window Outfitters Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Window Outfitters Inc?

    Yes, Window Outfitters Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Window Outfitters Inc offer?

    Window Outfitters Inc offers the following services: Sales, installation & replacement windows, glass block, entry and storm doors, windows, vinyl, siding (including installation of James Hardie products), soffit, fascia, gutters, polyaspartic garage flooring, interiors, wood clad & fiberglass pella.