Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS

Founded 2006 • With Angi since July 2008

4.9

(214) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

9327 Fraser Avenue

Silver Spring, MD 20910

Description

We are a full service Home Performance Contractor providing energy audits, weatherization and performance verification. Our BPI trained technicians focus our audits on solving problems, making our clients homes more comfortable and thereby reducing their utility bills....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/19/2019


Catherine B.

Energy Efficiency Experts was prompt, friendly and informative. Loved working with the owner and her team! Would definitely recommend to anyone early on in their process.

Description of Work
Energy audit

Category energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. Energy Efficiency Experts is committed to every customer having a positive outcome in the future. If you have any additional questions about our assessments or reports or should have the need to reevaluate your home's energy efficiency, we hope you'll contact us. Thanks again.
5.0

09/18/2019


Nancy D.

Pascale and Wilkens were professional, thorough and courteous. They evaluated the energy efficiency of my home, which was built in 1966 and provided me with a comprehensive evaluation report with suggested upgrades that would make my home more efficient. They showed up on time and every member of their team was just as professional and courteous as they were. I approved almost all of upgrades suggested in the evaluation and have been pleased with the results. I would suggest them to anyone interested in evaluating the energy efficiency of their home and for all related upgrades.

Description of Work
Energy Efficiency Testing, Attic Insulation, Attic ventilation, and other Energy Efficient Upgrades

Category energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. Energy Efficiency Experts is committed to every customer having a positive outcome in the future. If you have any additional questions about our assessments or reports or should have the need to reevaluate your home's energy efficiency, we hope you'll contact us. Thanks again.
5.0

09/16/2019


Claire R.

Pascale and her team are terrific. They really know what they are doing and are extremely thorough. They spend a lot of time going through every nook and cranny of the home to see where things could be made more efficient. She follows up with a detailed explanation of her suggestions as well as projected rebates. We ended up doing all of the work that she recommended and got a huge rebate--as well as overall savings on our energy bills, of course! We spent about $9K, but got back about $4K in rebates.

Description of Work
Whole House Energy Audit

Category energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. Energy Efficiency Experts is committed to every customer having a positive outcome in the future. If you have any additional questions about our assessments or reports or should have the need to reevaluate your home's energy efficiency, we hope you'll contact us. Thanks again.
5.0

09/14/2019


Taylor L.

The Team was courteous & professional. They welcomed any/all questions and took the time to explain in detail, what they were doing. After completion, all areas were cleaned to include vacuuming!

Description of Work
I had a Home Energy Inspection which resulted in repair/replacement of attic insulation, electrical lightings and bathroom vent fan

Category insulation,energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! Energy Efficiency Experts is committed to every customer having a positive outcome in the future. We hope you'll contact us. Thanks again.
5.0

09/13/2019


Caroline B.

The company did an outstanding job and worked quickly. They quickly corrected one issue to our satisfaction. They helped us work with PEPCO to get a substantial refund of some of the work.

Description of Work
We had an Energy Efficienty Audit, and followed the recommendations to replace our attic insulation and install an attic fan.

Category insulation,energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! Energy Efficiency Experts is committed to every customer having a positive outcome in the future. We hope you'll contact us. Thanks again.
5.0

11/15/2018


Nathaniel R.

We called in EEE because we wanted to get a sense for how much we could improve our insulation, and they performed their audit and went over it with us in detail, confirming a few things we already knew and demonstrating other issues they identified. We asked about using spray-foam insulation, and they pitched a cheaper alternative to save us some money--however, after discussing our reasons for wanting to go with the spray foam, they agreed, put together a quote, and (it turned out later) accurately assessed our likely rebate so we could go over the total costs before moving forward. They built in a few contingencies to account for things they might have to change based on what they found while removing sections of wall, but in the end they not only didn't have to spend more money, but they were able to find ways to minimize damage to drywall and wood paneling so they could keep the cost and time down. The next year, our energy costs dropped about 20-25%, and much more during some months, over the previous year! Note that the 7k price quoted below is after a $2k rebate.

Description of Work
Energy audit and insulation

Category insulation,energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad we could be of service! Energy Efficiency Experts is committed to every customer having a positive outcome in the future. If you have any additional questions about our assessments or reports or should have the need to reevaluate your home's energy efficiency, I hope you'll contact us. Thanks again.
2.0

11/10/2018


Cliff S.

Very frustrating! Don't use this company. We paid for an energy audit in July. It's November now and we still haven't received complete results. On the day of the audit I heard Pascale say something to her worker about the infrared pictures... I didn't hear what was said. Then at the end of the audit, after waiting a very long time, she said she was having computer difficulties and would send the infrared pictures to my wife and I later. After weeks of following up with her (and receiving maybe one picture of a hot light bulb and another picture with no location) she finally admitted that the conditions weren't right to get helpful pictures on that day. Why not reschedule? Or crank the thermostat? Or do something besides misrepresent the truth? This company probably has the expertise to do a good job, they just chose not to. What really confuses and frustrates me is that recently she very nicely agreed to have one of her team return and redo the blower door test only to stand us up twice. Once I raced home from work and was stood up and once I built my schedule around being home in the morning. No explanation either time. Not sure what the goal of that is. That is very clearly not a good way to run a business.

Description of Work
Energy Audit

Category energy audit

Service Provider Response

Hi, I am sorry you are so upset by the service we provided. I think there is a misunderstanding that an infrared scan is included in an energy audit. It is not. On our website, it is clear that an audit includes a blower door test, an evaluation of everything that uses or loses energy, a combustion safety test, a presentation and a report. We do carry an infrared camera, but it is only used when we have the right conditions. We do not charge anything extra to use it, nor do we promise that we will be able to use it, as the results are temperature dependent and can be unreliable. I will point out that your attic has ~14" of insulation, and the temperature of that insulation would be the same as the house and the infrared camera shows "what is", it does not show what you think you might see, or what you want to see, it shows what is. In the case of your house, there was little contrast because you have so much insulation. Rescheduling to a colder or warmer day is not going to change that fact that insulation is not the issue at your house. We did your energy audit on July 17th, and the report was sent on the 18th. At this point, you had received everything you paid for. You requested the infrared photos and we sent them to you. Our appointment on Friday was a courtesy drop-by which, I was not charging you for. I apologize for missing that appointment, I am having health issues and I was out of contact, my employee did not know who to call and thought you must have been a friend as I did not put your information in the calendar. I understand that you are upset that I missed the appointment, but giving a company an "F" rating for a free service does not seem appropriate to me.
5.0

09/18/2018


Michael B.

We thought we needed an energy audit to address high electric bills recently. The first thing she did when she came for the appointment was review our electricity bill and discuss the issues we have been having. She told us that the energy audit is probably not the service we need. So, she talked herself out of a job but proved how honest and committed to helping her clients she is.

Description of Work
Energy Audit

Category energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], and good luck with the electrical issue. Pascale
5.0

09/12/2018


Sean M.

We had Energy Efficiency Experts do an energy audit on our town home in DC. Pascale was friendly, professional, and her audit report provided a thorough description of steps we could take to improve both the efficiency and comfort of our home. The audit fee was lower than the competition as I recall. We haven't yet moved forward with doing the recommend insulation/air sealing, but he price quoted for the work seemed totally reasonable to me. If / when we finally get around to following Pascale's advice, we'll almost certainly hire her to do the work.

Description of Work
Energy Audit

Category energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad we could be of service! Energy Efficiency Experts is committed to every customer having a positive outcome now and in the future. If you have any additional questions about our assessments or reports or should have the need to reevaluate your home's energy efficiency, I hope you'll contact us. Thanks again.
5.0

06/26/2018


Caitlin T.

Pascal and her crew was wonderful. She genuinely cared about us and tried to talk us through a short term fix over the phone before they could arrive. They moved and re-installed a basic fan for free. Pascal patiently explained everything. There were government-funded rebates available for almost all of the work we had done and they explained that clearly. I would highly recommend EEE to others!

Description of Work
Our HVAC unit was fine but was inefficiently cooling and heating the house. In the summertime, the top level would not keep cool. EEE added 15 inches of insulation in the attic, added an attic fan, replaced all of the registers downstairs so they could close, added a house fan, and more.

Category handyman service,insulation,energy audit

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad we could be of service! Energy Efficiency Experts is committed to every customer having a positive outcome now and in the future. If you have any additional questions about our assessments or reports or should have the need to reevaluate your home's energy efficiency, I hope you'll contact us. Thanks again.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Home Energy Saving Solutions

    As a Maryland certified Home Performance with Energy Star contractor, we focus on making homes efficient and comfortable. Our energy audits and energy efficiency improvements usually qualify for generous state incentives and rebates through Pepco, BGE, and Potomac Edison. Mo is the owner/operator at Home Energy Saving Solutions. He has a deep depth of knowledge and experience gained from well over 1000 energy audits. Participation in numerous industry groups and conferences further enhance the expertise brought to each home energy audit. We will inspect your entire home as a system and evaluate energy loss and comfort issues using advanced diagnostic equipment. At the conclusion of the audit you will be presented with a comprehensive report detailing all findings and solutions, along with a payback period for repair and retrofit options.  

    Offers by Home Energy Saving Solutions on Angi
    JW Home Improvement

    JWHI provides world-class customer service with consistent and superior workmanship and strives to be the trusted market leader in the home improvement industry. Super Service Award Winner TEN years in a row and running. Contact us today to discuss your next home project. We look forward to working with you!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by JW Home Improvement on Angi
    Handyman Connection of Silver Spring

    Since 1991 Handyman Connection has been providing homeowners across North America with expert remodeling and renovation services along with our award-winning handyman division. At Handyman Connection, our mission is the same as yours - making your home a great place to live. We're not just proud of our workmanship - we guarantee it. Each Handyman Connection franchise is locally owned and operated, backed by the company that helped launch the industry. Our values are steeped in a long-standing dedication to the people we serve, and truly differentiate Handyman Connection as a home repair company. The Core Values of Handyman Connection * Deliver on Our Commitments * Respect the Connections * Have Pride in What We Do * Practice Continuous Improvement. Handyman Connection maintains a Maryland Home Improvement License, carries two million in general liability insurance, and is bonded. Our craftsmen have at a minimum ten years experience in the fields of home improvement and remodeling. All craftsmen are required to undergo annual background checks. One year written warranty on all services offered. Experienced Craftsmen- Quality Workmanship-Service you can trust-Guaranteed.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    We are home comfort problem solvers! Hot in the summer or cold in the winter? No matter the issue, we have helped hundreds of homes improve in comfort and performance resulting in lower utility bills.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS

    How is ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS overall rated?

    ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS open?

    ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 6:30 PM

    What payment options does ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS provide

    ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS offer free estimates?

    Yes, ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS offers free project estimates.

    Does ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS offer a senior discount?

    No, ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS?

    No, ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS does not offer warranties.

    What services does ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS offer?

    ENERGY EFFICIENCY EXPERTS offers the following services: We are home comfort problem solvers! Hot in the summer or cold in the winter? No matter the issue, we have helped hundreds of homes improve in comfort and performance resulting in lower utility bills.