Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis

Founded 2015 • With Angi since October 2015

4.2

(57) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7752 Moller Rd

Indianapolis, IN 46268

Description

Since its inception by co founders William Barr and Michael Strmac in 2002, Universal Windows Direct has lived by the philosophy of CANEI - "Constant and Never Ending Improvement". This philosophy holds true in all aspects of our business, from sales and marketing to installation and service and has catapulted UWD from a small, local home improvement company to one of the largest exterior remodeling companies in the country. Every one of our employees strives continuously to be the best in the business at what they do and provide our customers with only the highest levels of sales, service, and support. We think our company's history speaks to this goal and to the power of what we can accomplish by never settling. Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis opened in 2015. Our products feature the exclusive UniShield brand and come with a transferable lifetime warranty on materials and labor. We are a fully licensed, bonded, and insured company and EPA Lead-Safe certified. In addition, a portion of every sale goes to support a growing list of local charities....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/18/2022


Daniel K.

The evening we spent with Tony Ayoubi was very informative and enjoyable ;no pressure. After our meeting we decided to sign and not pursue other companies as we were happy with the product and price. Our installers , Dustin, Tim and Donald were great and did a super job. We would highly recommend Universal Windows to anyone in the market for new windows. Thank you ,Dan and Darlene Klingensmith

Description of Work
10 new windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

04/05/2022


John L.

Matt reached out very quickly and provided a very professional estimate and was very well-versed in his presentation. We are looking forward to working with them.

Description of Work
I need two windows replaced one of the front of the house and one on the side of the house.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hello, [Member Name Removed]! Thank you for the positive feedback and recommendation! We are so happy to hear that Matt provided you with a great experience. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything!
1.0

11/24/2021


Greg H.

I ordered my windows in early June of 2021. My windows were finally built in October of 2021. I had an install date of 11/1/21. I was told that the install would take 3 days. The installer's were supposed to be at my house at 8:00 am on 11/1/21 The Universal windows company ask that you give the installers a 2 hour window in case they have traffic issues or product pickup issues. The installers showed up at 11 am in fact they showed after 11am each of the 3 days. I ordered 27 windows from universal windows direct and I was assured and guaranteed a team of professional and knowledgeable installers would install my windows. Universal sent 2 Mexican men in a old truck pulling an old horse trailer to install my 27 windows. The guys admitted that they were not employees of universal windows direct. The 2 were contracted out to do the job. I tried calling the Indianapolis office with no answer of course and no return call even though they ask you leave your phone and job#. The 2 started working and to my surprise they got all 27 windows installed. The 3rd day came 11/3/21 and about 4pm they tell me they cannot finish framing and caulking my windows on the outside of my home. I asked them when would they be back to finish the job I was told 11/6/21. I waited all day on the 6th no call no show. I took a walk around my house. I was told that they only had 4 windows left to complete but in actuality they had not completely framed or caulked any of my windows on the outside. I even found some buckling and missing caulk on the inside. I called the Indianapolis office on 11/8/21. I spoke with someone in customer service I told them about my situation they told me someone would call me from scheduling and get someone out to finish my windows. I received a call late the same day. I couldn't get to my phone a message was left that Humberto would be out some time the week of the 8th to finish the install. I have not seen Humberto since the 3rd of Nov. I called again on the 15th of Nov. I was told that I would receive a call back I have not received a call. I have read a few of these reviews today and I see the 2 Mexican men with a horse trailer are a common practice for Universal windows direct and fact that these 2 gentlemen have walked away from other peoples homes without finishing the job the universal windows direct promised they would do this is incomprehensible to me . I am appalled the Angies list & Home advisor would promote this company with there terrible an unprofessional business ethics and practices.

Description of Work
Double hung replacement windows installed

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this feedback, [Member Name Removed]. We are truly sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations during your experience with us. If there'[Member Information Removed] something we can do to improve, please let us know at customerservice@universalwindowsdirect.com^JD
1.0

08/28/2021


Katelyn J.

We ordered our windows in April. Service guy told us we had a lifetime guarantee and that is what sold us. He told us our windows would be here within 6-8 weeks. I kept calling and calling and they kept saying they weren’t in yet. Finally august 30th they come out for the install. It was 2 Mexican men with a old truck and a horse trailer. Not at all from the company. They we’re definitely contracted out to do the work. Fine, I didn’t even mind as long as it was done right. They were suppose to be here between 8-10. 10:30 comes my husband calls and they are just leaving their warehouse which is an hour and 45 minutes away. So great timing there! They show up at 11:45 finished all the inside work and said they would be back tomorrow. Guess what?? They never showed! I have an entire back yard full of crap! None of my windows are finished, we can’t mow because there is stuff everywhere! I’m highly ****** off. I try to contact the company(today is Saturday) of course nobody answers the phone! Don’t recommend this place!

Description of Work
14 windows

Category siding,replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your feedback, [Member Name Removed]. We are truly sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. If you have suggestions on how we can improve moving forward, please feel free to contact us at customerservice@universalwindowsdirect.com^JD
5.0

05/20/2021


Tray M.

Couldn’t of asked for a better group of guys. Dave Rouse and his crew knocked it out of the park for sure. Everything thing looks wonderful and even did a solid on an existing window. 100% would recommend Universal Windows to anyone.

Description of Work
New windows installed

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words, [Member Name Removed]. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything! - MS
1.0

12/26/2020


Chris O.

The looks of the windows are great but I spent a lot of money for efficiency for keeping the hot/cold outside and I have to put tape around the seams of the windows

Description of Work
New windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Hello. Thank you for making us aware of your experience with us. In effort to resolve this, I will need more information to find your account in our system. Please send an email customerservice@universalwindowsdirect.com with your contact information and we will be sure to reach out. - MS
1.0

10/13/2020


Andrew H.

PLEASE SEE ITHER SITES AS WELL FOR REVIEWS! ***I am going to start with the sales process: -June 13th, 2020; our order was placed, and we were super excited after Universal being the 5th company we heard a pitch from. We were excited and happy with all of it. We ordered a front door and 13 windows for our house in a very nice neighborhood. -We have a measurement person out on July 9th to review all the measurements. Turns out that our door and windows were ordered in the WRONG color!!! I was told that I was wrong, and I ordered tan windows when my house is gray. Un NO!!! They did a change request to modify the colors before it goes to production. The change request was then trumped by someone and tried to be set back to “clay” instead of “gray”. I said NO I am not accepting that at all. That was corrected again. (I have the paperwork to back all of this up). We thought all of this was fixed -We received an email saying that our order was in and we should see our windows and door around Aug 20th. That was WAY OFF and I am told it was because of COVID. OK; fine… We receive an email that our “Product was delivered”. That was only for the door and we had to wait for the windows. Then we get a call from the shop manager saying “Let’s install the door then we will come back out when the windows come in.” So, we scheduled that for September 25th. Again, Excited BUT NOPE!!! The Door came in with the wrong colors… So, I sent it back. Long story short… Take a discount off the door to keep the colors and paint it myself (OH this voids the warranty) or wait weeks for a new door. I took the discount and have yet to paint the door. -Got a call that the windows were in. So, we schedule the install for wrong door and windows. NOPE only 12 of the 13 windows are in. Sorry, not sure where the windows is. NO RESPONSE from anyone until I texted the local manager to ask, 2 weeks after they were here (Texted Today). Still no idea where my window is. ***Install and Product Quality (The installers were super nice guys though!): -Door Trim is wrong color (Shocker by now). Please see the pick. Does not come close to matching what I have in the house. Gaps, quarter round not even installed, and the door threshold flexes by half an inch… I can stick my fingers under my door for crying out loud! There is nothing under it to support it!!! -I had nice trim around my windows. I have a pic of my garage window that was not replaced for a comparison (Last pic I think). The use this cheap tin casing that covers it all up. It has gaps, calking to fill it in. I am SHOCKED by this. This is what Universal Windows gives their installers to work with??? -Bought 3 slider windows… Every time I open them, I feel like they are going to jump out of the track they sit in. ***Current Summary as of Oct.13, 2020; Missing a window, door is the wrong color, poor quality, trim for the door is the wrong color and shape and size. I feel the product quality is horrible and NOT worth what I paid for it. Even with a $1,500 discount I received for a wrong door that I must paint and void the “finish warranty”. Oh and even though the job isn't done, I have been charged for everything. KNOW what you are getting into using Universal Windows!!!

Description of Work
Do NOT Recommend Universal Windows Direct

Category replacement windows,doors

Service Provider Response

Hello, thank you for your feedback and for making us aware of your experience working with us. We apologize for any missteps along the way and you can rest assured this has been escalated to upper management in effort to resolve this. - MS
1.0

10/13/2020


Frederick H.

Huge Scam Universal Solar ....they drilled holes into my roof right through my ceiling....had tar dripping through into my home...complete hack job.... they told me I would reduce my bill to $12 a month with NVEN....I keep my temp average at 78*....I'm getting a bill from NV Energy for $147 and I'm also paying for the solar system at about $200 a month...this is not what they promised....if they had been honest with me upfront I would have never bought the system....I was told by Vito the salesman that it would take a few months to build up credits but in that time they had a payment grace period so it would all even out.....oh what a lie....if I knew the truth they would have never gotten the sale and that folks is why they lie to you...now Universal solar is telling me it takes a year to build up the credits, which is actually 1and 1/2 years....I totally got scammed and now am paying double electricity bills...this will happen to you too if you do business with them...LET THE BUYER BEWARE I talked to Eugene at Universal Solar and he interrupted me and talked over me and claimed I was extorting them because I requested them take back their system....YOU KNOW THEY ARE A SCAM when they place the burden of their scam on you…..BUYER BEWARE UPDATE: this company is also universal solar direct...check the reviews....this company is really really bad...they are complete liars...this was never resolved...not even close...check...BBB....it says "answered"...not "resolved" ...BBB is protecting them and so is the state board of contractors...absolutely disgusting ... they lie about everything and all the people that work there lie....go with "Sol UP"

Description of Work
solar system

Category doors

Service Provider Response

Hello, please understand that we are in NO WAY affiliated with Universal Solar. Please stop spreading false information on all of our pages. - MS
5.0

08/13/2020


Patricia V.

It was fine and it was a smooth service.

Description of Work
They install windows.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback! We are so happy to hear you had a great experience. Please don't hesitate to reach out for any future projects! -UWD Customer Service
5.0

04/22/2020


Jason B.

Easy ordering process. Install crew was even better. David Rouse and crew did a great job. They were very efficient, polite and knowledgeable

Description of Work
Windows for house

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you to hear you had such a positive experience. Let us know if we can assist with any future projects! -UWD Customer Service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Storm Masters LLC

    Insurance Claims Specialist Roofing-Siding-Gutters Water-Wind-Hail Restoration Locally owned Licensed-Bonded-Insured  

    Mr Window Inc

    Mr. Window has a certain way of doing business — the right way! That’s evident in our corporate philosophy and how we conduct business. It’s reflected throughout our 33-year history as a family-owned business that specializes in selling and installing top-quality windows and doors. And it’s demonstrated every day by our staff and their commitment to excellence in the home remodeling field. We have a great reputation in the central Indiana community. We carry the best products, including Pella Windows and Door, Okna Windows, Sunrise Windows and doors and Masonite Doors. Mr. Window employs the most qualified people to ensure that your home remodeling experience not only meets but exceeds expectations. We offer free consultations and in-home estimates. We also schedule appointments convenient to your schedule, including evenings and Saturdays. Our showroom is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. We're also available for evening and weekend appointments. Make it easy on yourself and let Mr. Window handle your next home remodeling project. You’ll be glad you did. Family owned & operated. Cost is determined by the job. Award winning.  

    Offers by Mr Window Inc on Angi
    Window Universe

    We can now offer our complete window price list to our Angie's List customers before you even schedule an appointment with us. We're the easiest company in town and we LOVE our Angie's List customers. To get our complete price list go to WindowUniverseIndy.com/prices. We offer energy efficient replacement windows and doors to homeowners and businesses all over the Indy area! We have a full line of products to meet the needs of all of our customers. From the budget minded to the performance oriented, we offer the full range of products and we let you decide what is right for your home. ALL of our products come with a complete transferable lifetime warranty that even includes glass breakage. Best of all, everything we do is backed by our 110% Best Value Guarantee which ensures there is no company on Angie's List offering a better deal. Give us a ring today, we offer exact quotes (not estimates) for FREE. Thanks for taking the time to meet with us to discuss your project!  

    Business Highlights

    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Look to Universal Windows Direct for replacement windows, vinyl siding, front doors, patio doors, and gutter protection!

    Services Not Offered

    Glass repair, window repair, door repair, interior doors

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis

    How is Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis overall rated?

    Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis open?

    Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis is open:

    Sunday: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis provide

    Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis offer free estimates?

    Yes, Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis offers free project estimates.

    Does Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis?

    Yes, Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis offers warranties.

    What services does Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis offer?

    Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis offers the following services: Look to Universal Windows Direct for replacement windows, vinyl siding, front doors, patio doors, and gutter protection!

    Are there any services Universal Windows Direct of Indianapolis does not offer?

    Glass repair, window repair, door repair, interior doors