Faerber's Bee Window Inc

About

Founded 1983 • With Angi since April 1996

The BEE Window® design center located in Indianapolis showcases window, siding, door, roofing, sunroom and bathroom product lines. Bee has been turning dreary homes into dream homes throughout Indiana for over 25 years. Its quality products and services include window, siding, door and roof replacement, gutter replacement and leaf protection, room additions with Four Seasons Sunrooms, and bathroom remodeling. The company prides itself on building lasting relations with customers through a commitment to the highest standards of ethics....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+30 more images

Verified Reviews

4.4

(1327) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

839

4

189

3

98

2

84

1

117

Rating Details

Price

4.1

Professionalism

4.5

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.4

Read reviews by category

window replacement (1115)door installation (187)patio enclosures (75)siding companies (70)gutter repair (34)egress window (14)bathtub refinishing (6)awnings (5)Patios (2)handyman (46)decks & porches (22)screen repair (21)
Showing 1-25 of 1327 reviews
5.0

09/15/2022


MICHAEL V.

Our front door had been damaged by an attempted break-in for years and was getting progressively worse. We were pretty much unable to open it some days last winter. The salesperson that came out was friendly and well-informed. He went through all of our options and we decided on both a new front door and a new sliding glass door to the patio. The front door had many options that we went through which included the style of the door, the inside and outside colors and the style of the windows on either side of the door. He provided us with a quote which we accepted and he gave us what turned out to be a very accurate timeframe of when the doors would be installed. As we waited for the doors to be installed, Bee Window kept us apprised of where we were in the process and we worked out a couple areas in which there were questions. Installation day was scheduled and the installers arrived on time. It took a few hours for both doors to be installed. Before leaving, the installer guided me through opening and locking both doors and answered any questions that I had. They did a great job cleaning up the mess, both inside and outside of the house. The only negative I had with the entire process is that I felt that the price was a bit high. But after having the doors, and especially the new front door, I am more satisfied with this purchase than any other home improvement purchase I have made over the past 20+ years. The door is fantastic -- it closes properly and keeps the sound out and has zero gaps and looks absolutely beautiful.

Description of Work
New front door and new sliding glass door

Category doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/11/2022

5.0

09/06/2022


Raymond D.

Everything went well and we are very pleased with the service and installation performed by this company. We would definitely use them again in the future.

Description of Work
We had the atrium door replaced to the patio

Category lighting, doors

Cost $12,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2022

1.0

02/06/2021


Michael J.

I'm in the process of getting estimates to replace all 34 windows in my home. I've done extensive online research regarding window materials, options and manufacturer ratings to help guide my selection of local companies dealing in the windows brands in which I'm interested. Bee window was listed on the Infinity by Marvin website as their only "partner" in the Indianapolis area. I then went to the Bee Window website to get additional information about the company. I should have realized when there was virtually no useful information about windows in general or about Infinity by Marvin windows specifically in the entire site coupled with the fact most links led to a page to asking for contact information that the company should be avoided. Unfortunately, I did provide my contact information on a Monday evening and then left for a four day business trip during which time they called no less than 3-4 times a day (always catching me in the middle of conference calls or meetings when I was unable to answer) without leaving a single voice message. While driving back to Indianapolis tonight, a Bee representative called again and I was finally able to take the call. The representative thanked me for signing up for their contest to which I responded I thought I signed up to get an estimate. The representative inquired about the details of what I was looking for (replacing all 34 windows in my house). She then asked if I had a spouse (which I confirmed) and wanted to schedule an appointment time during which both my spouse and I would available. I explained my father recently passed away and we were we were taking turns going to another city to get my father's house ready to sell as well as managing his business and employees short term until we had time to wind it down as well. The sales representative insisted my spouse and I both had to be present at the appointment and suggested we could schedule something a few weeks out to make that possible. My spouse and I agreed I would handle gathering estimates for this particular project which we would both then review to make a final decision. Quite frankly, I'm stunned by the unmitigated gall and arrogance of a company that thinks it's an acceptable business practice in the 21st century to tell potential customers how to run their lives as a condition for the "privilege" of getting an estimate. When I stated such a meeting was neither likely giving our current circumstances nor necessary from our standpoint, the representative told me she couldn't schedule an appointment without both of us present. So I muttered something about stupid business practices and hung up on her. I should probably be thankful Bee Window's insulting and antiquated business model saved me from wasting my time given their overinflated prices I've seen other reviews here mention. Still, it's mind boggling a company would turn down an opportunity to quote on a job worth tens of thousands of dollars because potential customers won't arrange their lives to conform to their demands.

Description of Work
An estimate to replace all 34 windows in the house

Category replacement windows

Work Completed On 02/05/2021

1.0

01/10/2021


Robert L.

These guys are the worst of the worst, they prey on old people, charging obscene prices, up to 1500 (what they quoted me per window) and I’ve seen countless people ripped off by Bee (I worked with older clients) I was a hot prospect, they called me for an appointment, so I said ok, as I was in the market. I emphatically told them over the phone NOT to come to my house and give me some ridiculous price, as I’d already done my homework, and knew what installed windows cost. They sent a commissioned salesman to my home, who quoted me 32,000 for windows and siding on a 1400 square foot ranch with 10 windows. That was the price IF I signed up today, and that was ten years ago. I know what windows cost, and when I told him top of the line Anderson’s are 160 bucks, he blathered about their “lifetime” guarantee. I didn’t buy, and the next day, George Faerber himself came to my home to show the rookie how to close the sale. Total used car salesman in his Cadillac. I’m no idiot, and have hired lots of contractors in my life, and these people predatory salespeople. To be fair, they do have good windows. But so does Pella, Anderson, etc for a quarter the price Bee wants. Doesn’t matter how good their product is if you’re charging ridiculous prices for it. Check out their Yelp reviews.

Description of Work
Windows and siding

Category awnings, replacement windows

Work Completed On 01/10/2021

1.0

09/08/2020


Paul L.

We arranged for an estimate and somebody came out to take photos. On 8/11, we met with Drew virtually. We spent 90 minutes with him. He said he would get us an estimate within the next couple of days. After a couple of weeks with no estimate, we called the office. We were told they would contact Drew and he would get the estimate out to us. We have heard nothing in response since that time.

Description of Work
Replace windows

Category replacement windows

Work Completed On 09/08/2020

5.0

08/10/2020


Vera and Ted P.

It was good. They came out and gave a good price. And got the job done

Description of Work
they installed a step in Tub

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2019

4.0

05/08/2020


Teresa A.

I waited a month to make sure everything was to our standards. We had Omar and another gentleman here doing out bath and shower. The installer Omar was awesome he has a 5 star his part did help. The sales associate has a 3 star do to he told me one thing and did not put all parts on. Did not notice until Omar showed me rye paperwork. I should have handled 2 in the shower 1 in bath but never put the second but kept repeating it as 3. The guy who came a measure got a 4 star. What I am knocking this company on is they need to not guess how much time a job takes. Stop rushing the installers. I want perfection if I am paying this about of money. I don’t want the installer feeling rushed. Don’t let someone that paper push schedule jobs let the people that do the job look at the job and schedule it. I had 2 bathrooms one was a gut and they gave him 1 day. Not good business but I made sure he took his time and did it right. I have step by step pictures how awesome these installers are. So I am giving this 4 stars because company schedulers. There the ones to bring it down not any other part of the company. Thank you for beautiful bathrooms

Description of Work
Bath and shower

Category bathtub refinishing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2020

Images

Review for Faerber's Bee Window Inc - 115 Shadowlawn Dr, Fishers, IN - 38551758

+1 More

1.0

11/05/2019


STEPHANY AND BRIAN K.

As a busy family, I was happy to see online appointment schedule. I understandably received a call to confirm my availability. I was told I had to confirm 24 hours in advance rather than the 48 hours in advance. Although this wasn't convenient, I gave them my cell phone number to confirm the 24 hours in advance. During that cell phone call, I was told they would not honor the appointment unless my husband was also present. Seriously??? I am also a doctor, but as a mostly full time mom it is my schedule that allows for flexibility for home appointments such as these. I do discuss things with my husband, but he not only doesn't ask to be present for sales estimates, he doesn't want to be present. We weren't looking for financing or even a huge project at this point. However, as we will be replacing all of our windows over the next few years, this company lost what could be an eventual large job. As it stands now, I am looking back at Angie's list to see if another company will be able to give me an estimate in the time I reserved on my schedule. What a waste of my time! What a crazy business model to demand the husband be present for decisions about doors. I'm a bit flabbergasted.

Description of Work
I needed to replace 2 doors. One sliding patio door and one basement walkout door.

Category doors

Work Completed On 11/05/2019

5.0

08/06/2019


Greg J.

great, installed on time and quality of product and installation very good.

Description of Work
doors and windows

Category replacement windows, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2019

5.0

03/25/2019


MIKE C.

We contracted with Bee Window to install 19 second floor windows in our 100 year-old brick house. They also removed the front entryway that consisted of the original front door and two sidelights and replaced them with an energy efficient single integrated unit with much nicer looking glass than the originals had. They also reinstalled our wired doorbell into the new door unit. The process started about a week after we signed the contract when a measurement technician arrived to take measurements. Several weeks later we received stain color samples and signed-off on them. The office staff was very accommodating in delaying the install date several times when I felt it was too cold to remove our front entryway and replace it. The install of all 19 windows and the front entryway exceeded my expectations and was completed carefully and quickly in a single day. The install crew was friendly and knowledgeable and worked together as a team. One of the trailers that they brought on-site was a mobile metal fabricating shop that allowed them to cut and bend the metal exterior pieces to fit each window as needed. They installed new insulation around the windows and door unit and caulked all exterior and interior joints. At the conclusion of the install they cleaned up around the house and took away all the old windows and door pieces. Over the 40 years that we have lived in our 100 year-old home, we have worked with many, many tradesmen, everyone from larger outfits like Bee Window to smaller one-man operations. I’ve learned that there is almost always a successful outcome when there is a partnership between the homeowner and the tradesmen. I’ve learned to hire people with the experience and expertise for the job we needed done and then work with them to make it happen. I’ve found that when you hire carefully, communicate clearly, and treat tradesmen with respect you will get a superior result. Bee Window was not the most inexpensive choice, but they were the right choice for this project.

Description of Work
Replaced front entryway and 19 upstairs windows on 2-story 100 year old brick house

Category replacement windows, doors

Cost $42,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2019

Images

Review for Faerber's Bee Window Inc - 115 Shadowlawn Dr, Fishers, IN - 37780452
5.0

03/22/2019


andrew H.

The job was done very quickly and I am very happy with the work that is done

Description of Work
Bathtub/shower

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the awesome review! We are very happy you that you are pleased with your final project. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do.

4.0

03/18/2019


Tom M.

It was very good. They were on time and professional. They got it done for 3 days.

Description of Work
They remodeled a bathroom and a shower put in.

Category home remodeling

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you so much for the kind words. We are thrilled that you are happy with your bath and shower. Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with!

3.0

12/13/2018


Susie A.

The person who makes the appointment always gave me wrong information about our appointments or changed them without asking. The people who came to the house and did our new windows were amazing, friendly and fast. If it wasnt for their crew who actually come to the house I would say stay away. But the men who did my 7 windows, and sliding door in 1 day I can't rave enough about.

Description of Work
Great onsite worker horrible office staff

Category egress windows, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 12/13/2018

3.0

11/06/2018


Charles B.

Communication and follow up: Very unprofessional. Workmanship; 1) Siding -Excellent 2) Gutters -had to call them back because of bad workmanship. Price: I might have overpaid

Description of Work
siding and gutters

Category gutter repair, siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2018

2.0

06/21/2018


Bridget B.

I have been waiting to post this, hoping things would change, but we have not been so lucky... If I were to write everything, it would be a book... we went w/Bee Window, because they were such a reputable company, but unbeknownst to us us at the time, they were having family business issues (they themselves told us a short time into it), and it was becoming a disaster... I can show lots of pictures & documentation (emails & texts), for everything... *it started w/coming on the wrong week to install windows, when we we were holding till our new roof got installed (& being told off by one of them, because I did not want it installed before the roof/they DID install them that day, BEFORE the roof, & yes there was an issue, but luckily, it only involved one window!)... *then it went to having non carpenters "try" to install the wood on the inside... *then not having the rubber seam on the outside, put in properly/leaving space for bugs to get in/nest (which has never been fixed right, so we still have the nesting bugs!)... *then seeing daylight thru the edges of the screens (still there!)... *to taking over a year to get the inside wood fixed properly... *to taking back the screens w/the good material (which George/owner gave us, do to so many issues w/the screens/windows!), & replacing them back w/the cheaper material, & then STILL sending them back to us, where we could see daylight thru them (that's still how they are!)... Meanwhile, the expert people, the Marvin window rep, & their own employees, said it wasn't right... BUT...even tho George, the owner, was here himself a few times, & saw the stuff (& said he'd take care of it!), we did not get it taken care of, & what was taken care of, took forever to get done, (which stressed the heck out of us, having to call, email, & text constantly!)... *and they have now told us, they won't warranty any of it, because we held $2000, till they finished the job "properly"!? It has been a fiasco!! There is A LOT more to this story... & let's just say, it definitely has NOT been worth our $40,000+, for windows, esp NOT our TIME to stay on top of it... Thanks for listening/reading!! Hopefully, this saves you, the same hassles, we have had to endure :-( It has NOT been pretty :-(

Description of Work
New replacement windows in the whole house!

Category replacement windows

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2015

2.0

05/25/2018


THERESA E L.

When we bought this house it already had Bee Windows. Our inspector either didn't tell us or didn't notice a missing part in our window. When I called Bee Window by the number on their website, I could not get a hold of anyone. We received a post card saying to renew our warranty - addressed to the old owners. We were told in order for them to honor the warranty as second owners we needed to purchase the warranty for $350, and it would not be transferable to the next home owners. In order to get a tech out, there's a $250 service call. The man was very nice, and reduce the price of the visit to $150 since we had JUST paid for the warranty. On that visit he was able to determine the problem and said he would have to order the part and return when they received it. He did not return for a month and a half. It took all of 5 minutes to replace the part and fix the window. So, it cost us $500 have a minor part replaced in our window in 5 minutes. The warranty covers the cost of all parts in the future, but you can easily see where they make that up in a $250 service fee. The windows themselves are excellent, but we want people to be aware of what they will have to do to repair them.

Description of Work
They replaced a missing part in a window.

Category replacement windows

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/24/2018

5.0

05/07/2018


Joe W.

Very positive experience from salesman to installation. Good communication. Got big job done in one day. Cleaned up fairly well. Quality looks pretty good.

Description of Work
Replaced 19 year old builder grade windows that were in horrible shape. 15 windows total.

Category replacement windows

Cost $1

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/03/2018

1.0

04/25/2018


Joe B.

We had a horrible experience with Ty from Bee Windows today. To give some back ground we had 6 different window companies come out to our house over the last month to get pricing and see the different products. We narrowed our list to 3 with Bee still being in but being the most expensive and the highest U factor of the group. So we narrowed to 2 without them being in the running. Then out of the blue Bee called and stated that they had a new promotion and wanted to lower our quote by 50% then 10% off that price. They wanted us to see Ty on a Saturday morning at 10 am. After asking are you sure you can lower the price, we agreed to have him come out. When he arrived he stated that he was not supposed to work today and wanted to know what we wanted to do since we wanted him to come back out. We explained that we were told by Bee, we believed was Melissa, that they were going to reduce the price and he was to come out to show us the discount. He proceeded to state that there was no way they could lower the price like that because they couldn’t even make the windows at that price. He said maybe we could take 10% off but that wouldn’t be close to what we were told. We explained that we had already narrowed our search down and that the only reason we had him come back was because of what we were told about the price reduction. Ty stated that he would have to talk to the people at the office and kept asking for a name and my wife kept explaining she thought it was Melissa or something close to that. Rather than apologize for the inconvenience, he started asking questions about who we were going to use and then proceeded to bash them, even stating that the one company would do a switch and bate and we would not get what we ordered. He called the owner a shyster. He asked about the other company and the proceeded to bash them as well. I stated that his U factor was higher than the other two and he said they were lying to us. He then said “as I said before, not everyone can afford our windows,” we agreed and then he decided he would try to sell us his lower line that only had the 25 year warranty and not the life time so that he could get close to the price. At this point my wife and I began just saying ok to his comments and did not respond to the new pitch. (by the way, I had done research on all 3 finalist on the BBB and Angie’s list as well as other reviews). He continued that the one of the companies had only been in business for two years and would be out of business in five. There were many other negative comments, We kept agreeing to try to get him to just leave it seemed to make him upset and more aggressive and degrading to everything we had done over the last month. He just would not stop, be a professional and leave. His final comment before I threw him out of my home was “Did you have any real window companies come out and give you estimates?” He treated us as if we were an inconvenience to him and unintelligent when his company called us and gave us false information to get back into our home. So if you want a bad experience with a Window Sales person try Ty with Bee Windows. If not I suggest any other company. We had great experiences with all the other companies that came to our house. We were up front with them and let them all know that we were getting estimates. They were all professional and followed up with emails or text to ask our final decision. We let them all know where they stood and if they were not one of the companies we choose. They all thanked us for the time we had given them to present their product.

Description of Work
Needed all windows replaced in my home.

Category replacement windows

Work Completed On 04/21/2018

1.0

04/09/2018


Andrew W.

I had an estimate scheduled for my Work From Home day, as my wife and kids are out of town that day and I'm often able to get some things done around the house while they are away. A woman called this morning to confirm the appointment and told me my wife and I have to both be present. I cancelled the appointment because I don't believe in such tactics. I'm the decision maker on all things home repair related when it involves work I decide not to do myself. Plenty of other local window companies.

Description of Work
Estimate for replacement windows

Category replacement windows

Work Completed On 04/09/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all reviews. We sincerely apologize for this experience. We would like a chance to make this situation right. We have reached out to you in regards to this.

5.0

03/22/2018


John M.

Salesman was very knowledgeable and helpful throughout the process. The workers were on time and did a great job and cleaned up everything when they left. Very professional and courteous workers. We recommend Bee Windows and would be happy to hire them again for future projects.

Description of Work
Replacement windows for house and garage.

Category replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/06/2018

1.0

02/07/2018


Bonnie G.

They said they would be out at 10:00am but they still weren't here at 11:00am. I called but couldn't talk to anyone. I left a message but no one called me back. I called again at 11:30am but again I didn't get a call back. The repair guy finally showed up at 12:15pm. No apology or anything.

Description of Work
Our new windows had ice accumulating on the window pane. These windows were installed last November.

Category replacement windows

Work Completed On 02/07/2018

5.0

01/30/2018


Richard C. L.

very well, this service was performed over 10 years ago.

Description of Work
Windows,gutters.soffits etc

Category gutter repair, roofing, replacement windows