Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor

4.6

(52) Verified Reviews

Founded 1976 • With Angi since October 2008

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
HIC.0507853
Trade License Locale
CT
Trade License Authority
Connecticut
Trade License Expiration
03/31/2023
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

12 Crest Way

Hamden, CT 06514

http://www.tjb-inc.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Maintaining safe distance when meeting clients

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.
TJB-INC Display Gardens & Ponds - Open 24/7/365

TJB-INC Display Gardens & Ponds - Open 24/7/365

lawn & landscaping199506514
We are proud to have our garden displays named & certified as a “Natural Wildlife Habitat” by the National Wildlife Federation. Our gardens are also a stop on the “Connecticut Garden & Landscape Trail” (one of only a few in Connecticut at a Landscape Company's Building). Here you will see several different kinds of water features, Pond & Pondless, (11) Waterfalls, (6) Streams, (15' x 50') 9/16” Omni-Directional Synthetic Putting Green with Fringe & (2) Regulation Holes, (3) different Synthetic Lawn Turf/Golf Fringe, Hundreds of plants and flowers, Interlocking Paver & Retaining Wall Displays, Permeable Surfaces, Outdoor Firepits, & our collection of installed PaverArt inlays. From May 1 – November 1, bring some Cheerios (Honey Nut is their favorite) to hand feed our friendly Koi fish who will greet you by the stone bridge that crosses over one of our streams. Some of the Koi are over 20” long. (Don’t worry, they don’t have any teeth!) The Koi fish will suck the food from your hand like a vacuum cleaner. It will be an interaction with fish that the average person has never experienced. Great for kids & adults alike! (Note: If you bring younger children, please be sure they do not throw any rocks at the fish because it can possible severely injure or kill the fish.) While the kids are enjoying the fish in the pond, try your skill on our synthetic putting green or just sit and relax on the chairs & benches enjoying the sights and sounds of nature that surround you. Birds, butterflies, honey bees, dragon flies, hummingbirds, garter snakes, turtles, frogs & chipmunks are just some creatures that visit or live in the gardens. The photos in this collection were all taken at the display gardens during different times of the bloom season. We have color from the early tulips & daffodils in the spring, to hundreds of perennials and flowering or colored leafed shrubs and trees supplemented by an array of colorful annuals during the summer. Aquatic plants in the ponds and streams showcase more exotic color combinations accented by multi-colored fish. Fall brings on multi-colors from the foliage and stems of the shrubs and trees along with our fall perennials. Winter is a time of renewal and not so colorful but still a lot to see and enjoy! On our website: www.TJB-INC.com, we have links to many more photos and videos of our public display gardens & ponds for you to enjoy and dream of how it would look in your yard! When you are ready to move forward, please give TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor a call to see what we can create for your living space. Thank you for your time, and enjoy the photos! ... Ted J Greiner

Description

TJB-INC is a local family owned, Professional Landscape & Drainage Contractor since 1976. We specialize in Custom Water Features, Synthetic Putting Greens, All Hardscaping - Traditional & Permeable (walks, patios, pool decks, driveways & retaining walls), Landscape Plantings (Trees, Shrubs, Flowers, Bulbs & Ground Covers), Storm Water & Drainage Issues, Seasonal Property Maintenance, On-Site Consultations with our expert who can answer all your questions. TJB-INC holds many licenses, certifications, & registrations: * CT Home Improvement Contractor Registration #507853 * CT DEP Business Registration # B-652 * CT DEP Turf & Ornamental Supervisor #S-1710 *CT DEP Arborist # S-1710 * Interlocking Concrete Pavement Institute (ICPI) Level 1 Installer * NCMA Certified Segmental Retaining Wall Installer * National Pond Society - "Master Pond Gardener" * International Professional Pond Contractors Association # 7173 * Certified Master Aquascape Contractor (1st in New England) *Nicolock Hardscape Pro * Techo-Block Hardscape Pro * Manufacturer's Installer Certifications from Ideal, Uni-Lock, Grinnell, Belgard, Versa-Lock, & many more. You can contact us at the following telephone numbers: 203-287-0636 Customer Service 203-288-3711 24-Hour Answering Service 203-288-3213 Fax Machine 800-926-2119 Toll Free Or at any of the E-Mail addresses below tjb@TJB-INC.com Info@TJB-INC.com Ted@Pond.Expert Ted@Drainage.Expert Social Media Sites: 1. Facebook = TJB-Inc-Landscape-Drainage-Contractors 2. Instagram = tjbinc_landscape_and_drainage 3. YouTube = TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor Take a virtual tour of our Display Gardens & Ponds at http://www.tjb-inc.com/about/#virtualtour See a drone fly through video of our Displays: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YYCtozHoquI See thousands of photos of our work at http://www.houzz.com/pro/tjbinc/__public See our customer reviews on Angies List, Yelp, BBB, Houzz, Google, Networx, & Facebook! ...

Verified Reviews

4.6

(52) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

42

4

5

3

1

2

1

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

lawn & landscaping (35)drain pipe installation (13)hardscaping (10)stone & gravel (7)lawn care (7)excavating (7)lawn treatment (5)snow removal (4)landscape lighting (3)Patios (2)fountains (1)
Showing 1-10 of 52 reviews
5.0

03/16/2022


Becky C.

Ted’s consult appointment couldn’t have been more valuable. He’s extremely honest and knowledgeable, and I would recommend everyone had a consulting appointment with him before a big job - even if you plan to use a different company to do the actual work. He’ll help you know if you’re getting a fair price and answers any and all questions you have about your home. The consulting cost seemed like a lot initially, but considering the amount you’ll save in the long run and peace of mind knowing you’re paying a fair price - it pays for itself. I initially got a quote for double the price it’d actually cost, and Ted helped me understand that. He even gave me DIY costs for parts we could do ourselves if desired! It’s obvious his knowledge is from many years of experience. He gave us so much information in a clear and concise way - about drainage, landscaping, masonry options, even to the tiniest detail like a pin p**** mold spot on my house and what the cause was. Highly recommended!!

Description of Work
Consultation for redoing front steps, walkway, drainage.

Category excavators,lawn treatment,pavers, gravel,drain pipe,hardscaping,outdoor lighting,patios

Cost $165

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2022

5.0

12/13/2021


Gerald S.

We've had a muddy yard and water seepage since we bought the house thirty+ years ago. We finally decided enough was enough and went looking for drainage experts. We found TJB, and we're glad we did. Ted was knowledgeable, friendly, and extremely professional. He recommended installing a system of underground drains and grading the yard so water would be directed away from the house. As others have noted, he sent us a variety of literature describing the techniques he was going to use. As an arborist, he also helped us figure out which of our trees needed to be removed. (TJB doesn't do tree work.) One thing I always watch for is how much the boss trusts his crew. Ted and his son were confident enough not to micromanage their employees. As a certified sidewalk supervisor, I tell you that their trust was justified. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend TJB.

Description of Work
Fix drainage and erosion problem in yard

Category excavators,landscaping,pavers, gravel,drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/03/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for putting your trust in TJB-INC to handle your complex drainage issues. I am confident that we worked out the most cost effective solutions that will address and correct all of the issues. Happy (Dry) Holidays!
5.0

05/01/2020


Don H.

Although we did not hire TJB to plant the trees, Ted provided us with some valuable information that the Emerald Green were not Deer Resistant and knew that our area had lots of deer so he suggested using the Green Giant variety instead. We would definitely at least request a quote from them for any future work.

Description of Work
I requested a quote to plant 24 Green Emerald Arborvitae

Category landscaping

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2020

Service Provider Response

This project was out of our normal service area but we were happy to direct the customer to the correct plant material needed for their application. We were also able to supply the current wholesale cost of the different sizes of correct available plant material. Customer was able to find a more local contractor to do the plantings.
5.0

04/21/2020


Dylan K.

The drainage consultation with Ted was very helpful. We have complicated drainage issues at the house and he was able to clearly explain how to implement an effective DIY system. Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Drainage consultation

Category drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/21/2020

Service Provider Response

TJB-INC offers a paid on-site consultation for many different issues including drainage & storm water management. Many times we can come up with DIY solutions for our clients saving them thousands of dollars from unnecessary construction. The goal of the consultation is not to sell our drainage services but strictly informational and debuck the misinformation that is out there. We give honest, correct solutions that a client can then shop to different contractors and get an apples to apples comparison. This client has decided to do a DIY project and save over $5,000 by knowing now how to do the project correctly. Ted has guided the client with follow up emails and suggestions on where to purchase products & equipment rental.
5.0

10/27/2019


carlos D.

Ted is an amazing guy who was able to explain in depth not only of any concerns and questions I had with my current property but also had very helpful suggestions that would help solve my issue. I am currently waiting to have builder address builders warranty coverage but will end up seeking Ted and his services

Description of Work
I am having flooding issues on a new property built and I proper drainage install done by builder

Category drain pipe

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

TJB-INC offers a paid on-site consultation for many different issues including drainage & storm water management. Many times we can come up with DIY solutions for our clients saving them thousands of dollars from unnecessary construction. The goal of the consultation is not to sell our drainage services but strictly informational and debuck the misinformation that is out there. We give honest, correct solutions that a client can then shop to different contractors and get an apples to apples comparison.
5.0

07/10/2019


Elaine H.

They were amazing. Very responsive, very professional and they did a good job.

Description of Work
I used them once a week to do a lawn service as needed as planting. clean up and pruning.

Category landscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/03/2019

Service Provider Response

This has been a special client of ours for over 30 years. Many years ago, they wanted to turn an old unused pool into a landscape feature. TJB-INC created a wonderful water feature with a large wetlands area with 2 streams, 2 bridges, and an 11 x 16 pond. Many different perennial gardens have been added to the yard over the years adding to the overall appeal of the grounds.
5.0

04/30/2019


Debra K.

They did an excellent work, they did a good job. The price was great, and they were able to do and complete the job in 1 day. They were very friendly and professional. I am very satisfied with their work, they were able to fixed the problem and we did not have any issues after they completed the work. We highly recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Installed drainage system in our backyard

Category drain pipe

Cost $3,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. This client had received quotes from other contractors who wanted to over engineer (and overcharge) for a relatively simple drainage problem. With our years of solving problems like this, TJB-INC was able to implement our solutions which solved the problems and save the client lots of unneeded excavation and disruption all while spending less money. Win, Win in our minds.
5.0

03/25/2019


Joshua M.

They did a great job and got it done when they said they would.

Description of Work
They installed retaining wall planters.

Category landscaping,hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/13/2018

Service Provider Response

The client has a house on the Branford shore who's front door was 10-12' below the level of the road. They had a small street side parking area but had to walk down old rotted stairs on the far side of their property. The client asked TJB-INC to replace the rotted stairs but we knew they needed a totally different solution. TJB-INC proposed building a new closer and safer entrance/staircase into their home. The challenges included massive exposed rock ledges that made design & construction difficult but we over came them. TJB-INC created a descending curved staircase down and through the rock ledge along with multi-level planting beds using 6" x 6" pressure treated timbers. We topped the steps with custom cut Bluestone treads to add interest and longevity. Because of all of the rock ledge, a special drainage system had to be created to keep the new entrance safe. This was a fun project for the crew because they had to constantly improvise the design to meet the terrain but still make the outcome safe and attractive. This was one of our favorite installations of the year!
4.0

03/25/2019


James E.

They did a good job. They did have to come back and do some rework.

Description of Work
They did yard drainage work.

Category drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. This was a drainage job where the water table was very high and the customer's basement sump pump discharged its water into the rear yard creating a muddy mess as well as flowing downhill into the neighbor's rear yard. TJB-INC was able to collect this discharge water and relocated it to the front yard. We installed a below ground 4" pipe system that also included (6) 4' deep underground vertical drains along the side out the house to allow the water to be stored until the ground could reabsorb it. When the water table rises too high and the underground storage area cannot store any more water, the excess water exits the system through a NDS pop-up emitter in the front yard. TJB-INC received a call from client about 2 months after the install that there was a new puddle in the rear yard. We sent down a crew to investigate and found that the pitch of one section of the pipe that was installed was not steep enough due to a large underground boulder. TJB-INC re-installed new pipe through a different section of the property and connected back into the vertical drain section at no additional charge to the customer. During the winter of 2018-19, the client called saying the water table was now very high and the basement sump pump was working overtime creating lots of extra water. This water was now coming out of the pop-up emitter in the front yard as designed but was flowing over the sidewalk and into the street where it was flowing into the city storm drain. The problem was with the cold temperatures, the sidewalk and roadway had now turned icy creating a slipping hazard. TJB-INC went back down and installed a diverter valve on the sump pump discharge so during the winter months, the excess water could be directed back on to the rear property where it would follow the downhill elevation into the neighbor's rear yard. We charged the client for the cost of the parts and 1/2 hr of labor.
5.0

09/19/2018


Matthew L.

Ted is simply amazing. He is thorough and explains things in terms your average homeowner can understand. He is friendly and took the time to make sure I was ready to tackle the project on my own.

Description of Work
Drainage consultation

Category landscaping

Cost $145

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. When I am hired as an on-site consultant, my purpose is to solve your issues and instruct you how you can repair them yourself if possible. You were in great physical shape and the to fix your drainage problem would only take a couple of hours. I felt is was better to instruct you how to do the job yourself than to sell you my companies services. Now you have the knowledge in place to tackle more issues if they ever pop up in the future! ... TED

Services Offered

Custom Water Garden & Natural Pond Products, Synthetic & Natural Golf & Putting Green Turf Kits & Supplies, Landscape Design & Installation, Residential Snow Making & Equipment Sales & Rental, Rocks & Faux Stone Products, Interlocking Paver Patios, Walkways, Driveways, Segmental & Timber Retaining Walls & Steps, Waterfalls & Streams, Lawn Treatment Programs, Lawn Renovation & Installation, Drainage Problems, Rain Water Harvesting & Storm Water Solutions, Site Consultations.

Services Not Offered

Asphalt, Poured Concrete, Stamped Concrete, Snow Removal Outside of Hamden & New Haven, Property & Lawn Maintenance > 10 miles From Hamden, Wood Decking, House Washing, Junk Removal, Brick Chimneys, Gutter Cleaning, Weekly Doggy Poo Clean-up, Tree Care, Electrical, Interior Masonry, plumbing, dump runs, gutter cleaning, roofing,

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check, PayPal
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor

How is TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor overall rated?

TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

What days are TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor open?

TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

What payment options does TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor provide

TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, Check, PayPal

Does TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offer free estimates?

Yes, TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offers free project estimates.

Does TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offer a senior discount?

No, TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor does not offer a senior discount.

Does TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offer emergency services?

Yes, TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor?

Yes, TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offers warranties.

What services does TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offer?

TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor offers the following services: Custom Water Garden & Natural Pond Products, Synthetic & Natural Golf & Putting Green Turf Kits & Supplies, Landscape Design & Installation, Residential Snow Making & Equipment Sales & Rental, Rocks & Faux Stone Products, Interlocking Paver Patios, Walkways, Driveways, Segmental & Timber Retaining Walls & Steps, Waterfalls & Streams, Lawn Treatment Programs, Lawn Renovation & Installation, Drainage Problems, Rain Water Harvesting & Storm Water Solutions, Site Consultations.

Are there any services TJB-INC Landscape & Drainage Contractor does not offer?

Asphalt, Poured Concrete, Stamped Concrete, Snow Removal Outside of Hamden & New Haven, Property & Lawn Maintenance > 10 miles From Hamden, Wood Decking, House Washing, Junk Removal, Brick Chimneys, Gutter Cleaning, Weekly Doggy Poo Clean-up, Tree Care, Electrical, Interior Masonry, plumbing, dump runs, gutter cleaning, roofing,