Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Republic West Remodeling Inc

Founded 1995 • With Angi since February 2011

Republic West Remodeling, a leading specialist of home improvement in Phoenix, offers the highest quality home remodeling services including kitchens, bathrooms, room additions and outdoor living spaces.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.4

(56) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 56 reviews
Daniel G.
1.0
07/11/2015
Working with this company was the worst experience I've ever encountered and we've built four new homes. They are professional up until you cut the first check and then they'll show up and tinker around until they can get another check from you. Their subs are absolutely terrible with the exception of the flooring guys who actually did a decent job. I placed multiple calls to their owner and my calls were returned by the superintendent on the account who is actually a nice guy but has NO control over anything including scheduling. So, unfortunately, they sic him on you to tell you what you want to hear, and, well... here we are in month 7 of a 6 week rip and replace.
Description of Work
We contracted with RWR in January to remodel our home. We were told "this is an easy rip and replace and should take 6 - 8 weeks". We are now entering month 7 and the work is still not completed. Furthermore, the quality of the work is absolutely pathetic. I'm not sure they installed a straight wall in the house and I have pictures to prove it. Their subs showed up confused, had no plans, blamed us the customer and the list goes on and on and on. Please do your self and your sanity a favor and do not hire this company.
Category
flooring contractor, remodeling, replacement windows
Celia F.
4.0
04/24/2014
They were very good. They are just finishing up. It was a pretty speedy process. They did a good job.
Description of Work
We used Republic West Home for a whole bathroom remodel. They put in a sliding pocket door in our master bathroom. It doesn't slide well. They are going to come back and redo that.
Category
remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling, doors
Pat S.
5.0
03/10/2014
From beginning to end the people at RWR were friendly and professional. We had some "ideas" about how we wanted our new kitchen to look. Jacque took our ideas and presented a plan that both astonished and delighted us! The new design knocked down walls and added an island and gave us more space, both visually and actually. We went from a cave to a bright, open place that is a joy to work in. Richard was a great project manager, and ALL of the workmen were pleasant and polite, left no mess, and asked and answered questions if there was a chance of misunderstanding. The contractors assigned to specialties (electrical, countertop, floors) were also super. This was such a positive experience that we're already planning what changes we want to make to the master bath/bedroom, and we absolutely will call on RWR when we're ready to proceed. We spent more than we had originally planned, but we got way, way more than we had originally expected.
Description of Work
COMPLETE kitchen remodel
Category
replacement windows
Laura R.
1.0
03/12/2013
(including vacation DO NOT USE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Description of Work
We met with them for an estimate on a major remodel after having a miserable experience with another contractor--of which they were fully aware. At first, everything seemed wonderful. All sorts of great designs that they promised would come within budget. Final estimate: $200k OVER! Ultimate insult was to be offered a gift certificate at our favorite restaurant. Really?????? If we had gone that route, (just for spite) we would have picked the most expensive restaurant we could find in the Valley. But we are not that way. Those are several hours of our lives we will never get back (and vacation time I took from work). Had such high hopes after they were promoted on a radio station to which we avidly listen. Anytime I hear the promotion, I want to call them up and tell them to stop. Horrible, horrible, horrible.
Category
remodeling
Kathleen J.
3.0
02/26/2013
The salesperson Barry was really good - - so good that I chose this company even though they were my highest bid. I chose them because I was convinced by Barry's sales pitch that the quality of the product and the exceptional, expert installation I would be receiving was worth all the extra money. I received estimates and measurements in August and didn't have the product installed until October. (Shipping issues). The expert installers damaged a window in my master bedroom upon installation. I had to wait until late January before the new window was installed. The reason I had to wait so long was the window that was ordered afterwards was damaged during shipping. The only reason I know this is because I had to call them and ask why it was taking so long. Three of the screens started to sag so in late January the installers took the windows to be re-screened or fixed (I honestly don't know which as no one from this company communicates with me proactively....I am always the person that has to call and leave messages first). In fairness, they do return my calls however the only time anyone called me first was the salesperson- - before I signed the contract. As I write this (2-26-13) I still do not have screens for three windows. I once again had to call them and find out what the problem is (I left a message). Overall I feel like the quality of the product is good. The person in charge of installation (Brian) was good to work with. He was the only one who was helpful and timely with his phone calls to me. He was not on the job during my installation however. I do feel like I overpaid for these windows based on my experiences so far. I would love to get some type of small refund back for all the aggravation of waiting for this project to be complete, still not having all my screens, not being able to use my bedroom window for more than 4 months, and just overall aggravation for not having a company be proactive with their communication with customers.
Description of Work
They installed all new dual-paned windows and screens for my entire house (this included 6 windows and an arcadia door). They also removed all my old windows.
Category
replacement windows
Paul B.
1.0
12/17/2012
You want too much. of my time
Description of Work
Did not use provider. Price high and restrictive. They wanted to do the design architectural etc . Did not complete the estimate and did not respond to my calls. Cannot evaluate beyond this. The information thy gave was difficult to evaluate and I suspetc they did that on purpose. A muscular attempt to upsell.
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

I am sorry for the problems you encountered, but Republic West Home is not the company you dealt with. Your description of the process did not sound like work we do and when I looked you up in our system, you do not appear. We do not do architectural details or jobs in the manner you describe. There are 2 companies with extremely similar names. Perhaps the company you dealt with is Republic West Remodeling. If you can give me any other information I can make sure which company you dealt with so that this poor grade does not affect our company's rating. Thank you.
Kim K.
4.0
11/15/2012
Sales person was knowledgeable and despite being higher than other estimates, signed a contract for cabinet refacing, replacement of counter tops, installation of faucets and disposal and tiling of back splash primarily based on the word of mouth recommendation of a co-worker who had worked with them a couple of years ago. We were pleased with the cabinet work, friendly sub contractor who did a nice job. Both the plumber and back splash tile folks, showed up at the same time, which caused some minor issues of them working around each other. Cannot say enough postitive on the tile installation, top notch work. On the other hand the plumber took a long time and we discovered after the fact he failed to turn on a valve under the kitchen sink that feeds the water line to the frig. When we noticed the ice maker stopped making ice, we contact Republic, and the issue was resolved to our satifaction. Overall, we were pleased with the counter top installation. However, when the original countertops were removed the sub contractor pulled the tops off without scoring the paint thus small sections of the paint were pulled off. Again, Republic agreed to repair the damage to the paint. We love the new kitchen.
Description of Work
Kitchen cabinet refacing, replacement of counter tops, tiling of back splash, installation of kitchen faucets, disposal
Category
countertops, home remodeling, cabinet refacing
A P.
1.0
04/25/2012
Everything went smoothly, measurements were taken, screen/frame colors selected, contract signed, and order submitted for factory production. Received an embarrased call informing me the owner had seen my $500 replacement order of a kitchen window and ordered it be cancelled because "the owner said it was TOO SMALL." I always trusted Darrel Ankarlo (their media spokesman) so this is a good lesson that a job is too small and not trust a media a spokesman.
Description of Work
Replacement window measured and submitted for factory production.
Category
replacement windows
Pam G.
3.0
03/02/2012
Fast forward nine months to December, 2011. We notice that the trim holding the glass on the outside of the door is coming loose. We called Republic West on December 27. Customer service said they would call us after the first of the year to set up an appointment. No one called. We called again on January 8, 2012. Mike was not in but the receptionist sent him an e-mail to give us a call. We received a call from Mike the next day, but he said he would have to check with Brian. On January 16, Mike called and said the parts for the door would be in Friday and he would call us the following Monday to make repairs. An appointment was made for the repairman with Republic West to come on January 23. At that time Ricky came out. The company had sent the wrong parts with him. This time, Ricky drew a picture so the company would order the right parts. On February 21, we called and left a message with the receptionist for Mike to give us a call. Our door still had not been repaired. By this time, Mike was replaced by Brian. Brian returned my call to make arrangements for Ricky to install the new parts on February 29th. Ricky came and did a great job. We really appreciate Ricky and the time he took to make sure everything was done correctly. We feel that we got the royal runaround with this company and will never do business with them again. It took two months to get the door when Republic West said it would only be 4-6 weeks and then it was the wrong size. It took two months to get the door repaired when they had the actual material on hand to do it immediately.
Description of Work
We saw the Republic West display at the big Maricopa County Home and Garden Show in January, 2011. We asked that a rep visit us to discuss replacing our aluminum sliding glass patio door. The salesman was Barry Lung. His big sales pitch was the wonderful ratings Republic West had on Angie's List! We signed a contract for a new door on January 19, 2011. Barry said he would send someone out to take exact measurements of the door because each one is custom made. When the door arrived 2 months later after many phone calls and delays, the installer brought it out and it was about 2" too short and 4" too narrow for the opening. The installer had to remake the frame and stucco the outside of the house, plus build an additional 2" all around the door frame inside the house. This included texturing the wall. He did not, however, redo the trim and mopboards which had to be recut, repainted and installed. Additional mopboard had to be bought to make up for the new wall. We asked why, when a professional came out to measure the original door, the new door came out of the factory too small. The installer said that this particular door was made in Canada and they used centimeters and meters instead of inches and feet. Then WHY DIDN'T THE CANADIAN COMPANY CONVERT THE FIGURES SO THE DOOR WOULD BE THE CORRECT SIZE?!? The installer did a nice job of installing the door although the additional time and mess involved was problematic plus the orange peel texture on the inside walls and the stucco on the outside walls did not exactly match. Plus we now have a smaller door than we did before.
Category
remodeling, doors
JOAN B.
5.0
01/23/2012
They are a wonderful company. Overall, the work was outstanding, and it was better than anticipated. They were absolutely honorable. They did everything they said they would do and when they promised. They did a beautiful job. It was done in a workmanlike manner. They were tidy. They got in and got out. I did not price them out very hard because I felt very good about them. I would use them again in a heartbeat.
Description of Work
I used Republic West Remodeling Inc for new windows. They replaced all my windows.
Category
replacement windows
David W.
5.0
12/23/2011
So far the exercise has been the design and contract signing. They were quick to set up an appointment at my home to see the specific site spending 2 hours reviewing ideas both mine and the designers. Over the course of four weeks many adjustments and options were investigated leading to a final design that meets some very specific wants and needs as well as stylish desgin. The computer aided design with both mechanical and 3D pictoral renditions effects for lighting was plus. This tool also helped RWR with a complete pick off list of job materials and activities provided a thoroughness to the contract which was important for cost and schedule control as well as my anticipated final satisfaction with the job once completed. The price was competitive with other designers with similar arrangements. Some of the less tnagibles swayed the final choice as RWR will handle the permitting and inspection with the city.
Description of Work
complete remodel of kitchen including removal of non-load bearing wall and built in pantry.
Category
home remodeling
Carol T.
5.0
12/20/2011
I was hoping I could say WOW! for the entire project. The finished product was a WOW! ...but, the process getting there, which started off great, kind of fizzled at the end. Republic West Remodel puts on quite a Dog and Pony Show. Their upfront pre-planning and attention to detail was impressive and just what I needed to make my decision. They put together a rendition of what the finished project would look like with complete detail. I went with their buyer to pick out all of the accessories (toilet, facets, tile) which was extremely helpful. I gave the designer/sales person my budget amount. She told me I could purchase 2 sink faucets, a shower head, a handheld shower faucet and diverter (all in brushed nickel), all of the tile (floor and shower), toilet, 2 vanity lights and accessories for $1,500. Really?! I knew that wasn't true right up front. To stay within the $1,500 limit, I went with with chrome and a single shower head. They gave me a calendar with an estimated timeline showing what work would be performed and when. They did great staying on schedule UNTIL there was a problem: The vanity cabinet they put in was longer than the orginal cabinet which caused a snowball of issues. Since they are the professionals, it seems they should have been more diligent wtih their measurements. The designer measured, the engineer measured (part of the Dog and Pony Show), but, nobody thought about how a longer cabinet would effect so many other things? Also, the cabinets are nice but, the inside demensions of the drawer are extremely small. If I had been asked, I would have requested more inside drawer demension. I could have told them to find me another cabinet but that would have added another 2 to 3+ weeks to the project. It took 9 days longer than promised, as it was. Once the 'cabinet' issue came up it threw the entire schedule off and I feel like this project became a work-in or after thought. Progress was very slow at the end. I expected to have some issues during this extentive remodel project and most issues were realitively minor, except for the cabinet issue. The Project Manager did a good job keeping me informed of what was going on almost daily. I think Republic West Remodel did a far better job than most remodel companies would have done. But, with that being said, because of the higher price and extensive pre-planning I was expecting to be able to say WOW! at the end for the entire project. I am very happy with the final product. It's my dream bathroon! Thank you.
Description of Work
Complete remodel and update of master bathroom including: doorless walk-in shower with glass block new cabinets, toilet, mirror, tile move drain and water pipes for new shower glass block window
Category
home remodeling
Edith M.
5.0
07/18/2011
We really liked them. The whole transaction went smoothly. The windows that they installed are fabulous. I think they were a little costly for the work that they did because all they had to do was put windows in the space and did not have to rebuild or do anything like that. Their product was excellent. The salesman and the workers who came were very good. The cleanup was so good that you couldn't even tell that they were here. They were very professional.
Description of Work
Republic West Remodeling Inc. replaced three front windows and special two windows in our living room.
Category
replacement windows
Dan F.
5.0
06/03/2011
Every detail was taken care of from start to finish. We were very satisfied with the entire project. They said it would take 6-8 weeks for windows and it did. Cabinets and countertops went very well. We are still very happy almost 6 years later.
Description of Work
We had our cabinets refaced with cherry and granite countertops. We also had them replace approximately 15 windows in our house. They did an excellent job and if there was a problem they were very responsive in getting the work taken care of. We would highly recommend this company.
Category
remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling
Chris B.
3.0
03/21/2011
Great sales guy, Jerry. He sold me the windows and showed up when I had questions. On service date the guys showed up on time, put plastic down, etc. Thought very professional. I paid not much attention during the removal and installation. One window came cracked and needed to be ordered and replaced. When installation completed, I was shown how the windows worked without opening and closing but by pointing. I did a walk thru on the outside later and found some mess of stucco and a broken lid to my outside metal outlet, etc. If you don't mind that stuff, then ok. I had to call their office to ask about my broken replacement window and if it had come in. I was called back later. Paul came a few days later and replaced the broken window. In the process of replacing the bottom half of the window we noticed it wasn't installed properly because it wouldn't close all the way or lock. After fixing that problem I went to the other same style of window and found it was installed improperly. After opening it, it would not close or lock. Paul and I had to re-install the bottom part of the window again. PLUS, the vinyl was scratched on the new replacement window. I told Paul to tell Carolyn, but don't know if he did. When I did a tour of the windows in and out about 3 or 4 months later, I noticed gaps between window and stucco and window and caulk. Most windows need to be re-caulked, in and out. I called the office and talked to Carolyn on 2/24/2011 and she said because of all of the hail damage, they were quite busy and it would be a couple of weeks before they could get to me. I am still waiting. It is March 21st. Probably very good windows, haven't been thru a summer with them yet tho', but installation and responsiveness could have been better. I understand nothing is perfect - but I expect good if not great customer service.
Description of Work
Had 5 replacement windows, removal and install. Needed to do a little stucco work around the windows.
Category
replacement windows
William M.
5.0
03/16/2011
I've used them before. It is a real nice door. It was great. My girlfriend has a house and we're probably going to be using them over there. They do what they say they are going to do and the price is right. They show up and they are very professional. It is a great company to deal with. They are a little pricey. I pay the extra little price because the quality is good.
Description of Work
I used Republic West Remodeling to put in a new front door. They removed the old frame and door and put in a new frame and door. They put in an energy door with the tidy Venetian blinds build inside the door.
Category
woodworking, doors
JOSEPHINE L.
5.0
03/09/2011
The job was supposed to take three and a half weeks and that is what it took. !!!!! My husband and I were at at home for the process and were able to trouble shoot when problems arose. It was nice they had a concierge. The concierge service did help when we had problems with the workmen. I called her and let off steam instead of tracking down the workman. The pricing offered on appliances and the parts was not that great and I did most of that myself. I was displeased with nly one of the work teams, the dry-wallers. They left a mess and were gone before I got back from an errand. Everyone one else was fantastic and we LOVE our new kitchen.
Description of Work
We had Republic involved for the entire process. Arthur Gambino did the design and then we had all the work except for some extra electric done by RW. The entire existing kitchen was removed including a wall and a new kitchen installed. This was a huge investment for us and overall we are VERY happy.
Category
countertops
5.0
12/31/2010
We upgraded all the windows including replacing several fixed windows with those that open. We were out of town when the work was done and according to our friend who checked out their work, they did an excellent job, including the clean up. Very little touch up was required and the windows look great and work as promised. We had a problem with one screen and they sent someone out the day I called to take care of it. They're not inexpensive but the quality is very good.
Description of Work
replace all windows
Category
replacement windows
5.0
07/18/2010
We visited their main location and walked through all the options. The salesperson was very helpful, not pushy. The measure and install went smoothly. The team of installers really knew their stuff. They recommended a painter to custom stain the door and touch up after the windows were installed. The finished product was beautiful all around. The painter was so good we hired him for some additional work after this completed.
Description of Work
Replace 30+ windows and installed a new front door. Several windows were arches which are more expensive. We purchased low-E dual pane windows and Republic West did the entire job in just two days. The front door was replaced with a beautiful new energy efficient door as well.
Category
replacement windows, doors
5.0
06/08/2010
After visiting their show room, I scheduled an appointment with Republic West to get an estimate. Buck Core arrived on time, was very professional, answered all my questions, and provided me with an quote for the cost; the final price was exactly the same as his quote. He then scheduled for a second person to come and take the final measurements of all the windows, and help me decide on the appropriate trim. He too arrived on time and was very professional. The installers also arrived on time, and very promptly removed the old windows and patio doors, and installed the new ones. They were very good about cleaning up after themselves and did an excellent job. It has now been several months since the windows and doors were installed, and I?m still very happy with their look, and their performance. I only gave Republic West a B on price because they were rather expensive. But then, as the saying goes, you get what you pay for, and I would definitely use Republic West again.
Description of Work
Removed the old windows from the living room and three bedrooms, as well as the sliding doors on to the patio, and replaced them all with energy efficient windows and sliding doors.
Category
replacement windows, doors
4.0
05/31/2010
Very professional and attentive company. Bid price exceeded all of our others by 25% so went with another company. Barring the price, seemed like a great company.
Description of Work
Asked for a bid.
Category
home remodeling
2.0
03/25/2010
Read every paper that you sign with Republic West. They lack pricing transparency. Their Markup is very high. Their Designer promised lot of features during discussions with us but subsequent teams did not demonstrate any awareness on the design. I and my wife had to take day offs from work to ensure the project goes correct and finishes on time.They kept telling me I do not have a lot budget for the work i am getting done which was very surprising for a not so complicated project we spent 31000. Donn trust the desingers take every detail in written and signed by RW as well. I DO NOT RECOMMEND RW. YOU WILL SPEND 30% less for the same product lines and quality that RW offers if you contract a smaller venture.RW 's markup is very high, they are flexible and are responsive but make you pay for your mistakes.
Description of Work
We did kitchen refacing and fireplace tiling. It was not a complex project at all but lack of coordination between the designer and the team at the site was very visible through out the project. I will never engage Republic West for any of my future work. They are very expensive.They do not provide any pricing transparency. Quality of work is great but you pay a lot for that. Their team and the foreman at site came unprepared to my house without the plan their desinger had shared with us. After lot of follow ups with the owner the project was completed. If you donn pay attention re-work is inevitable.
Category
custom cabinets, countertops, electrician, lighting, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, cabinet refacing
5.0
03/24/2010
They were fine, but I would not go back to them because they only have fiberglass around the windows.
Description of Work
I got a quote from Republic West Inc. 4 or 5 months ago to replace my windows and a patio door.
Category
replacement windows, doors
2.0
03/23/2010
We thought that their pricing was extremely high. In their initial assessment, their price was almost three times more than everyone else. They were very punctual and they came at the exact time that they said they would come. We talked about what needed to be done then he looked around and said ?Before I waste your time, we are looking at around $36,000. Is that what you were thinking?? We didn?t actually sit down with him because we obviously weren?t in the same ballpark.
Description of Work
Republic West gave us an estimate for a bathroom remodel.
Category
home remodeling
2.0
02/18/2010
Republic West's chosen sub-contractor for the electrical work, EconoLight, executed their work poorly, were unresponsive to our comments regarding the poor quality of their work, and extracted payment from my wife while I was out of the country and before I had a chance to inspect and confirm that the work was done correctly. - Their work was poorly coordinated with the rest of the remodeling project, resulting in two walls being cut open three times to install, re-install, and then re-re-install certain outlets and switch boxes. - Their choices to wire the light switches to control the ceiling lighting were illogical, requiring multiple visits to ensure that the north switches controlled the north lights and the south switches controlled the south lights, for instance. - Their installation of new wiring of CGFI outlets in the kitchen was so faulty that it still does not work to this day, primarily due to the mismatching of 20-amp and 15-amp fusing. - They cut drywall holes in the wrong places in ceilings and walls, and then just left the holes open without explanation or notice to the Republic West team to close or repair the holes. - The EconoLight and Republic West teams regularly referred me to the other party when I pointed out obvious flaws in the execution, each failing to take any responsibility to competently complete the work at hand until I escalated the issues repeatedly.
Description of Work
Republic West sub-contracted the electrical work on our remodel to EconoLight, who were responsible for both replacing old wiring and circuitry and installing new wiring, new lighting and circuitry in our major home remodel. This included installing ceiling lighting and wiring the wall switches to control them, as well as installing power outlets in the kitchen, bathrooms, closets, hallways, living rooms, and bedrooms.
Category
electrician

Other local Pros in your area

Prestige Renovations

We specialize in all phases of remodeling for your home, business, bathrooms, kitchens, finishing basements, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Gil's Flooring

We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in flooring services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Reign Masonry LLC.

The New Generation of Masonry. 25 Years of experience. Top Quality Masonry. Integrity and Respect is what we live by. Reign Masonry provides Custom Residential Contracting. Block,Brick,Stone Veneer. Custom BBQ'S, FirePlaces, Retaining Walls, Custom Home Builder, you name it.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

8101 E McDowell Rd

Scottsdale, AZ 85257

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Financing Available
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Republic West Remodeling Inc is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

Republic West Remodeling Inc is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Republic West Remodeling Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

Ask Republic West Remodeling Inc for details on free project estimates.

No, Republic West Remodeling Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Republic West Remodeling Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Republic West Remodeling Inc offers emergency services.

No, Republic West Remodeling Inc does not offer warranties.

Republic West Remodeling Inc offers the following services: Home, Bathroom, & Kitchen Remodeling, Room Additions, & Outdoor Living Spaces.