Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC

Founded 1973 • With Angi since July 2006

3.0

(7) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1911 27th Ave S

Birmingham, AL 35209

Description

. Certified Aging-in-Place Specialist...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

03/01/2016


LJ G.

Don't work with these people unless you have EVERY tiny detail in writing. Unqualified people working unsupervised. Purchased unapprovedfinishes and refused to correct without additional funding. Also, disposed of equipment targeted for recycle.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel with new HVAC and ducts throughout and basement insulated.

Category home remodeling

4.0

12/03/2012


THOMAS V.

The company repainted our bathroom walls after the were painted with the wrong paint the first time, this took more then a year to get accomplished. When they finally got around to do it it was done very well, in less then a day.

Description of Work
The company repainted our bathroom walls after the were painted with the wrong paint the first time, this took more then a year to get accomplished.

Category home remodeling

1.0

07/25/2012


Michael M.

We have never felt more compelled to warn people of a company than we do so now. We would never, EVER, recommend using Baugher Inc. (Design & Remodel). It was the worst consumer experience of our life. Words can?t fully describe how bad this experience has been. We have no reason to be dishonest in this review. I am not a building contractor and have no ties to building contractors or tradesmen. This review does not benefit us in any way except the satisfaction of knowing we tried to help others. Including the design, we paid them approximately $170,000 to remodel our Kitchen and Living Room and add a Screen Porch. We are not wealthy. This was a once in a lifetime investment for us. The owner, Rob Baugher is a very good salesman. We were naïve. We trusted him then. We absolutely do not now. If you choose to consider this company after reading this review, we would suggest you have an attorney present in every meeting and get every little thing in writing. To summarize, we had to go to arbitration to have over 30 issues resolved. Even after the binding arbitration ruling against Baugher, they have not resolved all issues identified. The ruling stated they needed to resume work within 15 days (on May 3rd) and complete 30 days from that date. It is July 24th and arbitration issues are not fully resolved. Also? although they claim to have a five-year warranty, they have also ignored many warranty issues to date. They have not responded to emails or returned voice messages for over a month regarding completion of issues identified in arbitration or warranty issues. They are Better Business Bureau accredited at the time of this writing, but during the BBB grievance process, they missed every deadline for responding to complaints. I can only speculate what would have happened if we would have missed a single deadline for compliance. Baugher did so with no consequence from the Better Business Bureau yet. They ignored deadlines imposed by what was supposed to be binding arbitration. Again, there have been no consequences to date. They unlawfully removed the building permit before work was completed. In fact the final inspection has still not been done as of July 23, 2012. Again there have been no consequences to date. In our opinion, they have thumbed their nose at the process and rules. Prior to this, we were never involved in a Better Business Bureau complaint, involved in arbitration, or involved in small claims court. We had occasional disagreements over the past 30 years of my adult like, but nothing in comparison to this. We signed the contract in mid July 2011. (That?s right, 2011, over a year ago!) Work started in mid August 2011. We were told it would take 2-3 months to complete because they planned everything on a calendar and we would have a dedicated Project Manager to make sure work was done on time. The work is still not finished. Baugher decided that in January work was ?substantially? complete even though we had a long list of issues left unaddressed. We refused to make final payment. According to our contract, disagreements would be settled by binding arbitration sponsored by the BBB. We started the arbitration process through the Better Business Bureau immediately. We took hundreds of pictures of our ordeal showing poor quality workmanship every step of the way. We began to keep a daily log to document statements and events. We should have done that every day from day one. If not for that diligence, Baugher may have persuaded the arbitrator otherwise about some of the other issues. Like I said, he?s a very good salesman. We know he misled the arbitrator on one item. While we did not get everything we asked for during arbitration, the ruling was in our favor for the most part. Even on one major issue that didn?t go our way, the arbitrator stated, ?presentations outside the contract were deceptive.? I have so many more issues I could document from poor quality work that we had to fight to have had redone (and redone again) just to reach mediocrity, to damaged appliances that required the arbitrator to rule that they needed to reimburse us monetarily, to poor customer service. I could go on and on, but it only makes me angrier. In the contract we signed they state work will be done to NAHB Residential Construction Performance Guidelines?. They hold that up like it?s the holy grail. I suggest you read it and make your own determination of the quality of work those guidelines alone guarantee. It is the lowest level of accepted quality. We also believe we have work that does not pass those guidelines that they so far have refused to address properly. Our screen door off the screen porch has a gap so large at the bottom a dinner fork fits under it. It defeats the purpose if a screen porch if things can get in. The door itself is also cut poorly, uneven on top. So if you still are thinking about using this company? you now have a glimpse at our experience. Search the Angie?s List and reviews on other local web sites for other reviews of this company. Also look at the number of complaints filed against them with the BBB since August 2010. The complaints fall into two categories, but the second may be misleading. It reads: "BBB found business made good faith effort to resolve complaint but customer not satisfied with business response (3 complaints)." We believe ours was one of those three and we do not believe the business made a good faith effort. If they did, we wouldn?t have had to go to arbitration to get proper resolution. And note, we had to pay the $600 for arbitration. Baugher paid nothing for the arbitration service. If you meet with the this owner or anyone working for him, we recommend having an attorney or at least a disinterested third party with you as a witness in the room for ALL meetings in your house and in his office. Document all statements. If you do not have a witness, it won?t matter what you were told. We believe we were misled on several issues. Write everything down. We would recommend that you have an attorney review the written contract before you sign. Make sure you have every detail in writing. Don?t assume that changes already made while fine-tuning the draft contract with Baugher will appear in the final copy you sign. We had one instance where we corrected an item in drafts provided by Baugher but the incorrect language resurfaced in the final contract. We didn?t notice it until after signature, but that was too late. Even though we believe Baugher knew of the edits and was shown the correction in the actual drafts, he refused to fix. Check every word and make sure you identify each and every little item, including brand, model, etc. Have the contract include a clause that protects you from a Mechanics Lien. The contract we signed required that we make payments in installments upon the start of activities. We would suggest that you do not sign that type of contract with anyone. Require them to write the contact that says you will pay upon completion of activities based on your satisfaction. The contract we signed required us to pay the remaining balance upon ?Substantial Completion?. This does not mean when all work is done and issues resolved. It is when contractor decides that the work is ?substantially complete?. We would advise you have the contract state you will pay the remaining balance when all work is completed to your satisfaction and final inspection is approved. In our experience, Baugher tried to declare substantial completion with over 30 issues remaining, most of which an arbitrator later said they had to fix. Your contract might also include a clause that says you will pay a percentage of the remaining balance every month if you do not pay at ?Substantial Completion?. We recommend that you make them remove this clause. We recommend that you require them to provide a written schedule and a cost breakdown for materials purchased. Based on our experience we would recommend that you not sign a contract without it. We recommend that you require them to state in the contract how quickly they must respond to warranty issues. Include a penalty for each day if they don?t comply. Our experience is that warranty issues reported over a month ago have not been done. There appears to be nothing to compel then to respond. We recommend that you require them to put in writing that your ?dedicated Project Manager? is on site when subcontractors do work and that they have no other business on the side. It was not uncommon for us to have work done with no Baugher supervision. Our assigned Project Manager opened his own business several months prior to starting our project. We recommend that you keep a daily log and take a lot of photographs. Document every thing no matter how small you think it may be. Save email correspondence. We recommend you note when the tradesmen arrive and depart and document statements made to you and statements you made.

Description of Work
They remodeled our kitchen, living room, bathroom floor, and added a screen Porch

Category decks, remodeling, home remodeling

2.0

12/11/2011


THOMAS V.

Lots of problems, some of them are still not fixed even if they claim they give warranty.

Description of Work
remodel bathroom

Category home remodeling

2.0

05/06/2009


Susan H.

The original "ball park" estimate for both bathrooms was $20,000. The design process took from August to December, as we only met once a week or so and looked at one or two items. They would never give me any idea of what anything I was choosing would cost (sometimes they would tell me "this is more than this" but never how much more). When the design was finally finished, the actual cost to do the work was $42,000 (less the $2500 I paid up front). Needless to say, I took the design which I had already paid for and had someone else do the work. I got the same finished product for $21,000.

Description of Work
I had Baugher do an estimate on remodeling two bathrooms in my house. I chose them because they charged up front for the design process, and I felt I needed help with the design. I paid them $2500 up front to do the design work, with the understanding that if I did not choose them to do the job, the design was mine to take elsewhere. I did not use them to do the renovation, so they only did design work for me.

Category home remodeling

5.0

04/25/2007


TOM C.

Baugher Design & Remodel did all of the architectural designing for our home. Before they did the work, our house did not match our neighborhood so they designed the house to fit in better with the neighborhood. They did a good job on our home and I am pleased with the results.

Description of Work
Baugher Design & Remodel made our home larger. Our house was built in 1957 and was 1800 square feet which was too small. Baugher Design tore the old roof off and added a second story to our home. The addition was 1100 square feet. They added 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom upstairs, a sitting room and storage room. They also extended a wall in the dinning room, replaced all of the windows on the old part of the house as well and poured a new driveway. Our home is now 2900 square feet.

Category remodeling

5.0

07/11/2006

Baugher Design and Remodel does superb work. They offer a five-year guarantee on their work and stand behind it. I think that is terrific. I have recommended them to others. They were here on time and cleaned everything up afterwards. They are a very professional and honest company.

Description of Work
Baugher Design and Remodel replaced some wood that rotted around my garage door. The also installed a new regular door in my garage.

Category garage doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    ALUX - Luxury Interior Painting

    ALUX Luxury Interior Painting is ready to take your paint project from dream to reality - with experience since 2011 & quality design, our team of highly skilled service professionals will be with you every step of the way. Call today for a free estimate!  

    Alabama Gutter Company

    At Alabama Gutter Company, we eliminate the hassle by avoiding high pressure sales and gimmick pricing strategies. Our pledge is simple - we offer a professional approach, straightforward pricing and honest assessment for real solutions you need. Whether that is a gutter cleaning, repair or a full system - we treat your home as if it is our own. Please give us the opportunity to take care of all your gutter needs - quickly, honestly, thoroughly, and fairly priced.  

    Clark Home Improvement

    Drywall install. Painting interior. Flooring install.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    DESIGN, REMODELING, ADDITIONS, KITCHENS & BATHROOMS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC

    How is BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC overall rated?

    BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC is currently rated 3 overall out of 5.

    What days are BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC open?

    BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC provide

    BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC offers free project estimates.

    Does BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC offer a senior discount?

    No, BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC?

    No, BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC offer?

    BAUGHER DESIGN & REMODEL INC offers the following services: DESIGN, REMODELING, ADDITIONS, KITCHENS & BATHROOMS.