Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

House Of Carpets

Founded 1966 • With Angi since November 2009

5.0

(4) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1410 Cranston Rd

Beloit, WI 53511

Description

6 Employees. Finance available. Additional Contact - Brian Williams, Dave Hanson, John Rutledge, Dave Draeving, Cody Williams. 6 months same as cash through CityCorp....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/18/2014


Gary H.

Description of Work
Ceramic tile over linoleum. Everything went very well. Even cut down our tub panel to accommodate the extra height of the tile. This is the second flooring project they completed. We had different installers each time, but each job went well.

Category carpet installation

5.0

03/16/2013


Dan G.

I never priced out this job, but we liked the showroom experience. The price did seem a bit high, but then we thought about how much work really was involved. It was a 3 day job. We had a bad experience about 7 years ago with flooring, done through the Home Depot. The installers of both the Pergo in our kitchen and tile in our front entryway just had no clue what they were doing. The transition between the tile and our living room carpet was so bad it took 2 different repairmen to get it, well, if not really "right", at least presentable. We really liked the atmosphere in the showroom. "John" is who we dealt with at the showroom and also in emails back and forth, really knowledgeable guy. There was never any pressure to buy but he seemed close at hand if we needed help or had questions. So there was a fine line between helping us and also giving us some space, just perfect. Ron, the House of Carpets owner came out to take measurements and work up a quote. Again very personable and knowledgeable and made a few suggestions. We had a lot of options on what we could do ourselves and what we wanted them to do. My wife and I discussed the estimate for about a week before we decided to accept. Almost everyrthing was done by them, only exception is the new wooden trim we would need, we decided to get that and stain it ourselves. (House of Carpets does seem to cater to the DIY crowd, we were glad to have options on what we could do or have them do). As I mentioned this was a 3 day job. The first day was for removal of the old Pergo in the dining/kitchen area and also the ceramic tile in our entryway/closet. 2nd day was installation of vinyl in these same 2 areas. 3rd day was carpet installation. House of Carpets advertises that they use several experienced installers. The one assigned to our job was "Engle's Flooring For You" from nearby Footville, WI. I was happy with the demeanor and professionalism of Thad Engle and his partner Don. I could tell they were worlds apart from the crew from Home Depot 7 years ago. These guys obviously KNEW what they were doing. Thad said he has 20 years experience and it showed. The installation and trim work were great. We wanted no-molding transitions between the vinyl and carpet and they did this very well, just what we wanted. They also went an extra step and removed a transition molding from the carpet to a bathroom floor, and hadn't even thought of asking for that! Thad also suggested a change to how the carpet was laid on the stairs. They used to just sort of "waterfall" from one step to the other and he suggested having the carpet form tightly to each stair, so it folowed the contour of each step. Results are night and day difference in the appearance of the stairs, very classy. Yes it was alot of money but we think the results were worth it.

Description of Work
Remove ceramic tile in entryway and adjoining large closet. Remove Pergo flooring in kitchen/dining room. Install Mannington Adura planking in kitchen/dining and Adura tiles in entryway/closet. Replace carpet in trilevel house, which was the main floor living room, adjoining 2 staircases (to upper and lower levels of house) and adjoining hallway in upper level, (all this is one piece of carpet!). Ceramic tile had to be air chiseled (!) out of the house due to improper workmanship and materiels by Home Depot authorized installer 7 years ago. Tile and planking was trimmed using quarter-round oak moldings, we provided the stained moldings.

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/27/2013


Susan G.

Excellent!

Description of Work
We had berber carpeting installed in our dining room, which opens off the garage and an outside door. Salesperson was knowledgeable about wear resistance and installation and suggested the best carpet pad, which was not the most expensive! The installer was neat and did an excellent job and even helped to move the large china cabinet back. We would use them again...they left all the remnants and said they could be bound for area rugs.

Category carpet installation

5.0

11/06/2009


Patty N.

From start to finish, each person I dealt with was friendly, helpful, and most importantly, knowledgeable. There was no pressure to buy. The salesmen helped me make an informed decision. ( Choosing the right brand of carpet was overwhelming at first.) They knew a tremendous amount about the materials they were selling, and only appeared to sell the best quality carpets and flooring. When ready to buy, they worked with my schedule. They even allowed me to paint the floors with BINS in between taking out the old carpets and installing the new ones. The installers were friendly, worked fast, and were on time. It was obvious that they were well practiced at installing carpets. There prices were competitive. I paid exactly what they quoted me for. There were no hidden costs. The carpets look great in my home. I was very pleased with the job they did.

Description of Work
They installed premium quality carpets and padding in 3 bedrooms, ( master bed 17 x 14), hallway, stairs, and family room, and all closets.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

    Other local Pros in your area

    PoundPros

    Listed here are some of the things our PoundPros specialize in. -Roofing -Windows -Siding -Doors -Kitchens -Custom woodworking -Baths -Decks and more Our PoundPros have years of experience and the skill it takes to complete a project with quality and efficiency. Call for an estimate today!  

    Flooring Trends

    We offer a variety of flooring options to fit every style and budget. We are a family owned and operated business with 25 years of flooring installation and sales experience.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Sales & install - area rugs, carpeting, ceramic/porcelain, cushion/padding, fibers/treatments, laminate floors, tools, vinyl/resilient & wood flooring.

    Services Not Offered

    Carpet Cleaning

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about House Of Carpets

    How is House Of Carpets overall rated?

    House Of Carpets is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are House Of Carpets open?

    House Of Carpets is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does House Of Carpets provide

    House Of Carpets accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check

    Does House Of Carpets offer free estimates?

    Yes, House Of Carpets offers free project estimates.

    Does House Of Carpets offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, House Of Carpets does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does House Of Carpets offer a senior discount?

    No, House Of Carpets does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by House Of Carpets?

    Yes, House Of Carpets offers warranties.

    What services does House Of Carpets offer?

    House Of Carpets offers the following services: Sales & install - area rugs, carpeting, ceramic/porcelain, cushion/padding, fibers/treatments, laminate floors, tools, vinyl/resilient & wood flooring.

    Are there any services House Of Carpets does not offer?

    Carpet Cleaning