Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Frontier Landscaping

Founded 1988 • With Angi since April 2008

4.8

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11402 NE St Johns Rd

Vancouver, WA 98686

Description

Frontier Landscaping, Inc. is a full service landscape company, providing excellent quality landscaping services since 1988 to Southwest Washington and Northern Oregon. We’re specialists in the design and care of gorgeous landscapes for your home or commercial property. Our staff of over 30

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Sally W.
5.0
06/22/2017
They were very thorough and careful not to harm other plants and shrubs. Very pleased with their work. Would not hesitate to hire again.
Description of Work
We had trees cut down and had stumps ground at a later date.
Category
tree service
beth C.
5.0
05/23/2016
Shawn did an outstanding job. He came out and looked at job in a month in advance He said he would do it 05/15/16. I got an email stating it would be on a Tuesday. between 8-9. They started digging, then spoke to my contractor on phone so they could be on one accord. He suggested leaving the holes open, so my contractor could see the pipes when he came. He looked at the most economical choice for me and not just about money in his pocket. He did a quality job, and saved me money. He communicated well, and was very professional. I was very impressed with Shawn
Description of Work
They did a lot of digging, to be able to move my controller box of the sprinkler to a more conveinent place in the yard
Category
landscaping, alterations
Linda Z.
5.0
11/02/2015
.
Description of Work
Very professional contact person and very skilled workers. Very satisfied.
Category
landscaping
Mike F.
5.0
03/08/2015
Service performed day after requested. Very competitive price. Left everything neat
Description of Work
Removed 5 birch trees and cut down to 16" rounds
Category
landscaping, tree service
Michelle R.
5.0
11/04/2014
Frontier Landscaping was excellent. The landscaping and irrigation system combined was $17,000. They were very responsive and respectful. The foreman, Sean, was outstanding. He always kept us informed of what they were doing. They were very polite and cleaned up after themselves. I would absolutely use them again if needed.
Description of Work
We have a 6-acre plot. They did extensive landscaping and they repaired all of the irrigation that was damaged when we built our swimming pool.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Fred S.
5.0
07/15/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Frontier Landscaping trimmed / pruned a birch tree that had become overgrown and was encroaching into patio space. They came out and looked at the tree and made a recommendation of which limbs to remove without harming the health of the tree while enhancing the living space beneath the tree. They arrived on time, did what they needed to protect personal property from heavy branches, and cleaned up after themselves. All in all a great job.
Category
landscaping, tree service
Michael B.
5.0
04/18/2014
It took a few days for Frontier to come look at my tree and give me an estimate for removal. (It's a busy season for tree guys.) They were the third bid and the lowest. The next higher bid was twice as much and the highest was almost four times as much. Quite a surprise! They made an appointment to come back in a week to remove the tree. I did not need to be here to supervise. When I came home from work the tree was gone with hardly any sign that any work had been done in that area of my yard. I can't imagine how the job could have turned out any better. The tree was right next to a fence, a water feature and a large rhododendron that could easily have been damaged. Nice work guys! I will definitely use Frontier again! Note: I think perhaps Frontier should also be listed under tree services, not just landscapers.
Description of Work
Removed a 30 foot pine from tight quarters in my yard.
Category
landscaping
Brenda E.
5.0
04/04/2014
They are extremely professional company. I really like them. They're very friendly and professional. When they say they gonna be here for an appointment there here. I really enjoy working with them.
Description of Work
I used the services of Frontier Landscaping at least once or twice a year for major landscaping issue. I had a very tall rose of sharon that during that the storm had crashed and fallen over. They came in and trimmed it up and put it back in the ground and now its actually showing signs of life and its coming back. They also did trimmed up my very large garment gloria.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Terri M.
5.0
03/10/2014
They responded to our initial contact within 24 hours and came out to see the yard within 24 hours of that. Additionally, Shaun provided a comprehensive plan/bid by the end of the same day! Everything was great! They added a dry creek bed, paths to a seating area, new lawn, bushes, trees, landscaping boulders, bark dust and fixed the sprinkler sytem. Previous lawn was a mess, uneven and bumpy - new lawn is perfect! We love our new yard and will definitely use them for any future work.
Description of Work
Redesigned and replaced entire landscape in front and back yards
Category
landscaping
Mary Jo B.
5.0
02/07/2014
Tim and crew did a great job. We will call them again. |Mary Jo and George
Description of Work
Trimmed three trees including a lacy maple, Japanese maple and a blue spruce.
Category
tree service
Roberta U.
2.0
01/26/2014
We have been very disappointed with this company. They dont show up as scheduled. The crew does not recognize how to trim species of plants. It is very difficult to communicate with the crew. Supervisors change frequently so it is hard to know who is in charge. Now they want to raise their rates. Overall their work has been mediocre.
Description of Work
yard maintenance and pruning. Some irrigation work.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
JEANNIE B.
5.0
01/14/2014
I had used this company years ago when theye were called Sunshine Tree Service and now they work with Frontier. I had a really difficult tree that needed to be removed back then, and they did a terrific job for a lot less than the other two bids. This time I didn't even get any other bids. He came out the same day I called and looked at the tree and scheduled an appointment to come and do the work. The tree was in an awkward place to get to and was growing over a iron fence It also had a huge climbing rose entwined to the top, which I hoped to save. They came out when they said they would and were quick, efficient and friendly. Not only did they carefully save the rose and wind it onto the fence, they also cut up the wood into stove lengths. We couldn't belileve how quicky they worked. All the small limbs were chipped and the yard was cleaned up.
Description of Work
They cut down an old cherry tree.
Category
landscaping
Mark G.
5.0
10/02/2013
They did an excellent job of running the pipes, especially under the rock walls we had in place. They replaced the sod they had to dig up and by the time they were done, you wouldn't have known they had been there. Two days later the valve they installed burst and they were right there to repair it, no questions asked.
Description of Work
Installed additional sprinkler system in back yard
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Evelyn C.
5.0
05/11/2013
We already had used Frontier for their Tree Service work and were very pleased with the outcome. We contacted them to do some landscaping work which was done by a different part of their company. The initial visit was done in early April. We walked around the house showing them what work we wanted done. They were able to provide a very reasonable estimate during that visit and so we hired them right away. The work was scheduled to be done in May. But but due to another job cancellation, they contacted us a week earlier than our date to see if they could work on our home. We were more than happy to oblige! The crew showed up on time that morning. The crew leader walked through the property with me confirming what we wanted done, then they got to work right away. They finished all of the work in one day without incident. Very well done. We will definitely be using them again!
Description of Work
Provided clean up of some of the existing border surrounding lawn in back yard as well as a couple of small beds in front yard and disposed of debris. Also provided and installed 5 yards of bark and topped with pre-emergent weed control.
Category
landscaping
Evelyn C.
5.0
05/11/2013
Did a preliminary visit, came out and provided a quote on the spot. Could do the work right away (couple of days later). They came out and did the work quickly, completely, and cleaned up after. No issues. Excellent job and a good price.
Description of Work
Hired to do tree removal and stump grinding - main work was a large pine tree in the front yard and several small trees in the back yard.
Category
tree service
Lucy K.
5.0
11/25/2012
very well. They arrived on time and worked efficiently. Overall did a great job for a fair price.
Description of Work
Cut up and stacked wood from several small trees down from last winters snow. Cut VERY overgrow lawn that had been neglected because of my illness. Chipped all limbs from down falls and from clearing I had done the year before. Also cut up for firewood several stacks of scrap lumber.
Category
lawn service
CLARE M.
5.0
05/14/2012
They are a locally owned company. They are good in all aspects.
Description of Work
They installed drainage and sprinkler system. They also installed a patio and they also did our landscaping.
Category
landscaping, pavers, gravel, tree service, hardscaping
William B.
5.0
11/20/2011
The only (minor) gripe I had was that it was difficult to get them to come out to give me a quote. Once that was accomplished, the work was performed as scheduled at the estimated price (well, I did add a couple of items at the last minute). Work was done quickly and they cleaned up 100%. I had other bids for the work, but they were the lowest price. I would definitely use these guys again.
Description of Work
1. Removed dead/dying trees & shrubs 2. Replanted foundation plantings 3. Pruned several trees/shrubs 4. Winterized sprinkler syatem.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
Sharon S.
3.0
10/20/2011
The initial visit was from Steve Pash. Steve listened to our interests for the finished project and prepared a plan very much in line with our requests. We made some minor tweaks in the shape of the patio and some plant selections and locations, but mostly the plan remained unchanged. Once work started issues began to arise that would cause us to consider another provider in the future. These included: - Over one of the hottest weekends of the year a majority of the plants and trees were left unplanted in our yard with insufficient water. This led to the burning and even failure of some plants and trees. Frontier Landscaping didn't initiate the obviously needed corrective action. - The sprinkler system was set to provide every-other-day coverage of the bedded plants. This was insufficient and probably contributed to further plant failures. - After the tall trees were planted an apologetic email was received from Steve Pash stating that regular daily watering was needed immediately and through the rest of the summer or we'd start losing trees. It would have been helpful had the expectation for solving this problem been established from the beginning of the project, not immediately before a hot weekend. - The contractors had an apparent need for rocks to hold down a dust-cover over the patio and removed several large rocks from the gutter drain south of the home. Despite my written request to re-establish the drain, the rocks were left piled in a hole and the work to rebuild the drain was left to me. - The lawn has come in unevenly. Specifically, although the plan called for "2 inches of 3 way soil to be tilled into lawn and flowerbeds" and also "tilling, ... and fertilizer", there are visible lines of dark green lawn growing over the ditches dug for the irrigation while adjacent areas are coming in more slowly and are yellow in color. This reflects that the soil prep outside the ditches wasn't sufficient to promote healthy lawn growth. - Sprinkler performance was poor from the outset. Specifically, numerous sprinklers were clogged and a couple of the sprinklers were broken. This reflects that the system wasn't test-operated sufficiently to ensure proper operation. - Rather than bring their own hoses, the landscapers used ours and consistently didn't return them to their original neatly stowed location; that task was left to me. And, when one of the hose reels was broken, that fact wasn't communicated to me proactively. Instead I had to inquire and the job foreman had to investigate to determine if the damage had been done by his guys. - Frontier Landscaping maintains a very stand-offish approach to communications. Specifically, there phones are not answered during the lunch hour or outside of regular hours. And, customers are actively discouraged from obtaining cell phone numbers. Both of these practices seem to be considerably less accommodating than the vast majority of contractors with whom we have dealt and make timely direct communication difficult for working customers with demanding schedules. At the end of project, we like the overall look of the landscaping apart from the plants and trees stressed or altogether killed by the inadequate protection from the heat. Frontier Landscapers have returned to correct some of the problems and have committed to return in the spring to replace at least one dead tree.
Description of Work
Plan the landscaping for our yard. Prep and install approximately 8,000 sq ft of lawn, and trees, shrubs and other decorative plants. Provide irrigation for all but one section of trees. Construct a fire-pit in a patio. Construct a dry-creek bed. Fill around trees and shrubs with bark-dust.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
susan T.
5.0
09/24/2011
excellent service and Casey McBride is the reason for that. He is available to contact throught email and phone and gets his crew to take care of it. I like the ability to email and tell him what I need done and know that he will get the job done. I have had many yard maintenance workers and they are top notch.
Description of Work
weekly yard service and sprinkler and water feature maintenance
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems, lawn treatment
Georgia P.
5.0
07/06/2011
Things are going great/ They do excellent work, They are reliable and consistent.
Description of Work
They are currently doing yard maintenance.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
kevin S.
4.0
09/17/2010
they know what they are doing and are professional. they didn't get to the job as soon as i would have liked but i think the weather was at least partially to blame. i think they do good work but they are probably on the higher end in terms of price.
Description of Work
trimmed up shrubs, filled hole and re-seeded
Category
landscaping
Vernon H.
5.0
12/01/2009
They are very responsive and they do what they say they are going to do. Their prices are a little high.
Description of Work
Frontier Landscaping Inc takes care of my sprinkler system.
Category
landscaping
Katie W.
5.0
02/04/2009
They were just great. They were always here when they said they were going to be. They would go over all the things they were going to do for the year, and then they would break it up by month payment, and they signed a contract. I thought that all of that was very professional and organized, the way they handled it. They were always responsive to anything that I had to call about.
Description of Work
They cleaned up my yard and were doing maintenance on it.
Category
landscaping
PAMELA F.
5.0
04/17/2008
I had a landscaping budget of $30K and interviewed three landscaping firms. Frontier was the second firm I interviewed. He also provided helpful tips on ways on economize, however, still could not get closer to our budget. He also did extra research at our request. Even though we did not end up choosing his firm, I would definitely consider working with him in the future.
Description of Work
Ben from Frontier Landscaping provided a detailed estimate for my landscaping project in a prompt and professional manner.
Category
landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Red Bark Inc

    Red Bark Inc. can help with any of your bark dust blowing needs. We have 25 years of experience, dependable, licensed drivers, and top of the line bark blowers to ensure a job well done, every single time.  

    Angi Certified

    Landscaping Citizen USA

    We specialize in all phases of landscaping, hardscaping, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Sta-Built Construction LLC

    At Sta-Built Construction we do all we can to make your project easy. It starts with a FREE ESTIMATE.Our estimates are very comprehensive and we ensure that you will be happy with the many design ideas we offer and upgrade options. We offer special financing deals to all of our customers. Right Now you can get a 12 MONTHS SAME AS CASH LOAN to finance your project. We stand behind our projects with a strong 5 Year Warranty. Give us a call to get your project started!!!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscaping. Landscape maintenance. Mowing. Mulching & soil. Turf insect control. Shrub & small tree trimming. Spring & Fall yard cleanups. Water feature maintenance. Snow removal. Tree services.

    Services Not Offered

    landscape design,arborist,hardscape,tree care,landscape maintenance

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Frontier Landscaping

    How is Frontier Landscaping overall rated?

    Frontier Landscaping is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Frontier Landscaping open?

    Frontier Landscaping is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Frontier Landscaping provide

    Frontier Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check

    Does Frontier Landscaping offer free estimates?

    No, Frontier Landscaping does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Frontier Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Frontier Landscaping does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Frontier Landscaping offer a senior discount?

    No, Frontier Landscaping does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Frontier Landscaping?

    Yes, Frontier Landscaping offers warranties.

    What services does Frontier Landscaping offer?

    Frontier Landscaping offers the following services: Landscaping. Landscape maintenance. Mowing. Mulching & soil. Turf insect control. Shrub & small tree trimming. Spring & Fall yard cleanups. Water feature maintenance. Snow removal. Tree services.

    Are there any services Frontier Landscaping does not offer?

    landscape design,arborist,hardscape,tree care,landscape maintenance