Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Zippy Shell Storage and Moving

4.9

(100) Verified Reviews

Founded 2009 • With Angi since January 2011

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2021

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Delivery Service
No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

22860 Ladbrook Dr Suite 140

Sterling, VA 20166

http://zippyshell.com/?utm_campaign=AngiesList

Description

Zippy Shell is a full service moving and storage company. Our teams of licensed, insured personnel will pack your things into boxes (if needed), disassemble, pad, and wrap furniture, transport everything to your new home, and then unload, unwrap, and reassemble furniture at your new home. Need storage? Zippy Shell has it's own POD system for storing your things during your move. We have a brand new, 34,000 foot, climate-controlled facility to store your things before you move into your new home. If you prefer to have your POD remain at your house, we can delivery one of our all-steel, weatherproof containers. The containers are designed to remain at your house while you use them or they can be transported to your new house....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(100) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

95

4

3

3

0

2

1

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

storage unit (92)movers (56)
Showing 1-10 of 100 reviews
5.0

05/03/2022


jaye T.

Everyone from Zippy Shell was friendly, helpful, professional, courteous and responsive. It was easy to schedule, they showed up promptly, they carefully placed the storage pod on our property, they carefully moved our furniture out to pod and back in again a month later, and they carefully removed the pod. Outstanding service. The pod was extremely clean, as were the furniture pads that they used. Outstanding company.

Description of Work
rented storage pod and had furniture moved to storage pod on our property during home renovation.

Category moving companies,storage units

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2022

5.0

02/28/2021


James R.

The team at Zippy Shell arrived timely to collect my items, safely held them for several months in a climate controlled facility, and delivered them when and where I needed them. Arnetia was a pleasure to work with from beginning to end. Thanks for everything!

Description of Work
Moving and Storage

Category moving companies,delivery service,storage units

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2021

5.0

02/27/2021


Scott A.

We used Zippy to store our basement furniture while it was getting finished. It was super convenient. They dropped off the container right in the driveway and we had a few days to fill it up ourselves. 2 months later, I called them up and within just a few days, the container was back. I would definitely recommend them. They are also significantly cheaper than Pods.

Description of Work
Storage facility

Category moving companies,storage units

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/23/2021

5.0

02/26/2021


Janette D.

The pods came on time and they helped us figure out the best location for them. Very easy to work with and fun to watch the driver use his remote control device to "drive" the pod off his truck. Thank you! Jan DeBoissiere Christ Episcopal Church Buildings and Grounds Co-Chair

Description of Work
Two Pods needed for storage after a Sprinkler system failed and flooded our church.

Category moving companies,delivery service,storage units

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/25/2021

5.0

02/05/2021


Heather B.

We were doing some home renovations and needed to remove furnishings from the rooms so that carpenters had space to work. A Zippy Shell was the perfect answer. There was PLENTY of space inside to store ALL the furnishings. The Shell kept them safe and dry on our driveway through wet wintry weather. The door tightly sealed the cube. The shell was delivered to us sparkling clean in the MOST innovative (and entertaining) way - literally driving itself (by remote control) up a long driveway. Without needing a large truck to pull it, the shell could be much more easily maneuvered into just the most convenient spot. Arnetia Curtis provided punctual, professional and really pleasant oversight throughout the whole adventure.

Description of Work
Store furnishings on-site during renovations

Category moving companies,storage units

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/05/2021

5.0

01/13/2021


Heather M.

I hired Zippy Shell Northern Virginia to move my belongings from downtown DC to my new home, and store them for a few months in between. I could not be happier with my experience. Zippy Shell was easy to work with and responsive -- always available by phone and with prompt email replies, and the moving team contacted me en route to my location as I was told they would. Also, I would recommend them for anyone moving out of downtown -- their containers can fit in a traditional parking lane. Also, having their own moving team makes it easier than working with a storage company where you have to coordinate with your own movers. I would certainly use their services again.

Description of Work
Moving & Storage

Category moving companies,delivery service,storage units

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/10/2020

5.0

11/20/2020


Michelle V.

I'll be honest the past couple of days have been super stressful managing our home life with two kids, work, and moving. We are so THANKFUL for the zippy shell team for saving our move from being a disaster. Arnetia who helped with our reservation was so helpful and friendly. She was able to accommodate a change to our container delivery last minute. Sebastian was an expert at maneuvering the container. Angel and Phillip who came to help us wrap furniture and load the container were so friendly and hard working. They took great care of us, wrapping items with care and filling the pod to the MAX. No space was sparred in the container. It's been a wonderful experience working with you all. THANK YOU!

Description of Work
Local move/ container delivery/ container rental/ loading unloading labor and packing materials.

Category moving companies

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/17/2020

5.0

02/03/2020


Nha N.

We received delivery of the storage container timely for both loading and unloading and the price was reasonable compared to other storage options. Our point of contact, Arnetia was very responsive during coordination of the initial delivery and the final return of the container.

Description of Work
Mobile storage unit during 6-month home remodel.

Category storage units

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/13/2020

5.0

01/24/2020


Renee Q.

We recently had our basement finished. We had a ton of stuff stored in the unfinished basement and needed to clear it out for the 2 month job. I did not want to have to take it all to a storage facility and opted to have a Storage bin delivered to my home. After speaking with several different companies and looking through reviews, I decided to give Zippy Shell a try. they were easy to work with and came when they said they would deliver the box. After 1 week, I realized I was going to need a second shell. I called Zippy Shell, Arnetia took care of me and within days, I had a second shell. The guys who delivered them and picked them up were professional, and friendly and took care and were patient while delivering and picking up the shells. I absolutely would recommend Zippy Shell (and have already) to others.

Description of Work
Prompt, Courteous Service at an Affordable Price

Category storage units

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/06/2020

Images

Review for Zippy Shell Storage and Moving - 22860 Ladbrook Dr, Sterling, VA - 38348638
5.0

11/04/2019


Shermichael S.

The guys they sent were phenomenal and did a great moving my valuable things, including my pricey artwork. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Furniture moving

Category moving companies

Cost $1,010

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2019

Services Offered

Storage, local and long distance moving, unloading labor

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Zippy Shell Storage and Moving

How is Zippy Shell Storage and Moving overall rated?

Zippy Shell Storage and Moving is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

What days are Zippy Shell Storage and Moving open?

Zippy Shell Storage and Moving is open:

Sunday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM

What payment options does Zippy Shell Storage and Moving provide

Zippy Shell Storage and Moving accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Does Zippy Shell Storage and Moving offer free estimates?

Yes, Zippy Shell Storage and Moving offers free project estimates.

Does Zippy Shell Storage and Moving offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, Zippy Shell Storage and Moving offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Zippy Shell Storage and Moving offer emergency services?

Yes, Zippy Shell Storage and Moving offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by Zippy Shell Storage and Moving?

Yes, Zippy Shell Storage and Moving offers warranties.

What services does Zippy Shell Storage and Moving offer?

Zippy Shell Storage and Moving offers the following services: Storage, local and long distance moving, unloading labor