Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

FAMILY FLOORING LLC

Founded 2004 • With Angi since June 2010

4.3

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3916 PORTSMOUTH BLVD B4

Chesapeake, VA 23321

Description

Family Flooring is a full service flooring provider. Ask about our shop at home service....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/29/2021


Mike D.

Kevin SOLD us on our carpet. He told us everything would be "perfect". "Our installers are the best around." He said 4 men would come out to do the job and it would be finished in 3 days. It'll be a "turn key" job he said. You won't have to worry about anything. Installers Brett and Cliff showed up to the job on day 1. It was SO incredibly poorly done with a HUGE mess left in our house that we called Kevin and complained immediately. Kevin reassured us it would be perfect. He asked that we let them finish the job and they will "fix any mistakes." Installers came back day 2. This time with a third guy. They ripped up bad installation from day 1 and started over only to install the carpet incorrectly a second time. AND they continued to install the remaining carpet improperly. The carpet was bubbled, too loose, too tight, had lumps, bumps, holes, and gaps. It was bad. Really, Really bad. They threw our old carpet out of my daughter's bedroom window. They did NOT put the screen back. They didn't lock the window. They also didn't properly close the window. So not only could the window have fallen out but my daughter could have fallen out the window. We called day 3 and told them not to come back. We asked for a full refund at which point Tony told us they would give us a refund but come and remove all the carpet they laid and leave us with plywood floors. Tony also thought the first two days of bad work looked "fine". Tony is the owner of the company along with Jeff. I hired another company to come look at the work without pointing out specifics and they found every mistake I found AND MORE. So they sent out another crew to fix everything from the first 2 days. At this point we are starting on week 2 of this job. Meanwhile I have not been able to work for 4-5 days. My home office was taken apart for this installation. Freeman and Aaron came and their work was WAY better. Aside from a few things here and there. Still not great. But SO much better. However, the stairs were not properly installed and there is a nest staples visible, loose and sticking out. Another hazard to my children. Freeman and Aaron worked for 2 more days but then were delayed because they had to order more carpet. Our living room and upstairs needed to be completely redone. They laid the living room carpet in the wrong direction with crooked seams. The upstairs hallway was pieced together with 6 small pieces of carpet. Week 3 and Freeman comes back. Freeman was very nice as well as Robbie. We chatted them up. Fed them. Gave them ice water. Made them feel at home. We moved furniture, we cleaned, they used my tools, they used our vacuums, they used my air compressor. All of which you would assume would be on every installers truck. They didn't even have a broom to clean messes. They even used my tape measures and accidentally took them home (since returned). So the final day has arrived. I had to leave for work before the installation was finished and Freeman told me it's a COD job and they needed payment before leaving. I didn't feel comfortable with it given their track record. I told my wife the couple issues I saw and had them fix that before they left and we would be good. I was trying to show trust in their company. I came home from work to find oil stains in my driveway, my front porch and driveway covered in carpet fibers, our welcome matt not put back, the outlet cover broken, a giant chunk of our wall was busted, portion of the stairs not finished, dresser not put away, shelving not put back, nails on the front porch, trash, cigarettes, carpet fibers, scrap carpet all over my yard and garage. Tony tried to help but ultimately fell short. I called to tell him the stairs are still not right and the seams look like garbage and Tony called me a “know it all” and told me I am “over the top picky” and that he would take me to court if I don’t pay him. An inspector from the manufacturer is going to come look at the job now. I wish we hired someone else.

Description of Work
Full home carpet

Category carpet installation

5.0

02/10/2016


Richard G.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

04/23/2013


Kimberly T.

I have no complaints whatsoever and I am a pretty picky person. I will be using them again to install carpets very soon. I was sold when I was in the showroom looking at samples and a customer walked in to have a carpet job done. The couple had used the company before and they were really happy with the job.

Description of Work
Installation of hardwood in 3 rooms.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

03/19/2013


Theresa G.

I tried to cut and past from up above but it wouldn't let me. See info above.

Description of Work
I had 400' of quality hardwood flooring installed. Family Flooring provided skilled installers that were great and their job and very courteous and quick! My husband was considering purchasing hardwood flooring and tackling this project himself. I knew it would never happen or it would be a big mess and a disaster. In my previous homes I have had bad experiences with other flooring companies in that skilled labor did not seem important to them. Some hire people that they are not familiar with that may or may not be skilled in their trade..just laborers not professionals! I once had a company redo my vinyl kitchen floor 4 times before they could get it right without obvious splices, etc., so I was nervous about allowing someone to come into my home and install a lot of wood flooring. I saw an add for Family Flooring LLC and found that they really were family owned so we stopped by to visit Tony (Portsmouth Blvd)one day to discuss our floor. My biggest concern was the quality of installation. He assured us that he had been using the same "floor guy" for many years and that he was very good and trustworthy. Everything he said was correct. Ray (the floor guy) delivered the wood flooring to my house a few days before so it could acclimate to the house and he looked over the area to be floored and planned his attack. lol. He and his assistant were there the following Monday and almost finished 400 square feet of flooring that day. Ray came back the next day and finished all the flooring, trim work, etc. Except for the noise that comes with installing a hardwood floor, I hardly knew they were here. They were very professional, courteous and clean! They left the great room & dining area as clean as they found it and the dust wasn't as bad as I thought. I was so surprised and the quality and speed at which they worked. They barely took a lunch break. I would definitely recommend Family Flooring LLC in Chesapeake, VA to anyone that wants a quality job done for a price as good as you can find anywhere! I will also call Family Flooring when I need new carpet as well. Their selection of all types of flooring surpased anything that I have seen in the big box stores!! Call them !

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

01/08/2013


Bayonne G.

It went perfectly from start to finish. He brought sample boards over so I could compare colors as well as quality, he even left one with me to show my husband later that night. He gave me great advice as to what brand and type to install for older pets, as well as padding. The prices were much better than I had anticipated as well, which was a pleasant surprise. Since the one I ended up wanting was out of stock, I did have to wait a couple weeks, which was no problem at all. They came promptly after, and the installers were great. They finished more quickly than I had anticipated, and did a wonderful job. It is coming up on a year, and they still look new. I will definitely use them again if and when the need arises!

Description of Work
Removed and replaced carpet in four bedrooms and closets.

Category carpet installation,flooring contractor

3.0

10/18/2012


Bret M.

Went to the showroom since it was close by and we had had a bad experience with one of the big box stores in another flooring project. The owner was very nice and gave us some good advice on the carpet to use since the house was to be a rental. He came after hours to take measurements and provide us a quote. The price seemed reasonable so we agreed and an installation time was set. We had to follow up to ensure the carpet would arrive on time so we could get it installed prior to the tenants arriving. We weren't kept informed. At the agreed-to time one person arrived to take out the old carpet. Once the carpet started coming up we saw that the original pad was in great shape and of higher weight than what we were going to put in. We decided to keep the old pad and asked that the price be adjusted accordingly. The cost of the new pad was removed, but no break in the labor cost. One person installed the carpet and did an OK job. It was finished on time. Once the tenants moved in they noticed that one piece of carpeting was missing on one of the stairs. We tried to arrange with the company and the tenants to have it fixed. We finally tried to get the company to deal with the tenants directly to set up a time. It took us calling the company several times before it was fixed - about three months later. It was the lack of communication that was a cause for concern.

Description of Work
We had the entire two story rental house recapeted prior to new tenenants moving in. The house is approx 2800 sq ft with two stairwells. The original quote was to take out all of the old carpet and pad, and reinstall new pad and carpeting.

Category carpet installation

5.0

06/07/2012


Louis E Z.

I think they were excellent all the way around - from purchasing, to finding the right flooring and the installation process. I have recommended them to others already.

Description of Work
They sold me hardwood floors and installed it too. They installed them on the first floor. The floor came out very well.

Category flooring contractor,hardwood floor

5.0

12/21/2011


Ronald M.

They were an outstanding business to work with and the quality of the work was great. The cost was incomparable, they were very professional and friendly, and they came back to correct any problems that we had.

Description of Work
Family Flooring installed a hardwood floor for me.

Category hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Yates Flooring LLC

    I specialize in installing sheet vinyl, LVP (luxury vinyl plank) glue down or click, Laminate, VCT and carpet tiles. I am the owner and operator. I've been in the flooring business over 15 years. I have an experienced crew also, and that helps with a quality installation.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Jack's Tile & Carpet

    Here at Jack’s Tile & Carpet we sustain our business on quality and integrity. With over 34 years of experience we are experts in the sales and installation of our products including carpet, ceramic tile, natural stone, vinyl planks/tiles, and hardwood installation. Our in-house sales team would be pleased to meet you in our showroom or bring samples directly to your home or business to show you what we can offer that will be professionally installed by one of our nine crews. Please note: We do not offer repairs on products that we did not install nor do we install material that was not purchased through our showroom. We offer competitive pricing on both material and labor to complete your job. Financing and special payment plans are available upon request. Contact us today. We look forward to earning your business!  

    Offers by Jack's Tile & Carpet on Angi
    Patriot Flooring

    James E Barker, Owner and Operator of Patriot Flooring Plus LLC has been in the flooring industry for over 30 years. Specializing in custom showers and floors, glass block, decorative stone, engineered hardwood floors, laminate, W.P.C and Vinyl’s. We don’t refinish floors. Patriot Flooring is a State Licensed Class C Contractor and fully insured company. James’s experience includes two California State Contractors License’s in addition to our Virginia License accompanied by a Bachelors Of Science in Construction Management. James is currently furthering his accreditation to include a home improvement licensing to further our services to our customers. Patriot Flooring strives 100% customer satisfaction in customer service as well as quality workmanship. We let our work speak for itself. Almost all of work performed by James himself so you have the actual licensed and accredited person completing your project! We offer a higher level of customer service and workmanship for your home improvement needs. Your project is not just a project but, a positive experience as well. Give us a call!! VA License#2705172417, CA License#951729 C-15/C-54  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Carpet, Hardwood, Vinyl, Ceramic, Laminate

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about FAMILY FLOORING LLC

    How is FAMILY FLOORING LLC overall rated?

    FAMILY FLOORING LLC is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are FAMILY FLOORING LLC open?

    FAMILY FLOORING LLC is open:

    Sunday: Closed
    Monday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Friday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does FAMILY FLOORING LLC provide

    FAMILY FLOORING LLC accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check

    Does FAMILY FLOORING LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, FAMILY FLOORING LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does FAMILY FLOORING LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, FAMILY FLOORING LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does FAMILY FLOORING LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, FAMILY FLOORING LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by FAMILY FLOORING LLC?

    Yes, FAMILY FLOORING LLC offers warranties.

    What services does FAMILY FLOORING LLC offer?

    FAMILY FLOORING LLC offers the following services: Carpet, Hardwood, Vinyl, Ceramic, Laminate