Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Marks-Woods Construction Services, LLC

4.9

(161) Verified Reviews

Founded 2002 • With Angi since November 2009

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
2705076456
Trade License Locale
VA
Trade License Authority
Virginia: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
05/31/2023
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

205 S Union St

Alexandria, VA 22314

http://www.markswoods.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Meetings are now conducted either virtually or in-person based on preference. Project execution is continuing as normal with on-site staff following CDC guidelines as to personal protective gear.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.
McLean House Remodel

McLean House Remodel

interior decorators201922101
The client was a family of five, and they wanted to make their home more open and friendly to family life. The first item on the list was to enlarge the existing tight galley kitchen; this required taking down a wall. From there, the client brought in an architect, Kim Beasley, who we’ve worked with in the past to draw up an architectural design for the rest of the home. The family opted to add a master suite complete with walk-in closets, his and her vanities, and fireplaces. The basement was transformed into a craft room for kids. The addition allowed each kid to have his own bedroom. The whole-house renovation included a kitchen reconfiguration, stair reconfiguration, basement reconfiguration, a garage addition with master suite above including laundry room, and multiple bathrooms. The project also included lots of extras like walk-in closets and custom bathroom designs. All in all, we touched every room in the house.

Description

NOW OFFERING VIRTUAL INITIAL CONSULTATIONS! All you need is a phone with video chat (such as FaceTime) or a laptop or tablet with internet access and we will “meet you in your home." To schedule your virtual consultation, go to WWW.MARKSWOODS.COM/CONTACT and fill out the form. Marks-Woods Construction Services is a full service general contractor serving Virginia and Washington, DC located in Historic Old Town Alexandria, VA. We have a complete array of services and project types to serve our diverse clientele, including residential and commercial construction. Teamwork is emphasized in our project management style. MW strives for positive collaboration with our clients to achieve all project goals. Customer service and successful communication contribute to our high percentage of repeat clients. Our service is what separates us from our competition. Our company's growth has been consistent, yet conservative by design. MW carefully selects projects that match our resources and skill set to ensure jobs are completed successfully, within budget, and on schedule. MW provides premium quality at a competitive cost with proven reliable performance, while maintaining a safe work environment. MW self performs the majority of its work, rather than using subcontractors. This allows MW to pass along significant cost savings to our clients, along with also providing a higher quality project, in a more aggressive time frame. Ready to discuss your project with the Marks-Woods team? We'd love to chat. For immediate assistance, please visit www.markswoods.com/contact and fill out the Contact Us form today!...
McLean House Remodel project
McLean House Remodel

interior decorators

201922101

Verified Reviews

4.9

(161) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

151

4

6

3

1

2

2

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (97)basement remodeling (26)architect (17)patio enclosures (6)interior decorators (5)tile installation (49)drywall (46)electrician (45)interior painting (43)plumbers (36)woodworking (35)flooring (33)
Showing 1-25 of 161 reviews
5.0

03/06/2021


Alan S.

Excellent. We selected Marks-Woods Construction because they worked with us to create a proposal and contract that met our most important goals and stayed within our budget. We enjoyed working with the designers to come up with the details on what we wanted. The construction was done by the MW team of professionals. They know what they are doing, and it shows in the high quality results.

Description of Work
Complete Kitchen and Bath renovation. Entryway flooring, closet move, lighting, paint and finish interior, other repairs.

Category ceramic tile,closet systems,countertops,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,picture framing,interior designers,lighting,masonry,plastering,plumbing,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters

Cost $125,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/10/2020

5.0

10/29/2020


Matthew R.

Marks-Woods easily ranks number one among the contractors we have worked with over the years. Our project was executed within budget and beyond our expectations with a focus on process, quality and customer satisfaction, from start to finish, from the most prominent feature to the smallest detail. They are committed to a job well done and every last member of their team was a delight to work with. It's such a pleasure to work with good people who do good work, who who remain flexible when the unexpected happens, who correct problems without balking when they inevitably occur, and who maintain a sense of humor throughout. Marks-Woods has earned our very highest recommendation.

Description of Work
Master bath addition, remodel of existing hall bath

Category remodeling,home builders,architect,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2020

5.0

10/28/2020


Andrew H.

We really liked the detailed price proposal and timeline. The crew went above and beyond helping us move furniture as the project progressed. The project was delivered within budget and a little earlier than promised. Our project manager, Matt was always available to answer any questions and provide project updates. We would hire MW again for any future home project.

Description of Work
Master Bath, Closet and Laundry Addition

Category ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,picture framing,heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,siding,replacement windows,architect,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters

Cost $90,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2020

5.0

10/27/2020


Robert M.

Marks-Woods (MW) was a pleasure to work with from the planning phase through the completion of the project. Their pricing was fair and MW did an excellent job staying on schedule and within the budget. In fact, our project was completed a month earlier than what was originally scheduled. Throughout the project, our project manager and other members of the MW team were receptive to our critiques and change order requests. All questions and concerns were addressed immediately and to our satisfaction. I would recommend MW to anyone that is considering a home renovation. We plan on using them in the future.

Description of Work
2 Floor Addition

Category home builders,architect

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2020

5.0

10/27/2020


Nicole B.

Marks-Woods team was fantastic! Highly communicative, creative, attentive and punctual. They had great ideas when it came to the layout of our small kitchen to maximize storage. When it came to finishes, they provided great options that fit within our budget and took our kitchen to the next level. They recommended adding a feature wall and certain moldings that were true to our historic home's aesthetic. They were fantastic when it came to transforming our unfinished carpark into a drive that was designed so beautifully, we use it as a patio as well! Would definitely work with them again!

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel, patio build out, design services, brick feature wall

Category decks,interior designers,masonry,remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2020

5.0

06/15/2020


Scott D.

Marks-Woods Construction just finished a multi-part project on our home including a full kitchen remodel, adding a full bath and storage area to our basement, a mudroom addition and a portico. The design process at the beginning helped to expand on our initial ideas and Danielle was great at offering suggestions that we never would have thought of. This step saved us time and helped us avoid regrets we would have had without having Danielle's expertise. Greg did a nice job working though the architectural details and permitting. Our project manager was Drew and he was great to work with throughout the entire process. We had an issue with our backslash and he worked with the supplier to replace it with something more in line with our expectations. Despite a variety of projects, we had a consistent crew with dependable, courteous workers who always created a great end product and kept work areas clean. We wouldn't hesitate to use them again for future renovations.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel, mudroom addition, full bath and storage area in basement, and portico

Category countertops,drywall,electrician,picture framing,hardwood floor,lighting,plumbing,roofing,siding,architect,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters,doors,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2020

5.0

03/23/2020


Kathryn W.

We just finished a large remodel with Marks-Woods, including a new master suite/garage addition, kitchen expansion/renovation, and multiple other updates. It was basically a whole house remodel. We are thrilled with our choice to work with Marks-Woods! They were wonderful to work with, and gave us a finished product that is just spectacular (on schedule, no less). Greg was great about coordinating with our architect during the initial design phase, and helping us know what set their company apart. The designers were easy to work with, open to my ideas, and brought great ideas to the table. Drew was our project manager, and we feel like he's the best in the business. He communicates clearly, listens to concerns, keeps the work moving forward, and knows his stuff. Unexpected things will always come up in construction, but how your contractor handles those things, is the real hallmark of a great company. Drew and his guys were amazing at dealing with those things. They made sure I was 1000% happy with the work. They went to bat for us when a supplier was giving us issues, and always went the extra mile to make sure our project would be top notch. Our house is incredible, and we would absolutely go to Marks-Woods again in the future for any projects. Can't recommend them highly enough!

Description of Work
Master Suite/Garage Addition, Basement renovation, Kitchen renovation, bathroom renovation

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Cost $400,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2020

5.0

11/07/2019


Christopher L.

We used Marks-Woods to do a full renovation of our first floor, which included structural changes, adding a bathroom, and re-doing a kitchen that had not been updated in 40 years. They were incredibly easy to work with, professional, and the results were worth every penny.

Description of Work
First floor renovation.

Category ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,picture framing,gutter repair,hardwood floor,interior designers,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,replacement windows,woodworking,marble & granite,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/07/2019

5.0

11/01/2019


Monica R.

Very well in all three cases. They work with you to refine the contract, provide helpful staff for selecting materials and they respected the property during the entire renovation process. The project manager was very responsive and the work was done in a timely fashion. Demo down to the studs in all three cases, renovation using selected materials, and protection of surfaces, floors, and dust containment were all done as expected. Would definitely use them again!!!

Description of Work
3 bathroom remodels

Category ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/04/2019

5.0

11/01/2019


Michael P.

This is the 2nd job Marks-Woods has done for us. The quality of the work was very high, and we had no trouble getting the punch list finished, and getting very few minor warrenty items taken care of.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel, new bathroom, finish laundry room

Category ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,replacement windows,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2019

5.0

11/01/2019


Holly S.

Greg, Drew, Byron and the staff of MW were deeply knowledgeable of every aspect of the design and build process, and provided priceless advice. They created budgets that are exact to the penny, and have an organized process for managing the design process. Their employees were friendly and skilled, and which made having them in our home less stressful. The project looks fabulous due the particular eye that they show to quality. Can’t say enough good things about this company.

Description of Work
Design Build Remodel

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Cost $90,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/17/2019

5.0

10/31/2019


Aleksandar J.

We are very pleased with the addition MW did on our 100 year old American Foursquare home. This included matching different types of brick on the exterior, designing our master bedroom suite and master bath. MW also renovated and finished a section of our basement with integrated closets, built-ins, and washer-dryer section.

Description of Work
Second floor master BR and Bath Addition; basement reno

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,closet systems,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,gutter repair,hardwood floor,interior designers,lighting,masonry,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,siding,woodworking,architect,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters,doors,basement remodeling

Cost $150,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2019

5.0

10/31/2019


Jackson C.

The work was excellent and the staff helping with the design and planning were very helpful. Everything was done on time and on budget. They are also very responsive to any issues covered under the warranty.

Description of Work
Kitchen, bedroom, living room complete redo.

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,hardwood floor,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/30/2019

5.0

10/29/2019


Karin K.

Excellent. MW worked with us and our price range to remodel our kitchen - now a beautiful updated space in our small, quaint cape cod. When we were ready to remodel our bathroom we just called Greg and again MW came through. Highly recommend their services.

Description of Work
kitchen and bath remodel

Category custom cabinets,countertops,drywall,electrician,hardwood floor,interior designers,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/01/2019

5.0

10/29/2019


Lorelei G.

Thank you so much for your hard work and dedication to making sure the job is done right.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2019

5.0

10/29/2019


Kara H.

I spoke to several general contractors and remodeling companies but was never "wowed" by their ideas nor felt like they were really listening to what Iiked and wanted. When a neighbor told me about Marks-Woods, I reached out and was immediately impressed. Greg, one of the partners and head of business development, replied back to my email and scheduled an appointment for the next day. When he arrived (5 minutes early by the way), he didnt rush into a sales pitch, but actually sat down and talked to me about my lifestyle, my house, what I like and don't like about it, my vision, etc. When it came to the walkthrough, he spent time in each space, taking measurement and photos, asking me questions, giving out ideas, sketching concepts, etc. Within a few days, his design team had put together several layout options for me and a very detail proposal. When I went back with ideas and changes, he provided updated ideas without any delay or hesitation. I really appreciate how much Greg and the Marks-Woods team cared about my project and treated it as if it was they were remodeling their own home. I can't say I've ever experienced that level of service and care before with any other home remodeling firm.

Description of Work
Basement remodeling/finishing; converting 1/2 bath to full, gutting main bathroom and expanding

Category remodeling,home remodeling,basement remodeling

Cost $80,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/21/2019

5.0

10/28/2019


Larry D.

Interviewed several local to Old Town remodeling companies. They were by far the best value for my project. The in-house interior design team helped me pick out all materials. Matt Galassi was the project manager and facilitated the designs to perfection. I've recommended them to numerous other condo owners in the building.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Cost $48,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2019

5.0

12/03/2018


Steven L.

We hired MW for a renovation of our 1950's Colonial that included a new kitchen, family room, master bedroom suite, and porch – as well as a remodeled bathroom. After interviewing 3 contractors, we chose MW based on the competitiveness of their price as well as their willingness to think out of the box when it came to our project. Many of the contractors that do this work have a blueprint that they like to follow verbatim – and we wanted our renovation to be unique in a number of ways. The project was done on time and according to the milestones in the budget. Change Orders were created, negotiated, and discussed professionally and in good faith. MW honored their warranty and even extended it due to a manufacturer defect with our bathtub that cracked 2+ years after installation. We greatly enjoy our newly renovated home and regularly get compliments from guests.

Description of Work
Major Renovation - new kitchen, 2 story bump out, new porch, remodeled bathroom, interior and exterior painting

Category remodeling,home remodeling,sunrooms

Cost $300,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/31/2016

4.0

10/16/2018


Rhonda B.

While I love my kitchen and sunroom, I attribute a great deal of that to the constant presence and follow-up by my spouse - doing a lot of what I would expect a general contractor to do. MW is a lot better than other contractors I have had, but fell below expectations (based on reviews I read at the time of signing my contract). A lot of issues resulted from a lack of communication or miscommunication between MW and their subcontractors. We signed a contract in May 2013, expecting work to begin relatively soon. Work did not begin until after labor day. I have an extra row of lights in the kitchen due to a lack of passing design details onto the electrician, and the electrician did not put the appropriate ampage in the light switch - my spouse found this and it had to be corrected - potential hazard with an overheaded light switch! The join between the house and the addition was not done correctly. We had to have that completely redone by another roofing company. It makes me mad when contractor's work will not hold up for the long term - this had already been addressed once by MW. The AC unit in the addition was not installed correctly, resulting in a leak and subsequent repair in my brand new wall. My husband came up for many of the solutions regarding the tile installation in tricky areas. The kick in the pants was when we got a notice of a mechanics lien on our house due to lack of payment to a subcontractor (apparently the sub did not file some paperwork with the county). I know that is how things work, but I don't expect that from a contractor I selected because of a huge number of positive reviews on a site like Angie's List. I think that all reviewers should wait 6 months or a year to see how things stand the test of time before writing a glowing review.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel and sunroom addition

Category ceramic tile,drywall,picture framing,hardwood floor,heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,siding,replacement windows,home remodeling,interior painters,sunrooms

Cost $120,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/19/2014

5.0

08/15/2018


C W.

The design experience was excellent - MW Construction listened to our ideas, brought lots of new ideas, recycled proposed designs wth us, visited showrooms with us to select the right finishes and the right appliances. The construction experience was also spectacular - the quality of workmanship, professionalism and timeliness makes a huge difference compared to others and the assignment of a high quality customer focused project manager to keep you regularly informed on progress and respond quickly to any questions was brilliant. MW Construction are a great company to work with - we will use them again for other design/construction projects in our home.

Description of Work
Kitchen design and renovation project

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,hardwood floor,lighting,plumbing,woodworking,marble & granite,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2018

5.0

07/12/2018


Mary B.

MW Construction is our dream team. From meeting with the company owner as we formed up our renovation plan to the in-house painters and carpenters, they were talented, professional, tidy, and so easy to have in the house for an extended period. The first phase of the project met Our meticulous standards and so we worked with our FABULOUS project manager, Matt Galassi to create some change orders for additional work. We had some glitches with subcontractors but Matt ran interference on all of that. He checked in with us at least daily, was very responsive to these glitches, and was a true delight.

Description of Work
Basement renovation/ Bathroom reno/ Painting/ Carpeting/ General Repairs

Category contractors,ceramic tile,closet systems,drywall,electrician,gutter repair,hardwood floor,lighting,plastering,plumbing,remodeling,replacement windows,architect,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/12/2018

5.0

04/06/2018


Cara L.

We hired MW to finish our basement, add a basement bath, gut and re-design our kitchen and upstairs bathroom, re-configure out duct work, rebuild our two staircases, replace all windows, and rebuild our front porch. Given the scope of the remodel, I spent many, many hours researching and vetting local contractors before deciding on MW. We are extremely pleased with the final product! Virtually everything they touched was finished to a very high quality and lovely aesthetic. I worked most closely with their designer, who was a great help in selecting materials, and with Drew Marks, whom I talked with many times a week before and during construction. When something was not to my precise liking, Drew made it right. And though we have an older (1940's) home that resulted in some surprises and challenges, there were no change orders or extra charges due to this. In fact, every aspect of the project was at or below the projected budget, with the exception of times when I chose upgraded finishes. I also was comfortable with the crew they used, particularly Armando, who was happy to answer my questions, and left our home very clean at the end of each day. Home renovations can be a stressful and emotional time for the owners, and Drew and his team were as responsive and professional as they could be in order to limit this. If you are seeking a rock bottom price on construction work and are willing accept the shoddy quality that often accompanies it, then MW is not for you. Our goal in undertaking our home renovation was to get excellent workmanship and a beautiful space without spending a fortune, and while living in the home during renovations. MW helped us achieve this.

Description of Work
Nearly total renovation of townhome

Category decks,drywall,electrician,picture framing,heating & air conditioning/hvac,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,replacement windows,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters,sunrooms,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2017

5.0

03/21/2018


Sean H.

We hired MW to turn our unfinished attic into living space for our growing family. We had never taken on such a big home improvement project, and MW exceeded expectations in every way. We selected MW after interviewing Greg Marks (one of the owners) and receiving quotes from several other contractors. We chose MW based on the competitiveness of their price, their experience and expertise which came across in our initial conversations with Greg, and the fact that they are a family-owned business. Our house is a 1950's rambler in Arlington. Prior to the project we had all living space on the main level, as well as a finished basement. MW opened up our first floor living space, added a staircase to access the new second floor, and finished the attic by adding a shed dormer on the front of our house. The new second level has two bedrooms, a bathroom, and a playroom for our children. From the initial design to the execution of the project everything was first class. In the process, MW completed loads of other upgrades including adding a portico to the front of our home, re-siding the house with beautiful Hardie plank, replacing most of our old windows, replacing the roof, and adding all new interior doors. All of the finishes -- from the hardwoods that they installed, to the wallpaper on accent walls, to the paint, to beautiful staircase, etc. -- were well done. The only delay in the project was waiting on Arlington County to issue the permits. But MW began work immediately after the permits came through and they worked diligently to complete the project. Their crew was at the house promptly each day and worked long hours to get things done. Because of their hard work and dedication, the project was completed in approximately 3 months. Friends and family were impressed with how quickly things were finished. Drew Marks kept us well-informed throughout the project, holding regular meetings and walkthroughs to discuss details and make decisions. He was also responsive to our calls and emails. Overall, we felt like we were in good hands with a company that really cared about creating a beautiful and functional living space for our family. We could