Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

TruGreen Lawn Care - 5300

With Angi since June 2006

TruGreen is the nation's largest provider of lawn and landscape services. We make it easy for you by delivering customized care solutions that are effective, innovative and responsible. TruGreen® provides a full suite of tailored lawn and landscape services. From fertilization and aeration to tree & shrub services and much more, TruGreen delivers superior results backed by our Healthy Lawn Guarantee.®1 We also offer effective solutions to help control and prevent lawn damaging insects, like chinch bugs and grubs. Our passion for lawns sets us apart, and we’ll help you achieve a lawn you love. Contact us today to start your tailored lawn plan.

Verified Reviews

3.7

(127) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 127 reviews
Roger G.
1.0
10/21/2022
They are a absolutely horrible. Reliability 0 Contact 0 Workmanship 0 Throughout the summer I have never had such a terrible time in simply getting a scheduled time. They would be at my place spraying when I would get a message stating that someone is en route. It took forever to get them to give at least a 24 hour in advance notice prior to the there arriving. That lasted for 2 applications. Now I get a message 24 hours in advance, the next day I get a message that the technician is en route then with in that same hour I get another message stating that the technician can not make it. Then I get a voice mail stating that I cancelled the service. Now today 10-21-2022, for the 3rd day in a roll I can not speak to a representative in the Erda Utah area. I would absolutely never recommend this computer anyone. I also was on the phone with a customer representative on 10-20-22. I asked him if I could speak with a supervisor. He told me that he doesn’t have a supervisor. I am assuming that I must have been speaking with the owner of the company, since he has no supervision. I had a manger with DFCM in the state of Utah that over heard my conversation with this customer service member. He said that the state of utah has the exact same issues with Trugreen. My advice, stay clear Roger Griffis Erda, Utah
Description of Work
They are a absolutely horrible. Reliability 0 Contact 0 Workmanship 0 Throughout the summer I have never had such a terrible time in simply getting a scheduled time. They would be at my place spraying when I would get a message stating that someone is en route. It took forever to get them to give at least a 24 hour in advance notice prior to the there arriving. That lasted for 2 applications. Now I get a message 24 hours in advance, the next day I get a message that the technician is en route then with in that same hour I get another message stating that the technician can not make it. Then I get a voice mail stating that I cancelled the service. Now today 10-21-2022, for the 3rd day in a roll I can not speak to a representative in the Erda Utah area. I would absolutely never recommend this computer anyone. I also was on the phone with a customer representative on 10-20-22. I asked him if I could speak with a supervisor. He told me that he doesn’t have a supervisor. I am assuming that I must have been speaking with the owner of the company, since he has no supervision. I had a manger with DFCM in the state of Utah that over heard my conversation with this customer service member. He said that the state of utah has the exact same issues with Trugreen. My advice, stay clear Roger Griffis Erda, Utah
Category
lawn treatment
Steve S.
1.0
08/15/2022
TruGreen has been a huge disappointment and I've tried cancelling my service but they won't let me. I hired them back in June for grubs and had three separate treatments and nothing has improved and my lawn is one of the worst looking lawns on the street. I tried asking them to cancel my service several times but they keep telling me to be patient and wait for results, which NEVER came. I would never use them. On the last treatment, the technician was there for a total of 4 minutes and my lawn is 3,000 sq feet. I hardly doubt you can truly apply something that quick with that much lawn. Don't use them. I just want to get my refund but they refuse to do it.
Description of Work
Grub control
Category
pest control
JP L.
1.0
02/10/2022
Do not use this company. Years ago they were excellent. For the past several years their product effectiveness has dropped as well as the interest of the service technicians to perform a thorough job. I have had to have them consistently reapply their product because the dandelions keep resurfacing. The product used to work but now the weeds flinch & bounce back within a couple days. Last season was the worst, they used a granular product that didn't do anything. I insisted on the spray, they used to have a hose from the truck but just a technician with a backpack sprayer. I pay extra because our yard is huge and a guy running around with a backpack sprayer just doesn't cut it. Dandelions and thistle all summer long. I called to have our trees treated because of beetles and they never followed up. I asked them to reapply and they never showed up, asked for a refund, they said it was not allowed but they issued a credit to my account. They skipped multiple scheduled services. Naturally they called all the time to offer multiple services like mosquito spraying, lawn aeration, and other things but couldn't do the job they were hired to do. The sales calls are relentless, I expressed that I did not want to renew, explained my bad experience, and requested my money be refunded for the entire season because the product did not work and the weeds spread. It wasn't that much money because out of the 5 spring & summer months they didn't show up for two so that's 40% no show. I eventually spoke with a Manager named Mike, he looked at my account and could see the issues, requests for reapplication, the technicians that didn't show up for scheduled services. None of the other reps could approve a refund but a manager could. Mike is a manager, he agreed the service was bad and promised a refund. The refund never happened, but the sales calls kept coming. Spent and hour with a very enthusiastic sales person, that got a manager on the phone, they knew the manager Mike and promised if I prepaid for this coming year they could look into a discount. Really?! I explained how the product doesn't work, their managers lie, they stole my money and wouldn't return it even when promised. I used this company at my Salt Lake home and at my Park City home. If this sounds like the experience you're looking for then TrueGreen is the company for you. I found a great company for my salt lake home, Major League Lawn Care. For my Park City property, Senske Services for my lawn and trees, much more expensive but worth it. I hope this helps!
Description of Work
Weed control
Category
pest control
Alan D.
1.0
09/29/2021
We are in North Ogden Utah. We had a nice green lawn with a few weeds throughout when we hired TruGreen. We now have a dead lawn which is not coming back after the summer. We have more weeds and have had insect issues. They came 2 times in the beginning of the year then did not come between April and August at all which is the timeframe we were requesting that they come out and take care of the bug issue. 7 or 8 cancelled appointments later, our lawn is dead. A half a dozen calls with their customer service call center have only yielded lies and more appointment cancellations. It's never good when you have the hold music for a customer service line memorized. Do not hire TruGreen. There are much better providers out there. Now I just have to either re-sod or seed and hope
Description of Work
Lawn fertalization, Weed Control, Lawn Pest Control
Category
pest control, lawn treatment
PHILIP S.
5.0
06/04/2018
Very well. Punctual, informative, thorough. I am very satisfied with the service.
Description of Work
lawn fertilization summer program
Category
lawn treatment
Lavinia P.
1.0
02/21/2018
Their terrible, my grass never improved and their shady. I told them i wont be home for 4 months and they still billed me and when i didnt pay they sent me to collections. Their dishonest, not willing to help you, terrible lawn care and the WORST pest control people i have ever had to work with. If you have a contract with them RUN!!! There are plenty options out there!!!
Description of Work
BIGGEST RIIP OFF and SHADY CUSTOMER SERVICE
Category
pest control, lawn service, lawn treatment
Jefferson B.
5.0
08/14/2017
Fair. My lawn is pathetic from a few years of neglec. It will take more than one year of service to recover.
Description of Work
Lawn weed and feed. Contract lawn feeding.
Category
lawn treatment
Alan W.
1.0
08/01/2017
We paid for service in late May to control vegetation and weeds in preparation for putting in a new yard later in the fall. We were assured the application would last all summer, and that if it didn't they would return to re-apply vegetation control at no charge. The promise of effective weed control was empty. It didn't work. We phoned their call center repeatedly requesting warranty re-application, and while the customer service reps were professional and apologetic, we've never seen a tech return to re-apply as promised. We've received nothing but the run around and stalling tactics. TruGreen doesn't keep their commitments. We have a weed-ridden jungle in our yard and paid them $110 for the privilege. We won't make that mistake again.
Description of Work
Weed and vegetation control application.
Category
lawn treatment
Shelba R.
1.0
07/04/2017
They were scheduled two to three weeks in advance to spray for Mosquitos before a Wedding. I called to confirm my appointment and found I was not on the schedule. They put me on the schedule but didn't show up. I called again and they assured me it would be done before nightfall. They didn't show again. I called and they indicated they had rescheduled me for three days later. This was also the day of the wedding!!! They were horrible to work with!!!!!! I called Hawx Pest Control and they came the next morning at 9:00 sharp. Did a great job!!!
Description of Work
They were scheduled two to three weeks in advance to spray for Mosquitos before a Wedding. They were horrible to work with from the very beginning! I would never recommend them to anyone!
Category
pest control
Aimee F.
1.0
08/26/2015
I have used Tru Green. I would have used the west valley location. I actually did report them to the Better Business Bureau. I cancelled my services with them.
Description of Work
Lawn Fertilization & Treatment. They just came and did the front lawn and back with fertilization
Category
lawn treatment
John K.
4.0
04/21/2015
The service is okay. They provide an annual service.
Description of Work
They do fertilization and weed control.
Category
lawn treatment
John G.
3.0
02/16/2015
It was fine. I changed companies this year due to personal preference.
Description of Work
They did lawn fertilization.
Category
lawn treatment
DOTTIE W.
5.0
12/03/2014
I've been happy with them. The results are good and the place looks nice. They come when they're supposed to. They're very professional. They have a scheduler machine that calls to let me know when they're coming and what they'll do.
Description of Work
They are my lawn & yard company. They fertilize my lawn and service it periodically.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback and for allowing us to service you. We are very excited to hear that you have been happy with us, that the results are good, and that your place looks nice. Also, that the lawn specialists come when they're supposed to and are very professional, as you have outlined in your review. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to continuing to serve you. Have a great day!! Lisa @ TruGreen Corporate Office.
John Martin H.
4.0
07/01/2014
Mostly well. The lawn still has some dry and dead spots.
Description of Work
fertilized lawn
Category
lawn treatment
Richard B.
5.0
09/26/2013
Heidi arrived on time, was professional in her demeanor, answered all of my questions, and discussed every aspect of what she would do. Since then TruGreen has called me twice to see if everything was and is satisfactory. They also sent me a survey yesterday via email that asked me to rate my experience. My lawn both front and back look fantastic. Not one weed! I would highly recommend Heidi and TruGreen.
Description of Work
Heidi came and sprayed for weeds, discussed some soil and irrigation issues and the requisite remedies.
Category
lawn treatment
Larry B.
1.0
08/16/2013
When I signed up for service, I was told that they would be available to fertilize on Saturdays. 1st time they scheduled on Thu. I called and they said I wasn't on the schedule for Thursday, but they put in for a rescheduled for Saturday. They showed up on Thu and left note that they couldn't do the work (I have dogs in the yard). NOBODY EVER CAME THAT SATURDAY. I called them the following Monday. I was told that a regional manager would call me back the next day. NOBODY EVER CALLED. NOT EVER! I fertilized the lawn myself. Five days later (on a weekday), they came and fertilized the lawn (EVEN THOUGH I HAD DOGS IN THE YARD). I let this go, and didn't complain. Next time they scheduled for a Monday. My wife was home that morning, so it was okay. Today (Friday afternoon) they left a message that they were coming on Monday. I called to reschedule for a Saturday. 1st I was told that they can rarely ever come out on a Saturday. 2nd, I was put on hold and hung up on. I called back and got someone else who also said they just couldn't make it on a Saturday. He forwarded me to corporate, who said they just couldn't do the work every time on a Saturday. I said I'd like to get it done at least once on a Saturday. The guy repeated that they couldn't always service me on Saturdays. I cancelled my service. BTW, they didn't do much to help with the weeds in my front lawn.
Description of Work
They were hired to fertilize lawn throughout season.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
David J.
1.0
07/02/2013
Where do i Start ? i Ordered Tree and Shrub service for a pre determined amount of time. it went well, the techs were professional and nice people. The problem begins with the cancellation of services and the following up of the company. I have on 3 separate occasions tried to cancel,and told i shouldn't have to pay for service i didn't authorize. then been told ill be called back by someone who can handle my problem by corporate and the local office. once i finally get the services canceled, they had an auto renewal that had kept my services going and racking up another 200$ and $75 on separate occasions in services, i DIDNT WANT ! So i call, to say this isn't right, i shouldn't have to pay for services i attempted to stop but the company continued because of lack of communication on multiple occasions from them.. Needless to say, they disagreed, i was told their was nothing they could do and if i chose not to pay, id be sent to collections. So i paid them, as much as it felt wrong to do so. i let them know id be writing a review, detailing this experience, they didnt seem to care. Do yourself a favor, find a local guy who cares about his business and customer base and stay away from these clowns. Signed, C# 4300276316
Description of Work
Tree/Shrub Service lawn Service
Category
lawn treatment
Gerrit S.
1.0
06/29/2013
We paid for 5 treatments. Since we signed up with in early April they have only come once and that was unannounced - even though they had said they would call before coming. So after the first treatment, we waited...and waited... We had to call to complain before they scheduled our next treatment for next week. So far the customer service has been terrible. And punctuality has been worse. Hoping that the rest of the service might be better...but not holding my breath.
Description of Work
Supposed to improve our lawn
Category
lawn treatment
sheeba W.
5.0
06/17/2013
The insectiside treatment is something we don't really see much of an effect of because we are unfamiliar with the service. However, their other treatmenst - the weed killer and lawn fertilzer - was awesome. It was applied well and in a timely manner. They were at the house before 9:00am! That's awesome because it didn't interfere with my day and letting my kids play outside.
Description of Work
The last time they provided service they sprayed the trees with insecticides.
Category
pest control
Jason E.
2.0
08/24/2012
I've never been happy with my lawn, so I thought that maybe a "professional" could get it in shape. I talked to some of my neighbors that used TruGreen, and decided to give them a try. The first debacle had to do with the price. Apparently all my neighbors were on an older plan that was no longer offered. Naturally, that program was about half the price of the new programs. As a compromise, TruGreen said they could drop one of the treatments so I wouldn't have to pay so much. The first time the came out, in the middle of April, they treated the lawn and it did a pretty good job of keeping the weeds under control, I had fewer weeds than most of my neighbors, but by the middle of May everyone else's lawns were greening up, but mine was still yellow. When they came out for the second treatment in June, I was expecting to see an improvement, but several weeks later my lawn wasn't green and wasn't growing. The weeds seemed to be doing pretty well though. That's when I decided I needed to intervene. I went over to Lowe's, picked up a bag of fertilizer, and three or four days later it was green again. And that cost 1/3 the price of one of the treatments w/ TruGreen. Now, TruGreen does have a guarantee where, if you're not happy with what they've done, they will come out and redo it for free. Well that's fine and dandy, but every time I called, I waited on hold for 15+ minutes to talk to someone. That gets old pretty quickly. I also question what good it does to call and have them come out again, when the first treatment did so little. If I'm going to have call each time to have them come back out and treat my lawn again, I might as well save myself some money and just do it myself.
Description of Work
Lawn fertilization treatments.
Category
lawn treatment
John G.
5.0
06/22/2012
Work completed in a professional manner -- grass never looked better
Description of Work
Lawn fertizilation
Category
lawn treatment
Terri S.
5.0
05/23/2012
Called them and left a messge and they returned called within hour and went over their program and costs. Then they had scheduler call me back about an hour later to schedule the service.
Description of Work
lawn fertilization and spraying for spiders
Category
lawn treatment
ROBERTA S.
3.0
05/11/2012
I have had their service for several years, and they always show up on time.
Description of Work
They fertilize my trees.
Category
tree service
Joni L.
5.0
04/25/2012
I didn't have a lot of experience with them. I thought they were kind of pricey, but their work was excellent. I paid them monthly. Once I made phone calls, they were very prompt to schedule and get out, so I didn't have to wait very long once I contacted them. They were great.
Description of Work
I hired Tru Green for lawn treatment and fertilization. They also sprayed for spiders.
Category
pest control, lawn treatment
Robert L.
2.0
03/29/2012
I have experienced several episodes of overbilling or billing for service not provided. When I called, they corrected the charges. But, their no. is not local. This results in long waiting times on the phone and talking with individuals not locally responsible. I discontinued one service after the 2nd problem and have just experienced another overcharge.
Description of Work
I have used Trugreen for pest control around the house, tree and shrub fertilization/dormant oil, and lawn fertilization.
Category
pest control, lawn treatment, tree service

Other local Pros in your area

proof. Pest Control

I specialize in a multi-treatment approach which involves treatments every 4 months. This treatment plan is proven to get the best results by getting rid of unwanted pests and preventing their return. Pest control, effective, organic solutions. When pests invade your home, you need a team of professionals on the job. Our top-rated pest control experts provide specialty pest services that are designed for pests that require targeted treatment based on their unique characteristics and behavior. Our organic products require minimal application to produce effective results. No matter the severity of your pest problem, you can rest easy knowing our highly trained and fully qualified pest control specialists are on the job. We are committed to helping families through reliable, amazing service. Our team takes on all types of pests, including ants, spiders, wasps, mice, rats, cockroaches, bedbugs, German cockroaches, centipedes, termites, fleas, ticks, mosquitoes, and more.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Axis Pests Solutions

Axis Pest is here to deliver fast customized services for all your commercial and residential general pest needs. Our staff has over 30 plus years of experience combined. We have been your local branch, and growing for four years now. Axis stands apart by having dedicated technicians knowledgeable of pest issues in your area. And we have a top notice customer assistance team readily available for all of your pest needs and inquiries. What BUGS you BUGS us, So call today!!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Bulwark Exterminating- Utah

Bulwark is a Family Owned Pest Control Company We take pride in providing the pest control coverage for your family. We listen to the customer because we know that a service company is nothing without their customers. We try and exceed the expectations of all of our customers in order to make our products better. 97% of Our Customers Would Recommend Us To Their Friends. Bulwark means a defensive barrier, and that is exactly what we provide for your home, a line of protection. This barrier keeps all of the pests out and kills any pest infestation your home may be experiencing. If you find pests alive and well after we come and treat we will come back for free. That's right, if you are still seeing pests, we messed up, and we will come back and retreat your home within 48 hours.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

2435 West Custer Rd

Salt Lake City, UT 84104

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

TruGreen Lawn Care - 5300 is currently rated 3.7 overall out of 5.

TruGreen Lawn Care - 5300 is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Yes, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5300 offers free project estimates.

No, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5300 does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5300 does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, TruGreen Lawn Care - 5300 offers warranties.

TruGreen Lawn Care - 5300 offers the following services: Residential and commercial landscaping, lawn, tree & shrub care.