Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Total HVAC and Plumbing

Founded 1996 • With Angi since December 2009

4.5

(52) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

15115 Old Hickory Blvd Ste B

Nashville, TN 37211

Description

Total HVAC, founded in 1996, is passionate about making a difference in servicing your home’s heating and air conditioning needs. Our technicians are factory trained and EPA certified. We service, install and repair any type of heating or cooling equipment such as high efficiency air conditioners, heat pumps, hybrids and furnaces with brand names that include Carrier, Trane, York, Heil, Lennox and McQuay. Total HVAC can also service your home’s plumbing, drain cleaning and gas line needs with a fully licensed, bonded and insured Plumbing Department. You can rely on our highly trained professionals to respond with the know-how to get your residential HVAC and Plumbing service done right and that’s surprisingly affordable!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/07/2021


Joshua W.

This company preys on the unassuming. Their reps propose outrageous services (and prices to match) that ultimately may not be needed. We were told over $1,200 absolutely had to be completed. I asked for a service manager to call and explain. No call ever came. A second opinion completely refuted Total HVAC's claim. In turn, we saved $1,200 from 5 minutes of additional due diligence. The real kicker is their silly $16.90 per month fee for the "service plan". This is an absolute annoyance and frivolous bill that only adds subscription based income to their bottom line - no real value! Their accounting department threatens with outlandish finance charges and fees. So glad we are no longer reliant on the foolishness of their predatory practices. Stay away!

Description of Work
Fall HVAC System Check-up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/29/2020


Julia C.

Window air conditioner installation

Description of Work
Window air conditioner installation

Category air duct cleaning

1.0

01/26/2020


Lovely Y.

I have hired several different companies for HVAC, and this one is the worse one I have ever had to deal with. I hired them for several different locations, and they did an okay job. For starters their employees called their managers, letting them know they needed help and refused to send more people. With them being alone the job took longer then expected. While being there doing their job, the managers kept calling them asking how long it would take, and the employee would tell them they were alone with no help so quite a while. I will never hire again a company that doesn't care about their employees. Of course the deadline I had with them was not met, but that didn't bother me what did bother me was this company not caring about their employees. I would not recommend them to anyone else, or other businesses.

Description of Work
Different services

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/03/2019


Shirley H.

Kisha Jones so professional answered my questions and scheduled appointment on my time. Adam came out did a great job on service and found a problem. He had to order the part, once in, Kisha called me again and again, scheduled for my time. Adam came out again and once he was through my unit worked great. I have had a problem with unit heating the house. Other companies just said it’s a heat pump but it’s not that old and stopped doing a good job of heating. Adam solved that problem. I have hated this unit thought it was an unreliable unit. All I needed was to call Total HVAC. Great company. I did not find them pricey for what they did it was cheaper than others who never fixed it. 2 Service calls part and repairs was like 194.00. I can see savings already in how it heats and cuts off. Also in 24 hour period my daily electric usage has dropped. Thanks so much Total HVAC. Will always use you guys from now on.

Description of Work
Service unit for winter

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/05/2018


Michelle B.

We have been using Total HVAC for many years. Every service person that they send out is professional and knowledgeable. I have never had them try to sell me something that I did not need during one of their spring or fall tune ups.

Description of Work
Annual tune-up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/22/2017


Maurice M.

Still going to get flow correct but excellent and responsive people to work with.

Description of Work
Replace 1.5 ton single A/C unit and fix duct work to increase flow overall.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/27/2017


Wayne L.

This change out went really well. The crew was pretty efficient and cleaned up after the installation.

Description of Work
Total HVAC replaced an existing 5-ton gas fired split system unit in my home. Crews came out and promptly removed the old unit / accessories and had the new unit, duct, gas piping, humidifier with reverse osmosis water system and electronic air cleaner reconnected, up and running in a matter of hours. Even the owner of the company came out to check on the installation and while there, wired up the humidifier. Well done!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/22/2017


MICHAEL D.

When we've had problems they've fixed them they stand by their work. We got several bids and they were competitive. Even though we had instillation problems they professionally resolved them to our satisfaction.

Description of Work
We had out HVAC replaced.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/08/2016


Andrew R.

I called total HVAC when my A/C went out the day I was heading to Mexico. They came out that same day, realized it couldn't be repaired and because I was leaving town for a week and could't have my tenant in the house with no A/C had their sales consultant come out that same day. We got all the paperwork done quickly and they arrived the next day to replace the units.

Description of Work
Replaced whole HVAC unit + follow up minor repairs due to basement flooding

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/04/2015


Ann M.

The leak was not only underground, it was under my asphalt driveway. I had to have a section of driveway cut out and then replaced after the leak was repaired. I was afraid that the price would be so much more than it was. I was very pleased and the plumber could not have been any nicer.

Description of Work
I had a pipe leaking underground and I called Total HVAC, LLC. They came out immediately and dug up the pipe, did the repair and charged a very fair price. I was extremely pleased with the work.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing

1.0

10/25/2015


Francisco A.

All repairs went fine except for the toilet in the downstairs vanity. That toilet was replaced in February/March. In May/June we noticed that it was leaking. We called back and they came out to tell us that we needed to buy a new toilet as the cause was the toilet itself. Within 2-3 days we had a new toilet delivered and they came back out to replace it. We also had them replace the hosebib on that visit. Less than a month later, the toilet began leaking again and we called again. They came back out and tightened some bolts and left. A week or two later we noticed that the hardwood flooring just outside the bathroom was becoming discolored. We called another provider who got under the house and took pictures of what was really going on. The toilet flange was broken and water from the toilet had soaked the entire sub floor and was coming up through the hardwood. The level of mold that had grown on the sub floor indicated that it was going on for months and would therefore be rejected by the insurance company. We had to spend over $4,000 having the mold removed and the entire bathroom from floor boards to tile replaced. Total HVAC either caused the flange to break in the first place or continued to ignore the problem and say nothing for months as they had to get under that very space where the mold was growing to replace the hosebib in July. Additionally, they took the first "broken" toilet with them because they had to break it it to get it out due to the bolts holding it down being rusted. A professional should have wondered why new bolts would have rusted through like that in a month or two. We had no issues with the toilet before they came out to replace it, but I still have no proof they broke the flange or I would be in court with them, but there is no way you could have been directly under that mold working on a hosebib and not seen it. It saddens me to leave this review as I've had this company do a lot of good work at my home over the years. But this experience with their attempted cover up is irresponsible, at best, and negligent, at worst.

Description of Work
I hired Total HVAC to replace all three toilets in our home in February/March 2015. I also hired them to replace hosebib in the back of the house in July, 2015.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/08/2015


Lakisha J.

Everything went wonderfully well. During the initial consultation, Jeff was courteous, funny, and exceptionally thorough in explaining everything to me. The guys arrived early in the morning and took care of business and I was cooling off within a few hours. Before they left, everything was explained to me as to how to use the new digital thermostat and who to contact just in case there were issues. I will definitely recommend them to others as it was an overall pleasure to deal with this company.

Description of Work
Installation of a new Trane central heating and air unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/05/2015


MICHAEL R P.

Very well. They were fast, punctual, and professional.

Description of Work
Unclogged an HVAC water drain pipe.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

11/04/2014


James M.

They did a good job but the price seemed a little high. They got the job done in one day. The workers were all professional and did a good job.

Description of Work
They installed a new heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

07/24/2014


Carol H.

The company sent out a young man who had done work at house for Total, before and I trusted him. This young man stated the same problems existed. I believed him, but my "radar antennae" was still active. I sent this young man on his way, restating I didn't have $1,000 to pay to fix a new unit (1&half years old Trane). I immediately called another unknown company. They came out right away. He stated these issues did exist, but would cost $250.00. The man finished the work in less than an hour, and a check was written for $250.00. I have had to wait 6 months before writing this, to keep from being too emotional. I felt betrayed and preyed upon, being a single woman. It's hard to believe that in 2014, single women are still treated this way.

Description of Work
We had used the provider for approx. 4 years, for HVAC service and plumbing, including buying a new $5,000 HVAC system a year and a half before this incident. They had already performed the 2 free check-ups they provide with the new system, but called me one day, saying they'd like to come out to provide my second check-up. I knew both had been done, but allowed them to come out. My unit had not been giving the expected level of quality, and my electric bill had doubled, then tripled. because I'd had a serious surgery a week before, I had not contacted Total HVAC yet. They sent a young man, who looked at unit, stayed outside approximately an hour, then came in to give me his verdict. He estimated just over $1,000. Because it was very soon after the Holidays, and the company called Me, and the service estimate was for just over $1,000, and because I'd always paid in cash, my "radar" was alerted. I protested to the young man, who either called or went back to the company.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing

Service Provider Response

First of all let us apologize for the experience you had. We strive to give our customers the highest levels of customer service. According to our records the final visit which occurred on 1-23-14 was a pre-scheduled visit for the heating check/tune up. Our technicians are required to report any abnormalities found in the process to the customer and make a detailed report in our systems, both happened n=in this instance. With the particular package that was purchased the warranty that remained when these issues were detected only covered the parts, not labor. Our pricing for the suggested repairs is based on average pricing charged by other established licensed & insured companies in our area. We find that often our repair cost are lower than average in our area. Should we be able to assist you in the future please let us know!
5.0

07/01/2013


Douglas D.

Mitch was incredibly punctual and responsive. Both jobs were complex and he provided well communicated solutions for us to consider. He then completed the jobs as scheduled and within the estimate provided.

Description of Work
Repaired drainage system and replaced water line from the road connection.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,drain cleaning

2.0

06/03/2013


YILUN W.

I have asked another plumber to finish this job.

Description of Work
The tech quickly taken a look the tankless water heater as well as the line connection at crawl space, just total about 10 minuets. The most unbelievable is the gas line is less than 50 feet , but he charged 90 feet (the tech not using tap to measure, just simple and rough estimated by eyes). The price they quoted is unreasonable higher, more than double of normal. I did not used this Total HVAC but paid for him of $95.00 for this kind of estimation.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our visit and can understand why the methodology by which the estimate was generated might appear inaccurate or too high. There are many factors that go into pricing jobs like yours that include but limited to the brand desired, warranty, installation challenges, upgrades to plumbing. etc. The length of a specific area is only part of how a project like this is priced. A experienced plumber must account for things such as depth, soil/rocks, trees, walkways, etc. that lay in the path. Also materials are a consideration as they are not all sold or priced "by the foot". Our technicians have to accurately factor in many things to provide accurate quotes because we do not change prices or cost mid-stream in a project unless new features or aspects are added to the project by the customer. In the future should you need us we will be here!
5.0

05/11/2013


Tyler G.

IT went very well- my faucet is very old so I emailed pics to them and they got the proper parts.

Description of Work
They replaced leaky faucet.

Category plumbing

5.0

05/08/2013


Adam J.

Gave us a good price compared to others. Kevin Boop was great to work with and helped with coordinating work as well as financing project and helping with tax credits later. Installation crew was great--showed up when they said they would be there and cleaned up after themselves. After installation had problem with damper getting hung up on insulation and came out promptly and fixed problem. Very satisfied with overall experience.

Description of Work
Installed Geothermal Unit at house as well as replacing duct work for home built in 70s. In addition, installed humidifier, air cleaner and new thermostats in house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/15/2013


Karen K.

They were top notch. They were professional, prompt and took time to explain what they were doing. I actually signed up for a maintenance package with them.

Description of Work
They ran a gas line for me and hooked up my gas stove.

Category plumbing

5.0

03/15/2013


Ginny M.

I couldn' be moe pleased with this company!

Description of Work
Major problem was water pipe broken under house .Chris went directly to source of problem even though I thought it was the water heater.I was unable to crawl under the house so he took pictures with his cell phone to explain problem to me.he also unstopped a toilet, fixed another leaking toilet and corrected problems on a third one. He represented his company very professionally and communicated the problems and the fix very clearly.He is a well informed plumber.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/05/2013


Marvin S.

The gentleman came out. He was very nice and if we were gonna have the work done we were going to go with him

Description of Work
We wanted them to put in a water treatment system

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

01/01/2013


Kathy M.

Total HVAC was very responsive and although the job was laborious Mitch worked long hours until all was completed

Description of Work
Repair of leak in main water line

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing

5.0

12/13/2012


Don L.

I had attempted to repair a leaking bathtub faucet myself by purchasing and installing new stems. After installation, the faucet leaked worse than before. I called Total HVAC late Thursday afternoon to arrange a service call. The dispatcher told me they could have someone here between Noon and close on Friday. After calling me to make sure I was home, the plumbing technician, Mitch, arrived shortly after Noon. After replacing the leaking cold water side stem with the non-leaking hot water stem, Mitch determined that the fault lay in one of the new stems I had purchased. Since he knew that I had enough expertise to replace a stem, he suggested that I trade the defective stem for a new one and complete the repair myself rather than paying for his time to travel to a plumbing supply store and return and install the new stem himself. As a result, I probably paid less than half of what the charge otherwise would have been. I did as he suggested, replaced the defective stem with a new one, and now have a leak-free faucet. Because of the promptness and integrity that Mitch and the company demonstrated, I will certainly use them again when I need plumbing services.

Description of Work
Service call to investigate, diagnose, and potentially repair a leaking bathtub faucet.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/27/2012


sandra H.

It went excellent. They were on time and professional. It was the first time I had used them. I would use them again.

Description of Work
They put a whole new a/c and furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Blocker Heating and Cooling Inc

    Blocker Heating & Cooling specializes in air conditioning and heating installation and repair. We service both residential and business, providing reliable service so that you can get back to being comfortable in your home or office! We are EPA certified and a licensed contractor in the state of Tennessee. Financing is available, call for details.  

    Premo Air Inc.

    *** Ask about our lifetime UV air vent sanitizing and disinfecting upgrades that kill virus and bacteria available for any HVAC system*** Premo Air is a family owned and operated HVAC company that specializes in residential and commercial services and repair. We take pride in the quality of our work and our reputation of great customer satisfaction. Emergency service available...... We also offer financing! 615-708-2711  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Premo Air Inc. on Angi
    Benjamin Franklin Plumbing

    Benjamin Franklin Plumbing - "The Punctual Plumber." Our on-time guarantee is one of the best in the country, and your complete satisfaction with both our service and plumbers is 100% guaranteed. At Benjamin Franklin Plumbing® your complete satisfaction with both our service and plumbers is 100% guaranteed. Our on-time guarantee is one of the best in the country, and backed by highly skilled plumbers that are expertly trained and experienced to exceed your expectations. Simply put, when you choose Benjamin Franklin Plumbing® for all your plumbing problems, you can’t lose. DBA Ben Franklin Plumbing Addition ph # (615)244-5537. Award wining.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Licensed & insured for air conditioning, heating, plumbing, drain cleaning, water heaters, tankless water heaters, excavation, plumbing & gas lines, and much more! All brands of HVAC equipment! Now servicing Generators

    Services Not Offered

    Just ask!

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Total HVAC and Plumbing

    How is Total HVAC and Plumbing overall rated?

    Total HVAC and Plumbing is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Total HVAC and Plumbing open?

    Total HVAC and Plumbing is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Total HVAC and Plumbing provide

    Total HVAC and Plumbing accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Total HVAC and Plumbing offer free estimates?

    Yes, Total HVAC and Plumbing offers free project estimates.

    Does Total HVAC and Plumbing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Total HVAC and Plumbing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Total HVAC and Plumbing offer a senior discount?

    No, Total HVAC and Plumbing does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Total HVAC and Plumbing offer emergency services?

    Yes, Total HVAC and Plumbing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Total HVAC and Plumbing?

    Yes, Total HVAC and Plumbing offers warranties.

    What services does Total HVAC and Plumbing offer?

    Total HVAC and Plumbing offers the following services: Licensed & insured for air conditioning, heating, plumbing, drain cleaning, water heaters, tankless water heaters, excavation, plumbing & gas lines, and much more! All brands of HVAC equipment! Now servicing Generators

    Are there any services Total HVAC and Plumbing does not offer?

    Just ask!