Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Carolina Contracting & Investments Inc

4.5

(33) Verified Reviews

Founded 2012 • With Angi since August 2015

Licensed
Trade License Number
73282
Trade License Locale
North Carolina
Trade License Authority
North Carolina: General Contractors
Trade License Expiration
12/31/2022
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

1632 Village Harbor Dr

Clover, SC 29710

https://carolinaci.com/residential/

Description

We can build any custom home, we can build an addition as simple as adding a new bedroom suite to adding an entire second floor, we can remodel your entire home, your kitchen, your bathroom, finish your basement, and make structural modifications. If you can dream it we can build it. We can build from your plans, or we can do both the design and construction. We offer both residential and commercial construction services as a licensed general contractor. For residential customers we offer an array of services for almost any project. We offer competitive pricing and exceptional quality and customer service. Because we have our own crews to perform much of the work, we have much better control over costs and quality that the competitors simply can’t provide. We will come to your home and provide you with suggestions and an estimate at no cost to you. ...

Verified Reviews

4.5

(33) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

27

4

1

3

1

2

1

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.2

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (15)home builder (8)patio enclosures (4)basement remodeling (3)garage building (3)decks & porches (1)window replacement (6)interior painting (5)roofing (3)Patios (1)
Showing 1-25 of 33 reviews
5.0

06/18/2021


Deb W.

Carolina Contracting and Investments did an OUTSTANDING job on our master bathroom and kitchen remodel. We took everything down to the studs in both rooms and they brought my vision to life. Their team was fantastic and I would hire them again in moment for any other project we might do.

Description of Work
Master Bath + Kitchen Gut / Remodel

Category remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/26/2021

5.0

02/25/2020


Emilie G.

Everyone was very professional, and we always knew where the project was and what was next. We always get great compliments from guests who stay with us!

Description of Work
Finishing our basement guest suite and exercise room

Category remodeling,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/31/2018

5.0

10/30/2019


Richard F.

We are very, very pleased with the final work. CEO Glenn Wise provided us with a detailed project proposal and budget. Project Supervisor Ken Starr was a superb on-site supervisor. They were very attentive to any questions we had and follow-up was excellent. We couldn't ask for a better remodeling experience that exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend them.

Description of Work
New home addition.

Category remodeling

Cost $200,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/25/2019

4.0

09/02/2019


Gregory S.

Ken was great to work with. He’s very responsive and wants to make it as easy as he can for the homeowner. I do NOT like how the company does their pricing. They do not give you a set estimate for the project. They’d need to give me a fixed estimate and do change orders like a normal contractor or we would not hire them again. If they changed that we’d hire Ken again.

Description of Work
Remodel porch area

Category remodeling,sunrooms

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2019

5.0

06/04/2019


Heather G.

We had our 2 car garage turned into an apartment for my mother. Glenn did a great job designing and pricing it while Ken did a wonderful managing the whole thing. It is beautiful and she is very happy, as are we.

Description of Work
Garage conversion

Category remodeling,replacement windows,garage builders,home builders,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2019

1.0

04/11/2019


Frank S.

Carolina Contracting and Investments did not stand behind their work, very poor quality and workmanship. I would not recommend this company.

Description of Work
Warranty deck repair

Category home builders

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/10/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] asked us to build a new set of stairs on the back of his house and did not pay us and threatened to write bad reviews if we made him pay for the work. Very unprofessional. Had nothing to do with warranty work.
3.0

07/26/2018


Scott P.

I have a feeling that these positive reviews were all entered by employees or members of the family because there is no way these many folks were satisfied. What a terrible experience - this whole project was a clown show from start to finish. We hired Glenn to convert our screened in porch to an enclosed sunroom and extend it by 5 feet. We were assured that once this was completed everything would blend in perfectly with our existing structure and we would be very happy. We had some existing plants located in back of the screened porch and asked that they remove them carefully so that we could replant at projects completion. No problem was their answer to that. Day 1 - the Brick masons' show up and they dig up the plants - shoddily at best and set them aside. When we looked at the plants we realized they had cut through the root structure so they could just get them out for the way - As they begin to lay the foundation for the extension, we noticed that the bricks that were picked out DO NOT MATCH the existing house at all - not even close. My wife had to go out to tell them to stop what they were doing until we could get it worked out with Glen - Their answer, of course, was, "it's not our fault" - after a few calls to Glen, he and his "foreman" (and I use that term so loosely it's not even funny) came out and saw that this was the case. After going back and forth with brick company they claim that they found the correct brick and the brick masons started over. Framing came next and we thought everything was going smoothly until the trim guys were here installing our tongue and groove ceiling and they noticed that the newly framed walls were not square. In fact they were so far out of square that the walls were actually bowed where you could visually see it - no string or level was needed. Once this was discovered the "foreman" kept calling the framers to tell them how to fix it and the painters (Yes, PAINTERS) would show up and stare at the wall for a little while, scrape at the drywall and tap it with a hammer to try to make the wall straight. The "Foreman" would pop by every morning, shake his head and tell us that he told the framers how to fix it. Yet again, painters would show up and have no clue what they were there to fix. As they didn't speak any english, it was very difficult for anyone to tell them what needed to be done. As that was going on, they decided to install the hardwood floor that we picked out. It was then that we realized the cement floor that the "brick Masons" laid, was not level and left a rather large hump in the floor. So, as you walked across the hardwoods, they would bounce up and down by a large amount. Glen came back out and we had to show him with a level what we were talking about. Glen actually looked at us and told us that all of these discrepancies were within tolerances - WHAT?? There were numerous attempts made to level the concrete, even to the point of bringing in a grinder to try to level the floor. After many attempts, they finally got the floor to a point where we were ok with it. So they reinstalled the hardwoods. At this time, they were still trying to figure out how to fix both outside walls to make them straight, all the while they are bringing in ladders and moving stuff around and guess what? They scratched the **** out of the hardwood floors. We had pleaded with Mr. "Foreman" to not put the floor down until everything else was complete, to no avail. Glen or Mr. Foreman" would tell us that the walls were fixed and we would have to wait for them to show up so we could pull out our levels to show them that they weren't. You would think that if a customer is telling you somethings not right that when you showed up you would bring your own level or tape measure to use - but nope - we supplied the tools. They re-framed the back of our fireplace box as well - want to guess what that looked like when they were "done"? Right, not one part of it was straight. the walls bowed out on both sides and they had to rip it down and start again. When the painters were there, they stayed so late that they were painting by the light of their cell phones because there wasn't any power to that room yet. We have pictures and videos to document ALL of this - it was just a bunch of circus monkeys, one after another that showed up here to work. When the walls were finally 'close enough', we gave them the go ahead to complete the ceiling. Once the ceiling went up, there were gaps between the ceiling and the walls - in some areas the gaps were quite large. We asked what could be done about that and got the blank stare. Finally they decided it would be best to throw a piece of trim up there between the ceiling and the wall to hide the gap that they just couldn't get fixed. With the trim in place, we still had plenty of gaps and quite frankly, it looked like crap. So they decided that a bigger piece of moulding, crown moulding, should be used to alleviate the gap. We agreed to that fix and up went the crown. We still have gaps between the ceiling and the walls. And we were tired of everyone standing around scratching their heads, not knowing how to make it right. this project was supposed to be 10-12 weeks but went WAY beyond that estimate. There were weeks at a time when no one showed up. The 'finish carpenters' would show up in our driveway and sit in their truck for up to 40 minutes before they made their way back to the worksite. And I think only once did they work 8 hours. Most days they were here for 3 hours at a time and then they would disappear. The shingles that they put on the roof "weren't even close to matching the existing house" as our roofer put it. We had to have our entire roof replaced and the roofer asked us who did that section cause it "wasn't even close." If you stand outside and look at the bricks, they don't match either. they have grooves in them where the existing bricks do not. We asked in the beginning to give us heat and air in this room. Instead of bringing in an HVAC guy to see what was needed, they ran undersized ducts to the room and the system can not pump enough air or heat into there to make a difference. We had to bring in our own HVAC company and we'll be spending an additional 3.5 - 4k to have this fixed. Heck, the door to the outside is so hard to close and lock that we try not to use it until I can get someone out here to fix it. When the final accounting showed up, Glenn was trying to charge us for supervisor time for the period when no work was being done and he was trying to charge us for their efforts made to fix the issues they created. the only thing he did right was offer to replace the hardwood flooring that his guys tore up. But to bill us for the crown molding that was put up to cover up their poor craftsmanship? Or to bill us for having the framers (painters really) come out to fix the bowed walls that they haphazardly built in the first place? He claims that his books are open but when you try to compare charges from him you better be well versed in finance. They use an estimate system that doesn't line up with the actual charges that they send you every month. it is very difficult to reconcile. He claimed we made a lot of changes and thats why there were overages yet, we never saw a change order of any type. We even made concessions from the original estimate to try to keep our costs lower but Glen found a way to take those saves and incorporate them into his labor costs. Needless to say, nothing came in under budget. the labor costs are extremely hard to validate as he just takes the word of the "foreman" as to who worked, when and for how long. We use our room, and we try to look away from the obvious frustrations that we still have with it. But we were totally soured of ever doing a Remodeling project again - this was, by far, the worst experience wow have ever had hiring a Company to do work for us. Your mileage may vary but you've been warned. Oh and, if you'd like to see the pictures, videos or the accounting of finances, feel free to pop us a line. We'd be happy to show you.

Description of Work
We had a screened in porch converted to a sunroom

Category remodeling,roofing,replacement windows,sunrooms

Cost $41,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2018

2.0

04/05/2018


Stephen M.

Very negative experience with CCI and their owner Glenn Wise. Our rehab project went $20,000 and 2.5 months over the original estimate, with no communication about either even when requested. When I demanded an actual update after four months (a little over when the project was supposed to be completed), I was given a half-filled in spreadsheet and told, “You can insert the percentage complete to adjust the numbers, I've entered the things I know of and you can use it to adjust things that you know of.” Basically asking us to track the project ourselves. We would go for a week or two at a time without seeing anyone on the project, and the smaller tasks were the ones that seemed to take the longest. Although some of their guys did some good work, other results were of much lower quality (i.e. sloppy paint job that we had to fix, HVAC not properly installed, new kitchen plumbing majorly leaking into crawlspace). We then got double charged for fixing these mistakes. Our project manager was switched after a few months without any warning or notice, which led to many details getting lost and mistakes being made. When we expressed some concerns to Glenn after the project was complete, he provided some very creative change orders to justify his numbers (and requested that we sign them weeks after the whole project was completed) and insisted that everything looked good and was properly managed. We hired CCI to reduce the stress of the project, but it ultimately would have been less stressful to manage it ourselves. I had assumed that the contractor would keep track of their work and try to stick to their estimates, at least informing us if there were major adjustments, but I was mistaken. Hard to tell in the end whether it was dishonesty or just incompetence. Would not hire again.

Description of Work
Rehabbing a home built in 1968

Category remodeling

Cost $87,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/27/2018

Service Provider Response

We never want to see a client walk away unhappy and feel they received a negative experience. In this case and after reviewing our project calendar which notes the "start date", the job was delivered one week late, not two and a half months, and it was under budget after all the changes made by the customer were taken into consideration. We would be more than happy to sit down with this customer and go through the numbers in person to show that the project was not $20,000 over budget. The customer established the scope on this project and then decided to have us complete some of the work he initially told us that he was going to do himself. This customer acknowledged in a face to face meeting that he did in fact make all the changes and that he was keeping up with the costs as best as he could, and he was provided invoices every two weeks. The finished product was of good quality and the project went smoothly until it came time to pay the last invoice. We have not charged him duplicate charges and we offer all customers access to supporting documents of all costs incurred throughout the project. We make every effort to capture all costs in the original estimate; however, as the project progresses and customers make changes we cannot provide these at no extra cost. Doing so would put us out of business. We should have provided this customer with written change orders more quickly, and not relied on verbal exchanges or our perception of understanding. That is being corrected and we appreciate that feedback.
5.0

01/03/2018


Jennifer S.

Workers were professional and completed the project in a reasonable amount of time. Ken was always available to answer any questions or concerns.

Description of Work
Construct 2 interior walls to make an extra room, with additional outlets, closet, etc.

Category remodeling

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

08/16/2017


Sameer P.

Glenn and Ken and their crew: Kenny & Larry were outstanding. They took care of every detail, they would update you on schedule which is important for home improvement project as different skilled workers come at different times. Overall very satisfied with the work done.

Description of Work
Build storage room in attic space.

Category remodeling

Cost $7,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/16/2017

5.0

08/04/2017


Cynthia T.

The project went very smooth. All of the contractors subs were great to work with and very polite. They had excellent craftsmanship and were quick to get their trades done.

Description of Work
We added an addition on the house. Approx. 14x16 room.

Category remodeling,sunrooms

Cost $24,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2017

Images

Review for Carolina Contracting & Investments Inc - 1632 Village Harbor Dr, Clover, SC - 35969463

+1 More

5.0

06/06/2017


Blakely I.

We enjoyed working with Carolina Contracting and Investments. The contractors that they brought on were courteous and professional and did excellent quality work. The end result exceeded our expectations. We would like to work with them on projects in the future.

Description of Work
We added a beverage center into our basement and converted a bathroom door into a barn door.

Category remodeling,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2017

5.0

06/04/2017


Charles C.

Great! Ken Starr, our Project Leader, was wonderful to work with and kept us in the loop. All the Contractors were so professional and although, we didn't reside here during the remodel, I came over everyday and brought our dog, Maxine, to stay here while I had appointments and ran errands. You realize you are working with great folks when they love on your dog! She loved all the guys and all the belly rubs! I especially appreciated Kenny and Larry for their overall expertise on all the areas of our remodel. They both educated and reassured me throughout the process. They were a joy to have around. Anytime I had a question, they were here to answer all my concerns. The Painters led by Carlos were so great to work with, the Electrician, Jonathan Medlin, was awesome and helped me pick out a suitable exterior ceiling fan for our front porch, Jody, the Tile Guy was always concerned that I would like the grout color and even held up a day so I could come by and check it out. We now have a totally remodeled home much more functional than I would have ever imagined! Thank you all, Sandra C.

Description of Work
Total Interior Remodel of home built in the 1930's. Also, two bedrooms converted to a Master Suite with WIC and 2 additional closets, New HVAC, Windows and Exterior Window Trim Replaced, Huge Deck with Atrium Door leading from 2nd Bedroom.

Category decks,remodeling,replacement windows,home remodeling,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2018

5.0

03/16/2017


Brian H.

Overall, the experience was great. The process started with the President/Owner, Glenn Wise, coming out to do an evaluation and quote the project. He was very professional and insightful. We had a total of four contractors quote our project and ended up selecting Carolina Contracting and Investments, Inc. We got assigned Ken Starr as our project manager and he was extremely accessible and helpful throughout the whole process, at times going above and beyond the call of duty to make sure that things were done in a timely manner and to our satisfaction. The whole team from demo to touch up was first class. The group is very well networked within the community and they will work to get you the great prices you want and also to bring together a team of trustworthy professionals that give you peace of mind you are seeking as a homeowner.

Description of Work
Master bathroom renovation.

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2017

Images

Review for Carolina Contracting & Investments Inc - 1632 Village Harbor Dr, Clover, SC - 34619977

+1 More

5.0

03/15/2017


Nathan M.

Went great. Was done on time and on budget.

Description of Work
Sheetrock, framing, demo of existing walls, insulation, painting

Category remodeling,interior painters

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/08/2017

5.0

01/26/2017


Frank S.

Met our expectations, all work was completed on time and on budget. Follow thru was excellent.

Description of Work
Built custom home,approx 4600 sq ft.

Category remodeling,roofing,replacement windows,garage builders,home builders,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2016

5.0

05/22/2016


Kendra S.

Before the job began he came out and did an estimate. I like that he listens to what we want to do and offers suggestions of things he has done for other clients. When the work started, we were very pleased with the progress of the work. The demolition went quick. The job moved forward every day. We were kept up to date with progress and when anyone else would be coming to our home to do work. We are extremely happy with our new updated master bath.

Description of Work
We had our master bathroom completely redone. Replacing toilet, vanities, flooring, removed tub and did a stand up shower.

Category home remodeling

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2016

5.0

05/20/2016


Ashley R.

The cabinetry is beautiful- Aaron was able to recreate the design in my head from a drawing and a couple of iPhone photos. He built two sets of cabinetry to fill in two nooks in my living room to surround the fireplace. My wife and I could not be more pleased with the result. The materials he used were excellent and his attention to detail was fantastic. Installation was non-intrusive as well. He was able to install and adjust the cabinets without making a huge mess, and he was respectful of our time. Would definitely use his services again.

Description of Work
Installed built in cabinetry in our living room.

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Cost $3,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2016

5.0

05/19/2016


April M.

Aaron was awesome to work with. Just like working with someone in your family. He was able to fulfill all of our requests because he is able to build anything and everything. He is very knowledgeable about construction and he does top notch work. He has great attention to detail and will make sure it is exactly what you want. We were extremely happy with everything that he did. He's the only person we ever call to do anything in our home.

Description of Work
Aaron was the contractor and builder for our complete renovation of our house. This included the entire interior and everything under the house in the crawl space. This included tearing out walls, complete gut down to the studs and floor joists in the kitchen and bathrooms, replacing subfloor & joists, insulation, plumbing, and HVAC. Also included, building a fireplace, replacing all windows and doors, building better layout, resurfacing ceilings to be smooth, all new flooring, lighting, cabinetry, and shower.

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/30/2014

5.0

05/19/2016


Gene H.

Everything was performed on time and we are extremely happy to have had Ken as our contractor.

Description of Work
Contractor of record on making structural repairs to our home after suv hit our home.

Category remodeling,home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2015

5.0

05/19/2016


Jose W.

We were able to stay in contact with Ken or Glen throughout the entire process and they answered all of our questions. We were very pleased with all the work from the different trades That came through... All very knowledgeable and professional...I would truly recommend these guys for any remodel or new building projects... These guys are very easy to work with and extremely fair in pricing!!

Description of Work
CCI Did the work in our home in Gastonia... We had most of our home renovated... Kitchen and baths... Also a new garage apartment...

Category remodeling,garage builders,home builders,home remodeling,sunrooms,basement remodeling,patios

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/16/2016

5.0

05/06/2016


gary M.

This was a major remodeling. House built in 1954, abandoned the last 5 years. Everything was addressed - roof, windows, floors, insulation, siding, hvac, plumbing, electrical. We had special requests for interior trim and kitchen. These guys are high quality and high integrity. Subs they use are the same, I got along with all of them. Major remodels are one of the most potentially controversial transactions you can be involved with - there are always surprises, issues, misunderstanding. What you want is someone who is reasonable, with high integrity, and who wants to give you what you want and make it right. These guys do that. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Whole house remodel.

Category remodeling

Cost $100,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2015