Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning

Founded 1999 • With Angi since April 2010

4.4

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1903 Whitehall Rd

Anderson, SC 29625

Description

C&L Services is a family owned and operated heating and air business that has been proudly serving upstate South Carolina since 1999! We are Anderson's only Independent HVAC contractor to offer you both Trane and Lennox premium quality products. At C&L Services, our team is dedicated to providing

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Hamilton D.
4.0
08/04/2017
They are pretty good. They are set up to come out twice a year.
Description of Work
They performed a spring/summer check up.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Mike W.
5.0
04/24/2017
Units were installed and ductwork modified. Both units were checked out after installation and the gas furnace was found to have a bad circuit card which they replaced before leaving.
Description of Work
Replaced AC and gas furnace to handle room addition
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Tony M.
5.0
04/12/2017
I got an estimate when I noticed the unit was running excessively and would soon fail. C&L provided a written estimate and we paid a deposit to order the part. The install was scheduled for the following Friday but the unit finally quit on Tuesday, I called and they were able to move it up to Thursday. There was some discrepancy with the cost of Freon but the installer honored the price quoted when I showed him the estimate. Overall good job done quickly and working well ever since.
Description of Work
We had to have the A-coil replaced in our heat pump.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
STEPHEN W.
5.0
11/07/2016
Timely, professional, polite, and cost effective. Couldn't have asked for more.
Description of Work
New installation of a packaged HVAC system with gas pack.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Paul C.
5.0
10/21/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Christina F.
5.0
08/01/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jason S.
1.0
09/28/2015
Don't, just don't. When our unit was installed they left our gas line unattached. It was weeks before we discovered this. It was fixed, but not before our gas bill went way up for the month. At our 6 month service time, I scheduled a service date while I was at work. Fast forward to last week and at our house closing we called for a final service and inspection and were informed that we didn't return their call and set up the first service and that the services for free were voided because it had been a year. I informed the office assistant that it was scheduled and after being talked over and told they write down everything she refused to reinstate our free service calls and basically insinuated that I was making it all up. My husband called back and spoke to the office supervisor and he agreed to a one time free service. The day they came, they left a rude message before coming and left an inspection paper stating that because we didn't have the regular service (that was scheduled and never completed by them), that we need a cleaning service that they only want $385 to do. We, of course, called another company to get another quote. The other company said that service was part of a normal service call 2 times per year and will only charge $140 for TWO service calls with this cleaning included. C&L has horrible service and will stick it to you if you stand up for yourself!
Description of Work
Final inspection before sale. Issues since installation!
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JEFF C.
5.0
07/22/2015
unknown
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Bobby C.
5.0
06/11/2015
unknown
Description of Work
REMOVED AND REPLACED AIR C.CONDITIONER.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
James B.
5.0
05/04/2015
Waiting for spec sheet and price.
Description of Work
Need 2nd opinion on status of furnace. Guy took my under the house to show me what he was talking about. No bull, told me what he saw, pointed it out and multiple other problems that had been there for maybe years, all while I had someone else supposed to be doing 2x year checks. Showed me exposed wires, clogged drains, shoddy jerry rigged junk. Sadly, it made sense to me. Guy does not seem like BS artist. When I asked him how I could know I could trust him, he offered my money back, if I got another heating and air man out to reported differently, then took me under the house to show me what he had taken photos of with his phone. I asked for spec sheet on units, showed him competitor's spec sheets. Told me this was high end stuff. Said there was balance point after which you are throwing money away. I understand. Waiting for his spec sheet.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jerry B.
5.0
06/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Replaced control board on a/c unit
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
David P.
4.0
03/31/2014
unknown
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Harold K.
3.0
03/25/2014
.
Description of Work
I have used them for cleaning and service for a couple years, and thought the service was ok, but when I have called recently with questions, they did not return the call. I called again, and they said that they would have someone call to give me the information I was looking for, but that never happened, so I made the purchase from someone else.
Category
air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

I am sorry if you never received a call back [Member name removed], but I think you are mistaken, because I am the owner and after being in business for going on 16 years we have NEVER done duct cleaning. We have NEVER even owned a duct cleaning machine. We do however give customers a few names and phone numbers of local businesses that do indeed do duct cleaning when we are asked about it. I see and review every single thing that goes on in my business and am readily available at all times as I work 5 days a week here at my office. I wished you would have called and asked to speak to me or either came by as we routinely have walk in customers on a daily basis and I would have been able to address you concerns, instead you chose to go on the internet and bash my business. How would you like it if I were to come to your place of work and downgrade you to your boss or coworkers, without ever speaking to you directly beforehand? We pride ourselves on always maintaining a superior customer satisfaction rating and I am sorry to hear that you were not happy. If you ever need to contact me in the future ,my office is just a phone call away. Thanks
Mike G.
1.0
07/21/2013
We had an issue with our A/C and called Cand L who put 6 pounds of freon in a unit at $80 a pound (they upcharge for EVERYTHING on a weekend call). They diagnosed one system was probably low on freon and thought it may need a recharge of freon and asked if we wanted to run a leak test (at another $169) so we went ahead and charged the unit with freon at a cost of over $500. At this time they said the second unit simply needed a capacitor. A few days later the unit with capacitor quit working, called them again, this time it was a fan motor that was bad, so they replaced it (for another $300). They left equipment attached to this unit and called back and made up an excuse that they needed to come back to house to get serial number off of fan motor. Original unit was also blowing warm a few days later so, not trusting Cand L we used Angie's List to choose an alternate provider to come out and perform leak test. Evaporator coil was completely eroded and competing co made a comment as to why Cand L would put 6 pounds of freon into a unit without stressing the need for a leak test. I called Cand L and was told "yes, we usually wont put more than 3 lbs in without stressing the need for a leak test". The technician most certainly did not identify a leak, he just pushed freon into a system that was completely eroded. In addition they never provided any proof or gauges to determine if in fact they put 6 lbs or 1 lbs of freon into the system. It was based solely on the technician's estimate. We called the original Cand L tech a couple times and asked for him by the name he gave us when he arrived, and he acted like it was not his name. Bottom line is, we spent $1000 with Cand L for them to put freon into a system that had a massive hole in it. The amount of freon they added should have prpmpted them to look at it closer rather than taking our $$. We ended up replacing the entire system ( after getting proposals from 6 other companies other than Cand L ) with a system from Stiles who did a fantastic job. Cand L offers the $50 service call fee but in my opinion, they will more than make up for that lower service call fee in the price of their other services. EVERY other vendor I called did not upcharge their cost of freon for weekend calls. All of the above is
Description of Work
Recharged one unit with freon, replaced capacitor and fan motor on other unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

First off, of course we charge overtime rates for weekend calls we have to pay OT to our employees, and we don't upcharge EVERYTHING. Our service call remains $50 regardless of what day it is (feel free to compare the going rate on a service call which is anywhere between $85-$120). Next, 90% of the companies in town charge over $80 per lb for Freon on a normal workday, where we only charge $50. After identifying how low the Freon charge on your unit was you WERE offered a leak search but you DECLINED IT saying you just wanted to add Freon to it at this time (we always offer leak searches and write it on all invoices whether or not it was offered and or declined) and you signed the invoice saying you declined it so we simply done what you asked us to do knowing fully what the prices were BEFORE we did any work. We also always weigh in the Freon so we know exactly how much was used, which is more than I can say for a lot of other companies in town. By us weighing it in, we never short our self or the customer because with scales there is no gray area. The unit needing the fan capacitor on it was not running, once we replaced the fan capacitor it came right on and was running fine. Although the fan motor was pulling a higher than normal amp draw, you were notified of this and told that you may have to replace the fan motor at some point due to possible overheating and lockout caused by the high amp draw. You said we will just "wait and see" how it goes and that was that. We never try to sell anyone any part that is not currently bad, thus we replaced only the capacitor at this time. One last thing, we keep files on EVERY customer that we have and have a copy of ALL invoices associated with that customer as well as notes any time someone calls back in with a problem and in looking at your file I see NOTHING but 2 invoices where we came out to put in Freon and one for a new fan motor. No notes or addendums where you called in ,not even once, about having issues with work that we done at your home. Were sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with what we done but if you will check the invoices that YOU signed you will clearly see that you were made aware of your big Freon leak and also offered a leak search but declined, and you will also see that you were told about the fan motor pulling a higher than normal amp draw and not running within specifications. All you had to do was call our office and speak with the owner and i'm sure we could have cleared up all your concerns. Instead you say you "tried calling the technician" instead. I will be happy to email or fax you both copies of the SIGNED invoices where you were made fully aware of everything going on with your systems. I don't see how we could be at fault in any way after YOU chose to just have the Freon filled in your unit rather than have us do a full leak search while we were at your home. You were offered it and you declined. We work for the customer and we give advice and opinions on what should be done but in the end we can only do what the customer wants done.
Christina F.
5.0
07/01/2013
I purchased the Maintenance contract in the fall, it includes the fall and spring tune ups so the spring did not cost me anything. Travis checked both units completely and made sure I was satisfied if the quality of the work before he left. I would recommend them to anyone looking for an honest company to hire.
Description of Work
Spring/Summer maintenance on my two Trane AC units.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Matthew R.
5.0
08/13/2012
I made the appointment on Monday, Jul 30 and scheduled it for Thursday August 2nd for 8am. I had to take off work that morning to make the appointment. Around 7:45 I received a call saying they couldn't make it due to an elderly couple having an emergency (while I cannot say this was true or false, I had no reason at this time to doubt them). They rescheduled for the next day at 11am. Needless to say I was late for work by about 45 minutes after they rescheduled. The next day the repairman showed up and was very prompt, friendly, and professional. He told me the work he was going to do and wanted me to show him any issues I knew of. The service took about 2 hours and before he did anything I would be charged for, he let me know how much it would cost. My A/C units needed freon about 5lbs of it and that stuff is not cheap! However, this is of no fault of Cand L Services as I looked around for similar prices of freon and the price was about the same everywhere. They had a great deal on yearly maintenance, which I signed up for and they will return in the fall/winter to do a check on the heating system. Be sure to check their websites for any specials they are running as they have some good coupons that help out here and there for services they provide.
Description of Work
Routine maintenance and unclogging of an AC drainage pipe.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
michael C.
1.0
05/16/2012
Come to
Description of Work
The service tech came out to check my heat. After inspecting the unit I was told that It would be 750.00 for a new control board. Also I was told that I have the most expensive type. I agreed to have the work done and he left a bill with model numbers of the parts I needed. I then went on the internet and found the parts I needed for approx 200.00. I then call another service provider and got a second opinion. Come to find out the control board was not bad and only needed a sensor to be sanded lightly to remove carbon build up. He charged me 60.00. Needless to say I canceled my services with C&L services. He did not diagnose my problem correctly and went straight to the most expensive option. Don"t be ripped off. Shop around
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
John D.
5.0
03/30/2012
I really like this company, my experience with them was excellent and I will continue to use them.
Description of Work
I went to C&L Heating and Air Conditioning for routine maintenance on my air conditioner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Bobby C.
5.0
02/09/2012
This was a very good experience and I have recommended them several times over these past few months.
Description of Work
These guys were great. They arrived about 9AM to install a gas pack. They removed the old unit and installed the new one. They stayed until the job was completed around 9PM that night. Carl and the installation crew were very professional. They cleaned up before they left. Everything was done properly.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Clifton L.
5.0
12/11/2011
On Sunday morning, the furnace air handler would respond to thermostat, but no hot air. Called Cand L and left a message. Carl promptly returned my call that afternoon. An appointment was scheduled. Carl arrived promptly, diagnosed the problem and called the furnace manufacturer to see if the part would be covered under warranty. Since part was covered, he ordered from the distribution center and had the part shipped asap. Everything installed and working great.
Description of Work
No hot air coming from the furnace. Air handler working fine, just no heat. Heat exchanger was burnt out needed replacement.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
RICH O.
3.0
09/19/2011
The leak in the condenser was the condensation from the HVAC in it. I could have found it myself but I just did not know where to look. So the guy found it. I was not happy with that because they tried to take advantage of me financially. The guy wrote me a bill for $225. My wife was home and she would have gone ahead and written that check. I questioned the guy and I could tell that guy was real nervous and immediately brought it down to $100. He brought it down from $225 to $100 like that. Obviously he knew he was raking me over the coal. He did his job in locating the leak but that is all he did and $50 was diagnostic fee which applies to the visit also. Then He said it is $100 an hour on top of that. But he just came over and spent less than an hour at the house. Basically he found the location of the leak and put the p.v.c pipe back into where it should be. That was all and it took the guy less than an hour and $225 for that. I could tell that he was really nervous. I hate to say but my wife needs me home when any service guy comes in for work. Most women are like her. They don't know and they would give the money. I think I get a better feel when I am taken advantage of and when I am not. I know the general idea of how much things cost and there is no way under an hour of work and helping to locate a leak would be $225. I don't want to trash the company because maybe it is just one guy. As for quality there was not a whole lot of work but the guy did find the leak and put the pipe back in. What I am wondering is how many people especially housewives has this guy raked over the coals. My guess is that this is an old hat for the guy. He does this kind of thing quite a bit. What he hopes for is the person does not question him and hands him the check. I will not use him again.
Description of Work
I used C&L Services Heating and Air Conditioning a couple of months ago to locate a leak in the condenser.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
David K.
5.0
07/10/2011
Excellent, Ryan arrived early, was quite personable, maintained, cleaned, inspected and evaluated my Heating and Cooling System. In the end Ryan cleaned up as if he were never here. The system is working better than ever.
Description of Work
The technician Ryan came to the appointment early (when does a contractor come to an appointment early?) and just got started. His service went above and beyond the maintenance I paid for, including evaluating my A/C system, and cleaning to try and improve efficiency. Ryan even recoiled my hose when he was done, and cleaned up as if he were never here. If I could give them an A+ I would. I would highly recommend C&L Services, for $174/year completely maintain, and even do minor repairs on my 2 household HVAC systems.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Member - Thank you so much for your kind words. Ryan is an exceptional service technician, as you now know. We are very lucky to have him as part of our team here at C&L Services HVAC! We hope you enjoy your Summer... Say Cool!
Mark B.
5.0
06/28/2011
They charged me $115 for that service. I was very pleased with them. They were very courteous, quick and they did very well. I found them on the list.
Description of Work
I used C&L Services Heating and Air Conditioning last Friday and they repaired my heating and air-conditioning unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Member, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are happy that your system is up and running great! Have a Super Summer... and Stay Cool!
sandra P.
5.0
02/25/2011
very good customer service, prompt, tidy, addressed any questions or concerns, excellent financing, my Duke Power bill is already showing great savings, house is much warmer. Would use this company again.
Description of Work
downstairs heat pump and air handler replace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
DAVID B.
5.0
08/28/2010
The quote up front was competitive versus other quotes I received. C&L kept me informed of manufacturer rebates and took care of registering for the South Carolina rebates for my systems. The installation was done on schedule and quickly with all items installed in one day. The workmanship was very good. One minor problem was followed up immediately by C&L the same morning we called them.
Description of Work
C&L installed a Lennox downstairs packaged HVAC and an upstairs split system as well as a Noritz tankless water heater. C&L was working for Home Depot who I contacted for the initial quote.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Bentley's Heating & Air

    Bentley's Heating and Air has been serving the upstate since 1991. A recent winner of the 2013 Better Business Integrity Award shows that we strive for Excellency and 100% satisfaction. We are skilled in all aspects of the heating and cooling business. We sell and service all makes and models. There is never a job too big or too small. Mention Angie's list for a special discount!.  

    Angi Certified

    Surface Bella, LLC

    Surface Bella is a home remodeling contractor specializing in bathrooms, windows, and porches, patios, and decks. We are a licensed full service remodeling contractor. Estimates and design consultations are always free.  

    Angi Certified

    Dipple Plumbing, Electrical, Heating & Air

    Courteous, speedy service + 24-hour emergency service from our experienced plumbers, electricians & heating and air conditioning service technicians—Dipple is your one-stop shop. If your energy bills are getting higher and the temperature is heading the wrong direction, we can help with our HVAC or $79 furnace tune-up specials. We also offer comprehensive plumbing and electrical services. We offer plumbing, electrical, and heating and air services that can fit any budget. We are currently offering financing on new Lennox HVAC systems: up to 60 months with no interest! And ask about our exclusive Comfort Assurance Plan, which provides special benefits and up to 20% off on services. Call us today to schedule your estimate!  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    HVAC, Heating, Air Conditioning, Ductwork, Split System, Package Systems, Heat Pumps, Air Cleaners, Thermostat, Furnace, Gas Pack, Installation, Maintenance, Repair, Water Heaters

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning

    How is C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning overall rated?

    C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning open?

    C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 AM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 AM

    What payment options does C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning provide

    C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning offer free estimates?

    Yes, C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning offers free project estimates.

    Does C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning offer emergency services?

    Yes, C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning?

    Yes, C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning offers warranties.

    What services does C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning offer?

    C&L Services Heating & Air Conditioning offers the following services: HVAC, Heating, Air Conditioning, Ductwork, Split System, Package Systems, Heat Pumps, Air Cleaners, Thermostat, Furnace, Gas Pack, Installation, Maintenance, Repair, Water Heaters