Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Harth Builders

Founded 1996 • With Angi since February 2006

Awarded Best of Houzz for 2015, 2014 & 2013, given to only 4% of Houzz professionals! Harth Builders is a nationally recognized, award winning, residential design-build remodeling firm serving Eastern Montgomery and Central Bucks counties in the Philadelphia suburbs. With a creative design team that includes architects, engineers, interior designers and contractors, we help our clients bring concept to reality while being mindful of their construction budget. Over 45 years ago, after serving his country as a Marine and veteran of the Korean War, Allyn Harth chose to make homebuilding his life's work. So when he founded Harth Builders in 1996, he began with a long-held belief taught to him by his years of experience – that it takes not only the highest levels of experience, quality, workmanship, service and design to make a home special, but also a personal touch. That is why every project we design and build incorporates each client's own ideas, personalities and dreams. It is the crucial difference between creating a house and "a home with heart." And it is the foundation on which our company continues to build its reputation. Today, Harth Builders is managed by Allyn and his son, Greg. Together, they represent more than 53 years of experience in remodeling and residential, light commercial, and heavy civil construction. Both father and son hold BS degrees in engineering (industrial and civil.) We employ a staff of loyal employees and have nurtured strong professional relationships with a core group of subcontractors over the years. From design and remodeling to additions and custom finishing work, we've got the reputation and the expertise to get the job done beautifully.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
satisfaction
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(23) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-23 of 23 reviews
Jeremy K.
5.0
09/25/2017
Great work and fast
Description of Work
Garage door replacement
Category
garage doors
Joel W.
5.0
11/25/2015
.
Description of Work
.
Category
home remodeling, foundation repair
Wendy A.
5.0
10/14/2015
unknown
Category
home remodeling
Kaia C.
5.0
01/23/2015
They have a very highly developed process in terms of design, scheduling, etc. They stick to their timeline and have a great design team. They make several site visits and meet with the client several times before they start. They're very punctual, considerate, and communicative. They do wonderful, creative work!
Description of Work
They've done a lot of remodeling work for us. Most recently, we had them do a new closet and install new kitchen cabinets. They put in a pocket door with a wall and a wall in the basement too.
Category
contractors, closet systems, remodeling, home remodeling
Randall B.
3.0
01/02/2015
Dealt with them several times on smaller projects. Very professional and good work. However, each time I got competitive quotes for medium or larger projects they came in much higher. I have no doubt that they do good work but they are 25%+ higher than other quotes. I had them come out to give me ideas and ball park estimate on doing a major remodel of our bathroom...they came out and took measurements then never heard from them...I finally contacted them and they said it would be $500 to sit down and review the concepts. I told them I just wanted a general view of what could be done and approximate costs (i.e. no drawings) but they would not do anything without the $500.
Description of Work
Took measurements for a bathroom remodel.
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your perspective and feedback. While we were disappointed when we did not perform work for you on your kitchen or master bathroom, we heard you inform us we were within 5% of the original larger design-build firm you ultimately chose. We also heard your express your disappointment that the firm chosen took twice as long as promised to complete the kitchen addition project. We also heard that they did not have any employees onsite daily (other than management) so it was difficult to get them to complete some of the work. We are not the least expensive on the front end, but will always be the least expensive when you consider the cost of rework that wasn't done properly the first time or considering changes after the fact that clients wished they knew about at the beginning. We have 21 employees that ensure we can address personnel changes, resource allocation as project schedules require and timely completion of projects. It is one of the reasons we are on our 5th, 6th and 7th projects for a lot of our clients. We find repeat business the ultimate compliment and 75% of our business is repeat or referral from past clients. In regards to the master bathroom, we never quoted the bathroom, only provided an Opinion of Probable Cost (+/- 20% range) that is based on other projects of similar size and scope. We have no idea what the exact bathroom costs might be until we explore what is possible and educate our clients through a consultative based Design Process. This normally takes 6 to 12 weeks for a typical Master Bathroom/Suite and helps show spatial plans, tile and cabinetry elevations, and 3d perspectives of what it will look like BEFORE we have constructed it. We find the Design-Build process the BEST WAY to ensure we are meeting or exceeding our clients expectations and helping them determine what the right answer to their remodeling project might be. Ultimately, we want to make our clients homes their favorite place to be. Our website (www.harthbuilders.com) explains our process and how to start a conversation.
David S.
5.0
09/15/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Currently getting ready to break ground for home addition. Everything so far is going very well.
Category
home remodeling
Harry L.
5.0
07/28/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Actual service was 2009 but dates don't go back that far. They reinforced garage and one bedroom's roof with additional beams and new sheathing. They then replaced the roofing on the whole house. The craftsmanship on the whole job is excellent. They are very easy to work with. | |They are not the lowest price vendor and they collect progress payments often. | |Overall, if you want top quality work, Harth will deliver it.
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [member name removed! We appreciate your review. Glad to hear your roof is still holding up well!
Roger H.
5.0
01/29/2014
I spoke to Allyn Harth over the phone and met with his son Greg at my house concerning renovation work over a year ago. Greg was on time and had a nice presentation and both he and his father are quite professional. Greg followed up with me over a period of several months and even was willing to make suggestions and answer some questions about building products without Harth Builders even being under contract with me. This was extremely impressive to me seeing that due to their reputation Harth Builders is probably never slow with their workload and that many other contractors do not even return phone calls much less keep in touch with prospective clients. Harth has an interior design and architectural design team on staff that can provide full finish selection, construction documentation, and 3D CAD renderings and they even publish a periodic newsletter with articles on their latest projects and house renovation issues. Unfortunately, the scope of my project was reduced due to my budget to the point that I did not feel I needed to engage a design build company such as Harth Builders. However, based on my experience I would not hesitate to recommend Harth Builders to anyone in need of the services of a residential design build company.
Description of Work
Consultation on home renovation work.
Category
home remodeling
Kay P.
1.0
07/23/2013
unknown
Description of Work
I wanted them to come out and do some bathroom remodeling work for me. I called them over and over and left messaged, but they never called me back.
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

(member name removed), I am so sorry you feel like you have not been responded to. We have not received any messages from you (to my knowledge). We strive to return ALL phone calls and inquiries within 24 hours and would have especially done so if you called in again. Are you sure you are calling our office number? (215) 654-0364. Please call us on Monday or Tuesday with your information and we can have a conversation regarding your remodeling.
Lisa C.
5.0
07/18/2013
Our kitchen could not have turned out better. Harth Builders was involved in every aspect of the kitchen remodel. They are a design/build contractor. We met with Greg Harth, his designer and architect to come up with a plan for our kitchen. They have a very thorough design process which allowed us to express what we wanted and needed in our kitchen and then Harth Builders came up with creative solutions and a plan that exceeded our expectations. Throughout the project, Greg and his entire staff were courteous and professional. We had a project manager that met with us weekly to update us on our project to make sure the project was on track. Harth Builders did an excellent job scheduling every aspect of our kitchen remodel and our project was completed in a timely manner. From start to finish, we had great communication with everyone we came into contact with and felt Harth provided a level of customer service that is hard to find. They even put a copy of their mission statement up in our kitchen during our project which I thought was great. The lead carpenter on our project did a fantastic job and kept us informed on every aspect of the project as it was happening. In addition, the people who were at our house on a day to day basis could not have been more organized or neat. Each day, they left our kitchen as clean and tidy as possible during the entire project. They made a concerted effort to minimize the dust in our house. We have always been impressed with how clean and organized the remodeling process is when Harth is on the job In addition, Harth provides a two year warranty period in which Greg Harth personally calls every six months to check up on the project. We have had a couple of small items that needed to be fixed and they were completed without any problems at all.. We are very pleased with how our kitchen turned out and I am sure we will use Harth Builders in the future.
Description of Work
Harth Builders has done many projects for us but the last one they did was our kitchen. They completely remodeled the kitchen improving the layout, function and quality of our kitchen.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Barbara C.
5.0
07/11/2013
Other than problems with the manufacturer of the cabinets and the counter top, everything went as smoothly as possible. We were impressed with the professionalism and concern for our inconvenience by the entire crew. They all worked as a team to provide the best job in a most timely manner. They helped to make this project as painless as a total kitchen renovation can be starting with our first conversations with Greg and Allyn Harth. They were very conscientious about keeping this project within our budget. All extra items were detailed on Work Orders even if they were not charging us. We feel they were very fair with their pricing and provided detailed statements on a regular basis--there were no surprises. We highly recommend them and will hire again them for any future projects.
Description of Work
Totally gut and renovate kitchen including removing a wall
Category
home remodeling
Laurent or Tina C.
5.0
05/15/2013
They will take time with you right down to the secretary emailing you to ask you to confirm your appointment on a special software that they use.
Description of Work
My friend highly recommended them for their extensive remodeling on her 200 year old house. They are a class act but way out of price for me. I didn't need all that hand holding and I don't think what they offer is geared to the average homes. It's very very high end.
Category
remodeling, house painters
patrick K.
5.0
04/25/2013
Unfortuantely having the house built wasn't in the budget. However, they were very good and helped us come to that conclusion. They definitely tried to make it happen -they really enlightened us with the whole house-building process. They were very personable and I'd definitely recommend them!
Description of Work
We talked to them about having a house built.
Category
remodeling, home builders, home remodeling
Susi G.
5.0
03/23/2013
Very professional; extremely tidy; we are very happy with the results
Description of Work
Main bathroom remodeled
Category
home remodeling
Wendy A.
5.0
09/18/2012
Luckily, the Harth Buiders team came to my rescue. With their expertise and craftsmanship they beautifully remodeled my master bathroom, and expertly repaired water damage to my front hall closet caused by the water leaking from the upstairs bath. They greatly improved my house and life in just three incredible weeks!! Thankfully, I chose Harth Builders to take on my bathroom remodeling project that I had been putting off for years. My colonial house was built in 1940, with only one full bath. Last April, when the original shower tile began to detriorate and water leaked into my downstairs hall closet, I was faced with quickly finding a reliable plumber/contractor to take care of the bath and hallway. I got estimates from other reputable plumbers and contractors, but no one compared to Harth Builders in design, affordability and communication. From his initial consultation, Greg Harth listened to my ideas and concerns about the bathroom project, including cost and time factors (I wanted completion as quickly as possible). Greg clearly explained about the various stages of Harth project evolution -communication being the key in developing the job concept, design and the all-important budget. Greg said he and the Harth team would work with me throughout the project to make sure it would be the best experience I could possible have with a home improvement project. He was absolutely right--Harth Builders met or exceeded my expectations every step of the way. In the next few weeks I met the entire Harth team, who would be working on the project either in the house or behind the scenes. I had a wonderful comfort level and confidence in Harth, not only because of their great reputation, but the courtesy and professional manner in which they addressed my ideas and concerns. After two consultations, I committed to Harth to do the job. The schedule for the project was literally charted by Harth's project manager, Jeremy, including his weekly meetings to cover any questions or problems that may arise and payment schedules. With the creative guidance of Cindy, one of Harth's talented interior decorators, we started the design and selection of bathroom fixtures process. Cindy was amazing--I felt like I was shopping with my best friend. Not only was she was intuitive about my design tastes, but she was creative and professional. She really took a personal interest in my project expectations and budget. Once the selections were made, we had more meetings to discuss details with other team members and final conceptual plans created. As with all of Harth's clients, I even got my own personal Harth Project notebook with before photos and products used, skematics and project schedule. On July 23, the Harth team promptly arrived to start the job; preparations for demolition were set up and my new bathroom was underway. Throughout the project the Harth on-site manager and master carpenter, Steve, worked expertly and diligently with the other Harth team members, including the various subcontractors. Steve also communicated with me every day about project status, any pending glitches, and my expectations. I was continually impressed by the workmanship, courtesy, cleanliness, positive attitude and problem solving abilities on a consistant daily basis of the entire Harth team, and how they expertly completed the remodeling process in three weeks as planned. Nothing was ever too much trouble for Harth Builders. I am very glad that I chose Harth Builders. They gave my tired, old, leaky bathroom a beautiful new up-to-date appearance wtth a spa-like atmosphere! And, in doing so they have made my life better. I am so happy with the results that I would do it all again!! Through Harth's excellence in communication, trustworthiness and craftsmanship, Harth Builders also built a relationship with me. I would use them again in a heartbeat and recommend them very highly.
Description of Work
Remodeled master bathroom and repaired water leak damage to 1st floor hall closet.
Category
home remodeling
margaret C.
5.0
05/30/2012
excellent communication start to finish- job completed within time parameters to coincide with client needs.all work appears to be excellently done. all employees werecourteous,friendly,professional.
Description of Work
carpentry,plumbing,electrical,floor installation, painting,etc
Category
electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling
Catherine C.
4.0
04/06/2011
I think they did a good job. The carpenter did an exceptional job and went the extra mile to make sure everything was done properly.
Description of Work
They put in a kitchen.
Category
home remodeling
STEVEN F.
5.0
02/20/2011
highly professional, great communiction, very good worksmanship, good design services..house kept very clean during renovation....very nice and professional job from every aspect....a great experience
Description of Work
complete bathroom(master) renovation
Category
home remodeling
Robert B.
5.0
08/12/2010
They did a great job! They were prompt each day and professional to work with. I would highly recommend them for any remodeling projects!
Description of Work
They remodeled our kitchen (flooring, cabinetry, etc).
Category
flooring contractor, home remodeling
barbara C.
2.0
06/14/2010
I spoke with a person and they stated they would call me back, they never did.
Description of Work
I contacted them regarding carpentry and concrete work.
Category
contractors, concrete repair

Service Provider Response

Hello. We called this prospect within 24 hours after her first phone call, but received a voice mail and left a message. I then called again within 48 hours and had no response. The client has not returned our phone calls. We have not done any work for this client to date, but will follow up again with a phone call after we return from vacation. Please dismiss this report.
James & Linda C.
5.0
02/07/2009
The Harth's are a family owned and family oriented business. I found them on the web and they were the most responsive. They came out personally to look at my home and discuss options. They were very friendly and honest. They had good ideas and agreed to work against a very (very) tight schedule. They were extremely organized and communicated very well. I got emails and calls whenever information was needed. They sent a weekly report with what was accomplished, what I needed to do, and what was happening the next week. If I ever had any questions or issues they responded usually the same day. The work was performed with care and expertise and as issues arose they were handled very well.
Description of Work
Remodeling of portions of master bath, kitchen and other rooms. Added crown, wainscoting, etc. Reconfigured laundry and added a laundry chute. Repaired and refinished stucco chimney.
Category
remodeling
Diane L.
5.0
12/02/2008
I am totally satisfied with the work and the materials. The carpenters who did the work were wonderful, and Greg Harth supervised the work and kept us informed every day or so as the work progressed. We could have had the work done for less money, but we also could have paid a lot more. With Harth, we had the benefit of a general contractor who handled ordering materials, arranging delivery at the right time, getting the plumber and electrician and bringing them back if necessary to follow up any problems. This was a major project (for me--I'm sure a fairly small job for Harth), so it took about 6 weeks and was a huge inconvenience, living without a kitchen, cooking in the microwave and on the grill. There were a few delays and glitches, but they were all resolved to our satisfaction. The workers kept the work area clean and tidy and were totally trustworthy and professional.
Description of Work
Planned and designed major kitchen upgrade in older home. Removed and replaced all cabinets, counters, walls and flooring. Installed new appliances, new sink, new electric wiring, exhaust vent to outside.
Category
contractors, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, ceiling fans, home remodeling
Pat W.
5.0
02/20/2008
I haven't had many good experiences with contractors so I was skeptical to say the least. The communications throughout the project were excellent, we felt we knew what was going on and when. They were very clean, and all the sub-contractors were eager to please. Problems that were encountered were solved quickly with us involved. Emails followed most meetings to again confirm there were no missed expectations. As the project moved through it's process we felt much more relaxed. We felt we could bring up anything no matter how big or small and it was taken seriously. My wife was particularly sensitive to details, and I felt comfortable with her dealing directly with them. The project went smoothly except for weather. Most surpassing was that they called us on the phone 30, 60 and 90 days to check in. One of the door jams had trouble and they were out within 24 hours to solve the problem. I would use them again on anything we have.
Description of Work
We have an small, old barn that was falling apart, the horses had been gone for 10 years. We wanted to make it into a "cabana" since it sits next to our swimming pool. Harth came in and gave us some design ideas on how to make the interior work for summer and winter(which we had not thought of). There were structural problems as well that needed solutions. They also recommended we add a gardening center area for my wife. They created an attic space. They recommended we make it more of a "year round room" by putting in a heater. The entire floor had to be ripped up, a cement slab put down and then tiled (which turned out beautiful), the sides were replaced, all the windows were replaced, HVAC installed, and interior finishings including plumbing. The outside needed a few coats of barn red paint that looked great when finished. They kept the "feel" of a barn which kept the look of our property, and it was a lot nicer that we imagined.
Category
ceramic tile, concrete repair, flooring contractor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, house painters

Phone

Address

1 Mill Race

Spring House, PA 19477

Other Information

Services offered

Design-Build Remodeling, Kitchens, Additions, Master Suites & Baths, Whole Floor Renovations, Whole House Remodels, Custom Homes, & Stucco Renovations.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Harth Builders is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Harth Builders is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Harth Builders accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Ask Harth Builders for details on free project estimates.

Yes, Harth Builders offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Harth Builders does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Harth Builders offers emergency services.

No, Harth Builders does not offer warranties.

Harth Builders offers the following services: Design-Build Remodeling, Kitchens, Additions, Master Suites & Baths, Whole Floor Renovations, Whole House Remodels, Custom Homes, & Stucco Renovations.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Closets By Design

5.0

(75)

Angi Certified

Closets By Design

At Closets by Design, we design, build and install custom organizational projects (we don't offer closet clean out or junk removal services). Our designers travel to your home for a free consultation. We manufacture everything locally in our office in Exton, PA. Our installers are all full time employees who are a treat to have in your home! We handle Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, New Castle, and Philadelphia counties.  

United Garage Doors

4.0

(24)

Angi Certified

United Garage Doors

United Garage Door Service was built to be there when you need us, simply and conveniently We have made the investment to maintain and incredibly high inventory of garage door and opener parts on each one of our repair vehicles. This means we can fix your door in a single visit. Your garage door is fixed right! Precision uses the highest quality parts and we back up our work with the industry's best warranty. This attention to detail has resonated with our customers and helped Precision grow to more than 70 locations in under a decade.  

Earth Smart Remodeling

5.0

(62)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Earth Smart Remodeling

For over 25 years the Storione family has been consistently redefining home improvements as a true family business. Our commitment is quality products and quality installations to provide customer with a lifetime of performance from our products. We are not general contractors and we specialize in only windows, doors and siding and we have it down to a science. As we move forward and always staying on the cutting edge out missions is to minimize you homes energy consumption through high performance windows, siding and doors. We feel that is our duty to do our part for our environment to create a better future for everyone.