Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CHF Mechanical Services

Founded 1994 • With Angi since October 2006

4.6

(77) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

540 Porter St

Philadelphia, PA 19148

Description

Receive high-quality professional services, from C H F Mechanical Services, Inc. Based in Philadelphia, PA. Whether your heating and cooling needs are large or small, our team of experts will fix any problems you may have at your business or residence. We come highly recommended and our track record for consistency, timely service, and subject matter expertise are second to none. We also offer financing through Synchrony Financial; please click on the link to learn more about the financing. http://synchronyfinancial.com...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/22/2020


Tony B.

CHF Mechanical - Services were required twice over the years. The first time squirrels ate through wires on the roof. Years later and not relater to the first incident, the capacitor failed. Both times their response time was excellent and the repairs were fast. Bart performed the capacitor replacement. Excellent service and I definitely would use their services again. Costs were very reasonable. A+++++ rating Tony - Center City Philadelphia

Description of Work
CHF Mechanical - Roof top air conditioning service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

12/11/2017


JENNIFER L.

They guys seemed nice but the stunk very badly of cigarettes. They left about two hours ago and I'm still trying to get the stench out of my house. It's pretty unprofessional to show up at someone's house smelling so badly and it's something that management should probably address.

Description of Work
Cleaning air vents

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

10/18/2017


Lynn P.

We needed their help twice. The first time, the S-trap in our bathroom sink was leaking. When I tried to pull it out, it crumbed. So, obviously it corroded too much. I will give that their prices are great, and their workers are both customer-friendly and confident. And, we even thought they did a good job when they left. But a year later, the bathroom sink was pulled out to do some work on the ceiling, and the drain pipe to the new S-trap crumbled in the hands of those workers. Someone inspected the job first. Didn't he notice the whole thing was corroded? The only reason we're not worried about the pipes after the S-trap is because we replaced them 10 years ago. The sink hasn't been touched in 26 years. I'm surprised they could install the S-trap with such a rotten drain before it. Had we known that was what happened, we wouldn't have used them the second time. The second time, the waste pipe leaked. The fun kind of leak, where it broke through the floor into the first-floor living room. It's cast iron. It would cost a mint to fix, but the "plumber" who came to help us, called the shop to ask for help and was told about a rubber product he could paint on the pipe to fix it. He was kind enough to let us know this would only last a decade, but a decades not bad. My husband is a retired steamfitter, so thankfully he understood what was going on. The first problem was the shutoff valve for the toilet. It leaked when the plumber shut the toilet off. Granted, it was going to leak the next time someone shut it off, but the problem was the waste pipe, so it didn't have to be shut off then. That was extra. The plumber went out to get a new shutoff valve and the rubber compound. He painted the waste pipe, told us it takes ten minutes to dry, and then went downstairs to turn off the water supply to replace the shutoff valve behind the toilet upstairs. It's ten minutes later, so he flushes the toilet to see if the rubber worked. I'm three feet from that leak on the first floor watching water drip down onto my table. Whoops! Maybe not ten minutes. Friendly guy. 20 minutes later, he tries again, and it works, so he leaves. Next day, I go downstairs to do laundry. My feet slap through soaked carpet. I check which way the puddle is coming, and it's toward the shutoff valve for the whole house. Hubby goes down to investigate. There's a rag around the shut off valve to collect the occasional drip. Drip? The floor is soaked, as are a bunch of cardboard boxes between the middle of our basement and that shut off valve on the side wall. The soaked rag says it all. He knew that was leaking too! When I called to demand someone fixes that for free, the guy on the phone laughed at this worker's antics, and shrugged it off with, "he's new." (They did fix it for free.) Well, I'm old, and I won't be using them again.

Description of Work
-- replace corroded trap in bathroom sink. -- Repaired a leak in bathroom waste pipe.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/07/2017


Lorin M.

CHF was extremely responsive. We were in the middle of a run of very hot weather and I was worried about when my HVAC could be repaired. The HVAC stopped working overnight and I called CHF first thing in the morning. They had a technician at my place by lunchtime. The technician was extremely professional and took the time to investigate the issue. He went onto the roof on my building where the air conditioning unit is located. He identified the issue and fixed the wiring that failed. It was easily 97-98 degrees outside, so he really made my day. Overall, the experience really couldn't have gone better. If I ever have an HVAC need again I will call them and consistently recommend them to anyone that might have a need.

Description of Work
My HVAC unit stopped working and I need someone to inspect and repair, as necessary.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/27/2017


Mark C.

Great! They were professional, efficient, and reasonably priced!

Description of Work
I cannot say enough good things about CHF Mechanical Services! On Wednesday, our A/C stopped working. I called a number of companies/people to come fix it but none could come before early the next week. I found the number for CHF on Thursday morning, called them around 9am, and they arrived around lunchtime that day. They found that we had a leak in the A/C unit and fixed everything within the hour.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/27/2017


Phil B.

Very well. Happy with this company and on-site techs.

Description of Work
Blower stopped working. A replacement capacitor was needed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/10/2017


Adam K.

Everything went well. They were able to schedule very quickly, showed up on time, and were completed in under 1 hour. Thought the price was a little expensive for the amount of time it took.

Description of Work
Replace kitchen faucet

Category plumbing

1.0

03/30/2017


Matthew S.

They talked nice on the phone and the person that came to my house was pleasant and professional.

Description of Work
Classic bait & switch. I called them regarding the Angie's list special promotion; $2399 air conditioner compressor/coil replacement. (original price $4,000.00 41% savings). Told the woman who answered the phone that is what I was calling about, she transferred me to someone else. I told him that is what I was calling about and he said he needed to set up for a tech to come out and look at the job. In addition I wanted them to replace the air handler as well. I knew it would add a little bit to the cost, but figured it was worth the added cost. They sent a tech out, I further explained what I wanted with the special and that I wanted a new handler etc. He tells me that can all be worked out. They email me over a quote for $4155.00. I called to figure out how to work things out since I was buying the Angie's list special, since the special was (or so I thought) $2399 for the first $4000 worth of work, and I would pay them the difference when the work was done. They said that I never told them about the Angie's list special and that what they were doing was not available for my setup. They sent me another estimate for $3300 for a lower quality unit, and told me I wouldn't be able to use the Angie's list special at all.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I am going to respond to each section of this review as best to my knowledge of this job. I remember the customer calling in a referring to getting an Angie's List special. I also remember telling him that we would have to come out and look to see if there was a way he could qualify for one of the existing specials we had. It turns out the customer didn't. Our offers are clearly marked and are not ambiguous. You note in your statement that you were looking for $2399 compressor/coil replacement. The special we have that would be closest to that would be our "Up to 3-ton A/C only condenser and coil." This special is designed for customers that have a furnace and are looking to replace their coil and condenser for their home. The customer did not have this type of set up. We were still willing to work with the customer and worked on this for a couple days to get the customer 2 options to repair his system. We offered 2 different sets of equipment from Goodman to the customer. I would also like to note that the main difference between the 2 estimates was the SEER rating. Mr. [Member Name Removed] I do feel as though we tried our best to accommodate your needs as a consumer. As you can see by our ratings on Angies List we go above and beyond to make sure our customers are happy with the service they receive from CHF Mechanical Services, Inc. We are still more than happy to work with you on this. I'm sure there is a plan we can agree on that will change your opinion of our company as we have made so many other customers happy.
5.0

02/27/2017


Dale F.

Good repair. Diagnosed problem, got replacement from warehouse, returned to install new motor. No problems since.

Description of Work
Replace furnace fan motor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/06/2017


Rita T.

This service call went perfect. I would hire again

Description of Work
Furnace blower was not starting. I have previously listed a bad review for CHF. I decided to give them a second chance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/02/2017


Robert B.

CHF was prompt in showing up. They cleaned my air ducts and left my apartment clean when they finished. I have also used them to repair my heat pump in the past and they did an excellent job, diagnosing and repairing a problem which another company could not find or repair.

Description of Work
cleaned air ducts in condo apartment

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

3.0

12/23/2016


Rita T.

The first call was NTF. Second call resulted in the your tech improperly diagnosing the problem and ordering a part or parts that did not resolve the problem. Third call I was there. The techs changed the ignitor at my request to see if the issue changed any that made it worse. They put the original ignitor back in, closed the unit and left still not working. My position is they basically wasted time by not identifying the problem which turned out to be a thermostat that I changed. I only want to pay for the initial call fee of $135. Not the $325 you are billing.

Description of Work
Repair a home furnace that was cutting out requiring a reset to restart it

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/24/2016


Valerie M.

Excellent. Tony was professional, punctual and proficient. He was thorough in explanation and had a positive attitude. He removed all trash and totally cleaned up after himself when a mess could not be avoided. Quick and efficient work done by CHF! So happy we contacted them for this job!

Description of Work
Full installation of HVAC unit and removal of an ancient furnace. Used existing duct work to upgrade the furnace and completely new A/C unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/24/2016


Mitchell M.

Acceptably well. Only glitch was that because of a morning delay (not their fault), it wound up being a two-day job so we went one night without AC. But that was the only surprise.

Description of Work
We had an older AC that needed replacement sooner or later. CHF had handled a lot of our neighbors at the complex, so we decided to go with them.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/28/2016


Gail K.

On the very hot Memorial Day weekend, my central AC could not get the interior temperature to drop below 80 degrees. I thought it would be very unlikely I could get someone to come out, given both the inevitable hot weather AC emergencies and the holiday weekend. But checking Angie's List, I saw that CHF Mechanical Services was open until 4 PM Saturday so I called. Someone answered immediately and said he would try to fit me into the Saturday schedule. In just a few minutes I had a call back that a service team was finishing a job in my area and that they would arrive at my house shortly. A professional, personable duo inspected my unit and explained everything thoroughly. With the coolant refilled, the AC is back to working properly and I can now enjoy the long weekend instead of suffering through it. I'm both tremendously happy with, and grateful to, CHF Mechanical Services. Will definitely call them in the future for both AC and heating service.

Description of Work
Central AC unit was not working properly. Inspected unit and refilled coolant.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Glad we could help. We do our best to get to everyone. A/C calls take priority. Thank you for your review.
5.0

03/29/2016


Janice H.

Arrived on time. Very polite, got the job done. Fixed a loose connection for me, too. No extra charge. Good experience.

Description of Work
Cleaned the dryer vent

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our company.
5.0

02/11/2016


Kathryn B.

I was very happy with my experience with CHF Mechanical. They responded quickly and I felt that I received a straightforward and honest appraisal of the situation. My experience has been that some local HVAC contractors who advertise more heavily have treated service calls as high-pressure sales opportunities. I cannot overstate the value of a company like CHF who can be relied on to provide trustworthy service. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Inspect broken heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our company. Also, thank you for the kind words. We do appreciate that too.
5.0

01/11/2016


Jason R.

Corky and Mike gave straightforward advice on how to fix it. I felt that they are trustworthy and didn't try to upsell me a bunch of unnecessary stuff. They charged me only what I paid for the service call, $135. I will definitely be calling them again in the future, they are looking out for their fellow man and aren't charging folks exorbitant amounts for simple work. I really appreciate that, guys!

Description of Work
Helped to diagnose a problem with our furnace- ended up being too much air in the circulating radiators.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
5.0

07/13/2015


Thomas W.

The crew came out on time (would have preferred a heads' up call but that's OK). Two guys were friendly and considerate. They needed to get a machine from another site, but came back and quickly finished the job. Patiently answered my questions. Would call them again.

Description of Work
CHF cleaned out a clogged drain pipe for my air conditioner's condensate line which had been causing a leak on the floor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

07/10/2015


Helen L.

chf was able to squeeze us in on short notice and perform the job at a very competitive price. the quality of the work was excellent. we've already become repeat customers.

Description of Work
we're property managers and needed new ducts hooked up to our hvac.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,air duct cleaning

5.0

03/06/2015


andres C.

The installation took longer than expected because the technician wanted to make sure I had heat. After installing the thermostat, the heat was not functioning. The heat was functioning without a problem prior to CHF installing the thermostat. The technician did not leave until the heater worked. He checked my heater several times until it came on. He stated that I would eventually need a gas valve. I appreciated his insistence on ensuring the heater was working before he left.

Description of Work
The provider installed an digital Honeywell thermostat.

Category electrician,heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing

5.0

03/01/2015


Benjamin A.

These guys were great. Quick, effective and explained very well.

Description of Work
Clean dryer vent.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,dryer vent cleaning

5.0

01/10/2015


Purvi D.

It went very well. We recommended them to about 3 of our neighbors and they all enjoyed their service as well.

Description of Work
The HVAC unit was not working and was still under warranty. They replaced a part for me and charged me just for labor. Additionally one of the electrical switches in the house was not working, so they fixed that as well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much, we appreciate our customers.
4.0

12/23/2014


Latrisha C.

Was supposed to originally come out the day before Thanksgiving, after waiting through a four hour window and 45 minutes after that window I had to call for them to tell me they needed to reschedule. I was frustrated because I had some last minute things to do, but I really needed the service completed. So, we rescheduled for the Friday after Thanksgiving. I had asked to be the first appointment of the day so that I could get this out-of-the-way. I was told that I would be, but the service technician showed up an hour and a half after the appointment time because he said he had an emergency appointment that morning. Overall, the service was quick and done correctly. It was just the continuous tardiness and seemingly unappreciated nation of my time that bugged me.

Description of Work
Cleaned dryer vents

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business, we appreciate all of our customers, we are always working on bettering our service scheduling. We tend to extend ourselves as we try and be readily available, sorry that we were not available when scheduled, we appreciate you. thank you Charlie
5.0

11/12/2014


Nayan P.

As always, CHF Mechanical was professional, responsive, and punctual. They performed the services to my expectations. And I will continue to call them for any HVAC projects and repairs.

Description of Work
Performed an annual maintenance check on a hot water heater boiler.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,water heater repair

Service Provider Response

thank you, we appreciate your business.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Philadelphia Gas & Electric Heating & Air Cond

    Philadelphia Gas & Electric Heating and Air Conditioning has more than 55 years in the HVAC business in Philadelphia, and is proud to serve eastern Montgomery County and parts of Bucks County, including: Willow Grove, Horsham, Cheltenham, Abington, & Surrounding Communities. Our main focus in the HVAC industry is service and installation of heating and air conditioning systems for both residential and commercial needs. We do the job right the first time and offer our customers a quality service satisfaction guarantee.  

    Offers by Philadelphia Gas & Electric Heating & Air Cond on Angi
    Creative Comfort Solutions

    Creative Comfort Solutions was created to provide homeowners with large company expertise and reliability, but with small company quality and customer service. We created a system that ensures every customer is treated as if they were our first. We are fully licensed and insured. We specialize in providing high efficient heating and cooling solutions for your home. Our philosophy is to work with the homeowner to create the perfect balance of long term efficiency and up front cost. We realize that every customer's situation is different and we take the time to determine what the best match will be. Our goal is to provide every customer with exceptional service for the life of the system. Our founder Russell J. Notte was born in Norwood, PA. He currently resides in Glenolden, PA. Russell has 15 years experience both working for and owning part of a very large heating and air conditioning company. The experience he gained both in the field and the office allowed him the opportunity and expertise to start this business. Below are some licenses, certifications, and accreditation he has received throughout his career.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Creative Comfort Solutions on Angi
    Unique Indoor Comfort

    Unique Indoor Comfort is a fourth-generation heating and air-conditioning company that employs a whole-house approach to indoor comfort integrating the heating, air conditioning, and geothermal systems with the home envelope and delivery systems. Our reputation for superior service and quality craftsmanship has been constructed from decades of treating customers on their terms in providing service with solutions.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Unique Indoor Comfort on Angi
    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Install all type of heating & cooling systems, perform maintenance of the systems, heat pumps, commercial refrigeration, duct cleaning with our roto brush system & pumps, duct, duct work, boilers, radiator, ventilation, air purification.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CHF Mechanical Services

    How is CHF Mechanical Services overall rated?

    CHF Mechanical Services is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are CHF Mechanical Services open?

    CHF Mechanical Services is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does CHF Mechanical Services provide

    CHF Mechanical Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does CHF Mechanical Services offer free estimates?

    Yes, CHF Mechanical Services offers free project estimates.

    Does CHF Mechanical Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, CHF Mechanical Services offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CHF Mechanical Services offer a senior discount?

    Yes, CHF Mechanical Services offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by CHF Mechanical Services?

    Yes, CHF Mechanical Services offers warranties.

    What services does CHF Mechanical Services offer?

    CHF Mechanical Services offers the following services: Install all type of heating & cooling systems, perform maintenance of the systems, heat pumps, commercial refrigeration, duct cleaning with our roto brush system & pumps, duct, duct work, boilers, radiator, ventilation, air purification.