Columbia NW Heating & Cooling Inc

About

Founded 1989 • With Angi since January 2006

At Columbia NW, heating and cooling systems are our business. Columbia NW Heating Inc. specializes in efficiently upgrading or repairing air conditioning, heating, gas furnaces, heat pump, ductless heat pumps, tankless water heaters, geothermal heat pumps, electric furnaces, air filtration systems,

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

Photo 1Water HeatersFireplaces

Verified Reviews

4.6

(81) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

59

4

14

3

2

2

4

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.2

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.5

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (78)air duct cleaning (9)water heaters (7)fireplace services (4)
Showing 1-25 of 81 reviews
4.0

03/17/2021


Beth F.

Instillation was really smooth and the guys were very professional. My furnace blower motor was faulty but the company was able to work with me to replace it.

Description of Work
Installed a new furnace, water heater and ac

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/25/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback - we have reached out as we think we can can assist with the situation - while warranties are specific, it is always hard being just a few months over the 1 yr warranty and we would like to help. Let us know.
5.0

12/29/2020


Julie T.

Dave from Columbia came to my place in Portland from Scappoose on a same-day appt, for what I thought was a dead furnace. (I had tons of smoke flow into the home after furnace turned on.) Rather than just presuming the furnace was dead or even the problem, Dave poked around. He discovered the smoke was from the fireplace/chimey and the furnace turning on had pulled air from the chimney, reignited a smoldering log, and then filled the house with smoke. The problem was with the chimney all along, but Dave/Columbia did not charge me anything for the trip to Portland---or for diagnosing the problem---even when I called later to offer. Great service, great customer relations, great knowledge of how air moves through homes.

Description of Work
Furnace workI thought, but it was really fireplace. No charge for diagnoses and call.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, fireplaces

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/21/2020

2.0

08/11/2020


Bd B.

I had mentioned in my request for service, that the system is running slow, not cold enough, and that I knew what the problems were causing the issues. Columbia Northwest contacted me telling me they wanted $125 to even come out, which is ridiculously high, and that they would determine what was wrong with the system at that time. Since I already know what is wrong with the system, I did not appreciate having my intelligence insulted by them telling me they would have to decide if they agreed with me or not. I know exactly what is wrong with the system, and I will hire somebody who will follow my directions on what it needs to be fixed. They were rude on their phone message, very dry, and I got the feeling like they felt like they were doing me a favor, not the other way around. The person who pays is doing the favor, the business that supplies the service is at there disposal, not the other way around. I can see now why they have so many bad reviews, and many of them seem to be service and customer service oriented. Definitely will not hire this company, and would advise others not too as well. That is my opinion, plain and simple. To be honest, businesses like this make me question Angie's List, and whether or not it is really a viable service for recommendations. Something to keep in mind.

Description of Work
Central air running slow, for obvious reasons.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Cost $125

Work Completed On 08/11/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We have reached out in a message and are willing to talk through the overall experience to see if we can do things better and of course to help the situation in any way we can.
5.0

06/16/2020


Sue D.

The service was good, it was good, we had small issues but they came and fixed the problem.

Description of Work
Replaced a gas funnel

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/03/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business. We appreciate you!
5.0

08/15/2019


Meagan F.

I loved being able to see when the tech was going to be out due to the cool link that was provided to be prior to the visit. As a mom of two boys I’m super busy and see when he was going to show was awesome. They guys are always knowledgeable about their products and have great customer service.

Description of Work
We had our ac repaired!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback. We have gotten very positive response to our technician tracking tool that let's you see when they are on their way. Thank you for your business!
5.0

08/14/2019


andrzej J.

It went extremely well. Punctuality was perfect. Paying attention to details was perfect. Knowledge and professionalism were perfect. The price was competitive. We interviewed 5 different providers. Ultimately, Columbia seemed to stand out best. We tried it, and we were quite happy with the choice. The service cost was for two independent air conditioner systems ( we have a large, long house), and one new furnace.

Description of Work
Install a new furnace. Install a new air-conditioning system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and for letting us help you with your HVAC project!
5.0

08/08/2019


Matt M.

I shopped at three places and they were tied for the lowest bid. Since they were the more responsive, I went with them. They were super fast and finished below the projected estimate. Also the installer was clean and friendly. I will use again! Matt

Description of Work
They replaced my A/C unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for the feedback around your recent AC installation. We appreciate your business!
1.0

05/30/2019


ROSEMARY T.

Our fireplace fan is 19 years old so I wanted a quote for a new, quieter fan. Had to pay $109.95 just for them to come out and take a look. Matthew was here for 15 minutes, he cleaned a spot on the fan, I’m assuming to get a part number or brand of fan. He mentioned that there was a dead mouse under there (not unusual with my cats sometimes). I paid him, he left and within a couple of days I received a quote by email for the new fan and install, it was $933.00. $699.00 for the fan and $199.00 for fireplace tune up (which I wanted) and $35 for shipping. I responded that was a bit more than I expected so I didn’t want the new fan ( as ours was still working fine) but still wanted the tune up done. The next morning my husband called (I was out of town) and said he turned the fireplace on but the fan didn’t go on. I wrote back to the company to ask them if Matthew possibly unhooked the fan. They responded with this email: “I spoke with Matt, he said he did not turn it off. However the fan was dying since there is a dead rodent in it, causing stress. I am assuming the fan died. Let us know how you would like to proceed “ Ok this sounded a bit odd to me but I suppose it’s possible but decided to call another company to check it out but before I did, my husband opened the fireplace up, yep there is a dead mouse in there BUT THE MOUSE IS NOT IN THE FAN! Also the fan was UNPLUGGED! This company flat out lied to me! From another review here on Angie’s list it sounds like this company causes “failures “ to make money off of people that they shouldn’t be. Most unprofessional, untrustworthy company I have ever dealt with. Be forewarned, do not trust this company!

Description of Work
Wanted gas fireplace fan checked

Category fireplaces

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/20/2019

Service Provider Response

We apologize for the experience. It is not our intent to create problems for our customers. We did respond via email to further evaluate the situation and ask you contact us for resolution. At that point we would have either discounted the tune up, or just credited the diagnostic charge since it seems the technician mistakenly did not reconnect the fan. Please reach out if there is anything we can do.
5.0

03/21/2019


Lynn N.

They showed up on time. Did the job. After all was done I was very impressed with the final product. Alex was my installer and he was very nice and knowledgable. He explained it all. Even the the sale guy Dan was awesome. Would recommend this company to friends.

Description of Work
Air handler/Heat Pump replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $9,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/08/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words, and for your business!
5.0

12/10/2018


Barbara G.

I called Columbia NW Heating & Cooling on Monday morning, and spoke with Blake. By 2pm that same day, Dave was at my home with a quote for my new furnace. I spoke with Andrea who schedules installation and by Saturday I had a new furnace installed by Ivan. I'm telling you I have never been happier with a company regarding efficiency and their friendliness & professionalism. I would recommend them to anyone & everyone that needs the services they provide. They keep in touch via phone and follow up with text and emails. As a matter of fact, I will be calling them next year for duct cleaning. Thank you for providing such excellent customer service from the 1st call, to the finished installation...all within 1 week. You cannot go wrong choosing this company. Many thanks!

Description of Work
Furnace needed to be replaced

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $3,308.08

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/08/2018

Service Provider Response

Super! Thank you for the business and your kind words!
2.0

02/03/2018


Lane C.

After cleaning the furnace, the technician could not get the blower fan to cycle on. He said the fan had to be replaced. He replaced the fan, charged me $800 and left. We noticed that, although the furnace was heating the house, it did not sound right. It kept cycling on and off. We called the technician back, He charged us another $109 house call fee and told us the control board had to be replaced. He did not have one but had to order it. He brought the control board out the next week and installed it and the furnace acted exactly the same as it had before. He said they must have gotten a bad board and he order another one. He came out a week later with the new replacement, installed it and, although there was slight improvement, it still cycled on and off. He said the heat limiter was bad and he would have to order a new one. He wanted me to pay for the new control board $702. I said I was not going to pay them until they fixed the furnace. If the new heat limiter fixed the problem, I would pay what I owed them. The technician had a major tantrum insisting that I HAD to pay him then. When I refused, he ripped out the new control board, slammed the old one back in, closed up the furnace and left, yelling and shaking his screwdriver at me all the way down the driveway. I turned the thermostat back on and the furnace would not turn on at all. I called the company manager and he was polite, but not sympathetic. He said he would send someone out to put the new control board back in but I had to pay. I said forget it I would get someone else to look at it. I called another furnace repair company. They had a technician out to my house within hours. The first thing he did was replace two very corroded AA batteries in my thermostat and turned it to heat. When the furnace did not respond he checked the furnace itself and found that the fuse had been removed from the old control board. He put a fuse in and the furnace has been working great ever since. He did not charge anything for the house call. I promised to contact him when I was ready to replace the furnace.

Description of Work
Cleaning and maintenance of my gas furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/02/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback. The feedback customers provide, good or bad, gives us an opportunity to improve our processes and training. It looks like one of our technicians did not diagnose correctly and we apologize for the inconvenience. You also should not be charged the diagnostic charge. Please contact our office as we would like to credit you that charge. Ask for the Service Manager or the Sales Manager for that service.
5.0

10/15/2017


Kenaz K.

Great! On time, great work, no problem.

Description of Work
Install A/C.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/15/2017

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the great feedback! Thank you for your business!
5.0

10/14/2017


Derek C.

Wonderful! Lots of education on how it works/how to use it.

Description of Work
Heat pump install.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $13,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/09/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We are glad we could help.
3.0

10/12/2017


Vicki S.

The service person made me feel stupid for asking the questions I was asking. It is a very complicated system. I feel like they don't want to talk to me and avoid me.

Description of Work
We had to get a new heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $109

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2017

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry to have given that impression. It is not our intent. We will review with our service team to be careful of that in the future.
5.0

10/08/2017


Sandi G.

Everyone on time and did a great job.

Description of Work
Install 2 ductless heater units.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/11/2017

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback! We try our best!
5.0

09/28/2017


Hilary R.

They were recommended to me by the NW Gas people. The gas company worked with them to install the gas line. The sales rep, Dave Whispell, was fabulous! He answered all of my questions and concerns and always got back to me in a timely manner. They took care of the complicated paperwork. UPDATE: The follow up service with this company is superior. Several months after the installation I had a number of questions about the heat pump. The consultant Dave W. came to my house and spent well over an hour with me answering all my questions making sure that I understood everything which was very helpful. He treated me with complete courtesy and respect.

Description of Work
They installed a gas insert on my wood fireplace, a gas water heater, as well as a mini-split ductless heat pump system. This included 3 units on the inside. The work involved included gas, plumbing, electrical, holes that had to be drilled in the house, and several people coordinating their jobs.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/28/2017

5.0

09/28/2017


Rahul R S.

Excellent service, crew worked like clockwork and were knowledgeable. The house is comfy wherever you go.

Description of Work
Zoning install.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2017

5.0

08/27/2017


Alyssa M.

Connected with Columbia NW Heating & Cooling through a request to Home Depot for AC. I was impressed with the service and sales, as well as the crew. Very professional, punctual, and would answer any questions I asked. Lowest of two bids.

Description of Work
Installation of air conditioner and coil, surge protection and outdoor GFCI outlet.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2017

5.0

04/10/2017


chris C.

great. Very knowledgeable tech guy. He had everything he needed to get the job done, rather than finding out what was wrong and then having to come back.

Description of Work
serviced the furnace. Put in a part to make the furnace heat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/30/2017

5.0

03/29/2017


Jenni Y.

my husband was killed 4 days before the planned installation. Columbia NW graciously recommended for a more convenient time. They are always on time, very responsive and kind.

Description of Work
Heat pump installed.

Category water heater repair

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2016

5.0

02/20/2017


Jeff S.

Replaced during a snowstorm. Brought in electric heaters to keep house warm. Called often to make sure everything was OK.

Description of Work
Added natural gas to the house. Replaced oil furnace with gas furnace. New gas hot water heater and air conditioning.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Cost $19,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/27/2017

5.0

02/02/2017


Lowell N.

I had a really good service with Columbia NW Heating & Cooling Inc. Excellent quality.

Description of Work
We made a service call with Columbia NW Heating & Cooling Inc and they replaced a switch in the front which was the problem when they diagnosed it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac