Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Pike Awning Company

Founded 1891 • With Angi since June 2005

4.7

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7300 SW LANDMARK LN

Portland, OR 97224

Description

Craftsmanship & Creativity Since 1891...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/30/2020


SUSAN S.

We recommend Pike Awning very highly. They are great communicators, experts in awning selection, placement, and installation, reliable at keeping appointment times, and very friendly. We love our awning and are completely satisfied. We recommend this company without hesitation.

Description of Work
Pike Awning installed awnings for us

Category awnings

5.0

07/18/2019


EILEEN K.

Great! Eric was very informative and knowledgeable in giving an estimate and how it would be installed and the 2 installers were professional and efficient.

Description of Work
Install a motorized awning on the side of my home

Category awnings

5.0

11/24/2017


Janet M.

We were very pleased with the advice and support that we were given throughout the process. Everyone with whom we worked was courteous, professional, and knowledgeable. The work was done on schedule, and the quality was excellent.

Description of Work
We had an awning made to cover the sliding glass doors leading out to our back patio. We also had a drop screen made for a large window.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review because not only does it help potential customers get an objective opinion about us, but this type of feedback is what keeps our staff's energy high and everybody committed to perpetually trying to improve the customer experience.
5.0

09/20/2017


Jeannette T.

Very well. They took measurements, double checked them and spent the time to answer all of our questions. We now have the exact quality product we wanted. It is beautiful AND it works flawlessly! We are very pleased. Their service and responsiveness is the best. If you want a good product and excellent service hire Pike Awning.

Description of Work
We needed a large retractable awning installed over our deck.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review because not only does it help potential customers get an objective opinion about us, but this type of feedback is what keeps our staff's energy high and everybody committed to perpetually trying to improve the customer experience. We hope you enjoy the canopy for many years to come.
5.0

07/11/2017


Jesse L.

After I contacted Pike Awning for the estimate, the representative came by the next day, took measurements, and sent me a quote the following day. The blinds took about five weeks to make, and the installer was punctual and put everything up in very professional fashion - just in time for a heat wave. The blinds made a huge difference on the internal temperature in our house. We're very happy with the results.

Description of Work
We wanted some shade blinds for the east and south facings of our house, where we get plenty of sun.

Category awnings

5.0

06/26/2017


Elaine B.

They provided excellent service from the estimator, Erik, to the installers, and office personnel. Everyone in the company is very professional. Erik broke down my choices such as including an electric-operated awning and a wind sensor. The installers were prompt, answered my questions, and cleaned up after the installation. Lastly, office personnel were quick to respond to my questions. All in all, it was a good experience.

Description of Work
They installed an awning over a huge picture window and door on the south side of my home.

Category awnings

5.0

06/21/2017


Paul N.

Our awning project started with an excellent consultation from company owner Ken Spearing, who thoughtfully evaluated our needs and reviewed various options with us for the unique needs and preferences at our home. Then, a very reasonable price was quoted with options, which we compared with other solutions. The end result is an attractive, highest quality, motorized awning which goes in and out at the flip of a wall switch, matches our roofline, and color scheme of the home. It absolutely goes beyond our expectations and we're thrilled with the end-product. Our great thanks to the Pike Awning Company for a project well done.

Description of Work
Southerly facing awning to shield patio & windows from sun, along with cover as needed from rain.

Category awnings

5.0

06/14/2017


Judy C.

Pike Awning's workmanship was outstanding including their painted metal frames. Erik, their representative, provided timely and excellent customer service. I got bids from 3 companies and although Pike's price is more than other awning companies, the quality and workmanship was worth it.

Description of Work
Pike's Awning did an excellent job of measuring and installing 2 new window awnings for us.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Hey [Member Name Removed], Thanks for taking the time to write us a review because not only does it help potential customers get an objective opinion about us, but this type of feedback is what keeps our staff's energy high and everybody committed to perpetually trying to improve the customer experience. Enjoy the shade this summer.
1.0

06/13/2017


Debbie M.

Pike Awning installed new fabric to my existing retractable awning in 2011. Over the years since we have noticed our patio furniture gets wet when it rains. We thought it was the fabric leaking through. We called Pike about the problem. Dan came over and informed us that the problem was the rain was bouncing off the roof and coming under the awning. He was fully aware that this problem was caused by the design and not the fabric. He said it needed a skirting around the back to prevent the water from coming in and soaking our patio couch. I told him that the previous awning had a skirt. He pretty much said I was lying because there was no holes in the brackets. Everyone in our family remembers it did have a skirt. He said if it had a skirt previously than they would have installed one. Isn't the design flaw the same whether or not our old one had one or not? I was surprised that it wasn't routine to install one. As I said to Dan, what is the use of having a patio cover when your furniture gets wet anyway?? He said they would install one for a couple hundred dollars. Why would I pay more money to have a dry patio when I have already paid for the awning to have a dry patio? Being only the consumer, we did not know at the time that it needed a skirt. They were certainly aware of it though!! We thought we would be able to enjoy our dry patio. Nope,,,,it is all wet!! The photos show my wet couch and the gap below the awning.

Description of Work
Replace fabric of existing retractable awning.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. Hearing from our customers is the best way that we can improve and grow as a company. When we originally installed the awning frame on your house back in the 90's for the previous home owner, the skirt your are referring to, or back panels as we call them, were not a standard addition. Here is a link to our website that shows what the back panels look like. http://www.pikeawning.com/retractable-awning-roof-mount-back-panel/. We didn't make one for the previous homeowner and you didn't mention it being a problem in 2011 when we made new covers for you so we didn't include one in your quote. We have noticed that during a storm, some rain can get blown under the awning frame and onto the patio so we recently started adding back panels standard on all roof mounted retractable awnings. It is a extra design improvement that we have worked up in the 20 years since your awning was originally installed. We are sorry that you are unhappy with the water getting onto the patio but it is not caused by the fabric replacement we did 6 years ago but rather the fact that it needs a back panel if you want prevent the wind from blowing rain off your roof and onto your patio. We do have a solution to your problem and we are still willing to make and install the back panel for you at cost because we want you to be happy and to be able to use your awning exactly as you want. If you wanted to save even more money you could pick it up at our shop and we could walk you through the install which only requires a drill and some screws for going into metal. Hopefully you can see that our primary goal as a company is to try and provide excellent customer service and always improve the design of our products. It is a big part of what has kept us in business for the last 125 years. Please give us a call if you would like to order a back panel for your awning or if there is anything else we can do for you in the future.
5.0

11/18/2016


Victoria C.

Very well. The company representative made an appointment very soon after we visited their shop and arrived on time. He came prepared with samples, took measurements and estimated a completion date. The awnings arrived as promised and were installed quickly and professionally. We are very happy with them.

Description of Work
Small awnings over two outside doors.

Category awnings

5.0

03/21/2016


Ruth P.

The first business day of the New Year I called Pike Awning in a panic. One of my two large awnings that cover the entire back of my house broke over the holiday and needless to say I was very upset. Since both awnings were wind censored I keep them out all year, for the past 13 years. Although I knew the day would come that I would have to replace them I really wasn’t prepared for this major home repair. Erik arrived that afternoon and within a very short time he was able to make his recommendation, I chose my new fabric and in less than the estimated 30 day wait period I had two new state-of-the-art awnings that I absolutely love. Pike Awning is by far the best company in the business for quality products and customer service.

Description of Work
Replaced two large awnings

Category awnings

5.0

07/28/2015


donna B.

From meeting with Eric Caesar, the account exec, to dealing with Linda in the office, to Kirby and his crew who did the installation, everything exceeded my expectations! The sincere customer service is a pure delight!!!

Description of Work
Two new awnings created for front windows of my house Removal of old existing awning

Category awnings

5.0

06/11/2015


CAROL F.

When the salesman first came to our home, I thought I wanted an awning on the big kitchen window. In two seconds, he took one look and said you don't want an awning, you want a screen. I didn't know what he was talking about but he convinced us it was the thing for that window to protect it for sun. After the first day my husband said I don't think this is going to work. He thought it was going to be too dark in the kitchen with the screen down on the window. The next day he called me at work to tell me "this shade is amazing" It works wonderful and has solved our glare problem and I can now keep our blinds open to see outside all day long.

Description of Work
Installed a screen on outside of window to protect from sun glare and for privacy

Category awnings

5.0

06/03/2015


Jackson R.

It went great. Eric came to our home to help us decide what kind of awning would meet our needs, and explained the pros and cons and cautions (wind, etc.). He provided an estimate, and allowed us a "show" discount even after the expiration date on the coupon. He was very professional, as was Linda in the office. We placed the order, gave them 1/3 down payment. The awning arrived early. The installation team arrived right on schedule, and the whole procedure took about an hour. The awning works perfectly, looks great, and totally meets our expectations. Before choosing Pikes, we also had another company come out and give us an estimate. Both estimates were competitive, but we chose Pike's because their professionalism, decades in business and other excellent reviews gave us greater confidence. We are totally happy with our choice.

Description of Work
Provided a custom retractable awning for our home.

Category awnings

5.0

03/27/2015


JEFF C.

Having had a chance to work directly with Ken, I can honestly now share the pleasure. He is a gentleman and certainly knows his stuff. I would go nowhere else for my awning needs, and feel confident when I send others to Ken.

Description of Work
Used professionally and as a referral to our clients.

Category awnings

3.0

10/21/2014


Shaun A.

We received the initial estimate after and very professional meeting. This estimate was higher than we were expecting so we needed to think about moving forward. After two weeks we decided to move forward so the representative returned to finalize the measurements and details. He wanted to return for a third visit at which time he informed us that the hardware we intitally selected was no longer being carried by PIke. This was after being told that the initial hardware selected was and quot;the bestand quot;. We were told that it was now not quality and the new supplier was better and was a more expensive. We were very uncomfortable with what we felt was a bait and switch and decided to use another awning company.

Description of Work
The Pike representative came over several times to draw up an estimate for a large retractable deck awning.

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the feedback [Member information removed]. We clearly did not do a good job of explaining why we switched suppliers and we can certainly understand how that switch may have aroused suspicion. The products from the original supplier were great but they were having too many problems with shipping and other issues that were harming our customers' overall experience. We switched to a supplier with a nearly identical product but as you mentioned, it is a little more expensive. We had discounted it to the same price as the first retractable we quoted for you but we can see why you would be wary of the product switch. Overall, we are glad that your experience with us didn't turn you off to the idea of an awning and we are glad that you found something that you're happy with. Thank you again for the feedback. Customer comments and reviews are our best tool for improving our customer experience.
5.0

09/08/2014


Candace J.

They were very careful and measured and re-measured to get the shade in the optimal place over the deck. It looks fantastic and was installed in time for a wedding around the pool. Perfect!! When I asked about taking it down in the late Fall, they said it was easy to do. I am old. I don't take down huge sail shades, and they said they would do that for me and store the shade for the winter. What great service. I am sooooo impressed!

Description of Work
Installed supports and sail shade for my wooden deck.

Category awnings

2.0

01/23/2014


Ronald A.

I delivered a fabric trailer cover to their facility at landmark ln. We unrolled the cover, Dan inspected the areas and we discussed they needed to make sure they completed the inspection to make all the repairs. Several days later and pleasantly earlier than expected, they called and advised the repairs were completed. However, the estimate of $125.00 was too low and my cost would now be $150.00. I traveled to their shop on 01/21/14. Since the cover was going to be shipped, I asked to inspect the repair. Unfortunately, we found several torn spots that had not been repaired. In addition, one rather large tear had been and quot;repairedand quot; using tape on the inside of the cover leaving a long exposed exterior edge to be exposed to the elements? There were also three large torn areas they had failed to repair. We agreed that if I left the cover and returned once again, they would complete the repair. The next day, I was called and advised the cover was repaired. I returned to find the cover was laid out on their floor to be inspected. It looked like the previously missed tears had been repaired. However while we were checking one of their employees found a hole that had been missed the 2nd time. He made the repair using tape. The office manage was very polite while making excuses for the necessary extra trip. We went to the front office and she advised me the cost because of theand quot;extra workand quot; was now up to $212.50 up from the .$125.00 original estimate and the revised $150.00. The staff is very polite and professional but my experience reflects a company practice of low quote and then significant increases in actual cost using the excuse they didn't understand! I took my need to a professional and was very disappointed with their quality and certainly their pricing strategy. Get a written firm quote before placing your trust in their statements!

Description of Work
Pike awning agreed to repair tears in a trailer cover

Category awnings

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [member name removed], for the review and the opportunity to repair your trailer cover. In response to your assessment, we should have clarified the exact work that you wanted to have done and we accept full responsibility. The trailer cover came into our shop in need of repairs. The cover was laid out onto the sewing room floor and inspected with the client. An estimate based on time and material of $125.00 was given for the repair. We were unaware of the additional areas that where in need of repair, so when the client came to pick up his cover, he informed us that we had not repaired all of the damage. We took the cover back and performed the additional repairs and charged the client for the extra time it took. We should have honored the original estimate because we did not properly inspect the entire cover with the client when it initially came in. We pride ourselves in customer satisfaction. By bringing the situation to our attention, we have discussed with our staff the importance of making sure that every customer that comes to us has a clear understanding of what work is to be performed and provide an estimate of cost based on time and material. The tape used for patching awnings is a high quality tape used to patch areas that cannot be sewn. It is standard in the industry to patch only one side of the material as the opposite side is typically the viewing side. We indeed should have discussed the process with [member name removed] and patched according to his wishes. Upon notification of the review, we immediately called [member name removed] to discuss his concerns as we were not aware of him being upset when he left our office. We provided a refund off all costs over and above the original quoted price and offer to do any further repairs to the cover without extra cost. He graciously accepted the refund and said no further repairs would be necessary.
5.0

09/29/2013


Douglas G.

Our experience with Pike Awning was a stark constrast in every aspect with another company from which we received one option that was more complex than we needed, or wanted, and substantially more expensive. The Pike Awning representative arrived as scheduled to assess our deisre for a patio awning / sun screen. He presented and discussed several options for us as well as the pros and cons of each. This discussion enabled us to select a sun screen for the patio that met our needs. Within 24 hours of our selection we received a cost bid and a window of time for the delivery and installation of the sun screen. The schedule was met, actually the delivery and installation was earlier than expected. The quality of the work and of the product was outstanding. All of our contact with Pike Awning staff was terrific! Polite, professional accurate, promote - and with humor.

Description of Work
Provided options for an a custom designed and production of a sun screen for a patio.

Category awnings

5.0

08/24/2013


Larry B.

For the quote, arrived on time with material and color samples. Explained options. They emailed a detailed quote that same day and estimated 4 weeks. It was ready when promised. Scheduled installation 3 days later. Pike was arrived on time and completed the installation in less than the 45 minutes estimated. The 11-foot long awning looks great and works well and looks good. Note: Pike installed 5 different types of awnings for us 7 years ago and we are still satisfied with their products. It was also encouraging to see that our same sales rep, Eric, still works there.

Description of Work
Created custom extended awning; plus installation.

Category awnings

5.0

06/17/2013


Elden E.

They were efficient and hassle free throughout the process. As the Gen. Contractor I personally inspected the workmanship and had no complaints, in fact I was impressed. Ken's design assistance was much appreciated as we achieved just the appearance we'd hoped for. It has been nearly a year since installation and we've had no call backs. They also happened to be the lowest bid. They will be my first call in future awning projects.

Description of Work
Ken Spearing of Pike assisted with design and his crews installed nine awnings on a major renovation of an apartment complex.

Category awnings

5.0

05/13/2013


WARREN F.

Nice awning, quality components, installation went fine.

Description of Work
Installed retractable awning on the rear of my house.

Category awnings

5.0

08/03/2012


Susan W.

They had great choices, a nice showroom, pleasant and efficient estimator, and professional installers. Every step was pleasant and no surprises.

Description of Work
We had a retractable awning installed for our deck.

Category awnings

5.0

01/11/2009


HELEN H.

Pike Awnings installed the awnings on my house for the previous owner. During the December 2008 snow storm, one awning filled with snow and got so heavy that it pulled away from the house. I called Pike on January 2 (Friday pm) to see if they could help fix it. Even though their schedule was full, they said they said they would send someone by on Monday. They did. When I got home the awning was fixed. Then the bill came. They didn't charge me. That is fabulous customer service. I will definitely use Pike when it is time to replace my awnings.

Description of Work
Pike reattached an awning that had come loose during the last snow storm.

Category awnings

5.0

10/17/2008


CYNTHIA AND ROBERT W.

Our sun room was getting too hot in the summer, so we searched for options to reduce the summer heat. We use the sun room as a heat collector during the fall, winter and spring. Pike installed a 90% sun block awning that can be retracted when not needed. We searched many companies and Pike provided us with a great choice of options and materials. Installation went smoothly and as scheduled.

Description of Work
Pike installed a mechanical retractable awning to extend over our sun room.

Category awnings

    Other local Pros in your area

    Mr. Handyman of Lake Oswego and Tigard

    Mr. Handyman is a licensed general contractor that specializes in the smaller handyman type repairs, drywall, bathroom remodeling, doors and windows, assembly and installations, light electrical and plumbing, bathroom remodeling, and a variety of other tasks. Our service technicians arrive in clearly marked Mr. Handyman vans and in uniform with a variety of tools and supplies for the job. We treat you and your home with respect and clean up when we are finished. Mr. Handyman technicians are experienced with a broad skill set, so please do not hesitate to ask for help with any repair, maintenance or improvement project. Office is closed on Saturday and Sunday, however, we are available for Saturday work.  

    Helpful House Cleaning

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work.As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    Signs
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    RESIDENTIAL AWNINGS, COMMERCIAL AWNINGS, METAL AWNINGS, FABRIC AWNINGS, RETRACTABLE AWNINGS, SAIL SHADES, RAIN PROTECTION, SUN PROTECTION, WIND PROTECTION, WINDOW SCREENS, PATIO SCREENS, SUN SCREENS, WINDOW SHADES, RETRACTABLE SHADES, RETRACTABLE PATIO CANOPIES, CANVAS SPECIALTY PRODUCTS, CANVAS AWNING COVERS, TENSION STRUCTURES, EXPOSITION BANNERS, DISPLAY BOOTHS, STREET BANNERS, STREET GRAPHICS & AWNING GRAPHICS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Pike Awning Company

    How is Pike Awning Company overall rated?

    Pike Awning Company is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Pike Awning Company open?

    Pike Awning Company is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Pike Awning Company provide

    Pike Awning Company accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Pike Awning Company offer free estimates?

    Yes, Pike Awning Company offers free project estimates.

    Does Pike Awning Company offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Pike Awning Company offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Pike Awning Company offer a senior discount?

    No, Pike Awning Company does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Pike Awning Company?

    No, Pike Awning Company does not offer warranties.

    What services does Pike Awning Company offer?

    Pike Awning Company offers the following services: RESIDENTIAL AWNINGS, COMMERCIAL AWNINGS, METAL AWNINGS, FABRIC AWNINGS, RETRACTABLE AWNINGS, SAIL SHADES, RAIN PROTECTION, SUN PROTECTION, WIND PROTECTION, WINDOW SCREENS, PATIO SCREENS, SUN SCREENS, WINDOW SHADES, RETRACTABLE SHADES, RETRACTABLE PATIO CANOPIES, CANVAS SPECIALTY PRODUCTS, CANVAS AWNING COVERS, TENSION STRUCTURES, EXPOSITION BANNERS, DISPLAY BOOTHS, STREET BANNERS, STREET GRAPHICS & AWNING GRAPHICS.